We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nonstop fun with amazing service too!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“nonstop fun with amazing service too!”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I never do this but - Gotta give a top rating to this super-affordable place (cheapcaribbean.com offer) after just completing our 2nd stay here. Everything you could want within an all-inclusive, easy, exquisitely landscaped resort. Couple-friendly with at least 4 or 5 fun activities each day, Catalonia Riviera Maya is also super for families with kids of all ages and also active folks 50+, also gay-friendly. We loved the 5 pools, 7 international restaurants, especially the steak grill, and the 3 additional bars (good mixologists too). This place has won awards from all over, for overall resort quality, eco-friendliness, safety and more BUT the best is that it’s top-rated as a place to work in Mexico. That means staff is happy, and their unfailing friendliness and fun attitude makes every encounter easy and relaxing. Tour options abound – we liked Olympus – but snorkeling (amazing near the jetty!), swimming of course, kayaking and catamaran sails are here and FREE. Mixology lessons, cooking lessons, archery, pool volleyball, soccer, games, prizes, crafts, all here and we tried so many it was like 3 days of vacation in each single day. The theatre shows are campy and fun too. We upgraded to a honeymoon room at a very reasonable price, for the free spa trip, and loved the romantic curtained bed and other extras.

Room Tip: Upgrade to "privileged" (ask for a discount, you'll get one) and confirm your room wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,695
    2,823
    983
    398
    242
See reviews for
2,273
3,607
127
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,046)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pickering, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We just returned from a week at this resort and we loved it! Catalonia Yucatan Beach and Catalonia Riviera Maya are more than sister resorts, when you book into one, you can use everything at both. We booked the Yucatan Beach and upgraded to a Privileged Room (which I highly recommend), and it turned out that our room was on the Riviera Maya side.

What can I say about this place? It is spotlessly clean, the service is excellent, the entertainment is energetic and fun, the food is delicious – it is the only place we’ve been to that we can’t wait to get back. There’s free wifi throughout the resort (if you want that sort of thing while you’re on vacation), an amazing spa, 5 pools, 5 a la carte’s, and the most charming, helpful and hard-working staff that I’ve ever met. Once they get to know you, they bring you your drinks without asking, and there’s even a waitress at the beach! Luxury.

The beach is separated into three areas – all beautiful sand, however getting into the water at two of these areas is a bit tricky (you need water shoes). The third is a sheltered lagoon which is completely sandy. This place is a snorkeler’s paradise, and the water sports shop has tons of masks, snorkels and fins, so there’s no waiting. There are lots and lots of lounge chairs and palapas, but it was hard to find shade in the afternoon, so you have to get a shaded area first thing in the morning.

We missed out on the Italian restaurant, and didn’t bother with the Mexican restaurant, but we went to the Japanese one twice (such fun and delicious!), the Steak Grill twice (delicious!), and the Terrace Tapas (free with the upgrade), which was lovely, scenic and tasty. One buffet restaurant is open-air and one is air-conditioned, so there’s lots of choice. The renovations above the open-air buffet were a bit noisy, but nothing too bad.

I do recommend the upgrade - the room was incredible, king-sized bed, flat screen tv, robes, slippers, mini-bar restocked every day, a 100% marble bathroom with a HUGE walk-in shower that I wanted to take home – also you get free internet, free time at the spa, premium seating at the buffet. It was a real treat and didn’t cost that much more. I know one reviewer wrote that this wasn’t the fanciest resort in the area, but they must not have seen the Privileged rooms or the Spa – pure luxury.

As I said, we’ll definitely come back. There was not one thing negative that I can say about this place, except that we couldn’t find our TV remote control (we turned it on twice, so who cares) and the need for water shoes at the beach (a small price to pay for a snorkeler’s paradise). If you are looking for a fun, clean, happy place to spend a week, this is it!

Room Tip: Building 12, Room 6145 - it was a lovely room, quiet area, a short walk to the beach and everything...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sylvia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledonia, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

First of all we flew out of Toronto with Canjet, The flight and staff were great. Nice smooth flight and only 3.45 hours to get there. Always when you land in Cancun, nothing goes fast, customs takes there time and the hassles you get when you get between to sliding exit doors and the busses. Just walk past and smile. Don't let there ignorance get to you. The bus ride was approximately 1.5 hours to get to the resort. We got there by 10am so your room will not be ready. Ask for an upgrade and poof they got one. They wanted 50.00 per night but we got them down to 20.00. Actually a Honeymoon Suite, (Privilege). My wife says it only took her 22 years. Nice room with a bottle of Tequilla to start you off. Grab your suite and jump in the pool and get a cold drink. I like the idea of ice tea dispencers. This was very cold and tasty. The pool BBq area has lots to eat. We were there to relax and just soak up the sun. When you wake up in the morning and get ready for breakfest take some towels with you to put over the pool chairs. The Japanese Restaurant (Mikado) was fantastic. The Steak House come second in our ratings. The diving was OK, the Gulf was rough so the bottom and visability were not the greatest. At 70 feet the temperature of the water was 82 degrees. $55.00 gets you one dive for about an hour, 3200 ibs of air. Its just a bit of a walk to the Marina to get to the boat. The night life not sure about, were older so the sun just burnt us out. Early to bed and early to rise. I saw to many with Tequilla head aches. The pool water was kinda cool but by the swim up bar the temperature always rises 10 degrees. Just don't open your eyes or mouth if you go under in that area. A hot spot to hit was Lapos Jewellery. We got some great deals on Silver. 10 minutes away from this resort. The only downfall was some construction on building a new roof section. It was kinda cool though watching all the safety standards they have in Mexico (None), a man in flip flops 50 feet above the grond. The resort is clean, remember to leave a couple bucks on the pillow every morning for an extra clean. One thing we found weird was the resort took no American Money, all was Visa, MC, or any charge card you had. That was the only upsetting thing. Anyways good luck and Happy Vacation

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

End Sep - Oct for 2 weeks....
If you notice most of the reviews that advise to blinking upgrade are from people in USA. Don't listen to this! It is probably ok to upgrade but there is NOTHING wrong with the standard room. We were on level 3. There are only 4 floors. Get towel art everyday by the maids. Massive queen size bed and it is comfy. Probably the reviews that said about the poor rooms are on the Yucatan side (next door in the same complex) it didn't look as nice as the Catalonia side to be fair.

Very clean, got cleaned everyday however the only thing to complain about big time are the maids! They are SO loud! You put the "do not disturb" sign on the door and they are inconsiderate and still make a racket! Banging the brush against the walls and it all echoes in this hotel! They chat loudly and laugh outside your room and it's a joke! No peace and quiet at all. You can't and won't get any lie in past 7ish. Plus one day the maids left the sliding back door open which leads onto the balcony so watch out with what stuff you may leave outside of the safe, next door could easily put a foot over the balcony and come into your room. The safe is worth the money and only $3 dollars a day. They don't take dollars though in the hotel so it was 546 pesos in total for the 14 nights.

Outside around the pool is building work going on and this is also too loud and not relaxing like Mexico should be. It is all day everyday. Think the roof was completed but then they start something else on it! Doesn't end! Chainsaws and hammers going off. It is all too loud.

The hotel is in Puerto Aventuras and it is quite abit of a trek walk up to the main road. Takes a good sweaty 15 or 20 mins to walk up. Bit annoying there is no bus stop outside the hotel. The bus on the main road comes every 5 mins and it's got a red band around the white minibus type looking bus. So cheap. Don't ask him how much as they just charge what they want every time and change it to rip you off. Just get out 20 pesos each way per person ready to get to Playa Del Carmen. Say gracias while giving the money and just get out. 20 pesos is £1.01 which is brilliant for the bus down to there. It's then 60 pesos for 2 people I think to get down to Tulum. (make sure you walk under the main road bridge opposite the petrol station because for Tulum you will need to go the other way)

Tulum, Playa del Carmen, Chichen Itza, Akumal Beach and Cozumel are all worth the visits. Akumal is the best beach and so white sand. Better than the hotel beach. Chichen Itza is worth the trip but do it through Easy Tours down in Playa del Carmen (right by where you get off the bus there) you can't miss it. Get it there because it's only $47 dollars each instead of the $109 dollars each that Thompson and other reps charge you at the hotel. Rip you off. Go with Easy Tours they are so easy and safe and on time when picking you up from hotel and taking you back. They take you to Chichen Itza then lunch, then a Cenote and then finally to Valladolid (a better prettier city).

Mexican restaurant at hotel is ok, bit bland. Get 8 tickets for the 2 weeks when were standard room all inclusive. That is plenty. 1 ticket for Tapas which is all we needed as we didn't like the food at all there. Trying to be posh when Tapas should be pick at little dishes relaxing.

The best restaurants for us were Japanese then Steakhouse. Seeing as we don't like fish we have to try it anyway seeing as we get 8 tickets to use up. Ok the starter is mainly fish but you do you a battered onion ring and battered carrots which I ate. The best restaurant is Japanese because you get the whole entertainment of teppanyaki. Great to watch the man spin and juggle his spatula etc while you wait for him to cook up your beef, chicken or Shrimp with veg. So nice!! The rice is also lovely at the start before the meat bit. We went again the second week.

Italian was ok too. Nice veg soup. Nice risotto and other Italian dishes to choose from. Wish they did Ravioli though. Buffet ones both ok too. What you expect. Breakfast in buffets were all fine.

While you walk outside the hotel and go left to go up the main road, about 10 mins up you'll come to the marina. Dolphins are there just in the water and it is amazing too see. Around the marina mind is this shop which is the last one by an Italian restaurant and you don't want to go in there. The shop keeper man is such a rip off. He cons you out of your money. He expected us to just give over $10 dollars (£6.43) for a packet of small green rizla papers hahaha. what a complete joke he is. He expects a tourist to not realise and just give over that amount of money for what is worth only 26p!! He is horrible. Avoid this shop like the plague!

Our holiday was amazing and wish we were still there. Will want to visit Mexico probably in a few years time, nice to say you have been and seen most of it. Good price and nice place. Just go careful with your money and don't let them rip you off!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 week stay at the Catalonia, yet again it was the best time. Firstly we decided on a private transfer to get us to the hotel, check in was speedy efficient and welcoming. The room we were allocated wasn't a suitable room for us and we were immediately assured we would be able to move rooms to our chosen room first thing the next morning. The lady who checked us in was a lovely lady called Love and she was very informative and extremely well spoken... We were given privileged wristbands and made to feel privileged throughout or whole stay.
Swimming Pools....well maintained and monitored, and kept constantly clean throughout the day. We had one afternoon of very heavy rain and the staff worked hard throughout the rain storm and after it had finished to make sure everywhere was kept safe and looking its best. We were happy to see that the barman Gregorio was still working behind the pool bar and he greeted us like old friends.
Food..still a high standard with a wide choice of food suitable for the multi national visitors this hotel accommodates. Even for the fussiest of eaters there was something good to eat. Tania in the buffet restaraunt was very welcoming and looked after the guests showing them to their tables and making sure they were happy and settled with everything needed.
Rooms...Cleaned every day by a very lovely maid. The power went off in our room so we phoned reception to find out if it was a problem for all the rooms in our block or if it was our. We were told they would check and get back to us. It was just our room and within 5 minutes the power was back on and a service man at the door checking everything was alright and that we were alright. (Wouldn't happen that quickly in hotels in England)
My son is in a wheelchair and if the staff saw me pushing him towards the ramp walkway up to our room the came across quickly and pushed him up for me...,
Entertainment...the entertainment staff work very hard and put on great nightly show and fun games during the day in and around the pool and beach. Pita is amazing at her job with so much energy and enthusiasm and the ability to communicate with all guests whatever language they speak....
Thanks Catalonia for another amazing holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmer Lake, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Let me begin by saying this was the best advise to stay at this resort! I have no complaints, except for their version of Pad Thai ;). They have a lot of amenities nearby that were very enjoyable (swimming with dolphins, Snorkeling Safari, Tulum Akumal, etc.)
On site: more than one swimming pool, wet bar, sailing, jet skiing, snorkeling, volleyball, exercising, delicious restaurants, buffet which was excellent, bar...
Everyone is very nice that works there.
My best vacation with my husband!

Room Tip: Try to get an upgrade, it added onto having a nicer room and privileges!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JenSchneider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for two weeks on our honeymoon. Although we chose not to upgrade to the honeymoon package, we paid to upgrade to a privilege room. It was worth every single penny! The room was just fantastic, kept very clean by the housekeepers (Maria in particular) and a towel creation was left on our bed every single day, each time different (yes, its the small things in life!).The minibar was kept stocked with plenty of soft drinks and two cans of Corona each day and as part of the privilege package we also received a turndown service each night.

There are plenty of activities to do within the resort, such as beach volleyball, stretching classes on the beach, water aerobics and many watersports. The activities and entertainment staff were very proactive in trying to get you involved in these activities but were also very happy to leave you, if like us, you are happier chilling by the pool in the sunshine! The only thing that we found disappointing was the inability to just walk onto the beach and into the sea. The sea is very very rocky along the shoreline, so if its something you want to do while you are here, take pool shoes. We witnessed a lot of people coming out of the water with cut feet. Though if you are determined enough to get past all the rocks, its fantastic, beautiful water with lots of colourful fish! I definitely wouldn't let it put you off!

We found the food within the hotel nice but not fantastic. The a la carte restaurants were of a higher standard of food than the buffet places which many would expect. Our favourites were the Japanese (because of the entertainment with the teppanyaki grill), the steakhouse and the Spanish tapas restaurant (which was a part of the privilege package). We were given 5 tickets per week to use in any of the a la carte restaurants plus one ticket per week for the tapas restaurant, which left us two nights to go to the buffet restaurants - we ended up not using all of our tickets as we were well looked after in the buffet restaurants and enjoyed the atmosphere more - in most of the a la carte restaurants we felt rushed compared to being able to enjoy a relaxed atmosphere in the buffet restaurant (las brisas) where we could have sat all night if we had wanted to.

One of the things that made our honeymoon just perfect was the way we were so well looked after by the staff, in particular, Manuel and Miguel at the pool bars/El Mercado, Alberto and Jorge in Las Brisas, and there was a bartender in the sports bar who also looked after us brilliantly but unfortunately we didn't catch his name.

There is a small marina closeby, about a ten minute walk, which has a lot to offer! There are lots of boat trips that run from there, you can sit and watch dolphins or pay to go swimming with them, there are lots of little shops (which I would recommend using as the shop in the hotel is pretty expensive) and we sat outside and enjoyed some lunch and a cocktail (or two) occasionally! Also, Playa Del Carmen is only about 20minutes away in a taxi (which cost about $20USD each way) and is perfect for shopping for souvenirs - we went to an area called Paseo Del Carmen, which is a lovely little outdoor shopping centre with some souvenir shops, a perfume store, designer shops, cafe's and lots of interesting market stalls! Definitely worth a visit if you want shopping!

On a whole, I would recommend this resort to anybody and we, for sure, will definitely be back. We had such an amazing time, the two of us could easily and happily have stayed another week (or two)!!

Room Tip: The Privilege Rooms are well worth upgrading to!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FiCullerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
24.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,529 reviews
7.1 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
12.4 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,724 reviews
23.0 mi away
Catalonia Playa Maroma
Catalonia Playa Maroma
#4 of 5 in Playa Maroma
6,756 reviews
17.3 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
2,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Riviera Maya

Property: Catalonia Riviera Maya
Address: Avenida Xcacel Lote 1 Plano 2 Manzana 18 | Solidaridad, Puerto Aventuras 77783, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#12 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalonia Riviera Maya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribbean Sea's turquoise waters can be seen from this hotel-paradise. Come and get ready to spend some unforgettable days in the heart of the Mayan Riviera, surrounded by marvelous landscapes and seductive, white sand beaches. The hotel is located in the wonderful Puerto Aventuras development. This is a tourist development which boasts a marina for yachts, a golf course, restaurants and dolphin tanks, all within easy reach of the main Mayan Riviera attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Catalonia Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Riviera Maya Puerto Aventuras, Mexico
Catalonia Hotel Mexico
Catalonia Rivera Maya
Riviera Maya Catalonia
Hotel Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riveria Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya Resort
Catalonia Riviera Maya All Inclusive
Catalonia Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing