We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A few problems”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed at Catalonia 22nd June to 6th July.
When we arrived it was chaotic due to a lengthy check in process with only 3 members of staff dealing with a lot of people. We were shown to room 218 we were utterly disappointed with the room we were given, it was dated the furniture worn and tired by no stretch of the imagination was this a 4* room. Note to everyone thinking of booking the standard rooms in this hotel offer no fridge and there is no bottled water only water from machines which you can fill from. After speaking to reception we were told, that was the room and we then asked to upgrade and were told there were no rooms but to return tomorrow. Terrible start to our holiday. We upgraded the following day and ended up in the Yucatan part of the hotel next door. The room we paid an extra £260 for was by no means premium in fact it was what I would have expected in the first instance. It had the benefit of a fridge with bottled water and a few soft drinks and 2 beers, a safe was included and slippers and a robe. I might add it took 3 days to get the robes and 4 days for the slippers.
The positive the grounds are very well maintained and the rooms were spotlessly clean. The food was of a high standard and offered plenty of choice. The bars are well stocked and the staff at this hotel were first class, no pressure to tip and you received the same service whether you tipped or not. During the day they serve the drinks in plastic reusable cups which are not in my opinion hygienic and are a little too well used. I would have preferred disposable cups.
The beach is not suitable for children as it is rocky and quite difficult to get into without water shoes.
The hotel is about 1hour 30 mins transfer depending on how many stops they make. It costs 75 dollars for a taxi each way into Cancun centre, and 23 dollars each way into Puerto del Carmen. You can get on a local bus at the entrance to the hotel complex however this is about a 30 min walk. It also cost 25/30 dollars to the ruins in Tulum.
There are a few shops located in the hotel but you must charge everything to your room no cash is used. I must point out on leaving you must pay you bill in Mexican Pecos or by card the hotel will not accept US Dollars.
We booked the lobster dinner on the beach….huge mistake. It is advertised as a special evening well nothing could be further from the truth. We booked for 8pm and on arrival there was no one to greet us when someone appeared they asked for a ticket which the member of staff we booked with had forgotten to give us. Bad start. We sat down and were given a cocktail and immediately our starter appeared it was prawns in a pineapple, this had been sitting out as the prawns were warm and not chilled as you would expect. Before I had finished my husband’s plate was being removed and I was being hurried as the waiter was standing with our lobster main course time 8.05pm!!! We felt rather rushed but then realized that the lobster was not only cold it was tough and had obviously been cooked some time earlier and been sitting under heated lights waiting for us. We complained and asked for fresh and well over an hour later another equally badly cooked lobster appeared. There was only one other couple had booked the meal and they too felt rushed and were disappointed. We were also told that we would need to order wine when we booked the meal as no wine was included and we booked bottle of sparkling wine . This was not necessary as we had champagne and red wine with our meal and it was only at the end of the meal did a member of staff realize that we had booked wine and offered us to have it in our room. We declined explaining that we were finished our meal and could he remove it from the bill. The proved a major problem and took us several times to explain to members of staff that we did not have the wine not were we paying for it. I would suggest if you want lobster walk to the marina 5 mins away and have their lobster meal much better value as well.
Finally for anyone who enjoys fishing you can book trips at the marina and the local restaurants will cook your catch for around 10 dollars, but if like my husband you like to wander and fish from the rocks bring your own rod and reel there is nowhere to buy or hire any fishing tackle.

All in all the Catalonia /Yucatan is a lovely resort with wonderful hardworking staff. I feel the hotel in general is of 4* standard but the rooms are not. If they upgrade the rooms and handed out bottled water I would recommend staying.

Room Tip: I would only stay here if you get one of the privilege rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MrsS_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear MrsS_12,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

Regarding the room facilities, as you already know, the standard rooms do not have minifridge, alarm clock and coffee maker, we try to make sure as much as we can that the agencies that book the vacation for our guests do not provide wrong information of these amenities; when guests desire to have these facilities in their rooms they upgrade to different categories, unfortunately due to the occupancy of the hotel at the moment of your arrival we did not have any rooms of superior categories available. We are deeply sorry if this was inconvenient for you.

On the other hand, the hotel is working on daily basis to incorporate environmental actions into our operations as part of our social responsibility to reduce our impact on the world this is the reason why we provide one bottle of water at the arrival and encourage our guests to refill it with purified water available in all the bars and restaurants in the hotel. This is also the reason why we use plastic cups for the drinks instead of disposable, I assure you that they are well washed and disinfected.

For the situation of the lobster dinner I honestly apologize and be sure that all your comments have been forwarded to the persons involved and that the appropriate corrective and preventive measures will be taken in order to ensure that situations like these do not happen in the future and make sure your next visit will exceed your expectations.

Yours sincerely,

Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (9,043)
There are newer reviews for Catalonia Riviera Maya
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,913 - 2,919 of 9,043 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

It all Went wrong from the very beginning whenever we checked in… Upon arrival, they told us that we needed to "upgrade" to get all of the standard amenities that we expected. Now note, these are standard amenities that almost all normal hotels have... An alarm clock in your room, a dresser to out your clothing in, "tickets" to dinner (which wasn't worth it anyways), etc... And may I add, that our upgrade charge was 100 per person for 1 week.. Not so terrible, but totally unnecessary... All in all, there is entirely too much to write it all, so I'm going to paraphrase.. The food was bad, the restaurants are first come first serve (no reservations), our sheets were hard and the beds were horrible uncomfortable, the housekeepers STOLE CLOTHING from our room!! Yes, I said stole! And the front desk did nothing about it! The liquor has to be the worst quality that I've ever drank, and the set up of the hotel wasn't very efficient. Needless to say, we won't be going back..

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MrsHairLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, Director General at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear MrsHairLover,

Thank you for your feedback. We are disappointed to have not met your expectations during your stay with us.

Regarding your comments about the room facilities, I would like to inform you, as you already know, the standard rooms do not have minifridge, alarm clock and coffee maker, we try to make sure as much as we can that the agencies that book the vacation for our guests do not provide wrong information of these amenities in order for our guests not to expect something that we definitely cannot comply; when guests desire to have these facilities in their rooms they upgrade to the different categories we have available.

Please could you inform us about the dates of your stay in order for us to check the situation that you mentioned happened in your room with housekeeping staff.

I hear all your comments, and certainly we will take seriously your feedback and see possibilities to improve and make sure your next visit will exceed your expectations.

Yours sincerely,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Our 4th visit to this hotel and sadly the last after our recent experience. The hotel is still great and the food and grounds are immaculate.

Its the customer service I am really unhappy about. Despite the 4th visit for our 10th wedding anniversary and spending money on upgrading £400+. We were approached by a member of staff in the aircon restaurant at breakfast and asked if we would like a lobster romantic meal? thinking it would be nice for our anniversary we booked. However we were not informed of all of the terms and conditions. We were just asked to sign and said it would be charged to our room. On the day of the meal I felt unwell and asked if we could cancel the meal. We were informed by the concierge that this would be ok and again and not told about the cancellation policy. They said that we could postpone and rearrange for the following week if we wanted to (as they only have the romantic meal on a Thursday). We explained that we had booked a day trip the following week (weather dependent) and she said that we would just need to go back and see her if we wanted to book.
Upon check-out we were handed a $100 US bill for a meal that we had not had. Also we upgraded our free $40 US massage to 60 minutes which then totalled $60US each. We had vouchers in our upgrade pack to the value of $40 US per person, which we were under the impression could be used for the massage but told that they could not be used for an upgrade.

We are very unhappy at the way we have been treated. After 4 visits over the past nine years, and with future holidays already planned - we have now decided that we will never return to this resort.
Mexico is such a lovely country and we have always enjoyed staying at the Catalonia, but found that customer service was unforgiving. The answer was 'you have to pay as they prepared the lobster". We actually hadn't booked for the following week, so I don't know why they would have "prepared' the lobster. This is just a money spinner for the hotel!! beware

$100 US is a lot of money for something we never had. I don't think you should be hassled whilst eating your breakfast either. If we had wanted a romantic meal, there were enough signs around the resort advertising this. We felt a little obliged to sign up for it.
We have also taken family and friends on holiday to the resort with us but will never recommend the hotel again after this experience, which is a shame.

Other than that it was a lovely two weeks. We did rent a car for a couple of days and travelled to cancun for the day. We have never been there before and we were contemplating whether to go there next or back to the Catalonia? The Catalonia won - that was until we felt we were ripped off!!! Cancun here we come.
Happy Holidays!!!
I look forward to your comments - Catalonia. Hopefully, not the standard answer "we are sorry we did not meet your expectations"!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jaffar71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear jaffar71,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments about your stay with us, We are indeed deeply sorry to hear that your fourth visit was not a perfect experience and that we did not meet the expectations of a repeat guest.

We sincerely regret the impression of customer service that you received from our staff, which is composed by professional people who make always their best effort to help you have a memorable vacation. We are very concerned about your comments, as it is obvious that you did not receive the level of service you were expecting from us, and this was a problem of communication. Regarding the situation with the lobster, I understand the member of the staff that booked the dinner for you did not tell you about the cancelation policy, however in the paper you were given to sign, it states this policy to avoid any further misunderstanding and confusion; we know you were not feeling good at that time and the staff tried to look for the best option to prevent you paying for the charge, which was already on your bill from the week before, without enjoying the lobster, this is the reason we offered to reschedule the dinner, however you did not confirm with us the day that you wanted to have the meal.

Be sure that all your comments have been forwarded to the persons responsible for the departments involved and that the appropriate corrective and preventive measures will be taken in order to ensure that situations like these do not happen in the future and make sure your next visit will exceed your expectations.

Yours sincerely,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We got married last year in Rhodes but wanted to have a trip/honeymoon just the two of us. Plus was hubby's 30th while we were away!

Had an amazing stay at this hotel, our room which we had booked a Privileged suite was amazing!! Two very big rooms as well as a massive bathroom with amazing rainfall shower and a bathtub on our balcony :-D Our maids done some amazing towel art!! Can't decide what what best, crab or elephant lol!!

Hotel was extremely clean and all the staff were always friendly & helpful! Food in the main buffet was sometimes a bit poor, not much choice even for my husband who eats anything!! The Al a Carte restaurants were really good though, the Japanese was fantastic, really good fun & excellent food!! The fried ice-cream was the best!!!

Hotel was only a 10 minute walk from the marina where you could find a few bars/restaurants & shops as well as Dolphin Discovery. We pre-booked online to swim with the Dolphins which I'm glad we did as Thomson was a bit overpriced?! Also the first turning on your left from the hotel before the marina you'll find Planet Scuba, would defiantly recommend paying them a visit if your interested in diving while your staying at the Catalonia Riviera ;-) very competitive prices!!

Overall we had a great stay at the Catalonia, shame our 2 weeks went so fast!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Haileyhaiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, Director General at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Haileyhaiz,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your last stay with us and for such nice comments.
It is great to know that you had a good time on such special time as your honeymoon and enjoyed our facilities and services. We feel very proud of the impression you had from the hotel and our lovely country.
We definitely hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, maybe for your anniversary!! it will be our pleasure to welcome and pamper you once again!
Yours sincerely,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We just returned from a short 5 day family trip. Myself, husband and 2 children--11 and 15. We had connecting rooms, garden view, and they were fine. Not fancy, not perfect, but pleasant and we were happy to be there. I would have liked to upgrade as others have mentioned, but we needed adjoining rooms and the offer wasn't made at check in so we kept to our budget and enjoyed what we had. As a matter of fact, I had requested connecting rooms several times in advance and when we checked in we were told we were lucky because there were only 2 left.

I will say at the start that we did our homework and read up on appropriate tipping and we felt that we were quite fair. We tipped for housekeeping, bars and at restaurants, for each server that we had. And there were many. Not just one server per table so tips were frequent.

Housekeeping was very good. We got the animal towels on our bed each day and the kids loved that. Sometime they put liners in the trash cans and sometimes not. Always fresh bath towels, clean floors, toilet paper, shower gel and shampoo (take your own!).

Restaurants- Because our kids are so picky we kept to the buffet restaurants. Selection was good in my opinion. Not top notch quality, but as a mom I was quite happy that I wasn't doing the work. Might not be enough for someone wanting more sophisticated cuisine. But, it was wonderful for us. The one thing that we thought was a problem was that 2 open air restaurants had a serious bird problem. On one hand that can be sort of entertaining, on the other hand, it’s a concern when it comes to food safety and contamination. The birds had no trouble getting right into the buffet food and literally taking things right out of the serving bins. Not so hygienic and verging on gross. The staff seemed sort of oblivious to it. Birds were the worst at Bomboleo Grill. La Brisas had a netting to keep out birds but each time we were there there were still 3-4 birds in there flying around looking for unattended plates. Service was generally good, but it did take a while to get drinks, if they came at all. Maybe they assumed we weren’t tipping since we had kids with us??? Not sure. Staff was always friendly and kind, just inconsistent.

Beach- After reading previous reviews I knew we needed our water shoes. Beach is more eroded than current pictures show. Water was rough when we were there so we didn’t get as much water time as we would have liked. Great for snorkeling, take your own stuff! Also, this is not the kind of “resort” that offers drinks on the beach, you have to go get your own. Tipping did not solve this issue. Fine with us, but just know this in advance. Bars are close by.

Atmosphere- Pool areas seemed to keep a spring break feeling during the day. Swim up bars were busy. We stayed at the beach mostly. Loved the grounds and the look of the place. Clean and tidy with a little wildlife to watch and admire. Much more authentic feel then you might get in Cancun. Hotel store is vastly overpriced if you need necessities. Vendors come in the evening about every other day. Something fun to do, but plan to barter and stand firm, they assume at an all-inclusive that we have money to burn.

Overall-- Nice experience. It fit our budget for this trip and for us that was key. One thing stood out to me as very symbolic of the whole trip. We checked out at 5:30 am. As we waited for our transfer to the airport I asked the man tending the front desk if we could get 3 bottles of water since we’d run out in our room. He called for someone to bring 3 small bottles of water and had to figure out how to bill it since we’d already checked out. After several thousand $$$$ we had to pay for 3 small bottles of water. Just know what you’re getting. Bonus, 3 out of the 4 of us left with a tummy bug. We were extremely cautious about the water and never ate off site so we know that we got some sort of contamination from the hotel. No biggy, part of international travel. But, something to keep in mind.

Suggestion!!!—Please, Catalonia, put in a couple of coffee bars. For those of us that do not upgrade to a “Privileged Suite” it should not be so hard to get a couple of coffees in the morning! Really, it’s so easy and it would seriously make such a difference to the guests!

Room Tip: The rooms in the main buildings-- garden view, are not well insulated for noise. We awoke to the l...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GG124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear hwl421,

We would like to thank you for your comments about your recent stay with us, our guests opinion is our main source to improve our facilities and service and very important to us.
It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.

On the other hand, regarding the food, I would like to know you that our meals are prepared with the best selection of quality products and ingredients, however we are very sorry to hear that you had stomach problems when coming back home, sometimes this situations may be related to the change in climate, excessive sun exposure, combination of sun and alcohol, ingestion of new condiments or simply food cooked in a different way than back at home, like you mentioned when travel to a foreign country.

We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.

Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

My fiancé and I booked at this hotel for the first full week of June and arranged for a simple marriage ceremony. The prices were vary reasonable and everything looked great, plus it was affordable for all our guests. The hotel itself was nice and the staff for the most part was friendly. We only had a problem with the front desk when my brother and his wife, after waiting for an hour, were shown their room. They booked an ocean view with a king bed...they were given a room with two double beds and a view of the garden. The front desk told them that it WAS and ocean view and that they could not guarantee a king bed; they would not give them a different room. We had booked a privilege room, and it was well-worth it! The room was awesome! In addition, the food was good. I would highly recommend the hibachi grill. You want to try the grouper they serve, too. Very good! The beach was nice, but a little rocky. I liked that we were in a gated community, no one hassled you on the beach. We also walked to the marina right in the gated area to swim with the dolphins; wow! If you stay at the resort, definitely go there! Experience of a lifetime! As for our wedding...I understand it was raining quite a bit during our stay, so I tried to just accept things for what they were as best I could. The wedding coordinators were not very friendly, after communicating with them a month in advance by email, they still messed up our names on numerous documents. We requested that the groom's mother have her room next to the rest of the family (she arrived a few days later.) She was placed in a completely different building. We were told that we would have by noon the day of the wedding to decide if the ceremony could still be on the beach...I stopped in at 9 that morning when it was raining to confirm that, and they said they were "calling it now, it will be inside," without much sympathy. Guess what? The sun was shining by noon, but they would not put the 5:00pm ceremony on the beach. (mind you, we had 8 guests. not 80. there was nothing extravagant to our wedding.) Otherwise, the ceremony was nice, the flowers were beautiful, and we still took pictures on the beach. They forgot to put champagne and strawberries in our room as included in our package, but at that point, I was done talking to them. In all, nice place to stay, not nice wedding coordinators.

Room Tip: "Ocean View" does not always mean you'll see the ocean....Privileged rooms are very ni...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Krysta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear Krysta R,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We deeply apologize if your stay and an important event as you wedding with us was not a perfect experience.

We are disappointed to have not met your expectations during your stay with us, regarding your comments about the rooms, I would like to let you know that our hotel operates “run of the house system” and therefore any requests concerning room location, view or type of bedding cannot and are not confirmed in advance, which means that requests may be made but are never guaranteed, as they are subject to availability.

On the other hand, regarding the service from our wedding coordinator, clearly there was a problem of communication and for that I sincerely apologize. Usually when the weather forecast announces showers with high probability of precipitation, we decide not to risk the event and ceremony, since it could be spoil by last minute rain. As this is a very important occasion for you and your family, we do our very best to ensure that for any reason, the ceremony cannot take place outdoors due to weather conditions and forecast, that we prepare a Plan B. I offer you my sincere apologies; however we are not able to predict the weather.

I hear all your comments, and certainly we will take seriously your feedback in order to make sure your next visit will exceed your expectations.

Yours sincerely,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We had a great time at the hotel – 8 days with three parties in our group - no major complaints. I am a critical reviewer and no hotel is perfect in my mind, so I will give you the good and bad. I would gladly stay at this hotel again and would recommend it to any families with active children. The staff was outstanding, whether in the restaurants, front desk, wherever; the hotel employees were great and I felt they had a genuine concern about how we perceived we were being treated. My mother-in-law had a tough time with her first room (AC was broken), and they accommodated her with great care; changed her room within 4 hours – the hotel was at full occupancy that night so it took some time to get things rearranged. There is a nice mix of some European (Olympus Tour reps, concierge, and dive shop) and mostly Mexican employees on the staff. I speak some Spanish so I had no issues what-so-ever with communication. The staff appreciated that I always tried to speak Spanish. The concierge helped book a Mariachi trio for my wife’s b-day dinner at the Terrace and they were excellent (about $250 for an hour). This was my wife’s first trip into Mexico and she was nervous about safety, she left Mexico feeling very secure and safe at this hotel and within the Puerto Aventuras resort area. Security is everywhere and they are friendly and professional.

Rooms: We upgraded at booking for a Privileged Suite with 2 double beds and my wife was very pleased with the room and cleanliness, and it was on the first floor. The room was spacious; two separate rooms and a very large bathroom and shower, great water pressure. We tipped the room staff generously, thanked them for their service; and all week we had the ability to get extra beach towels, bath towels, anything for the rooms, we never had a problem. It is difficult to “not” track sand into the room; but the staff cleaned floors daily. The cleaning staff would not enter the room if they saw valuable left out. They left a note the first night, so we always put the electronics away when we left the room. We never had any problems or concerns about theft by the staff. The AC kept our room dry and cool. When you look at the map of the resort, we were told that only the buildings on the far Northeastern edge of the property had the Privileged Suites. At first I thought we would be isolated, but then we found everyone came to our room to sit on our nice big patio and hang out. It was a quick walk to anywhere on the hotel property from our room. The pull-out bed was very uncomfortable, flimsy and difficult to deploy/stow. The mini-bar had sodas, beer and water that were restocked nightly; we had plenty of bottled water. This is a Pepsi hotel; I had to buy Coke and limes at stores in Puerto Aventuras so I could enjoy my rum & coke on the patio. I also bought Gatorade type drinks from out in the resort as well.

We came to the Puerto Aventuras resort area to be close to the dolphins, the beach and tropical jungle; but we have two boys who have iPods & laptops glued to their appendages and they love TV – so connectivity to the web is always helpful for my sanity. The wireless signal in the room was strong, but the internet bandwidth was poor. There is a block on YouTube, Netflix and other high volume websites, we could not get them to play. The TV signal was very clear, 33 total channels, 11 channels in English but some channel were in Spanish in the day and shifted to English at night. They had CNN and BBC for news, no FOX or CNBC news. The Cartoon Network was in English. The rooms have ungrounded power outlets so if you have a heavy duty (3-pronged) power cord like I have for my laptop, you will need to bring an adapter.

Restaurants: The food in the resort was above average but not awesome. We are very picky eaters. That being said we never had what I would call a bad meal. There is a period of time between 5-6pm where nothing was open, the hotel has no room service. Ask the front desk during check in about how to use the restaurants, they will explain everything. The two buffets (La Brisa and El Mercado) were much better than what I expected - serving 3 meals a day. Hint; they have espresso bars that you can walk up and get “to go” cups – not Starbucks quality but very close. The Bamboleo snack bar served burgers/hot dogs/sandwiches in the afternoon and a steak house at night. After 6pm there were four other specialty restaurants that required a coupon to get a table, no adv reservations, first come first serve basis. We enjoyed the desert bar (La Creperie) that had ice cream, shakes, crepes and coffees in the evenings. The Terrace had really good Spanish style tapas (my mother-in-law is from Spain) and main courses; everyone liked the food (only patrons with a Privileged room had coupons for the Terrace). The Terrace did allow us to reserve a table for my wife’s b-day in advance, but it took some advance planning. I got an extra coupon for the Terrace from the front desk, you only get one per week per room during check-in, just be nice about it. I thought the Mexican restaurant was really good (I hate bad or average Mexican food). The flavor of the food at Los Alebrijes was very good; they even let us order 2 appetizers, but my wife thought the fajita steak was too tough. The steak restaurant was average. We are not a big Japanese food fans, but that restaurant was great, probably my wife’s favorite meal by the taste. One of my sons has autism and he has some major food aversions, so I thought breakfast was going to be a huge challenge. There were egg/omelet stations and you could bring cheddar cheese from the buffet to use instead of the white goats cheese. Overall we found an excellent choice of food that made him happy with the experience. Every restaurant has the same kids menu at night – the chicken tenders were outstanding. You will not go hungry and we never got sick from the food at the hotel. The hotel restaurants only serve Pepsi products.

There are a few bars in the hotel, the mixed drinks were ok, tasted a little watered down and the soda was usually a bit flat. Part of the problem seemed to be that the ice melted so fast that you get a more water than normal in drink when the ice was added to the glass. Both my wife and I have worked in the bar industry and we found the drinks “ok”, but the service was very good. My best rum and cokes were the ones I made on my patio.

The hotel goes out of its way to make sure guests are able to be involved in activities throughout the day. Their high energy team organized water activities, volleyball, dancing, etc. There was a great gym, but I never had a chance to use it. The hotel concierge helped us rent golf carts and the hotel has a free bicycle service, everything in the Puerto Aventuras resort is an easy walk or bike ride away.

We used the PRODIVE Mexico shop right on the beach; Ace runs the shop and both he and Xavier were awesome. They take $US, credit cards or Pesos, just not sea shells. We took a boat/snorkeling tour that was a lot of fun; we got to swim with sea turtles and much bigger fish. The dive guide was great with my 67 year old mother-in-law, he towed her around on a life ring. Both of my sons could have taken the scuba entry-level experience with Ace, but I could not make the time with all the other tours I planned. My boys were able to be introduced to the sport/equipment in the pool and loved it. I forgot the girl’s name who worked with my boys; she was great with kids and eased them into the scuba equipment experience, very well done. I have dove in many different parts of the world; this was not my top experience for seeing fish or the clarity of the water, but we did have a fun time. I recommend taking a trip to Isla Mujeres or Cozumel to see better reefs. PRODIVE can arrange for any dive/snorkeling trip you could imagine. The reefs near the hotels are beat up; broken coral, fans, etc., from tourists who do not know how to respect nature. Never saw or felt a jelly fish, but there are sting rays and sea urchins. I recommend bringing a pair of water shoes. The hotel also had jet skis and kayaks to rent.

We enjoyed sitting out on the beach, but the total beach experience was average because the beach was not very wide and there were a lot of rocks in the sand. I know it is a constant battle to replenish the sand after hurricanes hit the area. Hotel patrons woke up early and laid towels on the chairs (both pools and beaches) to reserve them, though the practice is supposed to be discouraged. We had to wake up early to fight for real estate on the beach, just something you have to work around. The waiters working the beach during the day were excellent. We brought our own US Divers snorkeling rigs with us (highly recommended as we had better gear). But the PRODIVE shop has everything you will need, higher quality gear than any of the other venues we went to in the area. We had a decent snorkeling experience right off the beach with lots of fish and other marine animals on the reef; my boys loved it. There were actually more fish right off the beach next to the rock bridge between the ocean and lagoon. We snorkeled every day and brought bread to feed the fish, you could get swarms of fish. We found a few breaks in the reef to get outside near the buoy line in deeper water to see some bigger fish. The current was a lot stronger outside.

This was our first time in the Yucatan and I based my tour decisions of Internet research and advice from friends. We booked some tours online from home, and some after we arrived at the hotel. I can honestly say that I should have just waited to talk to the Olympus Tour reps in the hotel to get it done right. Vanja and Xenia were very knowledgeable on every one of the tours we planned for. I would’ve changed my tour itinerary if I had talked with them first. For the tours I had already booked, both Vanja and Xenia provided my family with advice and advanced notice of what to expect and how to have a better experience. I did schedule a private tour to Chechen Itza and Coba, and my mother-in-law had a slight issue with our tour guide. When I made Xenia aware of the problem after the tour the response from Olympus Tours was immediate, professional and very concerned. I work in the customer service industry and I would highly recommend travelers to work with the Olympus Tours staff in the hotel. All charges by Olympus Tours were in $US so I did not have to worry about Peso exchange rates.

I have ranked this hotel as excellent mainly because of the courtesy and professionalism of the staff. Our vacation was a wonderful experience. We never felt unwelcome in Mexico by the staff, and we respected their culture and country. You would have to be pretty ignorant not to have a fun time and get along with the staff at this hotel We worked through a few problems with the front desk and had results well above what I expected. I would gladly return to this hotel in a future vacation.

Room Tip: Just upgrade to a Privileged Suite, it will cost a bit more but you will love the extra room and con...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank 1travel4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Eric C,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.

We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.


Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
16.7 mi away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#72 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,378 reviews
7.1 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Catalonia Playa Maroma
Catalonia Playa Maroma
#4 of 5 in Playa Maroma
7,558 reviews
24.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,756 reviews
14.7 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#32 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
7,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Riviera Maya

Address: Avenida Xcacel Lote 1 Plano 2 Manzana 18, Puerto Aventuras 77783, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#12 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range: $157 - $430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalonia Riviera Maya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribbean Sea's turquoise waters can be seen from this hotel-paradise. Come and get ready to spend some unforgettable days in the heart of the Mayan Riviera, surrounded by marvelous landscapes and seductive, white sand beaches. The hotel is located in the wonderful Puerto Aventuras development. This is a tourist development which boasts a marina for yachts, a golf course, restaurants and dolphin tanks, all within easy reach of the main Mayan Riviera attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Catalonia Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Riviera Maya Puerto Aventuras, Mexico
Catalonia Hotel Mexico
Catalonia Rivera Maya
Riviera Maya Catalonia
Hotel Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riveria Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya Resort
Catalonia Riviera Maya All Inclusive
Catalonia Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing