We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome memories.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Zimmerman, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“awesome memories.....”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Let me start be saying I've been to the Catalonia four times. The first with a girlfriend in 2008. We had a blast, we stayed in a standard room which was very pleasant. The beds were a bit hard but slept well. The other three times (twice in 2012) were amazing. We did upgrade to superior and privileged superior. Very much worth the small upgrade fee. The rooms were always clean and spacious. The staff always helpful. We especially enjoy walking to the marina and shopping and having a margarita and chips at Gringos Cantina, live music also most nights. Enjoy watching dolphins play while relaxing with friends.... The restaurants have always had a variety of fare so we never come home under weight!!! The pools and beach area are great though main beach is rocky. Always plenty of palapas and chairs available. The entertainment staff are great and very friendly. Freddy even came to dinner at the marina with us one evening. I could do without the loud speaker in the afternoon by the pool but it is short lived and pita is hilarious!!! We have never visited the spa but have had wonderful massages overlooking the beach. No pressure for timeshares like at other resorts which takes away time you don't ever get back. We consider Catalonia our home away from home. Can't wait to go back, maybe October!!!!

Room Tip: Upgrade to superior or privileged superior for the best beds and service. Let staff know if your vis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bksaint1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.

We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.


Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,823
    2,883
    999
    405
    243
See reviews for
2,344
3,699
131
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,052)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener Waterloo
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This was our first visit to the Catalonia and we were very impressed. I have traveled to Cuba, Punta Cana and Cabo and can truly say we had the best service I have ever experienced. Very attentive staff from all areas - front desk, bartenders, waiters and waitresses, hostesses, etc. Also the friendliest staff - everyone from the maids, to the animation team, gardeners, etc offered a friendly hola and great smile every time we saw them. The food was very good as well - can't imagine what people complain about given the variety available (and remember this is a four star). We had excellent meals at the Japanese and Tappas restaurants and good at the Italian and Steak restaurants. Loved the Creperie as well! We were very lucky to participate in a Trip Advisor Dinner set up by Pablo (BC-IT-Guy) at the Steak Restaurant which was attended by 3 managers. It was a great dinner, great company and a wonderful opportunity to meet the staff who were terrific and you could see truly care about their guests and their staff.

We really enjoyed snorkelling at the resort and if you stay on the left side and go just beyond the ropes around the rocks there are amazing fish. We also really enjoyed the proximity to the marina and enjoyed walking around there and seeing the dolphins/manatees/sea lions, etc.

We went to Tulum and Akumel Bay the one day and found it very easy to get a Collectivo just outside the entrance gates. It cost us $40 pesos each (less than Cdn $4) to get there. Was absolutely thrilled to see 3 large sea turtles while snorkeling at Akumel and it cost us nothing as we brought our own snorkel equipment. We also took the collectivo to Playa del Carmen and it was $50 pesos each - very easy and much cheaper than a taxi.

The only reason we are not giving a 5 rating as opposed to a 4 is the rooms. Our first night we were in a standard room (4119) which had an excellent view of pool and ocean but we had wanted to upgrade to Privileged. We moved the next day to Room 6023 and while the room was nicer and had great shower and view - we found the layout of the Privileged Rooms makes for a much noisier stay. The stairwells lead to each landing of 4 rooms and every morning we could hear people coming and going and the maids cleaning and it was quite loud. If you are someone who likes to sleep in past 6:30 or 7:00 you will need ear plugs! Also the Garden Room was fine in case anyone was concerned. The Privileged does offer though more a la cartes including the Tappas restaurant as well as a daily stocked fridge, a room safe that you don't pay for and an awesome shower. I would like to note that our maid was outstanding - cleaned the room beyond expectations, left amazing towel animals, and was very friendly.

We loved the Chill Bar location by the beach and all of the bars offered quick and attentive service and great drinks. Just ask for the name brands if you want them and they are quick to give them to you.

Overall, we were very very pleased with the resort and I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Kitchenergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.

We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.


Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Richey, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

This resort is connected to another Catalonia resort (Yucatan). You get 2 resorts for price of one. The other poolside bar stayed open later than ours. It was a short walk. You can eat in their buffet, swim in their pools. Both behind a secure community that is gated. Safe to walk to Dolphin Discovery - 0.75 mile. I did swim with a dolphin. It was fantastic. I got $109 package. Short bus trip to Tulum and Xel La which were both wonderful Enjoyed the steak specialty restaurant the most

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.

We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.


Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quesnel, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We had a very nice time at this hotel. The food and service was excellent. The people go out of their way and are very friendly. There was NO time share sharks which was perfect. The hotel is adjacent to the Catalonia Rivieria Maya that you also have access to, both are very nice. The beach was nice as it was private. Excellent for snorkelling. Take the free bike tour and ask where the hidden public beach is, very very nice. Go to Playa del Carmen at night, awesome great time
The chambermaids were very meticulous and the room was perfect each day. They also came around later in the afternoon or early evening to turn down the covers, put out a little floor mat beside your bed and put out your slippers!

Room Tip: Don't get a ground floor room, as it can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lynn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.

We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.


Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Like many have stated staff are AMAZING ... cant say enough aboout how friendly they are and treat the guests ....
The hotel is clean and first time i ever saw staff pressure wash lounge chairs on beach ..
The hotel is in a gated commumity with a nice Marina to walk to and a few shops
Never had a problem finding a longe chair and we were never up and to pool before 9:00 always found one may not be the spot you want put that was not important to us .. we were in the sun ..
The restaurants were better then most and they dont take reservations first come first receive ..The Japanese one be prepared to wait a bit and they are not strict on dress at all for men my husband never wore dress pants once ...Beach area is small and getting in is rocky but still a nice spot

Room Tip: do the upgrade it is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gatorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Gatorr,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your last stay with us and for such positive comments.

The feedback of our guests is our most important source for improvements of our facilities and services.

We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your holiday with us and definitely hope you will decide to visit us again in the future!

Sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Just got back from a very pleasant stay at the Catalonia and firstly I would like to thank them for all the great service my wife and I received . We travelled with Thomas cook holidays for a two week stay we had booked for the sister hotel next door but on check we were taken to the riviera which was a nice surprise as I had read it was a slightly better quality.
Our room was fine clean and almost everything we could want I did miss not having a fridge or brewing up facilities but it is an all inclusive hotel so you are never far away from a brew. The maid service was excellent and everyday we would come in to a different creature made out of the towels which we found a nice touch.
For the all inclusive features in the hotel we found there was two very good buffet restaurants which offered a large selection to choose from and very good quality food, the pool side snack bar was good too. Numerous bars doted about the hotel with great selection of drinks, we liked the bar by the beach so we could have our cocktails while catching the rays. The various al a carte restaurants were ok nothing special except for the Japanese restaurant where we had a great night.
The small things that we didn't really like was the hotel is a very popular French resort I think so alot of the entertainment was in French, being a non French speaker you sometimes felt left out of things especially when the entertainers took over the lobby bar in the early evenings. However the French speakers were having a great time with the entertainment chaps and it was funny trying to understand what they were all doing .
Another small point to make out is the location the hotel is set in the gated community of puerto aventuras and there is a nice little marina to walk around with dolphin swimming and shows you can watch. The problem is that there is not much else around , you are a half hour trip from playa del carma to the north or tulum to the south (very cheap bus service to each). We hired a car to explore a bit further afield a would recommend doing the same this part of Mexico seemed extremely safe to drive around.
In conclusion a very good hotel with great staff everything was done to ensure we had a great stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bezmacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear bezmacc,

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of our hotel and this beautiful country.

We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.


Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Staff friendly. Food got very samey but eating at restaurants helped. Kept really clean every. Room quite big, not luxurious but comfortable and suitable for my needs. Mikado and Tapas bar were very nice places to eat. Would recommend hotel to anyone. Very close to the trips that i went on other than Chichen Itza. Enough bars on site but could not find anywhere to just get a coffee outside of the meal times. Tequilla bar i would recommend. For the holdiay readers i did find it quite noisy with music on occassions but there is library at the Yukatan end where you can leave books you have read and pick up others. Very useful. Occassionally there are vendors on site selling th usual tourist items but there are also artists selling paintings they have done in front of you. Evening entertainment including live bands by the pool and in the upstairs bar and a theatre. if you have children one prent told me that the kids club was excellent for kids and they got to take part some of the shows, ie The Lion King. Some of the shows are a little risque for young children such as the comedy club but its up to you if you want them to see it. You do get a warning prior to the start of the show however. Theres a resident photographer who takes photos of you andyou can buy them if you wish your usualy photographed with aztecs, toucans around the pool etc You are asked before hand if you want one. Chill out bar was not want i would imagine, sometimes playing ear splitting music when all you want to do is drink chat or read. But servied goo tequilllas there. There is also a tequilla bar which was easier to read by there and the pool bar whic i never used. The beach was very stony in the water so take wate shoes or do what i do and go onto the adjacent beach as that was much nicer. Also its where you wil see lots of fish swimming around. There is a scuba/snorkelling place on site if you want to try that. Beach towels are provided daily you can exchange them as often as you want so dont tak yor own towels. All in all a place that i would stay at again in the future and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Daisy1967186299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Daisy1967186299,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.

We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.


Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
24.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#8 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,585 reviews
7.1 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
24.2 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
16.7 mi away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#77 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
23.0 mi away
Catalonia Playa Maroma
Catalonia Playa Maroma
#4 of 5 in Playa Maroma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Riviera Maya

Property: Catalonia Riviera Maya
Address: Avenida Xcacel Lote 1 Plano 2 Manzana 18 | Solidaridad, Puerto Aventuras 77783, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#12 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalonia Riviera Maya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribbean Sea's turquoise waters can be seen from this hotel-paradise. Come and get ready to spend some unforgettable days in the heart of the Mayan Riviera, surrounded by marvelous landscapes and seductive, white sand beaches. The hotel is located in the wonderful Puerto Aventuras development. This is a tourist development which boasts a marina for yachts, a golf course, restaurants and dolphin tanks, all within easy reach of the main Mayan Riviera attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Catalonia Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Riviera Maya Puerto Aventuras, Mexico
Catalonia Hotel Mexico
Catalonia Rivera Maya
Riviera Maya Catalonia
Hotel Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riveria Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya Resort
Catalonia Riviera Maya All Inclusive
Catalonia Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing