We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Completely satisfied!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Completely satisfied!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Stayed here for the first time in October 2012 - we only paid CAN $1050 each for a week here, which seemed like a lot at the time, but I now see was a fantastic deal! :)
We rented a car at the airport using Aeroplan points as we calculated it would be cheaper than getting the shuttle bus both ways for a couple. I think we ended up breaking even after buying gas and paying the airport taxes. The beauty, thoug,h was the opportunity to drive out to Playa del Carmen with a couple of new friends one night!
Our room was basic but clean, not lacking escept for a fridge which we didn't need anyway (if we got thirsty there was a bar right below our balcony!). The air conditioning worked well, the balcony was large and had two chairs and a small table. The TV channels were mostly in Spanish, but we weren't there to watch TV.
The real highlight of our stay was the day-after day of hot, sunny, splish-splash in the small bar pool near the buffet restaurant. We were here everyday at 10:00 to wait for the bar to open, then dive into the clean water, sip beers and cocktails all day, served by three bartenders that we got to know. A bit of coveted shade around the bar, loungers around the pool, a hot tub next door, and when we got hungry, a short walk (25 metres) to either the large buffet restaurant (which had a different theme everyday) or the smaller buffet that only opened for lunch and supper. Typically, we would grab a plate of tortilla chips, and some bowls of salsa and guacamole and taken them back to the pool with us.
Only one domestic beer available but it tasted good and lots of inventive cocktails to amuse you.
Dining was good - we most often went to the large buffet but did try the Japanese a la carte which is not really a la carte, and that was good, but less relaxing - book a reservation, line up, seated in groups, stuffier room, set order to the meal, etc. Worth doing, but we were grateful for the buffet.
In the evenings we would head to the other pool bar which stayed open later and had nice terrace seating. We also enjoyed the beach bar and watched some volleyball from there.
There were daily activities in the pool areas, including athletic contests, dance competitions, and cooking classes. There was a small market set up outside the large buffet each night which souvenirs to be bought.
The only disappointment was that the pools are closed at night (after 8:00pm) for cleaning and you cannot use them between 8:00pm and early morning.
I use this resort as the benchmark that I measure others to, as I felt the combination of pools, bars, restaurants, layout was perfect!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milesfinlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, Director General at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear milesfinlay,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your last stay with us and for such nice comments.

It is great to know that you had a good time and enjoyed our facilities and services. We feel very proud of the impression you had from the hotel and our lovely country.

We definitely hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, it will be our pleasure to welcome and pamper you once again!

Sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,707
    2,830
    987
    400
    243
See reviews for
2,288
3,615
127
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,047)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, Minnesota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

This was our 4th time to Mexico and the 4th resort we have been to. There are good and bad like everywhere you go. The property was clean and functional, as always there was improvements going on while we were there, but did not interfere with our stay at all. As you will read in several reviews - it is a natural beach with lots of rocks (and to those who snorkel will see, LOTS of sea urchins) - but this made for a nice snorkeling location without having to go somewhere else. Water shoes were all we needed to manage this. There were quite a few different fish and conch shells for us to see when we ventured out. The Lagoon was a nice substitute to avoiding the rocks and still having a nice place to swim...otherwise there are plenty of pools. You can steal a piece of bread from lunch and feed the fish in the lagoon, but be careful the big ones to bite. The beach was nice and well kept. Booking the included watersports was simple - we brought our own snorkel equipment so not sure about how that is, the kayaks were a nice activity, and the catamaran ride was fun.

Rooms were functional - standard rooms charge for use of the safe and do not have a mini bar - but beds are reasonable for a hotel and everything worked. The negative about the room was the size of bed - we unfortunately did not get a king size bed, and had 2 "full" size beds - the beds are pretty small. The building next to our room was some sort of mechanical building and had noise 24/7 - but did not interrupt our sleep or bother us. We had 2 balconies so we would open both doors and get a nice cross breeze through our room.

The food I felt was pretty darn good as compared to the other resorts we have stayed in previously. We only went to one of the buffet restaurants (the one that is open to the outside) and the snack bar - others in our group went to the other buffet and said it was the same food with smaller area and was more cramped. The food was fundamentally the same everyday while there, but we were fine with it. You had fresh, made to order things every day at every meal; plus there were plenty of things you could make yourself (salads, paninnis). The restaurants food was FANTASTIC - far better than other resorts we have stayed at. As you will read in about every single review - the process to get into these restaurants is a bit ridiculous. We knew from lots of research what to expect - the Japaneses restaurant you need to be there by at least 4:45 to wait in line for over an hour to hopefully get reservations - our biggest problem here was that there was a very large group (28 people) that were at the start of the line. The steakhouse was also a long line to wait just to get reservations, then we waited another hour after our reserved time just to get in - there were quite a few families from overseas who normally have long meals anyway and we had a larger group (6 people). The Mexican and Italian Restaurants were easy to get into. The Crepes place had delicious milkshakes - the crepes varied on goodness.

Drinks - this was the first time that we had gotten tipsy -drunk at a resort. The consistency of the drinks is not there - you can order the same drink several times and it will be different every time. It is just cheap alcohol, but not watered down. Other resorts we have been able to drink all day and lots of it and feel no effects - that was NOT the case here. We even found it funny when we saw a sign that said "we reserve the right to serve intoxicated guests"

The BEST part of this hotel was the Activities staff - we have never really participated in the activities going on about the hotel, but their staff really tried to pull you in the activities. They go around asking if you want to participate, they remember your name (which was impressive to me). They treated you like you have been friends for years. We did archery 2 days - depending on the number of people who decide to participate determines how much you get to do. We also participated in the "Crazy Game", Darts, Volleyball, and one of us did the pool aerobics. Giovanni and Olga were our favorites. The night time shows were a little to be desired, we ended up not going to most of them - the first 2 were just dancing, what we saw of the variety show was dancing, the Comedy show was the best of all of them - maybe because this was done by the daytime activity staff.

None of us had kids - but we did see the kids shows a few times, the Miniclub staff seemed great - paid attention to each kid, made sure everyone was included.

All staff at the hotel were very nice and tried their best to get anything you needed. There were towel creations on your bed every day. One of our group found out that they will NOT clean your room if there are any valuables out (all she had out was her cell phone) - which was actually sort of nice. We just put everything away in our suitcases on the days we had them clean our room.

We all felt very safe here - Puerto Aventruas is a gated area, and no one gets in unless they are supposed to. Everything we needed was right there for us. The only other negative thing is that they do not take US dollars- at all. If you want to buy something in their shops, you have to use a credit card or charge it to your room if you do not have another form of cash. They do have vendors in a few times a week at night to buy things and they will take US dollars.

Room Tip: They advertised "Privileged" rooms a lot throughout the hotel - we just had regular rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, Director General at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear Emily C,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.

We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.


Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beausejour, Mb.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

We booked this resort a week in advance of leaving. 4 hours later we were enjoying +30 instead of the -30 with huge amounts of snow. The food was excellent, staff friendly, room very clean. If you like to snorkle, this is the place to be. We liked this property because it wasn't too huge. There were 5 a la carte restaurants, and 2 buffets. Food was available almost around the clock. Lots of families with children, but plenty of room around the pool and at the beach. Had no problem getting a lounge chair. Only down-side was that on arrival, they tried to get us to up-grade, and we weren't interested. We waited quite a long time to get into our rooms due to the promotion of the up-grades to people. The promotion could have been done on the bus on the way from the airport to the whole group at once. That would have sped up the check-in process.

Room Tip: We requested a ground level floor due to health issues, so can't advise whether the other rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MbManny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, Director General at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear MbManny,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your last stay with us and for such nice comments.
It is great to know that you had a good time and enjoyed our facilities and services.

We definitely hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, it will be our pleasure to welcome and pamper you once again!

Sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

Me along with 27 other guest arrived at the Catalonia for my daughter’s wedding. We booked a block of 13 rooms and everyone checked in at different times. We only had a problem with one room (needed 2 beds and the hotel had none available) which, after booking 8 months in advance, they should have had what was requested. Most guest stayed 5 nights and had a wonderful time!!! My husband and I stayed 8 nights and enjoyed ourselves! The food was good but did start to become repetitive after a few days. We rented a golf cart and toured around the cute little neighborhood. We made our way to the marina for some shopping, but found it to be very expensive. The beach was okay, very rocky but if you take your time and navigate you will have no problems. We upgrade our room to the 1 bedroom suite because of the bridal party and amount of stuff that we needed to store for the wedding. Heather (the wedding coordinator) did an awesome job!!! We reserved the Terrace for a private reception after the wedding and hired the resort DJ who did an awesome job!!! We have vacationed in this area many, many times and found the hotel more than adequate for the price we paid and have declared this one of our favorite AI’s in Riviera Maya! We are planning our trip back!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank travelenfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, Director General at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear travelenfool,

Thank you very much for your feedback about your last stay with us. It was a pleasure to host your daughter's wedding and we are so glad that you enjoy this important event as well as your vacation here.

We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.


Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

Stayed here for a week in January. I have never been at a resort where the staff was so kind and so warm. Always with a big smile and most helpful, around the resort and the restaurant. If you have the crepes in the morning, Veronica, might be the one making them and she has to be the sweetest person I have ever met - wish I had taken a picture of her.

20 minutes into the city of Palya del Carmen - great time. Ruins are so close, if you are interested, must see.

This place is somewhere I would visit myself as a woman - felt so safe.

Food was good, beach was rocky, but once you got in, water lovely.

Cancun is a very busy airport and getting to our bus for transportation to the hotel was chaotic to say the least.
Earla from Toronto

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EarlaDunbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, Director General at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear EarlaDunbar,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your last stay with us and for such nice comments.

It is great to know that you had a good time and enjoyed our facilities and services. We feel very proud of the impression you had from the hotel and our lovely country.

We definitely hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, it will be our pleasure to welcome and pamper you once again!

Sincerely

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Riviera Maya/Yucatan between 7th-22nd January on our honeymoon. Check in was fairly quick (we had already upgraded to a privileged room when we originally booked with Thomas Cook) and we were given a welcome cocktail which was a nice touch. We were put in room 1022 which we were really not happy with - the room was OK but it was quite dark and the balcony was hidden behind a big privet hedge which was probably to hide the fact that the view was of the delivery area/electricity station (very noisy deliveries first thing in the morning!). We went to reception and asked to be moved and were told to come back in 2 days time when we could move into a higher floor in a different block, which we did and were pleased to be put in room 4031 (nice garden/lagoon view!) HOWEVER there was no latch on the bathroom door so it wouldn't close - we called reception about this a number of times and it only got fixed a couple of days before we were leaving.

The hotels and grounds are lovely - right on the beach front with a lagoon to go snorkelling/kayaking in. You will struggle to find a good position on the beach if you don't get up early to reserve a sun bed - we never bothered because we were quite happy sitting in the bar or walking round to find a spot.

The a la carte restaurants - as everyone says, the hotel runs a completely stupid system of not actually booking tables for you, so every night you have to queue up outside your restaurant of choice at 5pm and wait to be given a time slot (interesting thing about the hotel is that even though you can't reserve a dinner table you have to reserve your time in the spa which is usually completely empty - and the "day pass" they give you is actually only for an hour and 30 minutes!).

We tried the steak house twice, it was delicious! We also tried the Italian which my husband didn't like and the service was really slow; the Japanese which was more like a show because the Chef cooks it right in front of you and interacts with the diners; we also tried the Tapas once (totally worth it - try the fillet of pork and the chocolate pudding) however when we went back to the Tapas on our final night we found it closed due to a wedding and because we hadn't queued up at any other restaurant we had to have our final meal in the buffet restaurant. The buffets were OK, we usually ate in the La Brisas one because there was more choice however there were a few occasions when the staff didn't seem to know what they were doing and the sauces/syrups etc ran out - you ask if there is any more and get told "no, all gone" so you choose something else to eat only to find that whatever you originally wanted has been put out!

Service in the bars - we found this to be good apart from in the bar by the Theater - the barmen there are quite miserable and slow and make you feel like you're putting them out by asking for a drink! The Pure Chill Out bar on the beach is the best, the barman is so friendly and they bring you a fresh drink before you even have chance to go up and order another!

Weather - it was raining when we landed in Mexico and it was raining the day after but after that it picked up and it was nice and hot with the odd shower here and there.

The maids do a great job of cleaning the rooms and always leave towel art on the bed - a nice touch.

Excursions - you should really look into going to places like Tulum etc yourselves - you can walk to the road and catch a minibus for about £2.00 each - we went to the Tulum ruins and spent the afternoon by Paradise beach next to the ruins and the whole day (bus fares/entrance fees/drinks) cost us £18.00 for the two of us, brilliant!

The resort is a gated community so it feels very safe to walk round and there are plenty of shops you can look round and buy souvenirs from as well as looking at the dolphins/manatees for free.

I would definitely recommend this hotel, it was our first trip to Mexico and apart from the few little niggles, we had an amazing holiday. Can't wait to come back!!

Room Tip: 4031 - worked for us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank katemichelle1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, Director General at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear katemichelle1987,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.

I hear all your comments and please be sure that we are doing our best to look for ways to improve our service, specially the restaurants, this in order to make sure your next visit will exceed your expectations.

Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

beautiful sunshine, golden beaches although a little rocky not brilliant for scuba diving as the sea was to murky, Restaurants galore and fabulous. Please try the crepes bar savory sweet all delicious and gorgeous iced coffees to (which I did not think I would like) They are sweetness to the taste buds, Beautiful hotel and my favorite absolutely Spotless, the staff work endlessly to create a magical holiday for you.

Room Tip: We did upgrade so we could enjoy all the restaurants on offer
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Trina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, Director General at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear Trina M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your last stay with us.

We feel very proud and glad to hear such nice comments from our guests, It is great to know that you had a good holiday with us. We definitely hope to see you again soon, it will be our pleasure to welcome once again!

Sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
24.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#8 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,538 reviews
7.1 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
24.2 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
16.7 mi away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#74 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
23.0 mi away
Catalonia Playa Maroma
Catalonia Playa Maroma
#4 of 5 in Playa Maroma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Riviera Maya

Property: Catalonia Riviera Maya
Address: Avenida Xcacel Lote 1 Plano 2 Manzana 18 | Solidaridad, Puerto Aventuras 77783, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#12 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalonia Riviera Maya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribbean Sea's turquoise waters can be seen from this hotel-paradise. Come and get ready to spend some unforgettable days in the heart of the Mayan Riviera, surrounded by marvelous landscapes and seductive, white sand beaches. The hotel is located in the wonderful Puerto Aventuras development. This is a tourist development which boasts a marina for yachts, a golf course, restaurants and dolphin tanks, all within easy reach of the main Mayan Riviera attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Catalonia Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Riviera Maya Puerto Aventuras, Mexico
Catalonia Hotel Mexico
Catalonia Rivera Maya
Riviera Maya Catalonia
Hotel Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riveria Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya Resort
Catalonia Riviera Maya All Inclusive
Catalonia Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing