We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed July 26, 2013

My boyfriend and I just returned from our 5 night 6 day trip (July 17-22). It was the first time we have been to a Catalonia hotel. The hotel was amazing and beautiful. We arrived around 430pm so check-in was fast and smooth. It is about an hour away from the airport but it is in a private and safe community. We asked about upgrading and they had a promotion going on. The privledged superior room was $100 total for the both of us and the suite was $150. We went with the superior only because we didnt want a room on the ground floor and a suite on a higher floor wouldnt be available till the next day. The room was great. It came with a mini-bar that was stocked daily with three bottles of water, 2 cans of beer and soda. There was also a huge bottle of water in the bathroom and one by the coffee maker. The room also came with a safe and robes. The furniture was very modern, there was a nice size balcony and a walk-in shower. The king sized bed was very comfortable. The TV was not that clear but that didn't bother us because we didn't spend that much time in the room. The only thing about that bothered us was we saw ants on the bathroom counter. Also, be prepared there are no elevators and it echoes in the hall. So you will hear people slamming their doors and talking bright and early.
The food was very good and we definitely did not starve on this trip. Because of the upgrade we received 3 vouchers to the a la carte restaurants and one voucher to the Tapas restaurant. The Japanese was amazing. The chef puts on a great show and the food is sooooo yummy. The fried ice cream is a must for dessert. There is a wait for this since they only have a couple of hibachi tables but you can sit at the bar while you wait and have a drink. The bartender was amazing. He had my second drink ready before I even had the chance to ask for it. The Tapas restaurant was another amazing choice. We saved it for our last night. It has a more classy feel to it and more romantic. The wait time was about 20 minutes. We got the grouper with salomn and pork chop as our main dishes and wow were they yummy. Everything was perfect about this place. It's on the roof so the view was breathtaking. Third on our list was the Mexican restaurant. We were seated immediately when we arrived and they gave us chips with guacamole and salsa while we ordered. The service here was amazing. They were fast and friendly. They brought sombreros over to our table and took pictures for us. The last a la carte restaurant was the steakhouse. We liked this the least our of all the restaurants. The hostess told us there would be a 20 minute wait but instead it turned out to an an hour. Someone came and took our drink order then someone else came and took our food order. Well the appetizers arrived and we still didn't get our drinks. Apparently our drink order was never put through. The crab cake was mushy and not edible. My boyfriend got the T-bone and I got the arrachera. The steaks were delicious. Then they asked if we would like the dessert menu and we said yes. 15 minutes later and still no dessert menu and the waiter was just standing around in the front so we got up and left. Unfortunately, the service here is not the best. The breakfast buffet was beyond good. They have everything and anything you can think of. You definitely will leave the buffet satisified and full. They have the oh so popular omlet station. You put what toppings you want in your omlet on a small plate and give it to the chief and they make the omlet in front of you. Be prepared there is always a line at the omlet station. There is also a crepe station where they make fresh crepes for you. They had everything....sausage, bacon, donuts, sweets, french toast, pancakes, different cheeses, fruit, fresh flavors of cream cheese, different meats such as ham and salomi, you name it and they had it. They even had a bloody mary station as well as fresh juices. During the day the steakhouse restaurant is a snack bar and grill. We went there everyday for snacks. They have burgers, hotdogs, fries, calamari, nachoes, and desserts. You can eat over there or take the food to the pool or your balcony.
We really enjoyed the amenities and activies offered. We mainly stayed at the pool with the swim up bar. We had our own water bottles which they had no problem filling up with drinks. It made it easier instead of constantly have to ask for another drink. They made the drinks good and fast. I give the staff alot of credit for always keeping up with the orders. Everyone wakes up early and put a towel or something to reserve a chair. If you come after 930am you might not be able to find a chair by the pool. The beach has a lot of chairs and the water was beautiful. Yes, you do need water shoes. There are lots of rocks and it is impossible to go in the water without water shoes. The beach on the Yucatan side is less rocky so you can always try that one. We brought our own snorkeling equipment but the hotel does offer it for free for one hour each day. We went kayaking at the hotel. That was also free for one hour each day. That was alot of fun except no one really gives you any instructions. There is a bar area by the beach where you can get drinks. Other amenities that we used was archery. My boyfriend loved this. It is not available all day so please check the times before hand. It was mostly offered at 1030am and 4pm. We went to the 4pm one. They had a tournament of about 15 guys. It was fun and a way to make friends. Diana was instructing and hilarious. We also played tennis on the roof. It was nice and quiet and hot of course but they have two huge courts and give you the rackets and balls at the front desk. We took about an hour bike ride around the compound. The bike center is right next to the parking lot. That was a fun way to get some exercise in while being on vacation and it allows you to see the area. The entertainment staff is wonderful and topnotch. They try to get everyone involved and have such great attitudes. Pita, Diana and Giovanni are just a few to name. They handled the entertainment around the pool as well as the evening shows. They had karaoke at the lobby bar our last night and it was a packed house. Everyone seemed to really enjoy that. Since we upgraded we were allowed to use some of the spa amenities. The spa had a massage pool and sauna. It is so peaceful and relaxing. That was definitely a good time.
The hotel also has vendors come and set up certain days. We saw them there about 4 days out of the 6 we were there. During the day if you take a 5 minute walk to the marina you can catch the dolphines, seals and sting rays. It was pretty cool and free.
The staff are so friendly and go above and beyond for the guests. They are always keeping the grounds well maintained. We really enjoyed our stay at the Catalonia Riveria Maya. There were so many activities that we didn't even get a chance to try them all. You definitely need to spend at least a week here if not more. It is very relaxing and we are so glad we chose the catalonia. Thank you for a wonderful experience!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Monique E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Dear Monique E,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.

We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.


Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (9,447)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,086 - 3,092 of 9,447 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2013

My best friend and i just returned from this wonderful resort. We had a great deal thru expedia and took our 4 teens with us. (Yes, and lived to tell the tale!) There was something for everyone. Sure the beach is rocky. It's a coral reef! Go snorkelling! (Free gear. Also free catamaran) Sit down and float out to deeper water and you will be fine. There was actually too much to do for a week's stay... We took a morning, rented a taxi (concierge arranged it), and visited ruins in Tulum. Wear a bathing suit 'cause there isn't much shade and the beach there is fabulous. (After all, it has been a hot spot for 1000s of years!) We also took in a show, did archery, cruised the mexican "market" on site, did tequila shots while balancing a sombrero, chatted about the Mayan culture with a very lovely Mayan bartender, had a sunset meal on the beach, toes in sand, chased iguanas and coatis for photo ops, got very tanned, had a divine massage--thank you Marcella!-- and thoroughly enjoyed the hilarious antics of the people we met at the swim up bar! The italian restaurant was our fave. Buffets were very good. Staff is hardworking and helpful. The water is a gorgeous combination of blues and greens. Breathtaking. And warm of course. Check in was a bit slow...they were selling upgraded rooms. We said no, and went to eat lunch while they sorted things out. No worries! I find that if you are unhappy about something, and you voice your concerns in a reasonable manner, remembering that you are in a foreign country, with a different way of doing things, it all usually works out. When all else fails, head for the bar... Slightly off the beaten path, which I love, yet we had everything we needed and more!

Room Tip: Upgrades not necessary
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susannah0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Dear susannah0808,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.

We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.


Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Catalonia Yucatan Beach Resort and Spa which is connected to Catalonia Riviera Maya. First, I want to say how beautiful this resort is, its breathtaking! The hotel is located in Puerto Aventuras which is a private area with high security- very safe! When we arrived to Catalonia Yucatan we upgraded our room from standard to privileged (not suite) and we were glad we did. We got a nicer bathroom and a bigger room with a flat screen tv. They also provided a complimentary tequila bottle. We got to peek at the standard rooms, they are okay but if you want a more comfortable stay you won't regret upgrading. The only difference between the privileged rooms and the suites is that the suites are located in a more "private" area to the far side of Catalonia Riviera Maya. They come with a "jacuzzi" on the patio/balcony area, but its more like a tub.

The pools are great, there are 2 on the Catalonia Yucatan side and 2 on the Catalonia Riviera Maya side. There are 2 swim up bars, the Margaritas bar and the Tequila bar. The Margaritas bar was always fun and we met lots of people there during our stay from many places. The staff is nice and they attend you fairly quickly. The pools are also kid-friendly with shallow ends for the kids and barriers for smaller children who cannot swim.

The restaurants at the hotel were great, with some exceptions. We got 4 vouchers plus a voucher to the Terrace restaurant which came with our room upgrade. We went to the Mexican restaurant- Los Alebrijes and it was just okay, nothing special. The portions were small and some of the food we ordered were flavour-less. The Italian restaurant- Bellavista was the worst one we went to. They gave us bruschetta to start which was pretty good but the rest of our meal was horrible. We were talking to other people staying at the resort and they felt the same way. My boyfriend had the lasagna and it was cold. I ordered the risotto and it was a mush of rice and cheese, not appetizing at all! We ordered tiramisu for dessert and it was amazing, that was the only good part of the meal. We went to the Bomboleo Steakhouse and it was very very good! the New York steak was good and so was the fish. The Japanese restaurant was our favourite!! It was fun and delicious. We liked it so much we went twice. Our chef was Guillermo and he was hilarious, we recommend asking for him when you go. The food was very tasty! The Terrace Tapas Lounge & Bar was also very good if you've tried tapas before (Spanish appetizers). We ordered lots of them and liked most of them. This restaurant is located on the roof-top with an ocean view. Finally, The Creperie was deeeelicious! We went there almost every night and the service was awesome.

The staff and most of the guests are friendly, don't forget to tip. The staff working at the hotel are dedicated to their job and they deserve it. I would definitely go back in a heart beat!

ps: there are many reviews about the beach being rocky and to be honest it is. If you think you won't be able to handle it I would suggest bringing water shoes just in case.

Room Tip: definitely upgrade if you get a deal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear Andrea1028,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your last stay with us and for such nice comments.
It is great to know that you had a good time and enjoyed our facilities and services and we deeply apologize if the food in all of our restaurants was not what you expected, be sure that all your comments have already being forward to the department involved in order for them to take some actions.

We definitely hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, it will be our pleasure to welcome and pamper you once again!


Your Sincerely,

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is our second trip to the Cat.. first was in 2010.. It was just as nice as we remembered. We took my parents with us this time and they fell in love with the resort. We stayed in one of the separate 3 story buildings instead of the hotel and the room was fabulous. We had no issues checking in. Never any issues at dinner. We ate at the Japanese and Mexican restaurants. Buffet the other times. Always enough to eat. Enjoyed the vendors, make sure you barter on price. The creperie was fabulous. I would again recommend this resort to anyone, especially if this is a first trip to the region. Its a long drive from the airport, but the peace and quiet make up for it. Also make sure you take your own snorkel gear.. the reef right off the beach is amazing!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lcso3227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear Icso3227,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your last stay with us.

We feel very proud and glad to hear such nice comments from our repeat guests, It is great to know that you always have a good holiday with us.

We definitely hope to see you again soon, it will be our pleasure to welcome once again!

Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed here in July 2005, the summer of hurricane Emily! which of course hit the hotel one week into our fortnight stay, so we only experienced the hotel for one week, but from what i recall it was outstanding and the staff where all brilliant! the hotel was ruined in the storm however so it could have changed a brave bit since! but from what i remember, and from the people i went with said, they would return again for sure!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JGSCOOBY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear JGSCOOBY,

Thank you for writing your review from your stay in our hotel in 2005, it is great to know that after almost 8 years, you still remember the service, facilities and staff.

We definitly hope you will decide to visit us again in order for you to see all the changes we have made since and to give us another chance to pamper you and your party.

Your sincerely,

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Where do I start? The standard rooms are a bit sub standard. Very plain. Very hard beds. Air conditioner that didn't work most of the week. It was 76 to 80 degrees in our room all week. We complained several nights to be told "it is OK now. It will be better in 15 minutes". Never was. Finally on next to last night got the front desk manager involved. He at first had the same attitude until I informed him I had a thermometer on my alarm clock & it was 80. Got moved the next day to a moldy room. The only picture was hanging at a VERY weird angle. When we straightened it we found out why--it covered a patch of mold on the wall about the size of a dinner plate. Thank goodness we were leaving the next day.

Was never able to get a chair at the very small pools. Families would take extra to put their stuff on or for their kids to run their toys over. That is if they were in them at all. Mostly empty chairs covered with towels with no one around. No one to enforce occupancy,

Food was mediocre. Breakfast & lunch were adequate but poor, if any, choice at night. Eat major meals early in the day & plan light for evening. Drink service nearly non existant at night. Even the self serve drink machine was broken half the time. The "premium" restaurants are not better. The tepanyaki place burned our meal. He was so involved with the "show" (which he was not any good at) that he burned the rice then cooked the meal on the burnt grill before he cleaned it. But the sushi was good.

Others have mentioned the "eco" theme. The only place we saw it was in the restricted availability of drinking water. Only one bottle per room for the week even tho they advised to NOT drink the tap water. They changed our sheets & towels daily even tho we asked them not to.

I found it interesting that they took EVERY currency EXCEPT USD. Weird.

I would not go back..

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mylomonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear mylomonkey,

Thank you for your feedback about your last stay with us.
We are disappointed to have not met your expectations during your stay with us please accept our sincerest apologies. Be sure that all the departments involved have been already informed about your comments in order to avoid situations like this will happen again in the future and make sure that if you decide to visit us again, we will exceed your expectations.

Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Wasn't good wasn't bad. After going to a iberstar, this does not hold a candle. The big buffet really was no better than the scummy buffet we ave in our small town in PA. Restaurants were divine... Crepes were great! Beach sucks.... Terribly rocky. Girl threw up in pool last day. We ad diarrhea for a week afterwards and we drank bottled water. Won't go ack again. Worth paying 200 more for a better resort.

Room Tip: Pay for the ocean view and don't drink the water!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Missy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear Missy K,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We deeply apologize if your stay with us was not a perfect experience

Starting with myself and all my colleagues and managers, we are disappointed to have not met your expectations during your stay with us.

I hear all your comments, and certainly we will take seriously your feedback and see possibilities to improve and make sure your next visit will exceed your expectations.

Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
23 mi away
Catalonia Playa Maroma
Catalonia Playa Maroma
#4 of 6 in Playa Maroma
7,901 reviews
1.8 mi away
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Palace
#6 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
7,597 reviews
1.8 mi away
Barcelo Maya Colonial
Barcelo Maya Colonial
#5 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
6,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,817 reviews
2.8 mi away
Catalonia Royal Tulum
0.6 mi away
Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort
Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Reso...
#13 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Riviera Maya

Address: Avenida Xcacel Lote 1 Plano 2 Manzana 18, Puerto Aventuras 77783, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#10 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#12 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range: $191 - $509 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalonia Riviera Maya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribbean Sea's turquoise waters can be seen from this hotel-paradise. Come and get ready to spend some unforgettable days in the heart of the Mayan Riviera, surrounded by marvelous landscapes and seductive, white sand beaches. The hotel is located in the wonderful Puerto Aventuras development. This is a tourist development which boasts a marina for yachts, a golf course, restaurants and dolphin tanks, all within easy reach of the main Mayan Riviera attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Catalonia Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Riviera Maya Puerto Aventuras, Mexico
Catalonia Hotel Mexico
Catalonia Rivera Maya
Riviera Maya Catalonia
Hotel Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riveria Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya Resort
Catalonia Riviera Maya All Inclusive
Catalonia Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing