We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but nowhere near great” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
staffordshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good but nowhere near great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

We were expecting great things from this hotel, having read the trip advisor reviews and although we were able to enjoy our holiday, we were a little disappointed with some aspects. It didn't help that we had a poor experience during our first few days there. We had e-mailed ahead to request an upgrade to a suite as our teenage son wanted a room of his own and the price for the upgrade was cheaper than having a separate standard room. This upgrade wasn't cheap (an additional £800 plus for a 2 week stay on top of the existing price). However, the room they put us in had some sort of mechanical pump attached to the wall outside and there was constant noise like a helicopter landing outside of your room. We didn't notice it at first but when you get in bed at night, it reverberates through your head making sleep impossible. Some of the fixtures in this room weren't in order either (lamps with no plug wired directly into the wall, no clock radio, plug in bath not working etc.). We went to reception the next morning and asked to be moved to a different block due to the noise. They offered us the block next door which was still a little noisy and we were reluctant to move to as we wanted peace and quiet. When asked if we could move to a standard room and get a refund for the extra money we were told that the hotel don't do refunds and that you would just get credit to spend on massage etc. Therefore, my advice would be to view any room you get offered to ensure that you are 100% happy with it before unpacking and check any upgraded room offered before paying as you won't get your money back once you have paid. Incidentally, we did see several other people moved from this same room so know it isn't just us.
Now let's get to the rest of the holiday!
ROOMS
Once we had moved to another suite (8307) we were happy with the room. The furnishings were much better in this one. Fridge stocked every day, bath tub working and always hot water, bathroom and shower nice, beds very comfy (ask for a single bed in the living area instead of using the bed settee). The coffee whitener they give you is foul though so I would recommend taking some coffee mate or similar. However, we did have an incidence of theft from the ground floor balcony. My husband got his trainers wet in the sea so left them out overnight to dry. Next morning they were gone! Hope whoever stole them catches his athletes foot! We don't blame the hotel for this and did inform them just for their information; they took it seriously and filed a report etc. However, DON'T LEAVE ANYTHING ON GROUND FLOOR BALCONY OR IT MIGHT GO. We did have a good Wi-Fi signal in the room which is a positive.
FOOD
We thought that all of the restaurants were pretty good especially the speciality ones. The Japanese was the best, great experience that you must try. I had a big Birthday while there and the restaurant put some balloons out and gave me a cake which was great. Italian is good too, Mexican – you need to order carefully as husband loved his dish but mine was just ok. Grill was very good, I loved the veggie skewers. We went to the Tapas bar twice which we enjoyed; we ate outside and was a lovely view. The only downside is that you can't book these and they are on a first come first served basis. However, this isn't entirely true as you can be queuing up at 5.30 to find that at 6pm the person in front of you has been saving a space for 20 other people so you don't get a place in the first serving anyway. Quite frustrating and the hotel need to look at this!
Buffet was usually very good although we didn’t really like Mexican night. The Creperie is great and we just wish that it was open at lunch time rather than 5pm. We tried the late night snack bar one evening as my son was hungry. It was fine but cold chips. Burger was ok though and there were sandwiches and snacks there.
BARS
We used the Chill Out bar and the beach during the day for convenience mostly but has everything that you need. In the evenings, we used the Sports Bar (free pool and table tennis) and the lobby bar (sometimes live music before watching the show). Drinks were fine but cocktails a little weak, didn’t mind though as I get drunk easy! Very disappointed with the disco as our 16 year old is a break dancer and was looking forward to a late night dance. No one tells you till you walk in there that it is OVER 18’s! A bit humiliating being asked to leave.
ACTIVITIES
The entertainment team do work hard and there is an array of activities on offer. However, it is hard to get into the atmosphere unless you are around the pool and let me tell you, to get a bed around that pool, you would have to be up at 5.30am. I am serious! We went on a trip one day and were at reception for 5.45am, some beds were already taken and people were coming out with their towels to claim the rest. When on holiday, we don’t get up at the crack of dawn so consequently were up the far end of the beach where you can’t hear what is going on. One day we were out late (i.e. 10am) and there were no beds at all left, we had to lie on the sand. Our son loved the volleyball and football and we tried the archery which was fun. We enjoyed a bike ride around the complex, bikes are free and situated next to the hotel entrance. The hotel do need to look at evening activities for teenagers as there is plenty for children including disco but teenagers don’t have much, not even access to the nightclub. Perhaps a teen club. The theatre shows were quite good and some very professional for a hotel entertainments team.
We were a little disappointed that the hotel no longer offers windsurfing as it says on their website that they do and we wanted a go but nothing available. Also, you have to book a go on the sail boats and these get booked up by 9am most mornings so you have to get in early. They wouldn’t let us take one out on our own and my husband can sail. Plenty of snorkelling equipment and the fish life are amazing. We enjoyed feeding bread to the fish by the stepping stones; there is also a moray eel there which you will see if you are lucky. Beach is nice but very small and we were disappointed that we could not walk far on it. It is a small lagoon.
Quite disappointed with the Spa. I went there one day as we had a free day’s use of the facilities with the upgrade but I was told on reception that you need to book to use and the pool was cold anyway! I have never had to book to use a swimming pool and sauna before and consequently didn’t get round to using them. Other residents told me that they did book but the pool was still freezing. They also wouldn’t let my 16 year old in however, heard from other guests that they let them in if you pay for a treatment but no otherwise (which I felt was a little naughty). The reason they gave for not letting him in is that people may be naked in the sauna???? He did sneak in with my husband to use the gym though and they didn’t notice that he had a child’s wrist band on.
STAFF
On the whole the staff were great and very cheerful. They are very hard working, especially the cleaners, gardeners, waiters and bar staff. We did tip for good service but ended up running out of money as we didn’t take a lot but tipped a lot! Heather (concierge) was helpful to us. We left the safe open by mistake on one occasion and the maid was very honest. Security was called to seal it and had to come out to the room and give us a secret code and waited until I checked the content. Everything was accounted for, which is good.
All in all, the hotel does need some improvements but we were able to enjoy our holiday. I wouldn’t go back though but would try somewhere else. We met some lovely people there.

Room Tip: Check your room before accepting it, especially if you are purchasing an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rozzie551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear rozzie551,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We deeply apologize if your stay with us was not a perfect experience.

Starting with myself and all my colleagues and managers, we are disappointed to have not met all your expectations during your stay with us and the situation with the noise in your first room.

On the other hand, regarding the service at the restaurant, I would like to let you know that last year we used to have reservations system, however, guests mentioned it was somehow inconvenient since they did not know what would they like for dinner in the next days and they preferred to spend time in the pools and beach than at the reservation desk. Due to all these comments, we decide to try a new system and verify which one works better for the comfort of all our guests.

I hear all your comments, and certainly we will take seriously your feedback and see possibilities to improve. Overall we are glad you enjoyed your holiday with us and hope you decide to visit us again in the future to exceed your expectations.

Yours sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,613
    2,771
    962
    391
    236
See reviews for
2,216
3,535
125
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,032)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

First upon ariving at the Catalonia which was a day late we were told that they gave our room away when infact we paid for the night we were not there so it should have been waiting then they tryed to push us to a lower room as we had a preferred ocean view. After check in we went to the room and was looking for the •Private LOUNGE area with personalized concierge service, coffee break and drinks (this of there site). Look no further IT IS NOT THERE. When we asked about it we were told "Yes that is a problem on our site" but nothing was done. VIP check-in, forget about it. If you purchase the upgrade which they push everywhere, you get nothing more than anyone else. If you go to the Catalonia Riviera Maya, good luck. Oh yes the room service, not there either.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charg3rs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Larry B,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We deeply apologize if your stay with us was not a perfect experience.

Starting with myself and all my colleagues and managers, we are disappointed to have not met your expectations during your stay with us as well as the miscommunication of our services.

I would like to let you know the advantaged of being a Privileged guest with us, you are entitled to - besides the amenities in your room such as coffee maker, minifridge stock daily with water, soft drinks and beer- a pass for the wet areas at the spa, discounts on the boutique, services of the spa and dinner with lobster menu on the beach, pillow menu in the room, a dinner at in our exclusive restaurant “Tapas” and the use of the privileged lounge, which is like you mentioned, an area with coffee break and internet access, it is located on the Riviera Maya side, we deeply apologized if you received wrong information about this last service.

We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future to comply and exceed your expectations and please, if this is the case do not hesitate to contact our Guest Service department, they will be more than happy to assist you in any matter.

Sincerely yours,

Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south saint paul
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Me and my husband were on our honeymoon in February and the maid stole $300.00 from our room. The manager did NOTHING. Horrible experience!!!!! go elsewhere!!!!!!!!!!!!The bartenders were great. Food was terrible, beach was rocky, small pools. Just okay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank kelsey b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear kelsey b,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We deeply apologize if your stay with us was not a perfect experience.

At the Hotel, our guests’ satisfaction is a priority and their safety one of our major concerns. Therefore, an immediate investigation was started when this unfortunate situation was first reported to our Guest Service Department.

Unfortunately, in spite of the priority that was given to this situation, our investigation could not lead to any definite results, either positive or negative due to the lack of evidence.
Our hotel has designed a very intense security program in order to ensure our guests’ safety. In addition, all our rooms offer a safe conveniently located in the closet which becomes operational with a small surcharge, and there are even safes in the reception area at no extra charge. Therefore, Catalonia Riviera Maya Hotel take every step for unfortunate situations like this not to happen and it is our guests personal decision if they want to use this service offered.

We sincerely regret the inconvenience that you may have encountered during your stay with us and hope that we will be given the chance to serve you again here or at our other properties in Mexico to prove that our commitment towards our clients´ satisfaction is a reality and not mere words.

Sincerely yours,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Just arrived back! Missing it already. I attended my sisters wedding two years ago at the hotel it was paradise. I have been once again and this time wi my husband and 16 year old son. They loved it and we are already talking about returning in November. The staff have not changed, excellent standard of cleanliness, good choice of food, great location if you want to walk to the local marina and see the Manatees and Dolphins as well as bars and shops.

I say it is paradise and met people from America, Canada and France everyone so friendly.

the swim up bar is a hit!

Room Tip: We upgraded to the privilege suite as returning guests. Best deal on arrival to upgrade then and no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Helen R,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your last stay with us.
We feel very proud and glad to hear such nice comments from our repeat guests, It is great to know that you always have a good holiday with us.

We definitely hope to see you again soon; it will be our pleasure to welcome once again!

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva area, Switzerland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

By chance, we originally booked adjacent Catalonia Yucatan (see my review over there) but due to unacceptable room conditions, we were moved quickly at the Riviera Maya main building...which saved our vacations.
This hotel is amazingly perfect and apart below small remarks, I would have nothing to say but to recommend to anyone looking for a TOP place in this area.
It's obviously not cheap but worth the value. I would give at least 4-starts ranking (even to European standards).
Among the PLUS PLUS :
- top clean, including rooms so nicely kept, garden, pools, restaurants, shared amenities
- top snorkelling (for novices, I'm a scuba diver, so a bit ..boring for me) at the lagoon side, the beach is more rocky and sometimes waves make the water not as clear as it should. Still could see a stingray, crabs, and some wonderful tropical fishes. Too bad that there are so many silly people feeding the fish with bread or whatever else
- top food, never got ill, of course it's buffet, so you eat what you like the most
- top "a la carte" restaurants, especially the Grill and the Creperie are great places
- top all-inclusive, means really ALL is included when they are saying so (again, some were abusing of alcoholic beverages, and this is sad)

the PLUS :
- the setting is wonderful, and garden is a delight. The gated community of Puerto Aventuras is very safe, you can bike (bikes are free) around, and see some animals (squirrels, dolphins at the marina, pelicans..etc). Don't forget you're far from any "real city". The shops at the marina are nothing but totally not at Mexican prices standard (don't buy !)
- the staff is really extremely sympathic and helpful, available, and committed to help anyone to have a wonderful vacation. If only some of the guests would be more "thankful" to them. I saw people being almost "rude" to those poor Mexicans, doing really their best
- the beach is ROCKY, this is clear, but why complaining..it's said everywhere, and we had no problem entering the water WITHOUT shoes, you just have to look for the several passes available. But of course if you start walking on the rocks, you may end up seriously injured, as really slippery.
the MINUS :
- please be a bit more diversified with the music at buffet restaurants, hearing always the same songs during 14 days, is quite ...boring. Needs more actual hits.
- the animation at the pool, especially with the French team (from club Marmara, French tour operator) is just too much...so are some of the French guests. Since I booked thru internet, did not know there would be so many French speaking people....from France
- the sunchairs at the pool and beach, are much too close from each other, they should change the way they are placed. Also as said before by others, if you don't put your towel by 06:30AM everyday, you won't get a chair ! (unless you travel during low season when half-empty)
- the safe box in the room should be free of charge, since this is an ALL-INCLUSIVE place. It's currently charged 3USD per day, and is absolutely recommended to use.
- the courtesy room which was gently given to us before we head backl to airport, was dirty and smelling bad (at the Yucatan old building side). They allow you only 30 minutes free...so it's kind of an express shower (hard when you got children)
the MINUS MINUS :
- never stay at Catalonia Yucatan side, especially not on ground floor...rooms 1152 + 1153 were just horrible ! By chance we were changed quickly to top rooms (Riviera Maya, no extra costs)
- the boutiques/shops within the complex are totally overpriced.

To summarize, I can ONLY RECOMMEND this place to anyone, we were with kids, but I guess couples would also appreciate. Do NOT approve a room upgrade so "superior" or "privileged" as there's no need of...unless you want to throw out your pesos/dollars.

Room Tip: If you have booked at Catalonia Yucatan...go to Catalonia RIveria Maya (at no extra charge) especial...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dwld26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear dwld26,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your last stay with us and for the possitive comments.
It is great to know that you had a good time and would recommend the hotel. We feel very proud of the impression you had from the hotel and our lovely country.
Be sure that we will take seriously your feedback and review the points we can improve,
We definitely hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, it will be our pleasure to welcome and pamper you once again!
Sincerely
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed there from April 5 through April 11, 2013.... I can tell you that it was well worth the money!! You def want to upgrade your room. But wait til you get there to do it! Def worth the few extra bucks! We just wanted to do the next level up from the basic room the privileged superior room but none was available. So they gave us the privileged suite for the same cost. It was beautiful! There was employees constantly working on the grounds to keep it beautiful and clean! They were all very friendly with a smile and a "Hola!" Every inch of our room was cleaned to perfection every day by Damian! He was fantastic and always had something different each day made of towels on our bed! We had a bathtub on the balcony! I just put up a couple of towels for extra privacy and got one of the best baths I ever had!!
There is no need for reservations for dinner. It was first come, first served which was great because making reservations can be a nightmare! We would go each night about 540 since dinner started at 600pm and always were the first to be seated!!
The beach is beautiful. However, if you want some shade, you do need to get up early to put your towels out to save your seats... I got up between 630 and 730 each morning... That is the only problem I had was not enough shade spots... The water is a lil rocky when you first go in so I would recommend taking water shoes.. But once you get past the little bit of rocks, it is all sand. The water is gorgeous!! The pools were all large and sections for small children to play in which was really nice!
The food was to die for!! Of all my vacations in the past, they had the best food!! If you like steak then def try the steak restaurant! If you like it cooked a certain way then get the filet! Mmmm delicious!!! The Japanese, Mexican, Spanish and Italian restauarant were all fantastic too!! plenty of food and desserts to die for!! Even the buffet was great!!
The sunrise is beautiful if you get a chance to see it! I got some great pics by the lagoon!! The hotel does not take American dollars so you can charge it to your room or use your credit/debit card. Or of course, exchange for pesos... There are bikes you can get on site and ride to a local market, shops, pharmacy and Dolphin Discovery which are all within the gated complex so it is very safe. There is no charge for the bikes. Oh and I got a 50 min massage at the spa... Fantastic!! My daughter also did and we were able to be in the same room together. Def worth the few extra dollars!!
All in all, we had a great time here and will def be returning in the future! The approximate hour ride from the airport is def worth it!!! Hope you enjoy my pics!! And I hope I helped you out!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Stephanie0103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Stephanie0103,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your last stay with us and for such nice comments.

It is great to know that you had a good time and enjoyed our facilities and services. We feel very proud of the impression you had from the hotel and our lovely country.

We definitely hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, it will be our pleasure to welcome and pamper you once again!

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC-mountains
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We had a wonderful time at this resort. I did not go there expecting 5 star because the fees are not 5 star. This is also Mexico, folks. No cream for coffee? Really, someone complained about THAT?? And why would anyone anticipate having to provide gluten-free meals. All the staff were amazingly friendly, worked very hard, and showed patience wth some of the tourists who act wih entitlement, or get obnoxiosly loud, drinking idiots. You know the kind I am talking about....disrespectful to what is different. Coming from the west coast of Canada, I was also surprised at the number of smokers in the tourista world in general. Our room had no problems. Clean. Everything worked! It could get noisy down at the pool bar but not too late. They are constantly cleaning the outside areas and grooming the beach. The 'reserve your chair with towel' happens at all resorts. But you could always find a place. The open air grill will have to put up bird nets for sure. The birds drove me crazy but then you see people taking food down to the beach to bring the birds in. This snack grill food was fine. Same as any snack grills at resorts on the Pacific side. The buffets were great with lots of food choices, nice linens, nice service. We ate too much. The a la cartes were first come, first served. But we figured out to go for the second sittings. Other resorts have a reserve list that you have to sign up for early in the morning. Not sure which works best. I think it was a little less expensive place overall maybe because of the small beach area. You can initially feel like you're packed in,but you get over it! But there was lots to partake in if you wanted, like kayaking,sailing. There were a few weddings that were really cute to watch. We actually decided to finish the last few days at the sister resort, Maroma, just to experience the wider expanse of blue ocean and white sand. Guess what. It was so windy at the other resort and we missed the casualness and busy-ness of the Yucutan! The entire resort area of Puerto Aventura is pretty self-contained with excellent security. Many people are happy to not go on adventures and would take bikes or walk over to the marina area. There was something for all ages, a kids' program, the pool games, volleyball. I highly recommend the Nolitour expedition to the Cenote Maya and Ek Balam ruins. Both amazing. We figured out the taxis and the buses. We went to Tulum and the Tulum ruins on the bus and one tourist who missed his stop cursed the driver. I could not believe it and we told him to cool it. The fares are NOT expensive. And everyone tries to help you wherever you go. We took a taxi to Playa even though the resort had a shuttle! I read some reviews about overbooking and problems at the front desk. Not sure what to say about that. We just didn't have a problem at this resort and soaked up the sun, drank the margueritas delivered right to your lounge chair, and relaxed. Just decide when you are planning if you want to be closer to a city like Playa or if you dont mind being at a more self-contained destination.

Room Tip: Ask for the 4th floor! There are areas I would not want to have been in like near the service areas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BC-mountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
It is great to know that you had a good time and enjoyed our facilities and services. We feel very proud of the impression you had from the hotel and our lovely country.
We hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, it will be our pleasure to welcome and pamper you once again!
Thank you very much for your time and for the wonderful comments you made about our hotel.
Sincerely
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
12.4 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
22.9 mi away
Catalonia Playa Maroma
Catalonia Playa Maroma
#4 of 5 in Playa Maroma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,602 reviews
24.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
24.2 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,672 reviews
17.3 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Riviera Maya

Property: Catalonia Riviera Maya
Address: Avenida Xcacel Lote 1 Plano 2 Manzana 18 | Solidaridad, Puerto Aventuras 77783, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#12 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalonia Riviera Maya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribbean Sea's turquoise waters can be seen from this hotel-paradise. Come and get ready to spend some unforgettable days in the heart of the Mayan Riviera, surrounded by marvelous landscapes and seductive, white sand beaches. The hotel is located in the wonderful Puerto Aventuras development. This is a tourist development which boasts a marina for yachts, a golf course, restaurants and dolphin tanks, all within easy reach of the main Mayan Riviera attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Catalonia Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Riviera Maya Puerto Aventuras, Mexico
Catalonia Hotel Mexico
Catalonia Rivera Maya
Riviera Maya Catalonia
Hotel Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riveria Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya Resort
Catalonia Riviera Maya All Inclusive
Catalonia Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing