We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Resort; Terrible Food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed April 23, 2007

We came back from this resort last Thursday (17th). The rooms are as everyone says--lovely. We were going to upgrade to a swim-up room upon arrival, but after seeing our room we decided not to bother pay the extra 400.0 since our room was great!.

I agree that the water pressure is low, but at least it is hot which makes things ok. The beach and the grounds are impeccable and the beach beds are AMAZING!

The service is ok--had to wait a loooooonnnnnggg time for dinner and could never get a spoon with my tea or coffee. The room service menu is a good send ( I will explain why in a minute).

We went to Tulum and Playa Del Carmen, We had read other reviews about taking the public bus so we tried it--it was great!!. It cost us $2 to go to Playa, the bus was safe and quick and we spent a great day there. Same for Tulum. The bus cost $3, entry was $8 and we had no problem. Upon return to the hotel we spoke to another couple who paid 100!!! to do the same thing with a hotel tour.

If you want a hotel with a night life DO NOT go here. There is NOTHING to do at night and the music in the day by the pool is pretty dry, The animacion team do try hard however and are very nice.

The worst part of our trip was the food. It was terrible. They had gourmet this and gourmet that none of which had flavour or taste. I finally got fed up and asked a chef if he would eat this stuff. He said no. So I told him "good, make we what you would eat' and he did!! Then I was ok.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
13  Thank tsahai85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We also value your feedback as this helps us to improve and keep offering the best experiences.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards,

Andrea Duerre
General Manager
aduerre@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (8,622)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,752 - 7,758 of 8,622 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2007

My wife and I just returned from spending four days at the El Dorado. I had scoured Trip Advisor prior to our vacation and was fairly well informed or so I thought. Some of the reviews made me approch the vacation with a 'cleats up' attitude. I expected to be followed by staff seeking tips for every little thing that happened. I heard the food was good, but anticipated otherwise. To say I was surprised is the understatement of the year! The staff could not have been nicer. We were not solicited to take side trips or visit timeshares etc. We received a flyer in the door about visiting the other property and shop nearby, but absolutely no pressure of any kind. Our request for a second floor room after check in was promptly accommodated. The personal concierge is interesting but not really necessary. Everyone is more than helpful here. The beach is gorgeous with great snorkeling. The grounds are immaculate throughout with no car traffic to spoil the serenity. Restaurants were a very pleasant surprise too. Someone spends a lot of time training staff at the restaurants and it shows. I bet most guests did not realiize that their dishes were served and removed from different sides of the setting. Food presentation and quality were extra special as well. Needless to say, my cleats came down shortly after we arrived and we both thoroughly enjoyed our visit. The competition for tourists must be very keen in the area and El Dorado does a great job of earning the business. We wish we didn't have to leave!

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Cam_Pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We also value your feedback as this helps us to improve and keep offering the best experiences.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards,

Andrea Duerre
General Manager
aduerre@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2007

We stayed at the EDSSS April 10-16, 2007. Last year, we stayed at one
of the sister properties, the El Dorado Royale. We enjoyed our stay there very much, but since we were traveling during spring break this
year, we wanted something a little smaller and more out of the way. We were not disappointed.

First, let me start off by saying that what makes this place so spectacular is the employees. They are friendly, and go out of their way to make you feel welcome. Most speak fairly good english. Another reviewer commented that employees seemed to "expect tips". I did not find that to be the case. In most packages, tips are included so I don't believe they even really expect tips. BUT, we did tip our waiters for dinner and our daily housekeeper. I feel tipping is appropriate when service is exceptional...and it was.

We stayed in one of the newer swim up rooms. No complaints there. The room was large, comfortable and clean. Water temp in the bathroom
seems to change randomly, so watch out for that.

Bring more cash than you think you will need. There is no ATM at the resort. We went to Playa Del Carmen for an ATM which is a 20 minute taxi ride at $18 USD +/- each way.

The food was fantastic. We like to eat earlier in the evening, so rather than chance getting stuck with late reservations, our travel agent made our dinner reservations for us before we left. There are 5 restaurants for dinner, only one doesn't require reservations...
Vida Garden. The food here was really good. We also enjoyed the mexican restaurant and the asian. Room service was quick and also very tasty.

Alot of people commented that it was difficult to find beach beds unless you get one early in the day. While this was true at the beach, there were always beach beds that stayed empty all day near the swim up rooms. If you're not picky about where your beach bed is, try by the pool.

This is important....the tile that is used on the patio of the swim up rooms and inside the room is surprising slick. Also, if it rains,
there is tile around the resort that also becomes slick. That would probably be my only complaint. I am young and in good shape and fell 3 times, hubby fell once, and I saw at least two other people slip and fall. So watch your step or bring shoes with traction.

We had a great vacation here. The El Dorado (Karisma resorts) chain has a reputation for being upscale and they do not disappoint. No buffets, no wristbands....it's all very nice. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank msmae78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Kind regards,

Andrea Duerre
General Manager
adurre@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2007

This resort has gone to timeshares. They called it something else but it wasn't. The "concierge" was supposed to schedule dinner for you at the restaurants but he spent his time selling you a timeshare.

It was a hassle. There was a huge hassle factor at this place. The restaurants were ok, some better than others. A buffet would have been a nice alternative. This place was too expensive to have terrible food in their restaurants.

Our living room ceiling started falling down and they asked us to move and refused to upgrade our room even though they did not have a comparable room. They offered to buy us dinner on the beach ($60. 00 us) but it was really pretty bad and the house wine is salty. The beer flowed freely but the mixed drinks were terrible.

We will not be returning to this property. Too many hassles and not enough of "the customer is always right" attitude.

Too expensive for what you get in return. And there was NO BEACH. NO Beach! there was one a little ways down but the water was too shallow to swim there.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
47  Thank jac1446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2016

Dear Guest,

We want to thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we want to assure you that all your comments are welcomed and a key part of the improvement of our resort. We are truly sorry to hear you experienced any inconvenience during your stay, we are a 5 star rated resort so we are disheartened to hear your recent stay was not reflecting it.

We would like to invite you to contact our Head of Customer Services at customerservices@karismamexico.com so that we can review your feedback together and to assure you this is not the standard of our hotel, we will be glad to host you again in our hotel or any resort by Karisma to surpass any past experience.


Best Regards,
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2007

Just got back and had a great time. Rooms were very clean and staff was wonderful. Food was great. Would love to go again, and next time two weeks.

Stayed: April 2007
8  Thank cheryl162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Kind regards,

Andrea Duerre
General Manager
adurre@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2007

We just returned from a week at the El Dorado Seaside and loved it. Read a ton of reviews before. This is a place for couples - very romantic - so if you are single I would say this probably isn't the place for you. It is extremely relaxing - very low key. We loved the size - a bit smaller - although hear they plan to expand which may take away from the feel. It may also mean that restaurants are busier. Since we were there in April it was not totally full, so did not experience long waits, and had no trouble getting restaruant selections etc. Here are our comments:

Food: Overall very good. We found the Vida restaurant to be the best for lunch and dinner. No reservations required, great drinks, loved the steak, pork loin, and for lunch the red snapper fingers were wonderful. The Italian was also excellent. Ask for steak rare as they tend to over cook. Japanese was very good. The sushi was well done. The Mexican restaurant was okay. Breakfasts were nice, loved the 24 hour room service. Lunch at the sanwicherie was okay - a good place to grab a snack. Overall for a large resort we were quite impressed with the selection and quality.

Booze: Sparkling wine all the time was a nice touch. Tequila bar at the Mexican restaurant was fun. Decent liquor was available.

Service: Overall was good. We had to wait a few times, and allow some time for room service to arrive. Everyone was quite friendly.

Activites: Not much to do which was perfect for us. Snorkelling was fun.. and it seemed like if you wanted more it was there (yoga, volleyball etc.) but it was very subtle which we appreciated.

Spa: I had a massage on the beach and the RMT was excellent.

Daytrips: We did Tulum, Hidden Beach and Playa del Carmen. All were fun. I reccomend renting a car to get around. It is cheap and easy to get around. The car rental place at the resort is more expensive than the one in Playa - so you will want to research this a bit.

Room: Was as it looked in the brochure. The jacuzzi was great. We had no problems.

Time Share: The hotel will invite you to a presentation to join their Exotic Travel Club. It is 3 hours of your time. They start by offering you $50 to go .. by day three we were offered $150 so went. They do put the pressure on, and the sales tactics are annoying (although people do buy in). If you are interested they will offer you sell offs at the end for about one tenth of the original price. We did not buy and they did come through with the $150 and gave us transportation to and from Playa - so that was fine. You should just know to expect this as they will invite you several times through-out your week.

This was by far the best place we have ever stayed. I can only compare to the RIU in Negril and the Club Med in Cuba and hands down this beats them both if you are looking for a quiet, romantic and indulgent week.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
15  Thank sajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We also value your feedback as this helps us to improve and keep offering the best experiences.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards,

Andrea Duerre
General Manager
aduerre@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2007

Travelled to the Mayan Riviera with First Choice Travel Agents, holiday to celebrate 25 yrs of wedded bliss!! We booked the honeymoon / wedding anniversary package which included extras such as champagne & fruit in room on arrival and a beach "romantic" candle lit dinner. Regretfully the hotel wan't informed by the agency that we had booked the package and it took two reminders with the reception staff to get the fruit basket, we never did receive the champagne!

The hotel itself is in a lovely location right next to the beach. We booked ourselves into a junior jaccuzzi suite, which are spaceous and comfortable. We had to move rooms after the first night as the water pressure for the shower and jaccuzzi was non-existant and what water there was was only tepid. I estimated that it would take about two hours to fill the jaccuzzi and then the water would be cold. Although the move was a nuisance, it was done without a fuss by the staff after our problem was flagged up to them by our rep.

On the whole the restaurants are pretty good, though the menus are unnecessarily fussy and flamboyant. Reservations have to be made in advance, though we found we could do this for several days in advance. The International restaurant in the evening is awful, the food cold on arrival. We went to the Asian restaurant on our last night and whilst the food was delicious the service was really bad. We had to laugh though as when we complained the maitre de gave us a bottle of house 'champagne' - as we were on an All Inclusive Package, we could drink as much of it at the bar as we wanted, so he wasn't giving anything away really! We left it for the room attendant when we checked out the next day.

As a Brit I couldn't get over the expectation of the staff in and out of the resort for tips. It was expected everywhere! Is this an American thing to tip for every service? Do be warned, it can add a considerable amount to your holiday budget / spending money.

On the whole it was an enjoyable stay, just don't stay in room 2114 if you want a warm jaccuzzi!

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank MooCake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We also value your feedback as this helps us to improve and keep offering the best experiences.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards,

Andrea Duerre
General Manager
aduerre@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.5 mi away
UNICO 20.87 Hotel Riviera Maya
4.5 mi away
Porto Bello Hotel and Residences
Porto Bello Hotel and Residences
#15 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
9 reviews
4.8 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
El Dorado Seaside Suites
El Dorado Seaside Suites
#56 of 396 in Riviera Maya
1,315 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma
Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma
#1 of 460 in Riviera Maya
718 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
#4 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
10,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya

Address: Km 95 Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range: $349 - $1,026 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Seaside Hotel
El Dorado Seaside Suites Mexico
El Dorado Resort Spa
Hotel El Dorado Seaside
El Dorado Seaside Resort
El Dorado Spa
El Dorado Seaside Mexico
Eldorado Seaside Suites
Eldorado Resort
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing