We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (9,697)
Filter reviews
9,697 results
Traveler rating
6,923
1,802
562
243
167
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6,923
1,802
562
243
167
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgourmet pubel doradobeach bedsswim up roomklay talayseaside suitespersonal conciergevida garden grillmain barour honeymoonpremium blockroom serviceswim up barfour posterguacamayas barjacuzzi bathour favourite
Filter
Updating list...
8,064 - 8,069 of 9,697 reviews
Reviewed January 24, 2010

My wife and I was at the resort two weeks ago. We thought we would try something more expensive than the typical all inclusive resorts in the Mayan Riviera.

Positives. The staffs are all trained to greet guests, even the the electricians and service people will say hello when you meet them on the property.
The Conssiers are very helpful in trying to make the stay better.
The beach swing beds are nice.
The food is very well presented.
Service at the bar is prompt.
No reservations required for resteraunts.

Negatives. Bad beach, only a small portion available for swimmers and even then it is not that good. Coral and rocks out there so water sports is restricted to kayaks only. No sailing or windsurfing. Most of the beach is blocked off with a wall and warning not to go beyond that wall due to safety concerns.
While they claim to be a "gourmet all inclusive" and the food presentation is very impressive, it is not fresh and tasts very ordinary. Service is very slow and stiff. The service staff is trained in a particular way of doing things which they think is how good service is suppose to be. Very limited in terms of fresh fruits, vegetables, meats. We get the impression that everything has been refrigerated for a long time or else worked over and over.
While the beach swing beds are nice, we visited while the occupancy rate was around 65% and the beds were mostly all occupied. It will be difficult to find a spot when in high season and the resort is busier.
Don't bother getting an ocean front suite and pay extra for it. We did and our room was quite far away from the beach with palms blocking all the view. When we asked to change to another ocean front suite, they show us another one closer to the water but still no view as it is all blocked by trees. Ocean view suites are the ones on the third floor in the building behind. Because it is higher, it can look over the coconut trees but the view is a far away view and we understand that the build is older. Beach front refers to the suites at ground level. It is not at the beach as it is separated by a lawn and public walkway. Therefore it is not worth spending extra money for any of these fancy sounding room descriptions.
There is only one tennis court and the ground surface is poor with a couple of 12" pot holes.

All in all, this resort is very poor value and is aimed at people who prefer smaller resorts for more personal service. However, small resort also mean less services and facilities. This resort has about 250 rooms while the resort next door Grand Palladium has over 1000 rooms. It is true that the beach chairs are a lot more crowded at the Grand Palladium but they have a much better and larger beach, much fancier dinning rooms and grounds and they are substantially cheaper with much fresher food (we stayed there a couple of years ago and walked through there again this time)

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank oliverhg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at Sensimar Resort Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2016

Dear Guest,

We want to thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we want to assure you that all your comments are welcomed and a key part of the improvement of our resort. We are truly sorry to hear you experienced any inconvenience during your stay, we are a 5 star rated resort so we are disheartened to hear your recent stay was not reflecting it.

We would like to invite you to contact our Head of Customer Services at customerservices@karismamexico.com so that we can review your feedback together and to assure you this is not the standard of our hotel, we will be glad to host you again in our hotel or any resort by Karisma to surpass any past experience.


Best Regards,
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
adurre@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2010

We stayed at the El Dorado Seaside Suites for a week in mid-January. While the weather was not great (not the resort's fault!), we still had a remarkable time.

I chose EDSS for a couple of reasons: 1) the resort was recommended as a place where good snorkelling could be found on a Mexican tourism web site and 2) it was small -- I thought it would be more likely to NOT be like a transplanted Miami Beach spring break party. I got what I was looking for on both accounts.

The snorkelling was outstanding. A reef was about 500 metres off shore with huge fan coral -- saw everything from barracudas to a tiny little high hat. But if you're looking for a sandy swimming and wading location, this is not your choice. The water bottom is shallow and very uneven -- brilliant for snorkelling, but not great for just horsing around in the water. The beach itself was narrow, but clean and well-maintained with very nice peach coloured sand. As others have mentioned, the beds on the beach (and, remarkably, in a couple of the bars), are just fantastic. But you do have to be an early riser to get one. By the last few days there, when the occupancy had risen to 90%, even the sun beds were at a premium. But the Margaritas and the Dorado Specials more than made up for that!

The resort is small and intimate so service staff do get to know you. The entertainment amenities are not what you would find in a large resort -- the shows are small (although a couple were very good), and the activities are simple. But the activity team works hard at keeping you entertained. For us, this was perfect -- we weren't looking for an active night life, but if you are looking for high end entertainment, EDSS isn't going to be for you. For me, all I need is a book and the sun on a beach and I'm happy (as long as the Margaritas keep coming! which they did).

We visited every bar in the place and, although in this review I sound like a bit of a lush, I'm not a big drinker. But the luxury of laying on a bed in the middle of a bar with a cool breeze wafting over you, reading your latest Inspector Rebus novel and having Daniel bring you a steady flow of really tasty Margaritas was, frankly, heaven!

We also tried every restaurant and our favourites were the Garden Grill, the Asian and the Mexican. I will say that I agree with another reviewer about the food. It was good, but by the end of a week, I was actually longing for a buffet. With all the restaurants providing a la carte service, lunches, in particular, got to be time consuming and just a nuisance. And there really were not enough fruit and vegetables on any of the menus. I would also agree that, in the restaurants, the effort to provide high level service sometimes made the environment feel almost too formal -- someone else on this site called it fussy. I was on holidays and I wanted to feel I could relax and enjoy myself. Some of the better wait staff were able to break through the formality, but many could not.

Finally, and I shouldn't have been surprised by this, given how the resort promotes itself and from the comments on this website, but I guess I was a bit disappointed that the EDSS didn't feel more Mexican. I was hoping that, by going to a small resort, we could avoid the heavy commercialism and "industrial" service provided by mega resorts. To a certain extent, we did. But I had also assumed that this might have led to a more authentically Mexican feel and experience, and it didn't. Indeed, this resort is trying to be anything but Mexican (even though there is a Mexican restaurant on site and the Margaritas are fantastic).

All of that said.... Would I go back? In a heartbeat. I would know the lay of the land and go in with more realistic expecations. At EDSS you can expect to be pampered, you can expect to be well-fed, and you can expect to relax. You can't expect to be entertained in the way you might at a larger resort, and you might die of scurvy if you stay too long. If you're a snorkeller, you'll be in heaven. If you're looking to horse around in the water, you'll likely need to stick to the pools or find a better swimming beach.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank PattyDSask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at Sensimar Resort Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Kind Regards,

Andrea Duerre
General Manager
adurre@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2010

After a long journey we were looking forward to getting into our room. We did not book anything other than the standard room as we normally don't spend much time in it. First impressions - awful, the smell hit us immediately! The room could not have been used for a long time, the smell, damp & musty, not pleasant at all. Having check other things in the room I found the bedcover dirty, sheets that didn't fit the huge bed and lastly the shower head in a poor state. I immediately went to reception to sort things out, it took the following morning before a Manager met me. Having shown her all the area's of concern I then left her to it. No offer was made to move us but by the time we got back to the room at least the dirty bits & sheets were sorted, it still smelt musty but with the aircon on at least the damp feel was gone. A bottle of Sparkling Wine was sent to our room with an apology, for the rest of our stay the room was cleaned very well.
The staff at the resort are fantastic, they are extremely polite and helpful even when being abused by some guests who have had too many cocktails or tequilas.
I would like to thank Ivan, Chef of Vida, your food is amazing and as good as anything I've had in London, we would happily give you a reference if you ever decided to come here. The staff at Vida also thank you, you made our evenings very special. Thank you Erik for always trying to help even when your voice was diminishing by the hour and lastly Claudia & Alej, you are both stars!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lainiewho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at Sensimar Resort Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We also value your feedback as this helps us to improve and keep offering the best experiences.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards,

Andrea Duerre
General Manager
aduerre@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2010

Wow what a holiday, what a hotel, this was pure indulgance at its best, nothing too much trouble by staff to please you. a friendly "Ola" by all staff from the gardener picking up the fallen leaves after a storm to room attendants to beach waiter/waitress, to head honcho. After only a few days our names were remembered and used, drinks were made ready on our arrival at our favourite evening pre meal beach bar.

Shame the hotel was well under occupancy prob due to "swine flu" or economic reasons, this also meant at least 1 alternating restaurant was closed each evening, but the choice of others were enough, no booking or long waiting just turn up and be seated or maybe wait a brief while at a bar until they buzz you with the little buzzer they supply you with, but you waited no longer than 15 mins or so. Liked all the rests Italian, mexican, and grill rest being our fav, the arrecfie (sp Beach rest) being our least fav as we felt it had little atmosphere and felt more like a beach rest, than the plush others.
On the down side Entertainment in the evening was poor, and there was little else you could do, but if you wanted total chill out this was it, we had already done the "Yucantan tour so was fine by us.
Beach beds were rather lush if you could get one, huge big double matress most people that had taken them early in the morning had vacated them by afternoon, but there were always plenty of normal sunbeds around.
Water was very shallow but you could still swim and the actual beach is narrow but again this didnt hamper us at all, and to be fair it was a wonderful beach. One of the great things about this hotel apart from all the above was the fact that there was no screaming or moaning kids (although I do love Children ! ) so that meant peace and quiet at all times.
Top food, top drinks, top staff and a wonderful place to have a holiday.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank missxpiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at Sensimar Resort Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Kind Regards,

Andrea Duerre
General Manager
adurre@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2010

We were exceptionally disappointed that we were distrubed two nights in a row with noisy guests all night long until 4 am and then we moved - no hot watern --and lots of people had problems with no hot water - the food was OK - a little boring after a few days. The small restaurants were nice- I would hate to stay in a three star if people think that was five !
The staff were friendly but service was not good in the main restaurant you couldn't get beach chairs and the only internet is two computers in the lobby ! Overall I would give it a 3 1/2 star

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colmarink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at Sensimar Resort Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2016

Dear Guest,

We want to thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we want to assure you that all your comments are welcomed and a key part of the improvement of our resort. We are truly sorry to hear you experienced any inconvenience during your stay, we are a 5 star rated resort so we are disheartened to hear your recent stay was not reflecting it.

We would like to invite you to contact our Head of Customer Services at customerservices@karismamexico.com so that we can review your feedback together and to assure you this is not the standard of our hotel, we will be glad to host you again in our hotel or any resort by Karisma to surpass any past experience.


Best Regards,
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews