We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unlimited beach towels, fantastic fruit bar for breakfast, great dinners”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed February 4, 2007

Our week from January 21 to January 28th was fantastic. Not perfect but overall we had a great week. I had read some negative reviews and told myself that waiting a bit here and there was not going to kill me. Aside from a later than we are used to maid service (2 or 3 PM), we were pleasantly surprised to not have to wait for anything. The restaurant service was good to excellent, the group of guys at the snorkel and kayak hut was great, the bar service was super. Our maid did her job very well, all the employees we interacted with were pleasant. We attended an introduction on our first day and Carla our hostess gave us some great insight and tips, including to be careful about the price of phone calls, to be careful about time shares etc. We used the internet instead but there was also the option of using outside payphones with phone cards, at a reasonable rate. (Try making a phone call out of Las Vegas if you want to see a huge bill) . Our dinners were booked for us by our consierge at assorted times, all between 7 and 8:30 PM, so not sure why the guests from Alberta were not able to get decent times. (no we did not tip the consierge to do this). Meals were very good to excellent, all a la carte and beautifully presented. Perfect for a week but if we were here two weeks we may start wishing for some simplicity at dinner time, occasionally. The outdoor lunch restaurant made great pizza.
The beach is fantastic for snorkeling but please dont' feed the fish bread, it's bad for them and don't walk on the soft or hard coral. You can stand in sandy parts way off the beach, not deep, but lots to see. Some highlights: a nurse shark, (a harmless thrill) some baracudas and other guests saw rays and a turtle. The hotel should do more to educate guests on the fragility of what's in the water. Easy, fun kayaking.
Our room was exactly what we paid for, beach front. Our bathroom did at times have a sewer smell, noticable only in the bathroom, more after a rain shower. However the bathroom and room was very clean.
The unlimited towels for beach and outside trips was amazing, at big resorts you get one towel per day! Breakfast fruit buffet to die for if you love fresh fruit.
Tipping is a way of life in Mexico; at less than $5US per DAY minimum wage, it's how many people survive. We tipped 80% of the time.
We were asked to attend a time share type session at the hotel, we declined and received no lesser service for it. But would have preferred to not be asked to begin with.
Overall, a small, warm, resort, much better for us than the ones up and down the beach that hold thousands of guests.

Stayed: January 2007
12  Thank Janabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Kind regards,

Andrea Duerre
General Manager
adurre@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (8,895)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8,086 - 8,092 of 8,895 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2007

We just returned from this resort one week ago and I can honestly say it was fantastic!!

I believe some people that travel to a different country want the very same service that have at home. Well news for all it is Mexico. I travel very often to Mexico and this is by far the best service I was EVER Extended.

Tipping although not expected should be part of your vacation spending money. Not a lot of money will ensure that your vacation will be the best it can possibly be. That is how it works in Mexico. These are very hard working and patient people. I witnessed several guests treat these wonderful people with unbelieveable disrespect. We tipped out all staff. In return I had staff running to help us. They work so hard and are ALWAYS smilling.

They service was Fantastic. We always took a late dinner as we liked to relax all day and nap then get ready for dinner. All resturants were wonderful. Food was the best I have ever had at a resort and well as better then some of the better places we have here at home.

There is plenty of food and drinks. You will not be bored or go hungry.

The hotel room was amazing. Clean and brand new. What else would you want.

The staff all went out of their way to smile and help you with EVERYTHING you needed. This is why I have a hard time with all the negitive comments about this resort. I was there and I just can't believe Anyone could find anything wrong with this place. Worth every dime!!! I would go back in a heartbeat.

Some tips for you.

-Get Up Early and get the sunbed you want. They go fast.
-Relax and be on vacation. You have time to relax and wait for you food order. It was not long at all. Unless you still think it should be as fast as Tim Horton's Drive Thru.
-We tipped the maid very Day and our room was cleaned and stocked by 10am every day.
-Take the spanish lesson. It was fun
-Take water shoes and the beach can be rough. Lots of choral
-Ask for a Dirty Monkey at the bar. It was very good.
-If you want to go into town. Start walking down the drive leading out of the resort and you can be sure the cabby.'s will be asking you for a ride. The cheapest I got it was $15 US for a ride to Plya De Carmen.
-Bring a good book and have a great time. Relax and go with the flow and you WILL have a Great Time. It is not a place for night life. So if you are under 35 and need fun go somewhere else. This is a place to lay around and do nothing. That is what we did and it was WONDERFUL!!!

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
15  Thank GotravelOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Kind regards,

Andrea Duerre
General Manager
adurre@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2007

My husband and I got to the EDSS Jan 12, at 12:30 after leaving the Azul where we had stayed for a week. Both resorts are owned by Karisma, and we were assured we would love EDSS as much as we did Azul. NOT!
We were told that check in time was 3:00, so we could just walk around, eat, sit on the beach or whatever we wanted to do.We felt a little lost. The resort is a bit larger than what I prefer, yet there are much larger ones, but we really didn't know where we were or where to go. We weren't given a "map" , so we just wandered around. We checked out which rooms were the best, and we were acutally give the exact room we had seen that we wanted. Luck!
Service-The wait staff is so busy that it did seem to take a long time to get things when you were outside or in the open eating area. There weren't that many people there, we didn't feel crowded, but we saw the wait staff really running a lot. Clearly, they needed to hire more.
We found room service to be prompt, the service in the restaurants was o.k. but , the whole "reservations" thing was very frustrating. Don't expect to get a decent reservation when you first arrive!
The room was beautiful. We did get our towel sculpture, most days, but the housekeeping was less than acceptable. Getting our fridge stocked was close to impossible. We resorted to stealing water from the housekeeping carts and then hiding it in our rooms, because if they saw it they wouldn't leave any more and we suggest you brush your teeth and make coffee with it.
I had a pair of North Face sandles stolen from outside my room. I was leaving the room and watched an employee going up there, thinking he was going to clean. Then when my husband went back our room wasn't clean, but they were gone. Coincidence?
The beach was o.k., but I didn't like the broken down wall and the big sandbags from the hurricane. The sand was a little rough and there were lot's of shells and pieces of coral. I guess what made it o.k. was the beds. Laying on the beds in the sun was why we went, but if you didn't get one really early (like 6:00 a.m.) you were out of luck!
The snorkling was o.k. and convient, but I've heard it's better other places. It was nice just to go and get what you needed to snorkle from the aquatic center. They also have paddle boats and canoes.
On the beach you could also play volleyball, ping pong or take spanish lessons.
There are also day trips available. We did take a four-wheeling trip that went out into the jungle and we swam in a cinote. That was great.
All in all, it was an o.k. place. I won't go back there, but if you do, look for a little guy in $80 Womens North Face sandles.

Stayed: January 2007
20  Thank Akabillybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2016

Dear Guest,

We want to thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we want to assure you that all your comments are welcomed and a key part of the improvement of our resort. We are truly sorry to hear you experienced any inconvenience during your stay, we are a 5 star rated resort so we are disheartened to hear your recent stay was not reflecting it.

We would like to invite you to contact our Head of Customer Services at customerservices@karismamexico.com so that we can review your feedback together and to assure you this is not the standard of our hotel, we will be glad to host you again in our hotel or any resort by Karisma to surpass any past experience.


Best Regards,
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2007

We stayed at the EDSS Jan 13 to the 20th, 2007. We had a wonderful time. The hotel is clean, the food is good and the drinks are good. service is friendly but not fast. When you go to your table to have lunch grab a couple drinks at the bar first and then sit at your table and order. Waiting for the conceirge was a little annoying but Fernando was friendly and did his best to help you out. Book your meals in advance or else you may only get late sittings. The hotel is quite, peaceful and very relaxing. I read a lot of reviews before going and i was not disappointed. Just keep in mind the meaning of a "mexican minute" and you will really enjoy your stay. Just take a deep breath, relax and soak up the sun. There is a language barrier and sometimes our orders were wrong. we tipped our maid 5 bucks on the first day and we got a towel arrangement everyday. I think the swim ups are a waste of money since they are not priavte or anything. we did upgrade to a oceanview which was nice but honestly we were hardly in our rooms. Don't let the little things spoil your vacation that other people talk about in the reviews. It is a lovely hotel and it is what you make of it!

We did the tulum extreme trip to tulum...very fun. our guides were Alex and Jose. We also signed up for Parasailing. We did go to Playa del Carmen on the collectivo ( 2 bucks per person each way and safe ) and took a trip to Cozumel. It was okay for the adventure and a change of scenry.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank LDrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We also value your feedback as this helps us to improve and keep offering the best experiences.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards,

Andrea Duerre
General Manager
aduerre@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2007

We stayed at Eldorado Seaside Suites 1/3/07-1/10/07. My husband and I were looking for a laid back, relaxing, quiet vacation & that's what we got. The beach beds are great (be sure to get there early), and the activity staff were fun. Our room was in the newest building and we have no complaints. It was beautiful.

Service in the international restaurant is very slow. One evening we waited 1.5 hours just to get a piece of bread. I was starved. Other people were walking out angry. There seemed to be no organization among the staff. I asked for bread twice and proceeded to sit there and watch the waiter give bread to all of the tables around me. My husband about lost it.

The other restaurants were much better. On the first evening we arrived we couldn't get a reservation to eat until 9:30 pm. We noticed that this seemed to be a common practice.

I thought the food was pretty good compared to the other all inclusive hotels I have visited. It also had top shelf alcohol which was a first for us, other all-inclusive hotels we have visited serve the cheap, crappy alcohol. We definitely notice better bar service if we tipped the bartenders extra.

The pools were beautiful, plenty of beach towels and pretty good snorkeling right off the beach. The beach had it's own pelican who entertained us frequently by fishing right in front of us.

Don't expect much night life. Like I said, this is a laid back resort. They have activities in the evening but not nightclub atmosphere.

Very romantic for couples.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank P&CHMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We also value your feedback as this helps us to improve and keep offering the best experiences.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards,

Andrea Duerre
General Manager
aduerre@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2007

We went to this resport for our Honeymoon as it was advertised by First Choice as a good choice with this in mind. (We have no problem with First Choice, we will be writing to them to let them know our issues with this holiday and we will travel with them again.)
We were disappointed with the holiday for a number of reasons. This was supposed to be a romantic getaway but to begin with the room smelled really bad. A note from the hotel to say that a decision to be environmentaly friendly was the cause of the smell did not help the fact that the smell was so bad it made us both feel sick. Also there was no evidence of recycling or use of renewable energy so the environmental card didn't really wash with us.
The lights in the new rooms are on a sensor. When you open the front door if you do not set the sensor off the light goes off. There is only one sensor and it was at the other end of the room to the door in our room. In the way of the sensor was a massive TV cabinet which meant when we entered the room we had to charge straight down to the sensor or the lights would go off.
There were times when no drinking water was out in our room. We asked guest services for water. An hour later there was still none so we had to go back again. We were then given 3 small bottles to take back to our room.
The maid service was erratic. The guest information says it starts at 8.00am each day. Everyday we put out our green card to say the room was ready to clean. On two occassions it was after 16.00 before the room was cleaned. Also the mini bar was not restocked daily and the selection was never the same. We only got full fat coke once although that was what we had drank. Also the coffee machine supplies were varried and although we never drank decaf they often left us with nothing but.
The room service was slow and all the food was cold by the time it got to the room.
The services in the resauraunts was varied, the Asian and Italian were good. The continental was not great. The dinner on the beach was extremely slow.
It was a battle at breakfast and lunch to get a table and if you want to be polite and wait you would not get a table, you had to hover and pounce on a table when someone else left.
Also you do not always get what you order with both room service and at the Sandwicheria (which does not serve sandwiches!). One day an order for Pancakes with Bannana came as Waffles with Strawberries. After 30 minutes to get the food we dare not risk asking for it to be changed.
All in all the service is poor. We did not tip anyone apart from the waiter in the Asian Restaurant as he actually gave us acceptable service.
The hotel is also very noisy. We had a Jacuzzi (by the way it was not a Jacuzzi but a cheap water spa) swin up suite and the noise from people in the swim up bar meant for much of the time we hid in our room with the doors closed. This resort is used by Canadians and Americans as a get away for groups because it is close to them which is fine but not great when you are wanting a quiet romantic time.
Our honeymoon extras were not included either, we should have had a bottle of Champagne but didn't, the 20 mintue massage we were informed of by First Choice was a 15 minute massage lesson, our daily towel sculptures did not happen.
All in all this resort is too expensive for what you get and on top of the massive travelling time it really is not worth it.
We noticed other unhappy people complaining about various issues from the food to the state of their rooms. We would not recommend this resort for those travelling from the UK.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
61  Thank Honest_TravellerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2016

Dear Guest,

We want to thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we want to assure you that all your comments are welcomed and a key part of the improvement of our resort. We are truly sorry to hear you experienced any inconvenience during your stay, we are a 5 star rated resort so we are disheartened to hear your recent stay was not reflecting it.

We would like to invite you to contact our Head of Customer Services at customerservices@karismamexico.com so that we can review your feedback together and to assure you this is not the standard of our hotel, we will be glad to host you again in our hotel or any resort by Karisma to surpass any past experience.


Best Regards,
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2007

We stayed at EDSS from 15th Jan to 29th Jan 2007 - and loved it!! It was very luxurious every room having a jacuzzi bath and four poster bed. I can't understand the bad reviews I have just read - yes there were a few things that made it not quite perfect (like waiting to see the consierge to book evening meals) but providing the rooms, food, drink and staff were of good quality I dont see where you can complain!!

The beach is not brilliant and the coral is all dead (due to the hurricane) but I would not have swapped this hotel for a better beach - it was friendly relaxing and clean, there were day activities and evening shows (the fire show was fantastic)

I would not recommend the trip to Coba, this was mis-sold to us by our firstchoice rep, because it is the only ruin that you can walk up it has become more popular and too busy - our friends went to Chichin-Itza and said it does not compare for a true myan ruin experience!! On the Coba trip they sell you a traditional myan village and its no more than a concrete shell with a woman sewing a traditional dress and lots of kids passing you weeds and grass in exchange for anything you have.

We did a trip to Tulum and Xel-Ha by taxi (not through the rep) and saved ourselves about US$40 and had longer at each place.

I would not recommend the trip over to Cozumel - the coral in this area is ruined and the day worked out to be quite expensive on the whole.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Fundebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Kind regards,

Andrea Duerre
General Manager
adurre@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.5 mi away
UNICO 20.87 Hotel Riviera Maya
4.8 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
22.8 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
4,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
El Dorado Seaside Suites
El Dorado Seaside Suites
#53 of 403 in Riviera Maya
1,542 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma
Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma
#1 of 489 in Riviera Maya
758 reviews
3.3 mi away
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Palace
#6 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
8,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya

Address: Km 95 Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range: $344 - $962 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Seaside Hotel
El Dorado Seaside Suites Mexico
El Dorado Resort Spa
Hotel El Dorado Seaside
El Dorado Seaside Resort
El Dorado Spa
El Dorado Seaside Mexico
Eldorado Seaside Suites
Eldorado Resort
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing