We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent vacation!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
A TripAdvisor Member
“Excellent vacation!”
Reviewed March 10, 2003

I LOVED the Eldorado Resort and Spa. Everything about it was perfect: the staff, the activites, the food, the beach, the room! Also, met some great people while we were there. If Andy and Erika from Rochester read this, please E-mail me! I lost your address/phone #! We would love to get ahold of you!

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, November 23, 2016
Dear guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,001 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,538
    1,568
    515
    227
    153
See reviews for
227
6,318
48
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,304)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 8, 2003

We paid for a jacuzzi room (top choice), requested ground floor handicapped. Got 2nd floor as far from the lobby, restaurants, etc. as possible. Had to argue for two days to get a room closer. Got downgraded while the resort upgraded everyone around us at no charge. My husband had had recent spine surgery and his disks collapsed on first day of trip. We had to pay for room service, beg for golf cart transportation and were given no adjustment for having accepted the downgrade. Food was truely mediocre, drinks were so-so, and maids had to be reminded to clean room. Our bedspread was disgustingly dirty. However, grounds are well-kept and common areas clean. How can you be all-inclusive and provide no room service (especially if ill or handicapped)?

Helpful?
1 Thank eldsys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, December 28, 2016
Dear Guest,

We want to thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we want to assure you that all your comments are welcomed and a key part of the improvement of our resort. We are truly sorry to hear you experienced any inconvenience during your stay, we are a 5 star rated resort so we are disheartened to hear your recent stay was not reflecting it.

We would like to invite you to contact our Head of Customer Services at customerservices@karismamexico.com so that we can review your feedback together and to assure you this is not the standard of our hotel, we will be glad to host you again in our hotel or any resort by Karisma to surpass any past experience.


Best Regards,
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
adurre@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 8, 2003

We must have gone to another El Dorado Resart and Spa. We just returned 3/7/03 with five other couples. Everyone enjoyed the experience. We never had to wait more than ten minutes to get reservations in the two speciality restaurants. The Mexican is the best or the two. The resort is clean and the staff is more than friendly. The food is what should be expected and the resort is so spread out that everyone can find their own space. People must understand that they are vacationing in a different country, with a different language and customs. Try to enjoy and learn something from the experience. As we never return to the same resort, we will not be returning to the El Dorado, however I recommend it to any adult who wants a relaxing and memorable vacation.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, November 23, 2016
Dear guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 6, 2003

Just returned from stay at El Dorado Resort. The rooms are ok but unless you wish to stand in line at 7:45am for 1/2hr or more to book a dinner time you will be standing in another line for 1/2 hr or longer and the Wed. night buffet was worse. We didn't make it through the line for a table then the second line up for the buffet serving. One single food line for the entire resort is not enough. At these prices, far better service is expected. we certainally will not be back.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, December 29, 2016
Dear Guest,

We want to thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we want to assure you that all your comments are welcomed and a key part of the improvement of our resort. We are truly sorry to hear you experienced any inconvenience during your stay, we are a 5 star rated resort so we are disheartened to hear your recent stay was not reflecting it.

We would like to invite you to contact our Head of Customer Services at customerservices@karismamexico.com so that we can review your feedback together and to assure you this is not the standard of our hotel, we will be glad to host you again in our hotel or any resort by Karisma to surpass any past experience.


Best Regards,
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 5, 2003

THE GOOD,THE BAD AND CARLOS THE DOG. This is a resort for the over 35 crowd. No kids a big plus. This is Mexican style resort, not American. The rooms were fine and roomy. Most if not all had ocean view. Good maid service. The staff was five star. It was too windy to snorkel and too rocky to swim in the waves. We never saw a calm day. The heat would have been brutal if we had. People continued to slip on the ocean walkway. The smell was probably jungle and a non issue. Food was great at Breakfast, OK at lunch and more presentation in the restaurant at night. Shoes and pants required. I was disappointed in the food. Not a big drinker but heard few complaints in that dept. Only Dos XX beer. Bring water shoes! We brought $50 in ones and it was appreciated. Olympus tour to Xel-Ha was great, Needed the all day to do it all. Very good food there and lots to choose from. Negro Modelo beer. :-) Very professional place. They over booked and we agreed to go to Flamingo Xcaret for two nights. Changed pickups and then at the last minute they cancelled us. Carlos the dog would not talk to us in person. He said Flamingo was full and we had to stay. How if they were overbooked? I think he had sent some rowdy younger people somewhere as they were out of their element at El Dorado. Olympus tours, Gerry Sanchez, rescheduled our pickkups. I would not go back.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, December 29, 2016
Dear Guest,

We want to thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we want to assure you that all your comments are welcomed and a key part of the improvement of our resort. We are truly sorry to hear you experienced any inconvenience during your stay, we are a 5 star rated resort so we are disheartened to hear your recent stay was not reflecting it.

We would like to invite you to contact our Head of Customer Services at customerservices@karismamexico.com so that we can review your feedback together and to assure you this is not the standard of our hotel, we will be glad to host you again in our hotel or any resort by Karisma to surpass any past experience.


Best Regards,
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2003

Just returned Feb 04 2003. Food Drinks and Service were great. This resort is intended for the 30 plus crowd and not for late night techno partiers. The sand is white limestone and does not get hot. The ocean breezes cool you off as you sip on the beverage of your choice brought to you by an attentive waitress. The rooms are great with a jacuzzi in every room and if you treat the staff well they will go out of their way for you. The grounds are expansive and well cared for. The restaurants are excellent though you may see some coments about small portions. The reason for the small portions is to allow you to have a four or five course meal and sample some of everything from the mouth watering appetizers to the decadent desserts. Just make sure you make your reservations early. Swimming and snorkelling in the ocean was enhanced by a breakwater to protect you from the waves. There were numerous fish to see as well as some small sharks and barracudas on a couple of days. If the ocean is not your cup of tea you can swim in one of the six pools including a salt water pool stocked with fish. All of the pools except for the salt water have swim-up bars so you won't be thirsty. All in all an excellent vacation spot.Dave

Helpful?
Thank Candu_scuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, November 23, 2016
Dear guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ironwood, MI
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2003

We went there with no prior expectations, even after reading some bad reviews. We enjoyed our stay. We went the first week of january 2003. it rained the first two days kinda quiet, but thats what we were looking for. If you want the busy night life stay up in Cancun. At first the staff was a little cool towards us and others and not very accomodating. It was like pulling teeth to get anything done or taken are of. once we began to spend money there they warmed up to us a bit. The massages were great. If you want to party you have to take the nightlife tour to Cancun...WOW. Carlos (resort activity guy)and Jimmy(tour/bar hopping guide) took care of us. It was a blast except for the ride back with the amatuer drinker kids who lost their cookies. Wear water shoes on the beach and in the water the reef can be sharp. beautiful resort the staff was always cleaning. We used the safe and never had any problems with theft. We did several tours and really enjoyed the horse riding along the beach north of playa del carmen. If you go to tulum take the day tour, we did the 1/2 it wasnt enough time to explore and take pix. The resort food was good. Definitely take advantage of the two restaurants and get up early to make reservations...its worth it.

Helpful?
Thank unhappycamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, December 29, 2016
Dear Guest,

We want to thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we want to assure you that all your comments are welcomed and a key part of the improvement of our resort. We are truly sorry to hear you experienced any inconvenience during your stay, we are a 5 star rated resort so we are disheartened to hear your recent stay was not reflecting it.

We would like to invite you to contact our Head of Customer Services at customerservices@karismamexico.com so that we can review your feedback together and to assure you this is not the standard of our hotel, we will be glad to host you again in our hotel or any resort by Karisma to surpass any past experience.


Best Regards,
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
22.0 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#59 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
5,261 reviews
0.6 mi away
UNICO 20.87 Hotel Riviera Maya
6.9 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
18.2 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
15,759 reviews
22.4 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya

Property: El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya
Address: Km 95 Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Seaside Hotel
El Dorado Seaside Suites Mexico
El Dorado Resort Spa
Hotel El Dorado Seaside
El Dorado Seaside Resort
El Dorado Spa
El Dorado Seaside Mexico
Eldorado Seaside Suites
Eldorado Resort
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing