We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

My gal friend and I stayed here the end of Feburary 2014 and are planning on a return trip this year. The staff of the hotel were friendly. We upgraded to a superior room and it was well worth the extra dollars. The specialty retardants were excellent and the grounds beautiful.
The only down side to our stay was there was no decaf coffee to be found anywhere! We will have to remember pack our own coffee for our next stay, which is really rather sad considering the caliber of this hotel.

Room Tip: Upgrade to Superior and bring your own decaf coffee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,615
    2,771
    963
    391
    236
See reviews for
2,218
3,536
125
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,034)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Tx
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

Just returned from a 5 night 6 day visit to this hotel with the family. Totally mixed feelings about this hotel - here are the key points:
a) they will offer upgrades to 'privilege' on arrival but the upgrade is an eyewash. In return for our 2-bed-ocean-view room, they tried to sell us a privilege garden view. The privilege features arent much considering how much you pay for them.
b) Ala Carte meals: based on our length of stay, we were entitled to 3 al a carte meals at the 5 onsite restaurants - guess what? to get into any of these, there was a 2 hour line and they stopped taking reservations after 8.30 pm. With kids, who would want to wait at the restaurant when there's pool and ocean to enjoy?
c) Buffet: nothing spectacular about the buffet - we were often caught up in arguments between the captain and the waiters. Food was pretty much the same every meal with a few differences here & there. Not too many vegetarian options here. The waitstaff is nice but the management is not.
d) Beach: its all rocks - even if you take water shoes, you will come out from the ocean with bruised shins and ankles.
e) At the time of booking, they advertise that you have access to both properties - big joke this - since both properties are stitched in together - so it doesnt really matter.
f) if you book a standard room, just get the safety box as an adder for $3 a night and thats probably the only upgrade you will need.
g) the housekeeping staff is sweet but can make errors like missing out on cleaning your room.

Good value for money if you lower your expectations.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank max1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

A very nice experience, great view with an impresive lagoon, high services, people are always greeting you with a big Smile, good food, good cocktails and great animation team. Thanks catalonia riviera, we had a great time!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andreeamiron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

Staying here after a 10 hour flight from Scotland. Shambolic al carte set up for restaurants. Waited over 2 hours with my husband and 3 children and still pushed aside. Staff lie to accommodate other guests who are further down a list. Management shambles!!! Don't come here if you expect value for money!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Pollynic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Morelos, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

We used bookit.com. Made all of our excursions with our travel company Best Deals. There will not be ample space to share how incredible everything was. Everything we planned was exactly as we hoped - and then some. BD Travel were BY FAR not only the most professional - but actually cared. When our bank put a hold on our credit card - or when it was cleared - refunded a large excursion fee because we were just not physically able to do one more activity, we have been so miserable since we left hotel Catalonia!! The room was amazing. Ocean front. Overlooking the pools. The staff were so hard working and helpful we felt guilty we were having the time of our lives.

At our ages (45 and 35) we have traveled all over. Until we have the time for multiple trips of several weeks - we will always return here first. Loved location. Perfect distance from Playa del Carmen (shopping). Great day trip distance on ferry to Cozumel. The excursions recommended by BD TRAVEL were all remarkable in service, safety and value. Cannot wait to see the place and staff again as we are already returning before end of the fall. Use BD. STAY AT HOTEL CATALONIA. there is no way it will not be perfect.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

I have ti say that I choose this resort because my brother went to vacation there last year and he like it very much. The rooms and all the facilities are very clean, the staff is very friendly and courteous since the moment you get there until you leave, the food is good is something for everyone's taste and overall I will comeback. The only thing is far away from Playa del Carmen so every time we went there it was a $20 to 25 dollars cab which it get a little expensive depending how many times you go there. And an advice to book all your tours and trips do them there. I make the mistake to book my trip to Xcaret online just to find out there that I pay for a ticket with no lunch or snorkel equipment included. I pay the same online as what they charge you there with these 2 things included. Definitely a go.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Silvana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Tx
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

I have read a lot of reviews about this resort and most of them are questionable. I found not one thing wrong with this resort, it was phenomenal! From the moment of check in they were very friendly and accommodating to us all. I was one of a group of 6.
The food was out of this world. We upgraded to Privileged, which was well worth the money. We had access to all the restaurants once and the two buffets all the time. All were exceptional. We had access to the privileged area of the beach. Service was without exception fantastic. On that side of the beach was a couple, not associated with the hotel, set up to do massages. They even gave 10 minute free samples. Got us all hooked. Seaside massages! With the sound of water breaking and the breeze blowing, almost went to sleep!
The drinks are great as well, bartenders very attentive. If you are lucky, you will have Rafael on the privileged side of the beach, Macgiver by the pool, Evelyn was another very friendly face at the Creperie restaurant.
If you have teenagers, I saw an incident that gave me faith that parents not need worry about their kids and alcohol. We were at the Chill out Bar and I saw the bartender refuse service to teenagers. It probably would have been so easy for him to give them alcohol, but he did the admirable thing and refused them.
One night, I over did it with sweets and had problems, my husband got up at 3:30 a.m. and went down to the lobbly to see if they had Gatorade. A few minutes later they delivered a bottle to our room, I was so impressed with their service.
If you have a chance to take in a show, they are sooo cute,. Sure it is cheesy but adorable and well done in my opinion.
Also, I liked that being a gated resort, you don't have to worry about vendors on the beach bothering you all the time.
The water is beautiful , but be advised water shoes are a must. I saw too many people trying to fight getting into the water to swim. Would be much easier to have water shoes.
Sorry, this is long but had so much to tell about, definitely going back!

Room Tip: I would try to get a room away from the bar, a little noisy after 10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sassysm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
12.4 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
22.9 mi away
Catalonia Playa Maroma
Catalonia Playa Maroma
#4 of 5 in Playa Maroma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,603 reviews
24.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
24.2 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,672 reviews
17.3 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Riviera Maya

Property: Catalonia Riviera Maya
Address: Avenida Xcacel Lote 1 Plano 2 Manzana 18 | Solidaridad, Puerto Aventuras 77783, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#12 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalonia Riviera Maya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribbean Sea's turquoise waters can be seen from this hotel-paradise. Come and get ready to spend some unforgettable days in the heart of the Mayan Riviera, surrounded by marvelous landscapes and seductive, white sand beaches. The hotel is located in the wonderful Puerto Aventuras development. This is a tourist development which boasts a marina for yachts, a golf course, restaurants and dolphin tanks, all within easy reach of the main Mayan Riviera attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Catalonia Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Riviera Maya Puerto Aventuras, Mexico
Catalonia Hotel Mexico
Catalonia Rivera Maya
Riviera Maya Catalonia
Hotel Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riveria Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya Resort
Catalonia Riviera Maya All Inclusive
Catalonia Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing