We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st time to Catalonia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
St. Catharines, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“1st time to Catalonia”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We booked a privileged Honeymoon Room - block 12 ground floor room 6102 for our one week stay. This was our first all-inclusive vacation in our 20 years of marriage. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Catalonia!
The room was beautiful, spacious & clean. Well worth it to upgrade, especially to the honeymoon room! The room included a free safe, restocked mini bar fridge, large terrace with pool/tub, t-shirts, fruit basket, chocolates & sparkling wine, continental breakfast in the room, a romantic 3 course shrimp & Filet Mignon dinner at the Terrace with a photo, couples massage and time in the spa as well as use of the privileged amenities.
We ate at the all of the a la carte restaurants, except the La Creperie & the Terrace Tapas Lounge. We usually eat early at home, so we lined up for dinner at each restaurant at about 5:45 and were seated when the restaurant opened at 6 pm as one of the first 6-10 tables for the night. The food, presentation and service in the a la carte restaurants was very good, better than at the buffets - but that's to be expected. We also enjoyed a quiet, relaxing, delicious a la carte breakfast & lunch in Bellavista Italian Restaurant - part of the privileged amenities. They did seem to be short on staff in the dining & bar areas. The staff worked very hard to try to maintain good service & cleanliness of these areas.
The resort was clean and the staff was friendly, every staff member we walked by smiled & said "hola". The Yucatan poolside seemed quieter during the day, with an older crowd at the pools - some spending a lot of time in the pool bar areas. Pool lounge chairs were saved early in the morning, around sunrise, as were some of the "prime" beach lounge chairs. However, when we did go to the beach after lunch, there were many lounge chairs still available for the taking. The beach is small and you must have water shoes to go in the ocean. The water was very choppy during our stay, so we only went in once.
There seemed to be lots of activities - bicycles, pool & beach volleyball, horseshoes, bocce ball, archery, tennis, ping pong, kayaks, catamarans, snorkeling and scuba lesson. We chose to relax and did not participate in any activities other than using the bikes.
The nightly entertainment was very loud. Our room was too close to it, considering we had requested a room in a "quiet" area. One night we were awakened by loud band or club music that started to play suddenly after 11 pm. The close proximity to the El Abuelo Lobby Bar with it's karaoke and live music was the only complaint we have about our room. That and the drunk people coming in at 2-3 am, not respecting the "quiet area's" signage. (That can & does happen anywhere though.)
The location is perfect for those wanting to travel to Playa de Carmen or Xel-ha & Tulum. Easy to find, free parking for those renting cars. About an hour from the Cancun airport.

Room Tip: Privileged Honeymoon Room - block 12 ground floor room 6102 - beautiful room, with large terrace and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, Director General at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Michelle R

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us.

It is great to know that you are having a good time and enjoy our facilities and services. We feel very proud of the impression you have from the hotel and our service.

We definitely hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, it will be our pleasure to welcome and pamper you once again!

Sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,049
    2,991
    1,037
    417
    252
See reviews for
2,499
3,878
135
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,071)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 6, 2014

My second trip to Hotel Catalonia. My first visit was 3 yrs ago at Chrristmas. This resort rocks Christmas!!! This visit it seemed like there was less staff. The staff they did have spoke very little English this visit. I love the town of Puerto Venturas. It is amazing at night to walk around the marina, shops and bars with their live entertainment alfresco style. It's a very safe area. It's hard to get in all the hotel and town hs to offer in the time we had. The hotel concierge was wonderful at helping us pick out the perfect excursions. The hotel spa had a wonderful Valentines Day package that made out trip even more romantic. There were weddings on the beach every day. It was most romantic Valentines Day with great food and wonderful surroundings. I look forward to going back for 2015 for another amazing romantic Valentines Day get away.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank kelikaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, Director General at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your feedback from your last stay with us, and choosing Catalonia again for a romantic vacation.
I hear all your comments, and certainly we will take seriously your feedback and see possibilities to improve and make sure your next visit will exceed your expectations.
It is great to know that you had a good time and enjoyed our facilities and services. We feel very proud of the impression you had from the hotel and our lovely country.
We definitely hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, it will be our pleasure to welcome and pamper you once again!

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 16 Feb for 2 weeks. Hotel was nice in the main. We pre-booked a superior room with T/Cook so already had the privilege that everyone talks about. Room itself was lovely, very comfortable queen size bed, we were in the main block on the 4th floor, so had a partial sea view. Good storage space but the wardrobe was half length as such so no good for maxi dresses!! Good size bathroom, nice walk in shower and good amenities.

Buffets were OK, El Mercado being the better for breakfast and lunch in our opinion... Thanks to the lovely Angelina and Roberto for looking after us so well. Las Brisas was ok and probably just shaded it for dinner. Now to the a la cartes.... We absolutely loved the Japanese and the Tapas... Outstanding food and service. The Mexican and Italian were also very good but the Grill was poor and we only went once. The infuriating thing about the a la cartes is that you can't pre-book and I just don't understand why.... It's ridiculous. We were given 40mins to an hour wait for the Italian one night, an hour and a half later we were still waiting despite seeing empty tables inside and the front of house could not offer any reason as to what the delay was. Fortunately, the food was excellent so we returned for a 2nd time and it did redeem itself.

The only other thing which really did get my goat, was the reserving of sun beds. We are early risers and like to take advantage of the early morning, less intense heat so were always on the beach no later than 7.45am... On several occasions we could not get beds with an umbrella either around the pool or on the beach due to other guests reserving with towels. Many of those who reserved beds didn't return to their beds until late morning, some even after lunch. There are numerous requests for guests NOT to do this and we found that this just wasn't policed. The hotel should monitor this and if the beds are left unattended for longer than an hour.... Remove the offending towels and free the beds up for others to use. It's not rocket science and something that many other hotels and cruise ships do

A few minor things that could so easily be rectified and while it didn't bother us for the first week or so, it did start to become an issue for us towards the end of our fortnight.

In summary, we loved Mexico and will definitely return but probably not to this hotel

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank medley2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherstburg, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We were there from Feb 19th to Feb 26th, as part of a group of 16 people. None of the others had been to Mexico before. Last year we switched it up and went to Catalonia Royal Tulum. We love both resorts, and really think the Cat Yucatan is a better fit for us...and it happens to be cheaper, which is a bonus. The Cat does everything they can to make people comfortable, and are really good to repeat customers. We noticed many changes in the two years since we were there...most of them for the better. As repeat guests we were given orange armbands and entitled to all that the preferred guests are entitled to. We were put in our room of choice, which happens to be a standard room. Twice we have turned down the upgraded rooms, as we like to be over the pools. I am not sure if it is something new, or if we just have been missed before...but we were invited to a "Welcome Back Dinner". This was an extra a la carte for us, and was held in the Mexican Restaurant. It was quite interesting, as there were about 15 of us all set at one large table. We traded many stories of repeat trips. Also this year...may be new too. Preferred can also eat breakfast and lunch in the Italian Restaurant, as extra a la cartes. we did not try this out. Our one disappointment was the Chill Bar now being for upgraded only...though we were upgraded and could use it. I was concerned before we went that if would ruin the atmosphere of the Cat. That fear was unfounded though. The Chill had always been our favourite bar, and we would visit several times a day. I don't find the new Chill as inviting as the old one. Missed the curtains blowing in the breeze, and found it too formal for me. Also, it was a pain as no one else in our party had upgraded. The bartenders did allow them to sit with us for one drink...which was nice of them. I found it frustrating that as less people can use this bar, the line ups at the Tequilla Bar were longer, while we have just left the Chill where there were two bartenders many times, who were not busy. It just seems like a waste of services to me. Never did we see the chill busy...though we were not there later at night.
Service in the buffet has slipped a bit. As others have said...there seem to be less employees now. It was harder to get water, coffee, utensils etc. then before. I figure it is much like it is here at home...with our economy being so slow, businesses have to save where they can, to stay afloat. As the prices for the Cat have hardly changed in the 8 years we have been going to Mexico, I can live with a little less service. I would rather that, then for the prices to be raised. This is a four star resort, and I don't expect to be waited on constantly. If that is what you are looking for ..perhaps a five star resort would be more suitable for you.
Once again, the Cat has helped us have a wonderful vacation. The truly outstanding, haapy and caring staff are what the Cat is all about. This was also the case last year at Cat. Tulum. I am so glad this is an important part of the Catalonia chain. Very well done guys...and thanks again.

Room Tip: We have always e mailed ahead with our room location preferences, and they certainly do what they ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kitley2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

If you come to Mexico to enjoy beach and beach weather, you will be disappointed with the beach here. The resort is very small and the beach therefore is small, but worst is that it doesn't carry through. I tried this resort because it had an 80% good rating and knew the beach was small. I thought I could overcome that because I thought the beach was continuous. Not only is it small and extremely small, but it's isolated by rocks on both sides, just reef no sand. You can walk the entire length of beach and that includes Catalonian beach and the resorts next door in 5 mins. Still here and it's only my first day, so I'll keep updating as I go. No mini bar either on standard suites.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kadocs9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This was our fifth trip to the region. An extra person needs to attend the front desk when groups arrive. For a bit more money, the Azul Sensatori had much better food and a larger room with great views. The Iberostar Lindo was also superior. However, for the right price, the food here was acceptable and the privileged room was clean with an excellent bed. Staff was friendly, but seemed overworked. There was no pool service for drinks, but lots of bars on the property. Be aware of the need to keep your water bottle to get refills of clean water at the bars. We did not appreciate this inconvenience. The lack of a reservation system at the restaurants wasn't too bad for us, as we eat early. Meeting people in line was a treat. Many nationalities visit here, something we enjoyed. For the right price, we would return.

Room Tip: Not all areas have working elevators. Privileged rooms do not usually have an ocean view, but do in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Terry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2014

This was our 3rd time to Catalonia. Overall, experience was great except for not getting air conditioning in room fixed until day 3 and had to get manager involved to do so. Front desk staff require training when dealing with negative issues when brought to their attention instead of giving excuses. Weather was perfect with wonderful breezes on the hot days. Maid service was excellent - rooms clean and mattresses very comfortable. The grounds and swimming pool areas were kept exceptionally clean (as they also clean/scrub down in the middle of the night). Food was excellent at the buffet but tended to run out of food at breakfast quite often with mostly the same choices every day. Noticed less servers than previous years and this tended to delay drink orders/service during meals. Love the 2 sides of the resort - one is more quieter and relaxed, while the other was for the partier's/drinkers/loud music lovers, etc. Beach is rocky and not for the swimming lover but great for the snorkelers. Whether you want a quiet restful vacation or an action-packed one, this hotel offers both. Will be back again in 2015.

Room Tip: Better views of ocean from top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msmoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, Director General at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear msmoke,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your feedback from your last stay with us. We deeply apologize if your stay with us was not a perfect experience and if you a problem with the air conditioned that was not solve promptly.

Starting with myself and all my colleagues and managers, we are disappointed to have not met your expectations during your stay with us.

I hear all your comments, and certainly we will take seriously your feedback and see possibilities to improve and make sure your next visit will exceed your expectations.

Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.2 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,596 reviews
16.7 mi away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#77 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,843 reviews
14.6 mi away
Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Car...
#31 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
7,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa
2.0 mi away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#12 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
3,310 reviews
1.7 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Riviera Maya

Property: Catalonia Riviera Maya
Address: Avenida Xcacel Lote 1 Plano 2 Manzana 18 | Solidaridad, Puerto Aventuras 77783, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#12 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalonia Riviera Maya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribbean Sea's turquoise waters can be seen from this hotel-paradise. Come and get ready to spend some unforgettable days in the heart of the Mayan Riviera, surrounded by marvelous landscapes and seductive, white sand beaches. The hotel is located in the wonderful Puerto Aventuras development. This is a tourist development which boasts a marina for yachts, a golf course, restaurants and dolphin tanks, all within easy reach of the main Mayan Riviera attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Catalonia Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Riviera Maya Puerto Aventuras, Mexico
Catalonia Hotel Mexico
Catalonia Rivera Maya
Riviera Maya Catalonia
Hotel Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riveria Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya Resort
Catalonia Riviera Maya All Inclusive
Catalonia Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing