We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Honeymoon”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

just got back from mexico and stayed at the cat. overall we enjoyed are honeymoon the hotel was spot on not a bad word to say about it. the al la carte restraunts are all very nice the steak house was our fav. waiters could not do enough for you. the rooms were very clean towels changed every day if you get room 1011 theres a friendly iguana living on the terrace. we went to the marina 3 times very safe to walk round and see the rays and dolphins, went in for a corona at gringo cantina and joes pub very cheap and got a free bowl of natchos with some very hot dip. we recommend swimming with dophins at xcrect very good value. we would return to mexico and prob stay at the cat

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ben w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.

We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.


Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,813
    2,879
    998
    403
    241
See reviews for
2,334
3,691
131
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,052)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midlothian, IL
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

You will love this place, the staff is fabulous and the service is fantastic. The shows in the evening are FANTASTIC. The entertainment staff are out of this world. All the restaurants have great food and you can even get something late at night. Great Disco and they even have inside mini golf. Beach parties on Friday and I can go on and on.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice but the upgrade to privileged is so worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nanafloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.

We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.


Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirlingshire, UK.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

The Negatives - When we checked in we are advised to upgrade. We were concerned about what we were about to find.......we were right to be concerned!!! Went to see the room first. Small square room no fridge, bath covered in chips, curtain hanging of the patio doors, badly needed updated, had to pay for safe. I have been staying in 4/5 star hotels for the past 15 years and always got a fridge and the safe was included in cost. This was more like a 2/3 star room. They do have nicer rooms at the newer part of the hotel but you have to upgrade to get these. $500 for the first upgrade. We went to look at it and it was the same as the room we were in except it had a newer shower, you didn't need to pay for the safe and....wait for it.....you got the use of a bathrobe. $700 if you want in the newer part of the hotel. We decided to stay where we were, but insisted on getting a fridge as I am diabetic and needed a fridge to store my medication. They gave us a fridge which was left downstairs. My husband had to go down and bring it up himself after waiting 2 hrs for someone from the hotel to do it. Food in the main restaurant was basic. You had to queue up to 30 minutes sometimes for breakfast or dinner. This is a problem for me as I need to eat within 15 mins of taking my injections. The 'Thomson' rep said he had complained to the manager about our problems but we didn't hear from anyone. If you write something nice about the hotel on Trip Advisor the hotel have someone employed to add a 'Thank you' for your nice comments. They would be better spending the money on starting someone to provide a bit of customer service. Be aware....they don't accept US $ any more only Mexican $ or sterling. Make sure you don't try to pay for anything with Scottish notes as they also will charge to more to use this currency.
The Positive. The gardens are lovely and well kept. The Mexican people working in the hotel were lovely ( apart from the reception area...only Julio was helpful and Alfredo being the most useless) The Japanese Restuarant was good as were all the specialist restuarants. Our room was kept spotless by the hard working maids. The pool area is nice and the beach was good although a bit hard on your feet in the sea....take beach shoes. Best of all was the Entertainment Crew. They were great fun and gave everyone a good laugh even if you didn't want to join in the activities.
If you like to go for a wonder outside your hotel then this hotel is not for you . There is a lovely Marina to walk to but along unlit roads so can be a bit dangerous. We didn't let our dissappointment in the hotel ruin our holliday but would not recommend this hotel if you are used to a quality 4/5 star hotel. It's nothing like the Rui Hotels. These are fantastic in comparison.

Room Tip: Don't accept rooms in Blocks 1, 2 or 3 as these are the worst and very noisy ( we were in block...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WeeAnnie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We deeply apologize if your stay with us was not a perfect experience

Starting with myself and all my colleagues and managers, we are disappointed to have not met your expectations during your stay with us.

I hear all your comments, and certainly we will take seriously your feedback and see possibilities to improve and make sure your next visit will exceed your expectations.

Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The beach is stunning; white sand, crystal clear warm water, safe to swim and amazing to snorkel, especially for beginners as the water is quite shallow. The hotel provides free snrokelling and kayaking equipment, excellent.
The hotel grounds are immaculate and pretty, filled with trees, grass, flowers and bushes that are constantly being tendered.
The staff are beyond-belief. 99% are amazingly friendly and go out of their way to be helpfull and nice.
The food in the buffet resteraunts and lunchtime snack bar (open most of the day) has a really good, wide choice, particularly good fresh fruits and salads. The desserts were my favourite, delicious cream cakes and mousses.
You get unlimited wine at dinner, and the cocktails available all over the hotel all day were delicious.
I stayed in both a `priviledged' room and a `priviledged suite', both really nice though of course the suite is luxury! From what I've heard, the regular rooms are a bit worn, so only stay in them if you are on a really tight budget or truly dont care what your room is like.
The `special' resteraunts weren't fantastic to be honest. The `Japanese' was more like Chinese food, and you get one piece of nigri as a starter which I think is a bit mean. Fried rice and prawns is not my idea of japanese food. For that, we went to `Sushi MI' around the corner next to the port.
The Italian resteraunt has really small portions and little choice. The best is the Spanish and the grill but there were long waiting times to get in, despite it being low season. My boyfriend preferred the buffet `La Brisas' to the special resteraunts. The lunch buffet in Las Brisas was especially nice too.

My only gripe with the hotel is the smoking policy. people smoke everywhere all around the pool and on the beach and there were cigarette butts all over the beach. Shame. My second gripe is they should provide a shuttle bus to and from the aiport. taxis are really expensive in the whole area. PLUS take your own sunblock as its really expensive in the hotel shop.

We will definitely return to Catalonia Riviera Maya, no question!

Tip: you can go watch the dolphins for free around the corner at the port, and there are some nice places to eat there too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jmarie1349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.

We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.


Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed at the Catalonia Riviera Maya for our honeymoon in January 2012, and had the most amazing time there. We booked it as part of a package through Thomas Cook, which is not something we've ever done before, but as we had vouchers as wedding presents we thought we would give it a go. The flight and transfers were absolutely fine, and the hotel was excellent. We were slightly apprehensive about staying in one place for 2 weeks as we normally like to travel round, but there was enough going on at the hotel and in the local area to keep us entertained. We are really in to food, and again we were apprehensive about the quality of food in an all inclusive hotel, but we were not disappointed. There was so much choice - 2 buffet restaurants and 5 A La Carte to choose from. Even the buffet restaurants had lots of different choices, and these also changed on a daily basis. The food in the A La Carte restaurants was beautifully and the menus changed from week 1 to week 2. I would advise a room upgrade when you book, as we did this and found our room to be much nicer than the standard rooms. As it was our honeymoon we had a just married sign on the door, a fruit bowl, honeymoon T-Shirts and complimentary champagne, plus a room with a sea view. We couldn't have asked for anything more special. The hotel was exceptionally clean and well looked after and the staff were all very friendly. The pools were great, especially the one on the Yucatan side of the resort as this was much quieter. The bars were all very good, with a huge choice of drinks, including an excellent cocktail menu! We were surprised at the quality of wine, which was quite acceptable at the bars, and there were full wine menus available in the A La Carte restaurants (at a supplement). We booked the romantic dinner on the beach, which was about $50 each. It was exceptional value as it included 4 x courses, 2 x bottles of champagne and a private dining area on the beach with our own waiter. The food was beautiful, especially the main course of lobster and steak! The setting of the hotel is gorgeous with a private beach. Not as beautiful as Thailand, but still extremely nice. We hired kayaks and went out on the catamaran which were both good fun. We also went on day trips to see the Mayan ruins and to Xel-Ha, which is definitely worth a visit. The spa is also definitely worth checking out, with a room upgrade you also get discount vouchers for the spa. We booked massages in order to unwind on our first day and they definitely did the trick. The spa is one of the most beautiful ones that I've been to, there's an amazing pool with lots of different water massage areas and a good sauna and steam room. All in all we had a fantastic time there, and would highly recommend it to anyone wanting a relaxing holiday. We had previously looked at some hotels that cost twice as much as this one, and I'm glad that we did not pay more than we did as we really couldn't fault it.

Room Tip: Definitely upgrade and if possible ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmsJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.

We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.


Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Good hotel for price,not 4 star like stated till rooms updated.The room we were allocated was poor air con was weak, room dated.Got a change of room which was better,had fan on ceiling helping the air con.Most staff fiendly,liked jeremiah at the chill out bar(a good laugh).
The gardens are well attended ,the food restaraunts and bars were good.
The beach is good but rocky in places footwear needed.all in all good holiday for price paid.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stella713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We deeply apologize if your stay with us was not a perfect experience

Starting with myself and all my colleagues and managers, we are disappointed to have not met your expectations during your stay with us.

I hear all your comments, and certainly we will take seriously your feedback and see possibilities to improve and make sure your next visit will exceed your expectations.

Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed here the 2nd week in Sept. So ready to go back!
This place was amazing! We upgraded to the the Priv. Suite - highly recommend!
The entire staff was OUTSTANDING! There was always something to eat and the drinks were plenty strong!
The buffet is like any buffet - hit or miss but there is ALWAYS something you can eat.
The SteakHouse and the Terrace was FANTASTIC! But dont' wait until 930-945 to go - you probably wont get in.
The Chinese was good as well but the Tapas and Steakhouse were our favorites hands down!
Walking distance from the Marina - great atmosphere.
Swimming was great - recommend swim shoes but you can probably get along without them.
We called about our fridge not getting cold - they were at our door in less than 10 mins and brought a new one.
I will tell you that I am a bit fussy and I have NO complaints.
Well worth it in our opinions!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.

We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.


Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
24.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#8 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,583 reviews
7.1 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
24.2 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
16.7 mi away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#77 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,326 reviews
23.0 mi away
Catalonia Playa Maroma
Catalonia Playa Maroma
#4 of 5 in Playa Maroma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Riviera Maya

Property: Catalonia Riviera Maya
Address: Avenida Xcacel Lote 1 Plano 2 Manzana 18 | Solidaridad, Puerto Aventuras 77783, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#12 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalonia Riviera Maya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribbean Sea's turquoise waters can be seen from this hotel-paradise. Come and get ready to spend some unforgettable days in the heart of the Mayan Riviera, surrounded by marvelous landscapes and seductive, white sand beaches. The hotel is located in the wonderful Puerto Aventuras development. This is a tourist development which boasts a marina for yachts, a golf course, restaurants and dolphin tanks, all within easy reach of the main Mayan Riviera attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Catalonia Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Riviera Maya Puerto Aventuras, Mexico
Catalonia Hotel Mexico
Catalonia Rivera Maya
Riviera Maya Catalonia
Hotel Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riveria Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya Resort
Catalonia Riviera Maya All Inclusive
Catalonia Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing