We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Catalonia Yucatan Beach(Puerto Aventuras)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa(Puerto Aventuras)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Coral Maya(Puerto Aventuras)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Serena Hotel & Spa(Puerto Aventuras)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya(Puerto Aventuras)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya(Puerto Aventuras)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
LM by Inmense(Puerto Aventuras)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (9,987)
Filter reviews
9,988 results
Traveler rating
4,650
3,389
1,179
484
286
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,650
3,389
1,179
484
286
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstapasfishsnack barprivileged suiteel mercadothe lion kingstandard roomjapanese restaurantwater shoesa la carte restaurantspure chill out barcrepesgated communitysteakanimation teamsea lionslagoon area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4,963 - 4,968 of 9,988 reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2009

Spent 14 nights at the Cat and did have a really good time. The hotel is really laid back, not pretentious at all and is just a great informal place.

Rooms: We had a standard room but on the Yucatan side – was really large and had a great view of the ocean which I wasn’t expecting. The room was spotless and we had different towel art every day! Make sure you tip the maid daily, she appreciated it and did a fantastic job for us. It was also really quiet at night, while I did hear quite a few others complaining about noise at night – not for us.

Pools: Both pools were good – they were really crowded though, and you would not get a sun bed if you were up after 8am. I guess it was because we were there at Easter, it was just a pain having to get up early every day!

Restaurants: The buffets were fine, some nights better than others. The Japanese was amazing – we ate there twice and were really impressed. The Italian was also really good. The steak house was ok, nothing special. The Mexican was awful – we couldn’t believe it! The food was bland, and we left during the main course as it was inedible. I am not a fussy eater so I could not believe it – I have never left during a meal before, so be warned.

Beach: Yes, it is rocky but take water shoes! I read about this before I went and they were a great investment (you can also use them at Xel-Ha, Xcaret etc). There were loads of fish and free snorkel equipment was a real bonus.

Puerto Aventuras: The marina is about a 5 min walk away – has some nice bars and restaurant, and is worth going out to explore.

Playa Del Carmen: The hotel runs a free bus once in the morning and once at 5pm (or maybe 6pm). A really nice town with great bars and restaurants –you must go here! We took a taxi a few times and it was really good value – every route has a fixed price so no worrying about being over charged!

Overall, had a great time and really enjoyed it – would probably return as it was fantastic value for money!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank EnglandCls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2009

lets me first began by saying !! don't beleave the what your hearing about mexico and the swine flu it"s all polatics.don't beleave the everything you hear as for playa del carmen and porta adventura just go you want be dissopointed .
the !!CAT!! is amazing it"s everything you want in a resort.we arrived at the !!cat !! may 3 and was just amazed by the beauty of the resort .this place has the most beautyful grounds that we have ever seen .and beleave me we have been to many resorts but none like this one .it"s just the right size and everything is easy to get to.
THE STAFF. is some friendy you will never see anyone with a frown and they always speak .and if you need anything just ask .
the room or the suite or just breath takeing. you want beleave how well they take care of this place.and while we were there because of the flu scar there were not that many people at the resort.so they closed down the yucatan side and move everyone over to the maya side .most resorts would just sit back and do nothing .but not this one they were painting doing repairs.and realy keeping up the resort .
THE FOOD.well lets just say that you will never go to a resort and find the some of the best food like this one at an all encl.this place has some of the best meals we have ever had .and when you do go be sure to do the alcarte japaneese,stake house creaps .
DRAW BACKS .THE MEXCIAN ALCARTE WOULD NOT RECOMMEND.it"s just was not good.pass on it
THE BEACH.snorkleing ,swimming and just fantastic. don;t beleave what people say about the beach being small it"s a flat out lie this is the perfect size beachfor this resort.
!!
PLAYA DEL CARMEN .GREAT SHOPPING !!
if you like deals this is the place to go on a shopping spree.you can talk anyone down to your price.
AND LAST BUT NOT LEASE.be sure to look up goegio,carla,patrica,great staff and bartenders
DRINKS.LETS JUST SAY IF YOUR LOOKING FOR WATERED DOWN DRINKS YOU NEED TO GO SOME WHERE ELSE IT"S PARTY TIME AT THE !!!CAT!!.
we can"t wait to go back wish i was still there.we will be going back as soon as we can .and thats a fact.
THE MALONES,HOUSTON,TX

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank maloneBaytown_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2009

We liked our first holiday here so much we came back 6 mths later. It is a fantastic hotel, very clean, excellent friendly staff. We upgraded to a suite this time, and it was worth every dollar ($35 night). There is a lot of choice for food in the buffet restuarants, and the only speciality restuarant I didn't enjoy was the Mexican!
The hotel compared to other hotels in the area is quite small, which is great as you can get anywhere within a couple of minutes.
The hotel is really popular with Americans and canadians.
We had massages in the cobana (hut on the beach) which was amazing, as was using th spa facilities afterwards - quite expensive though.
I've read other reports about not having a long beach walk due to the neighbouring hotel being private - this is not true. In Mexico there is no such thing as a 'private beach'. The chairs etc may be private property but you are allowed to walk along the shore.
Also I've read a few reports about things being expensive, wine is expensive as it is imported, however I didn't think the trips were too bad. One of our best days was spent on the beach at Tulum, which cost us about £1 on the local bus (collectivo) - we got on a few local buses, to Cancun and Play, and always felt safe. It would have helped if I had known a bit of basic spanish though!
The Thomson rep, Christian, was really good, he's been there a while so he knows whats what, but you probably have to ask him, if that makes sense?! He's really honest about the trips, so trust what he says.
My advice for trips would be to do any boat trips early in your stay. It was quite windy while we were there so we missed out as the boats were cancelled. We went on the Thomson bar crawl which was rubbish!! Another night we went to the new Coco Bongo's in PLay Del Carman - it was excellent, just as good as the one in Cancun - word of warning though - do not get ice in your drink there....
We went to Xcaret last time which is a must - well worth the price.
Finally, don't go to Cancun expecting good shopping. We spent all day geting on and off the little buses looking for the good shops only to realise there aren't any!!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sazb_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2009

We received an upgrade after staying 5 nights at the Catalonia Playa Maroma. That hotel compared to this is like comparing rotten apples to wonderful oranges!

We enjoyed our stay SO much that I even signed on for two more nights, that is how good the stay was!

I have to say I feel so badly for the Mexican people. We saw no evidence of swine flu AT ALL during our stay - I think it's all alot of hype. People are losing their jobs, so please, come to Mexico and enjoy your stay!

The staff was wonderful. Everywhere you look, from groundskeepers, to hotel staff and security, everyone is busy busy busy keeping everything as nice as possible. the food was wonderful. We enjoyed the Mikado Restaurant twice, the Italian once, and on the last night the Grille. Oh my, the food was fantastic.

Some people complain about the beach being rocky, but I enjoyed it because of the free snorkeling! The reef there is a natural spot for thousands of fish. You don't even have to swim.... just sit your butt down in the shallow waters and they will swim all around you. If you want calm waters, just walk a few feet over and there is a quiet cove that you can swim in.

Our room was quite comfortable, especially after that nightmare that we stayed in in Maroma. The bed was wonderful, room immaculate, and the fan and air conditioning was even cold at times! No worries, we just opened the screen door. We had a small tub on our porch and had a hot sauna bath one night. So relaxing.

The people were friendly (hi Luis! (waiter) ) and the customer service girls were excellent.
Please people, show some class and tip your service people. Just because the vacation is all inclusive, it doesn't mean you can't lay a dollar down here and there, ESPECIALLY with this flu scare effecting their economy!

This vacation was wonderful for us!!!!! We would definately come back here in the future! HOLA! Barb and Rachid from Pennsylvania

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bubbless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2009

well what a surprise !
My wife and i spent 15 nights here in the last week of April and first week of May 2009.
What a great place ! where do i start .
Got to be the Staff, fantastic people really do make this place what it is.
to name a few Luis in the buffet what a credit to the place. Fernando in the pool bars what a laugh he is (watch him he get you in trouble with wife ! LOL tries to get you drunk and he is very good at it ) Jonathan ...speek no english but just as funny.
the whole team from this place are great !
ROOMS : ok standard rooms have no fridge or coffee or tea in, but besides that are VERY clean and large as has been said before fo the amount of time you spend in them they are great.
FOOD : Best food we have ever tasted in an all inclusive resort. Food during the week just in the buffet.......Topside of beef....fresh salmon.....NewYork Steaks.....Pork Chops....Pasta...Fresh Fish......Prawns....Salads.......cold meats.......chicken....it just kept coming it was great food please the fussiest eater.
BARS: no guinness ! LOL Lager was ok but any top shelf drink you could think of was there....all Branded .Bells,JB, all free !!! not seen that in a all inclusive before.
BEACH: Not the best you will see but ok.....NOT FOR KIDS ! bit rocky and rough.Lagoon was the best place for kids.I would recommend not to take kids to this resort but thats just me.
PRICES: Bit expensive i thought.(buying trips and goods i mean not the holiday) Please take Pesos with you ! you will get ripped off when buying in dollars.Also note that A Dollar sign with one stripe down it is mexican pesos and if it got 2 stripes in the dollar sign it is US dollars !
My wife and i went for a meal in Playa De Carma and it cost us about $110 USD for a 2 course meal. No wine ! as very exspensive average $40-$100 USD for a bottle.
GENERAL :were ever you look they are cleaning ! the gardens are fantastic this place is a great place to go for the money.again i have to mention the staff ! Well done to all of them.THANKYOU !
Craig and Donna

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ciscoxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews