We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and clean Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed December 11, 2013

I've read some of the bad reviews below and dont agree! Staff is polite and serviceminded, they greets you every morning. If you could, you should upgrade to Priviliged to get some benefits.
Poolarea is great, but beach even better with great snorkeling.

Room Tip: Privileged suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Johan7007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Dear Johan7007,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments about your stay with us.

It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.

Hopefully we will see you soon to pamper you and your family once again!

Happy holidays,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (9,603)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,009 - 3,015 of 9,603 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2013

My friend and I thoroughly enjoyed ourselves on this last minute trip, I'm really surprised at the negative feedback!!
We found all the staff extremely hard working & friendly, I have been on many all inclusive holidays and never seen staff work so hard. I found the staff so pleasant, and all the people we spoke to and made friends with felt the same. The hotel is kept very clean, even the grounds, you always see staff brushing sand off steps and trimming plants ect, no detail was to small. My friend is going to return with her partner, as she knows he will absolutely love it. As for the food, WOW we ate al la cart every night, the restaurants were amazing, I could not believe the quality and amount of food you got. we ate non stop just because it was all so nice, the snack bar is open most of the day, food is always available, plus there is a pancake & milkshake café on the roof top, heaven, something for everyone, even the buffet food was great, so much choice, we tried something different everyday. I'm missing the food and being spoilt by the friendly staff, holiday blues have set in now! The entertainment team were just too funny, they work all day and nearly every night, but full of energy and friendly vibes, we ending up playing games most days as they made us laugh so much, so much to do and its all free, from Zumba, yoga, water polo, dance lessons, darts, and much more, on top of this you can go snorkelling or on a catamaran, hire bikes and much more all included at no extra cost, just fabulous, as we had a few cloudy days, spoilt for choice with things to do, but on the other hand if you want to chill the sister hotel next door has a more relaxed vibe around its pool, so what ever your looking for I'm sure you will find it. also 10 mins away is a little harbour with dolphins and cute restaurants bars & shops. The cocktail choice was just brilliant, they can make anything even if its not on the menu. Do not miss the evening shows as they are unbelievably funny, so much time & effort has gone into them and it really shows. I must also add the rooms were very spacious, which was great for 2 girls getting ready. all in all this hotel was fabulous. I would most defiantly return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tinkabell7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, Director General at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

Dear tinkabell7,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your last stay with us.

We feel very proud and glad to hear such nice comments from our guests, It is great to know that you had a good holiday with us.

We definitely hope to see you again soon, it will be our pleasure to welcome once again!

Sincerely,

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

This was our third visit in the past year and a half.We stayed for 17 days in November and we hope our next visit will be in the spring. Megan N. gave a very detailed and precise description of the hotel. We never get bored at this place.It is so condensed with activities, bars, restaurants, the snorkeling,beach, biking and lots more. Best of all, it is a resort within a gated community " Puerto Aventuras" population 6000.It is perfectly safe to explore the town and talk to the residents,visit the marinas, shops, restaurants with live music and swim with dolphins.If you wish to go further,as soon as you exit the gates a collectivo shuttle will show up to take you to Playa de Carmen or Cancun or Tulum.It is safe and inexpensive (25 pesos).
It's not a 5 star but for the price it is definitely great value.If you are outgoing, friendly and not too fussy about small stuff, you will definitely have a great vacation.

Room Tip: Specify your preferences ( ex: quiet room, or upper level) at the reception before your check in.If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Suzanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Dear Suzanne L,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your last stay with us.

We feel very proud and glad to hear such nice comments from our repeat guests, It is great to know that you always have a good holiday with us.

We definitely hope to see you again in spring, it will be our pleasure to welcome once again!

Happy holidays,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

We just got back from our honeymoon here. We first get there and at check inn we were told they didn't have the honeymoon suite that we had booked. So they put us in another room. After spending 3 hours with going back and fourth with trying to get a good room we finally got a suite. The rooms we were told they were ocean front! WRONG!! You can't see the ocean from any of the rooms!!! I was very upset about that!! The food was really good! All the places we had dinner at each night was well worth it. If your going here just understand there is A LOT of children everywhere! The resort was clean, but not what we thought it would be! You can't walk to the main road because its a 2 mile walk to the main road and you have to take a cab to get there. Overall we made the best of this place, but we wouldn't come back. The reviews were right on about the over booking the room you booked and the sad thing is the front desk didnt even care they over booked you. We asked to be moved to another sister resort and we were told we couldn't be moved because we would lose all our money we paid. Just beware when you book this place! We made the best of it, but we won't be back!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ericka82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Dear Ericka82,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We deeply apologize if your stay with us was not a perfect honeymoon and what you were expecting.

Unfortunately our hotel got involuntarily overbooked in the Privielged honeymoon room category, this unexpected situation obliged us to take the decision of giving you a complimentary upgrade to a Privileged Suite.

We deeply regret that this situation occurred, please accept our most sincere apologies for any inconvenience that may have been experienced and I assure that this situation does not happen often.

We will take seriously your feedback and see possibilities to improve and make sure your next visit will exceed your expectations.

Happy holidays,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

My husband and i just got back from our holiday . we were very dissapointed as there were so many young children at this hotel. The hotel is advertised to meet all needs but, only seem to cater for people with young families. Why on earth would a parent choose to take a small child on an 11 hour flight to Mexico amazes me. We found the staff polite but not very forthcoming and the service was very poor. They seemed unable to take multiple orders and unable to multitask, they seemed to only be able to clear tables and serve one at a time and were very slow. I do reccomend walking to the back of the dolphin area to a private beach as the beach from the hotel is a very small area and peoples loungers were piled up side by side. So, we asked our rep and he said your allowed to use the preivate beach only because we asked and couldn't bear to be laying like sardines on the beach. I don't reccomend this hotel but, if you have booked it, just make the most of it thats what we did.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mandy771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Everything was good. The Japanese and steak restaurants were excellent. We did not try the others, only the buffets which were what we expected. The staff was extremely nice, the room was clean, the beds were firm, the drinks were cold, and the entertainment staff did a great job with activities. If you want a lounger in the front, you need to set towels out EARLY. I think some people went out at first light to mark their territory for the day. Several topless females, some which should NOT be topless in public, but to each their own. I highly recommend scuba diving. The crew at Pro Dive Mexico were great. Carlos with Olympus Tours was awesome. He is very knowledgeable, accomodating, polite, and quite a pleasure to talk with.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Daddyo122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I recently travelled to the Catalonia and had a very disappointing trip. I found many of the staff had bad attitudes and were unhelpfull. We had just travelled to the Iberostar in June and it was great! We holiday quite frequently and I was the most dissatisfied with this resort.The steak ala carte was our favourite and we returned twice. The ocean was clear with many fish.You have to carefully walk in to the ocean as there are many rocks. The kids club was very overrated! If you have small children I definitely suggest Cuba! The front desk staff were not friendly after a long travel to what we thought was going to be paradise. I was very shocked that people had to carry around their water bottles to fill themselves. This resort charges extra for everything that anyone would ever need. If you are planning on travelling to the Mayan Riviera I suggest elsewhere!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melinda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
23 mi away
Catalonia Playa Maroma
Catalonia Playa Maroma
#4 of 6 in Playa Maroma
8,016 reviews
1.8 mi away
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Palace
#6 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
7,824 reviews
1.8 mi away
Barcelo Maya Colonial
Barcelo Maya Colonial
#5 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
6,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Catalonia Royal Tulum
0.1 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#11 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,863 reviews
8.7 mi away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#74 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
13,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Riviera Maya

Address: Avenida Xcacel Lote 1 Plano 2 Manzana 18, Puerto Aventuras 77783, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#10 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#12 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range: $195 - $533 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalonia Riviera Maya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribbean Sea's turquoise waters can be seen from this hotel-paradise. Come and get ready to spend some unforgettable days in the heart of the Mayan Riviera, surrounded by marvelous landscapes and seductive, white sand beaches. The hotel is located in the wonderful Puerto Aventuras development. This is a tourist development which boasts a marina for yachts, a golf course, restaurants and dolphin tanks, all within easy reach of the main Mayan Riviera attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Catalonia Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Riviera Maya Puerto Aventuras, Mexico
Catalonia Hotel Mexico
Catalonia Rivera Maya
Riviera Maya Catalonia
Hotel Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riveria Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya Resort
Catalonia Riviera Maya All Inclusive
Catalonia Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing