We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
29 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
$162
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/04/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
$151
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/04/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
FindHotel
$120
View deal
Hotels.com$162
Official website$153
Travelocity$162
View all 21 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (13,439)
Filter reviews
13,439 results
Traveler rating
6,245
4,437
1,663
639
455
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
6,245
4,437
1,663
639
455
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tapas fish snack bar privileged suite el mercado privileged guests gated community standard room japanese restaurant crepes pure chill out bar a la carte restaurants animation team steak lagoon area dolphin discovery the grill
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3,197 - 3,202 of 13,439 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2016 via mobile

My wife and I needed a break after having our first child. This place hit the spot. Beautiful place, beautiful setting. We had the upgraded package. Not sure besides the room if it made that much of a difference, except for the better rooms and tapas restaurant and the use of the pure chill up bar. As long as you tip the bartenders and waiters; there is nothing they won't give you.

Water is gorgeous. People are very humble and friendly. They will help you with anything. Just have to ask. We preferred the Yucatan side(where the privileged section is). The other side is more lively. Not where our minds where at for this trip.

As for children, we seen them in the early mornings and then they were whisked away by the kids clubs. The area is safe and wonderful. Only thing I would suggest is more plugs in the rooms. We had a coffee maker located at a wall with no plug. Also, exchange your money at the marina. (Better rate). And maybe use some salt on the meat in the Mexican restaurant. It was wonderful to look at cooked to perfection. Just didn't have a lot of taste. I think this is done on purpose for fussy eaters. Can't please every one. I would highly recommend this place to anyone, families, couples and singles. Stayed august 22nd to 29th. Room 3021. Maids are awesome. Enjoy

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
4  Thank Levon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enrico R, Director General at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2016

Dear Levon,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback about your vacation at our Resort.
It is nice to know that you had a spectacular trip and that you enjoyed our facilities and services. We really appreciated your recommendation, is the best compliment we can get. We definitely hope you will decide to visit us again in the future; it will be our pleasure to welcome and pamper you once again!

Best Regards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2016 via mobile

How anyone can write a bad review on this place is beyond me?! 2 weeks stay for me and my boyfriend and cannot fault the place!
The staff are out of this world especially the waiters in el mercado- Edwin, mayoli, Jairo and Jose and the entertainment team- Karina, Eduardo and jesus!
But honestly all the staff work incredibly hard and round the clock to keep this hotel going! Hotel is spotless at all times, housekeeping were fantastic every day!
Japanese, tapas and steak restaurants were beautiful and we normally ate in el mercado buffet restaurant as it has a/c! Yes buffets can be a tad repetitive but find me a place that isn't after 2 weeks- can't fault the food!
Beach is beautiful, no it's not massive but it's more than enough!!

Tips:
Possibly take an extension plug as there is only one socket in the room
We didn't try Italian or Mexican so can't comment!

All in all beautiful place, out of this world staff, didn't want to come home!!

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
5  Thank vikkicampbell03
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enrico R, Director General at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2016

Dear Vikki,

Thanks a lot for your comments. We always try to provide a service that is at the height of our guests, thank you for observing it, especially the amazing job that Mayoli, Karina, Edwin, Jairo, Jose, Eduardo and Jesus did. Also, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed the facilities and services of our Resort. We are eager to host you again for your next visit.

Best Regards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2016

Beautiful clean hotel with friendly staff,rooms were cleaned and made up every day.Idellic setting right on the beach,with a choice of 2 one was slightly rocky. Good food with pleanty of choice,steak house was great. The entertainment was what you expect on holiday tho the Lion King show was amazing .We travelled in a group of 5 and I felt comlpletley safe and as a single woman would happily return on my own

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
5  Thank Tina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enrico R, Director General at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2016

Dear Tina,

On behalf of the Staff and Management of our Resort, we would like to thank the time you are taking to share your feedback. We are very grateful to hear that you had a good experience with us and that you enjoyed the services and facilities. We'll be waiting for you for your next trip, it will be our pleasure to welcome and pamper you once again.

Best Regards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2016

As all the other reviews we also found this hotel amazing. Looked after from when we arrived right up till they put us on the coach to come home. All staff so friendly and helpful. Special mention for Judith who met us in the buffet always greeted us with such a happy smile. Also Luis in the bar by the theatre takes multi tasking to a whole new level, so many orders on the go and even watches the bar so no one queue jumps. Would recommend this hotel and hope to go back. Will just tell you what the Thompson brochure doesn't, you don't need long trousers, take snorkels for the sea, and there is a Dolphin swim with-in walking distance of the hotel if you want to do that.

Room tip: We were near music but didn't hear to much when in room, normal room was finre for our needs.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank jacqui b
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enrico R, Director General at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2016

Dear Jacqui,

Our warmest thanks for your fantastic and kind comment, we are very grateful to hear that you had a pleasant and gratifying experience with us. Be assured we will share your motivating words with our team and they will certainly be proud to know they assisted in making your vacation truly memorable. We'll be waiting for you for your next trip, it will be our pleasure to welcome and pamper you once again.

Best Regards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2016

Once again a at this hotel from service to entertainment especially Havier and the animation team the shows were great me and my son had a fantastic 2 weeks , even the thunder and lighting were great!

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank 268joanns
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enrico R, Director General at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2016

Dear Joan,

Thanks a lot for your comments. We always try to provide a service that is at the height of our guests, thank you for observing it, especially the amazing job that Javier did. Also, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed the facilities and services of our Resort. We are eager to host you again for your next visit.

Best Regards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews