We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel but the beach areas are not so good!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Trenton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but the beach areas are not so good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

The hotel was fabulous. I don't think you really need to upgrade to privileged but we did. It gave us a mini fridge and turn down service. The people working at the resort are always happy and eager to make you happy. The restaurants are fine......don't expect to go to the Steak restaurants and get a steak dinner the way you would at the Outback or Montana's ......that won't happen, however you will not leave hungry. The beach does have "a lot" of rocks, you will definitely need water shoes. Bring them with you as they are expensive if you buy them at the resort!! The beach areas are small with the lounge chairs sitting side by side and people get up very early to reserve their chair for the day. There is a ton of things to do at the resort or you can take organized tours. The resort does not take USA dollars, only peso's or visa. The town will accept American money though. There are a lot of pools but not enough chairs to go around. All in all it was a fabulous trip......would I go back to Mexico, yes....would I go to this resort, no (unless I was offered the trip at a "very very good" price.

Room Tip: Don't get a room in the 6000's. A lot of them have balconies facing a street. No view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VBE2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,695
    2,823
    983
    398
    243
See reviews for
2,274
3,607
127
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,046)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stayed a week in Dec. It was our first time at this resort. Grounds were very nice, food was decent, staff was mostly very good. We did have a few issues. We had 2 different rooms, both of which had issues. The first room we were in was a standard room, not in great condition but O.K. We were in this room as Expedia had made a mistake on our reservation. Clearly not the hotel's fault, but they were less than accommodating when asked to upgrade us to the ocean view room we were expecting. We were told we could upgrade to a privileged room but it would cost $350 for the week,more than we wanted to spend, so we stayed in the room they had given us. They told us to check back the next day and they would see what they could do. We stayed in this room for one night.
At @ 2am my wife had to use the bathroom. She flushed the toilet but it never filled. Around 20 minutes later as I was just going back to sleep I heard a loud noise of running water, like a main was just turned on and the tank was filling. Shortly thereafter I heard the sound of running water hitting the floor. It turns out the toilet was running and leaking through the handle and flooding the bathroom, fortunately for the resort I had not fallen back asleep or the flooding would have been severe. I had to shut the main off under the toilet to stop the leaking and sop up the water with the bath towels. The next day we returned early to the lobby to get another room as we were not going to stay in that one. After about 3 hours of going back and forth trying to find us a room we finally had to pay to upgrade to get a ocean view room with the privileged set-up. I would recommend upgrading if you can but I am not a fan of different tiers of service at all-inclusives. It makes the people in standard rooms feel like 2nd class citizens The second room was ocean view and much nicer than the first and was at the sister resort. This room also had some issues. Not long after we got in the room water started leaking from the ceiling all over the dresser. There was previous water damage there so it was not the first time. Some maintenance guys came 45 minutes later and said it was fixed. We went to get something to eat and when we returned there was more water on the dresser. By this time I told them that we would like another room if this could not be fixed. 3 hours later the problem was fixed.(although I feel they just diverted the leak to somewhere we could not see it as we did hear water a couple more times but did not see any) That was the end of the leaks in the room.
Our balcony had caution tape around the rails and was extremely loose. If you had put any weight on it you could have easily fallen off the balcony. Really not a great idea but in Mexico you probably would have no recourse if you fell off. So be careful! The only other complaint we had was we had no water several times and no hot water several times. No hot water you can almost understand occasionally but no water, just is not right. I heard many other people with the same complaint so I suspect it is a resort wide problem. We did like the Japanese Restaurant, Tapas and the Creperie . The buffets were good but not great and you did get wait service and reserved seats as a privileged guest which was nice. As stated many times before, beach is rocky but we knew that coming in. Thanks Tripadvisor! The privileged bar was our favorite and the bartenders were awesome. We did tip regularly and received outstanding service. The archery range was fun and different. Overall not really a bad experience ( other than the rooms and maintainence problems) We would probably not use this resort again unless the the price was incredible. Have definetly stayed at better all inclusives in Mexico. This hotel has potential and hopefully will improve on the rooms and maintainence. Feel free to ask if you have any other questions.

Room Tip: Ask to see room first and inspect for problems, one we looked at smelled like mold very bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FishingFreak13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

The resort is very good! The food on the most part is good, and the rooms are comfortable. You receive 3-4 tickets to the formal restaurants, based on the length of your stay. Use them wisely! The Italian restaurant's food is over cooked, and is too salty, I won't recommend it. The steakhouse is good, remember to specify how you want the meat to be cooked Also, beware of restaurant closings. Check the hotel newsletter to make sure your restaurant of choice is open. It was because of this we weren't able to use our last restaurant pass.

The beach is small and is rather rocky, watch where you step. Your allowed to visit the beach of a neighboring hotel, which is nice. The hotel is about an hour away from cancun airport, so you should arrange transportation. However, it's very close to the Xcaret and Xplor parks, about 15 minutes away.

The staff is friendly, especially the waiters at the restaurant. They are willing to help you with pretty much anything. The housekeepers make towel "sculptures" every day.

One last thing, the wifi in the guest rooms are horrible. I recommend going into the lobby for anything more than viewing a Wikipedia page. Overall, a great resort, just watch out for closed restaurants!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PiPie314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

We had three couples booking three separate rooms. Two booked regular rooms & didn't "upgrade" initially - the 3rd paid more to "upgrade" to a pool/ocean view when booking. When we arrived, we had them show Couple 1 & 2 the "privileged" rooms (we both up-graded for the extra cost). Couple 3 thought they had "up-graded" but ended up with an older room & equipment. Bottom line, we arrived early enough that privileged rooms were available ... glad we didn't spend the money up front without knowing what we'd be getting!

The staff was mostly friendly, food was good, restaurants were nice (check schedule for days each closes), stayed on the compound except for a fishing trip near by!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lookin-out-4-ya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

The resort is beautiful and perfect for families. Our only complaint is getting the all inclusive restaurants thing right. The buffet has no problems. It is the additional restaurants which need management help.
Upon check in we were given two coupons to use at the other restaurants of our choice. The resort was busy and using the coupons proved to be a challenge. We tried for three nights to go to the Japanese restaurant, on Saturday they we closed ( I don't understand that) and on Monday and Tuesday it was a two hour wait and they didn't take reservations.
One night we ate at the Mexican restaurant, after waiting 45 minutes to be seated and food was the worst Mexican I ever had. You would think being in Mexico at least that would have been good.
The last night we ate the Tapas restaurant. The food was good, however, they were extremely busy and we had to wait.
The Resort itself was run nicely. Our room was nice and the staff was helpful. If they could get the food right this place would be perfect.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

We recently stayed at the Catalonia and I was a little concerned after reading all the reviews here. However, one needs to take resort reviews with a grain of salt as there are companies hired just to write bad reviews for competitors. We paid only $1900 for two of us through cheapcarribean.com and that was a great price as it included airfare out of our small hometown (probably over half the total cost went towards this). It also included our roundtrip airport transfers. We booked one day of full of adventure with Edventures (review on their own page), and I would highly recommend looking into this local, small company. We were the only ones on our day and were treated like VIPs!

I'll break this down.

Privileged Suite: we didn't stay in the honeymoon or regular privilege rooms - but our suite was gorgeous and spacious. You could stay here with kids or with another couple if your are close as the sitting room can be doored off from the bedroom and bath has 2 entrances. We stayed in building 11 which was close to the lobby bar - handy for us. We enjoyed our plunge pool on a couple nights were we found ourselves a bit chilly and the soak was nice. Our 2 beers a day came in handy for travels/hangovers/getting ready for the night/etc. But the bars were always willing to give us traveling drinks. The sodas were a nice touch. As service goes - our coffee maker didn't have the right size outlet, but they fixed right away when the maid noticed. It's true if you leave just an iPhone laying outside the safe, they will not clean the room. It's probably a good policy in the big picture. But Angela did a great job for us and cute towel art every day! :)

Beach: While you can get snorkel gear at the resort for an hour each day - I'd say bring your own as you can hop in anywhere and see some awesome stuff. Even with rocky weather at night, we were able to see octopus and cool colored fishes of all sorts. This is a good resort to snorkel. If you want to swim for workout you have to go out pretty far where the waves get bigger. We brought water socks like everyone recommends and never had a problem getting in or out. With our privileged package, we had a private beach area (and no kids were there - it seemed) with it's own bar and beach service. There were comfy bean bag chairs on the beach and comfy seating in the clear roofed bar. It's true you need to wake up early if you'd like spots under an umbrella - but we never had a problem as the sun was up early and we like to day party more than disco at night. But people do move throughout the day so not a huge deal in my book either way. But know the sun is out early and is down early this time of year so take advantage. Towel service was endless - especially on rainy days it was nice to change in whenever. Remember the beach spreads out over both resorts so take a walk if you aren't happy with the first place you pick. I feel like that is part of the negative reviews here - it seems like people didn't actually explore the entire resort grounds.

Drinks: We tipped on average $50 pesos for 10-15 drinks and had great service. We also saw plenty of people not tipping and they still got good service. If you don't think your drink is strong enough you can ask them to top it off. We did bring our own insulated mugs which they filled. This was nice as it kept things cold longer. Two swim up bar options. We spent most our time at the quieter pool (Yucatan side). But my man played in some crazy games at the larger pool and had fun with those. Of course the house wine is uber sweet as your in MX. We didn't try any others. We met lots of people from all over at different bars throughout the resort and had fun. Bring a deck of cards for rainy days - you'll meet people real fast! :)

Food: Like you'd expect. Breakfast and lunch are buffets so -duh - it's food they can serve on buffets. But they had omelets to order, fresh fruit, crepes, and sandwich materials everyday. During lunch they would cook whatever seafood or meat you chose right in front of you. I've read reviews that they undercook. I never saw a problem and they were so friendly that if you thought so - you could just ask them to keep cooking and it wouldn't be an issue. As the a la carte places go we liked the Hibachi grill (American way), Italian place, Grill/Seafood in that order. The tapas place was lackluster and not really tapas. We skipped the Mexican based on reviews here. There are plenty of bars near each restaurant so as soon as you put your name in - you move to a bar and have a few. If you're going to a resort because of the food - I can't recommend this resort as the best, but it's pretty average. Food wasn't our main priority though - other than to stave off an early drunkenness or bad hangover. :)

Activities: A brief walk to the marina is a neat sight for something to do - see the manatees and dolphins for free. You can rent bikes from the front of the hotel. If you plan on leaving the resort at all - don't buy things from the vendors at the hotel at night unless you haggle down a decent price. Volleyball, archery and water sports were scheduled throughout the day. If it rained there was Bingo, cooking classes, etc.

Service: Always smiling, helpful, and clean. Those who weren't totally upbeat are the same as those in the positions you'd expect to be so (at least at most similarly priced places in US) such as front desk, head chefs, etc. The pool is not swimmable between 7pm and 8am. It would be nice to have a place after 7, but not the end of the world.

All in all - for what we paid, we had a great trip and would return. The only reason we might not return would be to try a different resort.

Room Tip: Privileged - even if only for private beach. We stayed in a Suite in building 11 on the first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brianna-B-There
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

Just spent 6 nights there. As with most some ups and downs. Having just been there I am surprised about the people who have recommended buying into the Privileged program. For us it was $20 per person per night. That is $360-480 (We had an infant, not sure if they charge for her for this calculation although she as listed as a guest). All the Privileged program buys you is access to a small portion of the beach which is no nicer than the rest of the beach (accept it has bean bags), a fridge with beer and sodas in it (no liquor),a nicer bed, and most impressively a nicer , modern shower/bathroom. We saw the privileged rooms and they were actually slightly smaller than our normal room. Now I do have some significant complaints about our room, so maybe for these reasons the privileged rooms may be worth it, but I really think we were unlucky with our specific room, and the other standard rooms would be more than adequate. I honestly think it is absurd to consider the upgrade given the cost

So I will start with the Cons:
-Our room leaked,... partly from rain and partly from the air conditioner in the ceiling. The hotel offered us another room but we had so much stuff with our baby being there it would have taken too much effort to move
-Room was very humid and musty
-Elevators dont work adequately, and we were on 4th floor
-The beach is OK, but i didnt like the rocky bottom. Overall is small and you cant walk anywhere
-The water in the room stopped several times, including mid-shower
- was about 55 minutes from cancun airport

Pros:
-Resort area is very beautiful, clean, well taken care of.
-The food was decent, at buffets and ala carte restaurants. We received 4 nights at ala carte for 6 night stay. I thought this was generous
-99% of the people were very nice
-free wifi, although spotty, our room wasn't covered

Overall I would recommend the resort if the price is right. I wont go back, but not because it was a bad resort, just prefer variety.

Room Tip: Closer to the beach the better. Would not recommend privileged upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scottdkuhn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
24.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,531 reviews
7.1 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
24.2 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
16.7 mi away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#75 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
23.0 mi away
Catalonia Playa Maroma
Catalonia Playa Maroma
#4 of 5 in Playa Maroma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Riviera Maya

Property: Catalonia Riviera Maya
Address: Avenida Xcacel Lote 1 Plano 2 Manzana 18 | Solidaridad, Puerto Aventuras 77783, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#12 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalonia Riviera Maya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribbean Sea's turquoise waters can be seen from this hotel-paradise. Come and get ready to spend some unforgettable days in the heart of the Mayan Riviera, surrounded by marvelous landscapes and seductive, white sand beaches. The hotel is located in the wonderful Puerto Aventuras development. This is a tourist development which boasts a marina for yachts, a golf course, restaurants and dolphin tanks, all within easy reach of the main Mayan Riviera attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Catalonia Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Riviera Maya Puerto Aventuras, Mexico
Catalonia Hotel Mexico
Catalonia Rivera Maya
Riviera Maya Catalonia
Hotel Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riveria Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya Resort
Catalonia Riviera Maya All Inclusive
Catalonia Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing