We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nowhere Near Disappointing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have recently visited the Catalonia Riviera Maya. We stayed for a short 3 nights to gather information for my daughter’s upcoming wedding that is scheduled for November 2013. The resort is about an hour from the airport. We booked a private transfer with USA and therefore didn’t have to make several stops. The transfer service is great and we have used them many times for our visits. They are always there to greet us as we exit the airport!

The resort is very green and lush, pretty bushes and flowers everywhere. Upon check-in we requested an upgrade and had no problem receiving it for an additional minimal fee. We arrived at approximately 1:00 pm and were taken to our room and in the pool by 2:00 pm.

We upgraded to the Superior Privilege room and found everything in working order. We were advised that it included the safe, mini bar and alarm clock. However, we had no alarm clock (after 3 visits to the front desk we gave up, just used our watches). The room was located in building B and became a little loud when the entertainment was in lobby bar, but everything was quiet by 11:00pm. Housekeeping was below standard, we arrived on Tuesday, our room was cleaned on Wednesday but not Thursday and we checked out on Friday. The one day we did receive maid service it was very late in the afternoon.

The pools are beautiful and always clean. The staff at the pool bar was wonderful and very friendly, my daughters would like to give a shout out to Jose and Georgio from the Margarita Bar, and they agree you guys make the best Mojitos, Long Islands and Sex in the Pool!!!

The beach was very rocky!!! Please be careful entering the water, as the days we were there it was very rough and we couldn’t see the big boulder rocks and we received a few scraps!

The food was good, very Americanized but tasty! We enjoyed the Bella Vista (Italian), the Bamboleo (Grill/Steak House) and the La Brisa (Buffet). Wait staff were all very friendly and accommodating to your needs!

The wedding coordinator met with us the second day we were there and helped my daughter decide most of her wedding details (i.e. flowers, hairstyle, reception venue, menu). She also showed us many different room categories, which will help tremendously when recommending a choice for the invited guests.

The area is very safe! We had the opportunity to walk to the marina and view the dolphins and manatees. They also had lots a shopping but felt the prices were a bit higher then Playa Del Carmen.

Overall, I have visited this area of Mexico many times over the last 10 years and this resort is a great pick for the price!!! Remember tipping goes a long way!!! The staff work very hard to make your vacation one that you will remember! My family and expecially my daughter is very happy with her choice of resort for her upcoming wedding!!!

See you November!!!

Room Tip: No need to upgrade... the standard rooms are just as nice!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelenfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Travelenfool,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your last stay with us and for such nice comments. It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in November, and for such a special occasion!!!

See you soon!!
Best Regards,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (9,742)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,370 - 3,376 of 9,742 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have just come back from a week's holiday at Catalonia Riviera Maya and we had fantastic time! We were quite apprehensive before going having read all the reviews here but as it turns out did not need to worry. We are a couple (30 & 29 yrs), we have done all inclusive before and we have quite high expectations (don't need luxury 5* but equally would not consider going on all inclusive hotel in anything beyond 4*....). We arrived at the hotel about 3pm and the check in desk were ready and waiting for us with welcoming drinks. We had booked a standard room and had decided beforehand that we will upgrade if the standard room is what people here had described. We decided to have a look at the standard room before committing to the upgrade and after having seen the room, thought there was no need for upgrade at all! The room was spacious with huge american sized double bed, terrace (we were on ground floor) with lovely wooden furniture, big bathroom/wet room with normal and rain showers, plasma screen tv, aircon etc. Everything was in good working order and meticulously clean and shiny. We did have to pay extra for the safety box ($3/day) but that did not really bother us and the mini bar was not included but again this was not a problem as the bars were just around the corner and you could fetch a drink from there in 2 minutes. A few people have mentioned the location of the rooms - I agree that there are some that are likely to be noisy as they face the areas where bars are located and where the entertainment takes place in the evenings but I think this is a problem in most resorts. We were very lucky that we had our room slightly tucked away so did not get disturbed by any kind of noise. So I would definitely recommend viewing the standard rooms before going ahead with the upgrade!! Also, we did notice that most of the privileged rooms were close to the pools and bars so likely to be noisy.

We were also very pleasantly surprised with the food. In previous all inclusive resorts I particularly have found the breakfasts and buffets a bit boring and have not really bothered with them but it was completly different here. At breakfast you could have anything from custom made eggs, omelettes and crepes to fruit, porridge, cakes etc. The buffet lunch and dinners had a lot variety and we found all the food fresh, warm and very tasty! Make sure you don't miss out on the mexican themed night - the best fajitas we have ever had made them freshly for you on a hot plate. We also ate at the mexican, italian, spanish and japanese a la carte restaurants and again cannot fault the food. The food was definitely a la carte restaurant quality with excellent service. They would automatically bring you another beer or top up your wine glass before you had even completely finished your previous one - if only London restaurants were that attentive!!! Our favourites were the spanish and japanese, absolutely gorgeous food and the japanese was great entertainment too as they cook the food in front of you on a hot plate. At the spanish restaurant we sat on the roof top balcony overlooking the beach and sea. We did not experience any trouble in getting into the restaurants either but it could be that we tended to have dinner around 7pm so were usually among the first ones there but even later on you only had to wait for a little bit for a table but it never seemed to be too long and they always served you drinks whilst waiting. The drinks across the resort were great - as someone said, extensive cocktail list but they make you anything you want. They also have water machines located at the bars so that you can top up your water bottles as and when you want.

The grounds are very well maintained and no matter what the time, you could always see someone working on them. Very very clean pool areas and the beach is continuosly maintained. There are rocks in the sea but that is just the location and cannot really blame the hotel for it. It seemed to make excellent place for snorkelling though based on the amount of people doing it!There is plenty of entertainment to go around but equally they leave you in peace if you do not want to get involved which I think is great as in some places we have found that they disturb to the extent of being annoying! Also, as there are multiple pool and beach areas, you can always find a quiet spot if you don't want to be in the middle of the action.

So all in all absolutely fantastic holiday and a great resort with great food - don't be put off by the negative comments and if there is something that is not quite right, tell the staff and they will help you. We asked for a late check out and they arranged it for us without any fuss and without any extra charges.

Thanks Catalonia Riviera Maya!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear Anna K,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us and for such nice comments.
It is great to know that you had a good time and enjoyed our facilities and services. We feel very proud of the impression you had from the hotel and our lovely country.
We are pleased that you enjoyed the mexican culture, and of course the mexican food!!
We hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, it will be our pleasure to welcome and pamper you once again!
Sincerely
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Just got back from an excellent 2 week stay at this hotel and although it has its ups and downs I certainly recommend it.

The location is great, it's situated right on the beach. The hotel is twinned with another (Catalonia Yucatan) and they both share the same facilities, so the overall complex is a good size. It's also incredibly clean and tidy, there were people working constantly to keep up the excellent appearance.

We upgraded to a privileged room which was very good. It included a safe and an inclusive mini bar that was restocked every day with water, beer and soft drinks (those two things were worth the price alone really).

There's free Wi-Fi everywhere and in the rooms too.

The cocktails are great — there's cocktail menus everywhere with lots to choose from but the bar staff would make whatever you want. One negative here is that although the cocktails are great, simple drinks like vodka & coke and gin & tonic are disgusting. The vodka they use in particular is incredibly bad.

The food ranges from excellent to pretty awful. There's two buffet restaurants and five a la carte restaurants so there's lots of choice and it was nice to visit a restaurant in the evening (we got 8 vouchers for our two week stay) as it almost felt like we'd gone for a night out of the hotel. But the quality of these varies. The steak house is brilliant and the Japanese is really good (it's teppanyaki style), but the Italian, Spanish and Mexican are average and the food was usually luke warm. The buffet was ok — some of the food looked a little grim and often bits weren't very warm but there was lots of choice. The cookies in the dessert section are excellent! The steak house is a casual buffet during the day and late at night, serving burgers, hot dogs, chips, salad, pasta etc so if you're ever hungry at any time there's always something nice to eat.

There's pool-side entertainment every day which was fun to watch and there's lots of activities to do. There's also a marina a 10 minute walk away which has dolphins — I recommend going there one morning if only for a change of scenery if you were like us and didn't want to go on any trips!

I probably wouldn't return to this hotel but that's only because we'd want to experience something different if we came back to Mexico. But if this is on your shortlist I would really recommend it as there's lots to do and there was a great mixture of people there.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a privilege room. They'll offer you it when you book in, usually with a 'one day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear Ben H,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us.

It is great to know that you had a good time and enjoyed our facilities and services. We are glad to hear that you liked the hotel, location and the staff members.

We hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, it will be our pleasure to welcome and pamper you once again!

Sincerely
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

As you can see I go by Tripsnheaven, this was not one of them. I had great expectations, and they were not met, Where do I begin. If you can make arrangements for hotel transfers in advance I suggest you do so if you can, We arrived at the hotel and they show us our privileged room. It was right next to the maids closet, and right outside the door is the pool area. Only a fool would sleep there. I think thats their ploy to show you the worst so you can say get me the heck out of here, Of course they suggest the Suite, and you pick the suite because there is no way you will enjoy your stay in that room. For a extra hundred dollars we took the suite. It was worth it, considering the box they showed us, You could barely turn around in the room. The suite is spacious I would recommend it highly. We are now classified as privileged. It all comes down to having a private lounge which has internet service, nicely airconditioned, and peaceful. You can have beverages in the lounge as well. Your seating is closer to the food, and You get vouchers to restaurants we used only 1, and the food was not good, this is the Taqueria Restaurant. We never got to the Japanese Restaurant but I hear its good. We ate early, there were no lines. The hotel workers are nice and pleasant. We tipped sometimes, but it never made a difference. You get the same service nothing extra. We stopped tipping. There are over 5 pools, Nicely kept. Always clean. Getting to the beach, This is where it gets tricky, The beach on the left has a soft bottom, so entering the water is easy. The beach to the right has boulders and rocks as big as your head. Picture twisted ankles, there were a few people limping. You have to be careful. I would think at such a nice resort, they would at least clear a path so it would make entering the water better, Someone mentioned you need beach shoes, they were wrong you need boots, Its that bad. Be very careful. Food was bland, pretty much the same thing every day, Some dishes I could not identify, it would be nice if they could label the selections. Now here is the best advice I can give you. Pack some crackers and non perishable items to eat, You never know when it will come in handy, We did and it came in handy, They had a power outtage.
Thats right power outtage, a big resort and no working generator. They tried to blame it on the city, but the houses across the street had lights on and their street lights on, So that was not the case, Only one restaurant was open to feed the masses. People were on line waiting and waitng to get food, We stayed in and ate our crackers and other snacks we bought with us, The power came back on around 2am. It went out around 4PM that afternoon. No AC no Lights nothing. What a mess, we were happy to be leaving the next day. I have never experienced any thing like that. For the money we spent you would expect they would have a working Generator. Very dissapointed, and management was very flip about it. Makes me think its happened before. So all in all proceed with caution, and remember it was Nothing Special.

Room Tip: Get a Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tripsnheaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Dear tripsnheaven,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We deeply apologize if your stay with us was not a perfect experience.

Starting with myself and all my colleagues and managers, we are disappointed to have not met your expectations during your stay with us and regarding the electricity lack, unfortunately that night the hotel was only working with the emergency lighting because we suffered a power cut due to an overload at the CFE (Federal Electricity Commission) plant in the area of Puerto Aventuras where the hotel is located. We did as much as we could to restore the service as fast as possible.

I hear all your comments, and certainly we will take seriously your feedback and see possibilities to improve and make sure your next visit will exceed your expectations.

Yours sincerely,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Had a wonderful two week stay at this gem of a hotel. We had upgarded to privilige and was worth every penny. Our room was spotless clean with a very comfortable bed and great air con. There was a flat screen tv and a fridge which was well stocked and stayed so all through our holiday. The bathroom was a good size fully tiled with two showers. There was a useful hair drier and plenty of sockets for adaptors if you need them. There was no full length mirror which we really missed. Out side was a terrace with a deep bath and a small garden area, we ate our breakfast at the table/chairs in the morning sunshine. Outside our room at the end of our block was an ice machine which we found very useful.The staff are first class and always friendly and helpful. It was a delight to eat at the lovely a la carte restaurants not only did the food taste wonderful but the food always looked atractive too. We didnt watch the entertainment, it did sound as if those watching were having a good time. The sea is very clean and clear enough to see the small colourful fish by the lagoon. The beach got very busy and getting a sunbed next to an umberella impossible if you didnt get up by 6am. The sun beds were basic but plentyfull. It is an internation hotel and many visitors smoked. There was no smokong in any of the dining areas and in other areas there were plenty of ashtrays but not every one used them, thank goodness the staff were always cleaning, they kept the public areas spotless. The gardens were very well kept and of a high standard. Try the spa it is rather special. I had a peddicure which still looks good eight days later. There is an ATM machine at the hotel but it wasnt working for most of our stay so dont rely on it!! This is a very good hotel with great attention to detail and fantastic staff. Yes we would go back.

Room Tip: A privilage room is in a quiet part of the hotel, some other rooms must have been noisy. Pool view r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hampshirehols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Dear Hampshirehols,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your last stay with us and for such nice comments.

It is great to know that you had a good time with us. We feel very proud of the impression you had from the hotel.

We definitely hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, it will be our pleasure to welcome and pamper you once again!

Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Arrived here on the 22nd of April for 11 nights, checked in around 9.30pm and found staff very helpful also receiving a welcome drink which was refreshing. We had a bellhop show us to our room also bringing our luggage aswell. We had a room in the first block near to the reception. Room was clean on arrival had two double beds, Pretty standard room white walls with sliding mirror wardrobe, tv and balcony. Didn't have to safe included in standard rooms and had to pay 3 US dollars per night if we wanted to use this but felt we didn't need too. Our room overlooked some sort of generator area and the road which made quite a lot of noise.Air con was quite whistling also. There is a choice of two Buffet restaurants to choose from 'las brisas' and 'el mercado' we ate in las brisas most mornings as was conveniently located for us but a few people mentioned el mercado was better as often air conditioning but never tried it. Choice of food was good, pretty much the same every morning and disappointed as no bacon! But good selection of fruit and juices! The hotel it's self had 3 pools, the sister hotel 'Catalonia Yucatan made up the other two pools. People would still get up at 6 to reserve beds, not all beds had umbrellas so it was usually them that was taken first. The better pool was the larger one next to las brisas as this is where most entertainment was based. Entertainment team were fab thanks to pita, love, angel and Giovanni and co as they made the days round the pool a lot more fun. Didn't watch much of the evening entertainment as was always on fairly lateish and couldn't manage to stay awake but from what I saw of the Mexican show was good. Evening food was good choice of the buffet or a la carte restaurants. Japanese was great as it was cooked fresh in front of you while the chef interacted with you. Went twice and both nights came out full. Lovely! Also went to the steak house twice, good menu to choose and our waiter Pablo was very helpful and smiley!Also tried to Italian twice, didnt think the menu was very Italian and didn't like any starters but thoroughly enjoyed my main with the rolls filled with cheese. a tip for the men remember to wear a tshirt with sleeves, no vests allowed in the a la Cartes. Really enjoyed the creperie but really disappointed that isn't wasn't open the last night of our stay when it should of been. You get a newsletter in your room that tells you what nights what restaurants are open ,very helpful and changes weekly. With the all inclusive package at the hotel you can borrow snorkels sets from the on site prodive desk, you could borrow them for an hour and was so good to go look at all the pretty fish in the sea. Staff were all very friendly with good service, bar staff were very friendly and jose who worked mostly at the margaritas bar was always smiling and waving at us.Over all a good stay at the Catalonia

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank SJWS1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear SJWS1105,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your last stay with us and our facilities.

We feel very proud and glad to hear such nice comments from our guests. We definitely hope to see you again soon; it will be our pleasure to welcome once again!

Sincerely,
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Sorry this is not a review per say but we have been in constant contact with the wedding planners here. My fiance and I have a wedding booked for May 25 at the Catalonia. There are a lot of worries going into this as we have no idea what to expect. So far everything has been very easy to plan and attentiveness to our questions has been good. I understand that they deal with many weddings but feel like they have done a good job so far. We booked a Privileged Honeymoon suite (based on these reviews). The wedding package is very basic (just picked corsage and flowers and dinner spot) but i think and hope more details will be added when we have our first meeting with the hotel. Look forward to my review of the hotel and its wedding ceremony after this month! Hopefully all goes well and hope Catalonia is something i will be able to refer to my friends, families, and colleagues.

Room Tip: I have heard shelling out a little extra for the priveleged rooms is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FunTraveler3532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear CarlosFraire,

Thank you for writing your comment and for choosing us for such a special event as your wedding, a day that you will remember forever!! We will be more than happy to welcome and serve you and your party.

I assure you our wedding coordinators are very professional and review every little detail in all of the weddings we host. Please feel free to contact us if you have any question or concern in particular.

Yours sincerely,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
23 mi away
Catalonia Playa Maroma
Catalonia Playa Maroma
#4 of 6 in Playa Maroma
8,136 reviews
1.8 mi away
Barcelo Maya Colonial
Barcelo Maya Colonial
#5 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
6,492 reviews
2.8 mi away
Catalonia Royal Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Palace
#6 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
8,016 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#11 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,939 reviews
8.7 mi away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#77 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
13,909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Riviera Maya

Address: Avenida Xcacel Lote 1 Plano 2 Manzana 18, Puerto Aventuras 77783, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#10 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#12 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range: $174 - $542 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalonia Riviera Maya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribbean Sea's turquoise waters can be seen from this hotel-paradise. Come and get ready to spend some unforgettable days in the heart of the Mayan Riviera, surrounded by marvelous landscapes and seductive, white sand beaches. The hotel is located in the wonderful Puerto Aventuras development. This is a tourist development which boasts a marina for yachts, a golf course, restaurants and dolphin tanks, all within easy reach of the main Mayan Riviera attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Catalonia Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Riviera Maya Puerto Aventuras, Mexico
Catalonia Hotel Mexico
Catalonia Rivera Maya
Riviera Maya Catalonia
Hotel Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riveria Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya Resort
Catalonia Riviera Maya All Inclusive
Catalonia Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing