We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Unforgetable entertainment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Lockport, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unforgetable entertainment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We visited this resort in August of 2011, I just never wrote a review. This was a resort that I can not forget and now I always compare it to the other places I go. Recently I even chose an another Catalonia Resort but in Punta Cana thinking that it may be as good as this one, but...this one still is the best for me; the main reason being the entertainment crew. They were trying to make your stay as enjoyable as possible; starting in the morning by the pool with different crazy games, dance lessons, sport games and ending in the evening on stage making shows, improvizing. A big THANK YOU to the entertainment team. I hoppe to be back soon.
The only down side of this resort was a rocky beach.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vaida C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Vaida C,

We would like to thank you for your comments about your stay with us. We all are deeply glad that after one year you still keep a good memory of our hotel and the staff. I will let all the entertainment staff know that they made your stay more memorable.
Regarding the rocky beach, it is a small reef that we have on the beach of the hotel, and hopefully if you decide to visit us again in the future, we will kindly invite to snorkel here and enjoy the amazing variety of fish that the Mexican Caribbean offers.

It will be a pleasure for us to receive you again in the near future so we will have another opportunity to pamper you and exceed your expectations.
Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,849
    2,319
    836
    340
    212
See reviews for
1,766
2,808
99
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (957)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Our 9th stay here!! As usual, resort is spotless, food is excellent, rooms are pristine! Waitstaff and bartenders, especially Manuele at the Tequila Bar and Gerardo at the Pure Chill Out Bar, are superb. This is one of the premier resorts in the Riviera Maya, run by a fantastic and professional General Manager. Don' t hesitate, book a trip to this resort at once!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carlitos5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Carlitos5150,
Thank you so mucho for such nice comments! It is fantastic to have loyal clients that come every year to the resort and they feel like home, making new friends and visiting the old ones.
We hope to see you and serve you again in the future for another lovely experience.
Yours sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington Township, NJ
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Just got back from this resort. We had a wonderful vacation.
Place was superb, grounds, staff, room and lots of smiles.
Flew into Cancun, about a 50-60 minute drive, depending on the stops.
We arrived and was greeted with much warmth. Juan showed us all around while going to our room. I had upgraded our room, got a suite, when I made the reservation so we stayed in the privilged area. The room had a nice deep tub on the patio, slippers and robe, wifi, special seating at meals too. The shower was to die for, could have stayed in there all day. It was a rainshower coming from the ceiling, awesome.
Drinks were good and the quality was good too.
Went to the specialty restaurants they were good too. Some were incle
At night there was not much to do, shows were boring but we were fine just walking around and early to bed. Sun and sea can wipe you out.
Bed was very comfortable and you can order the type of pillow you want too.
The poolside activities were great as are the counselors they get you moving and have fun.
Shopping was not good there, so saved money.
People were very friendly, pools were extremely clean, beach water was beautiful.
Entering the water was tricky, because of the rocks, but there is path to enter and if you use that till up to your knee then you can go across and just enjoy.
Say hi to Thelma she is on the beach and does a very good job or making sure you don't get thirsty and offers suggestions of alcoholic and non drinks.
If you go enjoy the peacefulness and stress free time.

Room Tip: Privlidge all the way, quiet don't stop for timeshare at the airport
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jog03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Jog03
Thank you for writing you opinion about your recent stay with us, it's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.
We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.
Yours sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

The hotel was clean, the staff were extremely friendly and efficient. We upgraded our room on booking definitely worth while we got access to the spa, free safe, mini bar, filter coffee and larger room. Lovely holiday definitely would recommend to others.

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Karrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Karrie B,
It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.
We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.

Yours sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We have just returned fromn the Catalonia Riviera Maya Mexico.This is a excellent hotel with a great mix of bars and restaurants. We upgraded to a Privilage room, so we had a fridge and a few other niceties. The bottled water was restocked everyday but there are water dispensers in every bar The staff were very friendly and eager to help and the nightly towel art is great fun. The Room was cleaned every day to a very high standard, with an additional maid service in th e evening to change towels and do the bed. THe whole complex is spotless and constantly checked day and night.

There are 5 'specialist' restaurants, which you get tokens to eat in but the 2 buffet restaurants are just as good, with food which is hot, plentiful and well thought out. Of the 'specialist' restaurants the Mexican (obviously) is very good and the Tapas had some of the best food I've had anywhere. The bars are cool with great service, especially the Pure Chill out Bar, Gerardo the bar tender we great fun with superb service night after night. The Entertainment team are great, catering for all ages. All the staff are friendly, polite and will go out of their way to be of assitance. Thier is a lovely english lady running the coincege desk and she again is fantastic.

The on site Spa is beautiful and great value for money.

We booked this holiday fairly last minute and on the recommedation of the travel agent. What a fantastic and amazing place, both the hotel and sights around within easy travelling distance.

Out of the hotel there is so much to see. By the marina in the complex is the dolphin pool, which is free to walk around (or you can pay to swim with them). As well as the dolphins you can see Stingrays, Manatee and sea lions. If you want to venture further afield the Mayan sites of Chichen Itza, Tulum and Coba are in easy reach. A coach will pick up at the Hotel with very proud and knowlegable tourguides to help you along the way.

We had an amazing holiday and wouldn't hesitate in recommending the Catalonia Rivira Maya, to anyone. THANK YOU !!

Room Tip: Well worth asking about an upgrade if you want spoiling even more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Phil H,
We would like to thank you for such nice comments about our hotel facilities and staff. We all are deeply glad to hear that you spent a great time with us and your opinion make us feel really proud.
It will be a pleasure for us to receive you again in the near future so we will have another opportunity to pamper you and exceed your expectations.
Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

just back from this hotel we had a really great time , food and drink very good , all the hotel staff were very friendly including waiter/waitresses and even the gardners,we went to coco bongo`s in playa del carmen which we booked through the guy (Jose) who worked within the hotel we did the v.i.p. trip which cost us approximately £75.00 but our transport , admission into the night club and all our drinks were free all evening no problems with the service in coco bongo`s drinkks were always readily available .it was mine and my wife`s birhdays whilst we were out there and the hotel staff went out of there way to make them really remarkable and something never to be forgotten also it was our wedding anniversary out there so we upgraded our room to a honeymoon sweet for our last four days and it was worth every penny (done a bit of haggling) and got a good discount on the room, done a deep sea fishing trip which was great but again walk down to the marina (5 mins away) and you will get it cheaper all in all we had a really good time (apart from the dreaded red eye flight back home)

Room Tip: upgraded rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wizzmog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear wizzmog,
Thank you for writing a review of your last stay with us and for choosing our hotel for such special ocassions as both your birthdays and wedding anniversary! It is wonderful to hear that you had a good time.
We hope to see you and serve you again in the future for another lovely experience and maybe another anniversary!.
Yours sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ball Ground, GA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

After being to large resorts i.e. Royal Suites Yucatan & Princess Laguna Villas's we were well aware that this resort was small and catered to families with no adult only section. That being said and knowing this was a 4 star hotel with some negative reviews..............off we went.
Personally we were both surprised at the level of servie at this hotel. Check in was quick and very friendly. Eduardo said our room was ready (we were really early..........like 11am). We are used to suites and for the price booked the 2 room suite in priviledged and requested 1st floor (which we got) ...... resort side.........I am pleased to say that that request was not met and our suite faced the condo street.........IT WAS WONDERFUL! There was some construction in the condos next door but other than that no one was walking by and looking at us while we relaxed on the terrace. The room was spotless and the air conditioning worked SO well we had to turn if off to get warm!
Had no problem with the safe or anything missing.
The "soaking tub" on the terrace was filthy and we decided not to even bother to complain nor clean it ourselves as we had really no intention of using it.
Room was cleaned by 9am everymoning with cute towel art. Towels were plentiful and turndown service was received only twice during stay.
Fridge was stocked everyday also. Ask for extra water as sometimes we would wake up and there was no bottled water to make coffee as we drank it all! DO NOT DRINK THE TAP WATER.
Don't be fooled into thinking chairs are "not held" around the pool or beach. We were at pool at 6:30 every morning to get my husband a shaded chair.(he can't take direct sun)................and we STAYED in that chair....we just didn't walk away for 4 hours! We would get up for breakfast but back to chair we went.
Pool entertainment was loud............as was expected but fun to watch.
Food was mediocre except for Tapas..................that was fantastic..............and our server Daniel was funny and informative.
The breakfast buffets were like a starving cattle call. I have never been shoved and bumped so much in my life!
Do not forget to stop by the Creperie for sweets.............their menu was to die for!
On a personal note (and I am old) I really would appreciate it if some women didn't feel they needed to take their tops off in front of children ..........or me for that matter... to put on sun lotion...........sweeties you looked like the playboy gramma! And men...............speedos over 60........please!
Heather at the concierge was wonderful.............what an asset to the hotel.
The pool bar attendants were great...........always made sure our bubba kegs were filled. Please people...........a little tip now and then goes a long way and they deserve it. We tipped the gal who kept coming by to empty our ashtray and she was SO grateful..........the smile on her face said everything.
All in all our trip was very very good

Room Tip: Resort is so small any room would not make you feel like you are in another "zip code" fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dandBallGround_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear dandBallGround_GA,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.

I hear all your comments, and certainly we will look for all the possibilities to improve our opportunity areas and make sure your next visit will exceed your expectations.

Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
22.9 mi away
Catalonia Playa Maroma
Catalonia Playa Maroma
#4 of 5 in Playa Maroma
4.0 of 5 stars 5,493 reviews
9.7 mi away
Catalonia Royal Tulum
12.4 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach
Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach
#9 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 stars 6,963 reviews
7.1 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe
Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 stars 4,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Riviera Maya

Property: Catalonia Riviera Maya
Address: Avenida Xcacel Lote 1 Plano 2 Manzana 18 | Solidaridad, Puerto Aventuras 77783, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#12 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalonia Riviera Maya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribbean Sea's turquoise waters can be seen from this hotel-paradise. Come and get ready to spend some unforgettable days in the heart of the Mayan Riviera, surrounded by marvelous landscapes and seductive, white sand beaches. The hotel is located in the wonderful Puerto Aventuras development. This is a tourist development which boasts a marina for yachts, a golf course, restaurants and dolphin tanks, all within easy reach of the main Mayan Riviera attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Catalonia Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Riviera Maya Puerto Aventuras, Mexico
Catalonia Hotel Mexico
Catalonia Rivera Maya
Riviera Maya Catalonia
Hotel Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riveria Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya Resort
Catalonia Riviera Maya All Inclusive
Catalonia Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing