We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome couples resort. LOVED IT !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Awesome couples resort. LOVED IT !!!”
Reviewed January 31, 2011

What can I say, awesome. Please contact me for specifics or pics. Beach is great for snorkelling. They have a free 1 hr snorkel tour out the reef, well worth it. Swimming is ok but much better off property about 200m south. Restaurants are ala carte for all meals and service is terrific. No reservations are needed, just show up. If full, you may have a short wait or choose another restaurant. When we were there, a sax player was at the bar near the lap pool each night. We had the swim up room, excellent. It can be private but it is open to chat with neighbours. Diego, the swim up bar bartender was awesome, brought drinks to us instead of us swimming over. You can take long walks on the terrific beach but only south towards the Palladium. North is blocked by a wall as the nudist resort is there. A very quiet and quaint resort. Karisma has nailed it when it comes to service. We have been to Azul Sensatori which is their famiy resorts, excellent food and service. There a couple of food we did not like as they were deep fried but that is personal and others may like it. We had no complaints what so ever and loved the atmosphere of this resort. The lobby is small and really not meant for anything but checking in. FYI, our bus ride was 2 hrs from Cancun as we had many stops along the way. Our room was not ready but we went for a terrific lunch and the room was ready when we got back. Another plus, no wristbands are used at this resort and no towel cards either. There are limited beach beds so if you want one, get there about 6:30 even tho the sign says no reserving until 7 am because by then they will be gone, at least when we were there.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffreyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, December 23, 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,001 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,538
    1,568
    515
    227
    153
See reviews for
227
6,318
48
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,304)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2011

This is an amazing resort, the best we have ever been too!
First the beach is amazing and awesome for snorkelling, more sea life than any resort we have been too.
It’s a small resort and very well kept, the service is #1. The shows are amazing! The rooms are huge with the best hotel beds we’ve ever slept on! There is a reason this resort is one of the most romantic in the world! And it deserves to be. By the end of your stay you will be so refreshed and relaxed.
The food was absolutely the best we have ever eaten! Overall if you are considering this resort look no further! I can’t say enough about this place you won’t be let down!

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank LeahTodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, December 23, 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
188 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2011

Travelled to EDSS on Jan 8 and spent a very enjoyable two weeks at the EDSS.
This was our first time there and we are glad that we went.We are Exotic Club Members
as we bought in at the Eldorado Royal Castias Suites,five years ago.We thought we would try a different resort this time around and were very happy that we went to EDSS.
Upon arrival in our Loomas Lincoln Navigator we were greated by Carlos and Lilly at the front lobby with cold wine and a fresh wipe.I cannot say enough about Carlos and Lilly as they went out of their way to please us and to help us at any time of the day.
We booked in at a Ocean front suite but got upgraded at no charge to a Swim up bottom floor room in the 3900 block.We were located right across from the bar.
The room was very nice,with a bar fridge with beer,juice and pop in it.Very comfortable
king bed.In our room was a jaquzzi tub in the corner of the room.
Restarunts were good except for the Mexican as we do not care for that type of food.
If we did not like something on the menu we got the waiter to change it and they did as we asked.If we wanted more meat for example we asked for it and they did not hesitate to bring what we wanted.
This resort was just the right size to walk to any restaurant for dinner .
The bars were spread around the resort so you did not have far to go for a drink as that is why you are on vacation.
We upgraded our timeshare so on the last four days we spent it in the Presidential
Suite .We had a Butler named Julio and my wife is still missing you today Julio.
We had our own pool and bar stocked with what we wanted to drink and the list of options goes on and on.
We met some wonderful people from all across the world
Mel and Dot from England
Sam and Lynnl from South Dakota
Hi to everyone else that we met .

We are missing the EDSS
The service was great,every place except the Mexican as we did not have great service there.
We also experienced the Hells Angels and any dealings that I had with them was great they acted very respectable and were very polite to us .
We never had any trouble with anything going missing like some people did.I never heard anyone have any trouble the whole two weeks we were there.I did hear one couple complain ,but you can never keep everybody happy.
If anyone has any questions please feel free to email me and I will be glad to answer them as best as I can.
I forgot to add that the dress code was not enforced.We got dressed up every night that we went out as it is what we like to do when we are on vacation.
Happy Holidays to anyone lucky enough to be able to go there in the days ahead.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gooilersLeduc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, December 23, 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2011

Had an issue with the resort that we booked with so we were relocated to this little bit of paradise..
Must apologize for the tardy review...
Yasmin was incredible and I will always remember the compassion and honest concern she had for our issues...without her incredible concern and compassion regarding our move we would have come home to Canada.
This resort is amazing...Fernando was our concierge and we so look forward to him coming to our home to be able to show appreciation for all of his efforts!
The entire staff at this unique resort will cater to your every need...Sandra at the spa (along with her husband) is the best! Dario at the lunch seaside buffet who is so great and taking english lessons is awesome! The bartenders ..Luis of course (sure missed u when u left!) Lucy on the beach...and ur best friend who kept everything so clean..
We never intentionally booked in here...but what a treat...
Great food....service only lacked one very busy night and hope that was one of those days for the waiter that we requested that didn't remember us and told us the same jokes all night long....left without eating but no big deal because everything else was fabulous.
We loved the service more than anything and anyone wanting to spend a few extra bucks for excellent service...this is the place to go.
Lots of super special treats and service thank-you!
We are now members of the Exotic Club and so look forward to our next holiday!
If you need further info...let us know

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank har_lee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, December 23, 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2011

My wife and I just returned from a week at EDSS. I am not going to go into great detail as I found that most of the other reviews are quite accurate. Just leave out the people that give this place a bad review as they must have their heads up their ...
We stayed in a swim up suite and really enjoyed the balcony/pool for a few days. The beach beds are plentiful and we managed to get a prime spot each day we wanted one. A reviewer posted that the Royale was better and I would have to disagree as the Royale is much larger and the food was not as good and the beach beds were few and far between for the amount of guests. We liked the intimate feeling of the EDSS. The beach isn't great due to the "whales" and shallow water so if bobbing in the ocean is your thing you will be disappointed. The snorkeling is better than most mexico resorts. If you like to snorkel take a $12 trip down to Akumal beach as right of the beach there a lots of fish and TURTLES! The new gym is great. The food is excellent for an AI resort. The Asian place has awesome sushi. The only bad thing about some of the food would be that the item wouldn't be exactly like it was described on the menu. We also liked how close the EDSS is to Tulum Coba and a visit to the monkey sanctuary at The Jungle Place. We rented a car and visited all three in one day which was a lot cheaper and we got to go at our own pace. I would highly recommend a stay at the EDSS if you want an adult only trouble free quiet and warm getaway!

I'd be happy to answer any questions!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kristoffertb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, December 23, 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2011

My wife and I are just back from our second stay at EDSS (Jan 8 to 22), a year almost exactly to the day from our first visit. We found this vacation was even better than our first one, largely due to a series of relatively small improvements throughout the resort. I won’t go into all the major things we love about the place that have been accurately covered in many other reviews. You know, the same old, same old at El Dorado Seaside: Fantastically friendly and helpful staff. Exceptionally good food, beautifully presented in all restaurants. Lush, wonderfully maintained grounds. Laid-back, hassle-free luxury (no wristbands, tons of beach towels). Tasteful, comfortable rooms (we went with a swim-up suite - great idea).
Now, onto the new stuff we enjoyed:
• Tennis court resurfaced, with on-site pro, Alejandro, who is great
• Many more loungers and beach beds (and building more) to combat the nasty habit of one couple “reserving” both for the whole day).
• Redecorated Mexican restaurant
• Much improved coffee
• Brand new gym (not that I’d use it) but lots of people did.
• Comfortable outdoor furniture groupings near the main bar and spa pool bar
• Much wider entertainment variety including a terrific female duo at the spa pool on Friday nights (you gotta hear them play “Me and Bobby McGee”!)
Probably the only 2 disappointments were somewhat sketchy weather the first week which I suspect is not the hotel’s fault and the Mexican BBQ which wasn’t all that Mexican.
If you aren’t going there on a package deal with transportation provided, we would highly recommend Loams Travel for a small shuttle rather than the bigger buses that stop at several hotels – likely reduces travel time by 30 minutes or more as EDSS is way down the coast from Cancun. (Hurray for plans to build an international airport at Tulum!).
We ventured out twice – cabbing it to nearby Akumal, a wonderful little village with a swell beach, shops and restaurants and taking the all-inclusive tour to Xel-ha, again through Lomas, for a great day of snorkelling and such.
Finally, a big, big shout-out to Raul, a sweet man who may very well be the best bartender in the world!
Will we go back? I’d bet my last peso on it.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnTheOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, December 23, 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2011

Sometimes you have to sit back and look at the overall picture and in this case fantastic.
i have never been served by such excellent staff in the traditional spanish, portugal holidays, they have alot to learn from mexico.
i have also never been to such a clean hotel, if the restaurants were fully booked then i would have taken a table in the toilet it was that clean.
Of course you could find small things to complain about, some complain about the pools being cold, i for one prefer that, once you get in you soon get used to it and its refreshing, we went to sensatori last year and the pools were like hot baths.
Facts. no kids....premium drinks........fantastic food........fantastic staff.....extremely clean......good entertainment........plenty of sunshine.......
My only negative would possibly be...hit and miss...if you had noisy neighbours could be a problem as the rooms are not all that soundproofed, we heard next door making love most nights ( only jealous). Only other thing that got to me was...Why do americans shout, they are so loud!!!!!
final note, nothing can be all things to all people but this place comes pretty close.
final final note, you have to vist xel-ha, best trip i have ever been on....

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephenbrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, December 23, 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
22.0 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#59 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
5,261 reviews
0.6 mi away
UNICO 20.87 Hotel Riviera Maya
6.9 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
18.2 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
15,759 reviews
22.4 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya

Property: El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya
Address: Km 95 Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Seaside Hotel
El Dorado Seaside Suites Mexico
El Dorado Resort Spa
Hotel El Dorado Seaside
El Dorado Seaside Resort
El Dorado Spa
El Dorado Seaside Mexico
Eldorado Seaside Suites
Eldorado Resort
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing