We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
A TripAdvisor Member
Minnesota
123
Reviewed March 23, 2005

We just returned from the El Dorado Seaside Suites. The positives first.
1. Beautiful, peaceful setting and gorgeous buildings grounds
2. Staff seemed to love their work and were outstanding! David in the International Restaurant was an awsome waiter.
3. Entertainment was good
4. Food was beautifully presented
5. Sensible portion sizes at restaurants and great drinks

Negatives
1. We brought little cash expecting to use our credit card at an ATM if we needed cash. NO ATM, and no way to get cash without going 'to town'. We wanted to tip more often, but had no cash to do it.
2. We smelled a sewer smell (rotting forest was the explaination) when we first came. The drain in our bathroom backed up and we had a river coming under the bathroom door most times we showered - health hazard??(Room 3001)
3. We were not informed about where to look for a listing of the events. We did not hang at the bar much, and therefore missed the flyers with activities listed, (Spanish lessons, salsa lessons, etc.). Discovered this the night before we left! Suggest a large activity board near the outdoor restaurant and that guests are told to check there daily for events.
4. A short orientation about what is available and happening when you arrive would be helpful.
5. Food at the restaurants was not hot enough, (temp.) most of the time.
This is a health hazard. I got sick the second day, and was pretty much sick the whole time I was there. I am doctoring now for either a viral or bacterial intestinal infection. Not sure if this came from ice, drinks, or food. I did not drink water other than at the restaurants that I was told was filtered, and drank and brushed my teeth with bottled water.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2016

Dear Guest,

We want to thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we want to assure you that all your comments are welcomed and a key part of the improvement of our resort. We are truly sorry to hear you experienced any inconvenience during your stay, we are a 5 star rated resort so we are disheartened to hear your recent stay was not reflecting it.

We would like to invite you to contact our Head of Customer Services at customerservices@karismamexico.com so that we can review your feedback together and to assure you this is not the standard of our hotel, we will be glad to host you again in our hotel or any resort by Karisma to surpass any past experience.


Best Regards,
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (8,634)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8,139 - 8,145 of 8,634 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2005

My wife and I just returned from 4 nights at the El Dorado Seaside Suites and had a wonderful time. I searched numerous hotels on trip advisor in this area before settling on this resort and am happy that I did.

First of all, take a taxi not the shuttle bus from the Cancun airport. We were told the shuttle cost $60 and would take about an hour and a private taxi $90 and take 40 minutes. Well, the shuttle took 2 1/2 hours. We ended up taking a taxi back from the resort to the airport and paid $46. The airport is crazy when you leave-you are surrounded by people trying to sell you transporation. My advice is to walk outside, find a taxi and tell them you will pay $46 dollars and be on your way.

Second, after our long shuttle ride, we arrived at the resort and were informed that there was a problem with one of the buildings and that all 8 couples arriving that day were being moved to a nicer resort (back by the airport) for two nights. Now, I had been joking with my wife after reading another review of someone who came in and was told that they were overbooked-they were put up for the night in the Hidden Beach Resort next door (the Au Natural resort!). I had been teasing my wife and here it was happening to us. We agreed to stay at Hidden Beach for the night instead of driving back 40 minutes to the Azul that they initially offered. It ended up being fine. We slept at Hidden Beach but still had dinner at El Dorado and besides the images of chubby middle aged naked people that will forever be burned into my head, it was painless. We did get $100 credit to be used at the spa for our inconvenience.

Third, the resort was beautiful. The rooms are well designed, well appointed, well maintained and just an overall joy. We stayed in a Jacuzzi Suite and loved it. The maid service was excellent. The lobby, restaurants and outside spaces were beautufil and pleasant to be in. The beds out on the beach were spectacular. It is hot (90 deg F in March) and being able to lie out in a four poster hut with a comfortable mattress was heavenly-check out the website for photos of these.

Fourth, the food was excellent. I looked long and hard to find a resort that had good food reviews. There are three restaurants (Asian, Mexican and International). Our favorite was by far the Asian-we sat outside and had two wonderful meals there. The Mexican was actually our least favorite although we were told it was the best. The margaritas are excellent as well

Fifth, I had the most amazing massage at the spa that I have ever had. I would definately recommend you splurge for this.

Sixth, the beach has sand that is relatively course. Not nearly as nice as I was hoping for-you didn't need shoes to walk on it, but you had to walk somewhat gingerly.

Seventh, the staff is phenomenal. They want nothing more than to make your staff comfortable and enjoyable.

Eighth, I would recommend going on the day trip to Tulum and Xel Ha-the former being a set of Mayan ruins and the later being a really cool water park with snorkeling etc. Well worth the $103 per person.

Ninth, don't expect a young crowd with hoping night life. We were kind of surprised by the age of the people there. We are 35 and were on the young side. The average age was probably in the mid 40's and besides hanging out around the bar at night, the nightlife was pretty lame, although this was fine with us, if you are looking for disco into the wee hours of the morning you are in the wrong palce.

Overall, we had a fantastic time. If you are looking for a relaxing vacation, with excellent food, and very involved staff and beautiful physical surroundings, definately check out El Dorado Seaside Suites.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
41  Thank jagmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2016

Dear guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2005

BACKGROUND INFORMATION
We were guests of the EDSS for the period March 10-17, 2005. We travelled with the Canadian tour company Signature Vacations, which represents the hotel as a 5 star. During or stay, the hotel was fully booked.
THE HOTEL AND GROUNDS
One enters the property from a manned security gate directly off the highway. A stretch of road lined with bougainvillea, many of them dead or almost dead and clearly lacking attention, as well as palm trees leads to the main lobby. We walked this stretch of road in order to catch collectivios (which we recommend as an inexpensive and efficient form of transportation) and much of the walkway was littered with empty bottles, cans, and food wrappers. Located on the road are the tennis courts and the hotel greenhouse. The hotel is set on a narrow but reasonably long beachfront and is comprised of a series of one and two story white stucco residential units with red tile roofs, the hotel lobby, three restaurants, two pools, an outdoor patio, two outdoor bars, two pools, the spa, and a series of walkways and paths. The orientation of the property is to the water. The grounds and landscaping are extensive. Clearly money has been spent, but the lawns and vegetation have not been properly maintained. The lawns are primarily crabgrass and are patchy and brown spotted. Having seen other properties in the area, there is a distinct lack of lushness to the foliage. The architecture of the hotel is a melange of Mexican, Spanish, and Moorish influences. The property, which has been undergoing extensive renovations, was built approximately 16 years ago and it shows. Overall our impression of the hotel was that it resembled a southern California apartment complex. The hotel was not built as a five star property and, even though $6,000,000. U.S.has allegedly been spent to upgrade it, its humble origins are evident in the infrastructure. The hotel shows best at night when the dark sky and the soft glow of the path lighting hide its flaws.
THE LOBBY AND CHECK-IN
The lobby is attractive. It is tiled in limestone and is furnished with handsome and understated contemporary furniture and appointments. We were greeted with scented clothes (cold) and champagne. Check-in was efficient and extremely gracious.
ROOMS
We had 3 different rooms. All of them had been renovated and were equipped with a DVD player (bring your CDs), a limestone tiled shower, a canopy bed, and well-stocked minibar. We had booked an oceanfront Jacuzzi and requested that it be located away from any odours and noise. Our first room in Building 25 was literally and figuratively a real stinker. It overlooked the main bar, patio restaurant, and entertainment area. There was a nauseating smell of sulphur that was particularly evident in the bathroom. The hotel claims that this is a function of the mangroves, but we know this odour from another picture and suspect it is a function of an underdesigned septic field or system that falters when the hotel is at capacity, the water table is high, and the winds blow in the wrong direction. We were moved to Building 27 the following day. The hotel is expanding (more suites and a restaurant) and we were located directly beside the construction zone. We were wakened at 6:30 in the morning by a stream of trucks and hammering, sawing, and banging. Management apologized, acknowledged that our new room was one of the noisiest on the property, and offered to relocate us in 2 days, asserting repeatedly that relocation before then was impossible. A visit to our tour rep resulted in our being moved the following day. Our third room was located in Building 34 and had a beautiful view of the ocean, but it was older, smaller, shabbier, more rustic, and less well appointed than the other rooms. The vanity was impossibly small and the Jacuzzi, which had apparently been refinished, was peeling badly. A standard size ironing board, which could not fit into our undersized closet, was left in the room and formed part of the room furnishings. Poor water pressure and temperature are serious issues. In our first room, the wash basin tap yielded barely a trickle but, inexplicably, the shower had full pressure. In our last room, the water was off completely one day. A new system of water pipes is being installed throughout the hotel, which may address this. While we were there, the pipe installation noise was a further annoyance. Our air-conditioner also made a terrible racket and dripped water, but repeated calls to the front desk yielded no results. It took 2 days and multiple calls to get a clock in our room. The Jacuzzi in our room was not functioning and took 2 days to repair. Management did send us 2 fruit plates and 2 bottles of sparkling wine for our troubles, but these gestures, although appreciated, do not compensate guests for three moves and a plethora of problems and inconveniences. NOTE: If you change rooms, DO NOT give up your key until your other room is ready. We were left without any room for close to seven hours one day.
THE RESTAURANTS AND FOOD
The Karisma chain uses its restaurants’ food quality and presentation as a selling feature. We went there with high expectations but were disappointed. Breakfast is served in either the International Restaurant or the patio (one of the most charming aspects of this hotel) and one has a choice of ordering from the a la carte menu or choosing the buffet. Buffet selections are fairly routine, tasteless, and uninspired. There are cereals, fruit, juices, soggy pastries, breads, and muffins, sausages, yogurt, a couple of Mexican style offerings and an omelette/ fried egg/French toast station. The menu offerings included waffles, huevos rancheros, eggs Benedict, and French toast. We ordered once from the menu but found the service slow (a 45 minute wait) and the food cold. Service is congenial but often inept. Requests for more coffee, a mimosa, or a side order of bacon are frequently forgotten. Resetting a table often involves turning over a soiled placemat, rather than replacing it with a clean one. Even the manager failed to wipe down with a clean cloth a table on which he had spilled cream and just used the napkin of the departed guest to mop up. One gracious touch, however, was the ability to order espresso. Lunch is served in the International or on the patio. We always chose the patio where, unfortunately, only a sandwich/pizza/ burger menu was offered. Almost all of the food there was mediocre at best. The hotel has 3 a la carte restaurants, which are all open every night for dinner. All require reservations (made at the front desk), but this is no hardship: we never failed to get our request for either time or place. All restaurants are attractive, but the Asian is the real stunner. It has a beautiful second floor patio, which makes for a magical dining experience. Management was also extremely gracious. Unfortunately, the food was awful and the service was impossibly slow. The Mexican Restaurant is a lovely looking and there is much to choose from. Presentation is good but, generally, the taste of the food does not live up to its visual promise. We were disappointed with the Tequila pyramid that others had raved about, but the crème brulee, the ice creams, and the three-milk cake were quite good. The tableside preparation of coffee was entertaining and the result delicious. We are nonplused by those who complain about small portions. They are more than adequate and there are no restrictions on what you may order. The International Restaurant was our favourite. It had just reopened, and although it appears unfinished, is still attractive in the evening. There are 3 menus offered every day: vegetarian, Mexican, and the chef’s choice that changes daily. Service here was the most gracious and we thought the food, although not great, was perfectly acceptable. Again the presentation is good. Entrée portions are generous. On Wednesdays, the hotel features a Mexican night, which means that 2 Mexican menus and the vegetarian menu are in place at the International. The restaurant is decorated with Mexican blankets and large sombreros, and although it was a bit cheesy, it did demonstrate an effort to please. The house Mexican wine served in all restaurants is dreadful and is beneath an establishment that holds itself out as serving gourmet food. Premium international liquors (cheap vodka makes for a very raw martini) and liqueurs are not available.
THE BEACH AND POOLS
The beach is a major disappointment. The sand is rough and the water is rocky and does not lend itself to swimming or even frolicking in the waves. Water shoes are a must! The view is also decidedly unscenic: as one faces the ocean, to the right are visible 8 hydro towers, a communication tower, and several cranes. (Although we would not want to stay there, the Palladium is a 20-minute walk down the beach, and its soft sand and beach conditions sharply contrast with those at EDSS.) To the left, there is a seawall that also mars the beach. There is also a concrete embankment that covers a significant portion of the beach, which is in extreme disrepair and is a real eyesore. Securing a sunbed, palapa and cot, or a sun hut and cot was never a problem. Hygeine was. The vinyl mattresses and pillows on the beds are not cleaned daily and are covered with spilled drinks, food, and whatever. Although the beach is raked for seaweed, the staff is less diligent about raking the sand around the beds. We saw an accumulation of cigarette butts, etc. The muslin and sheer curtains that surround the beds are not properly maintained and look sloppy and cheap. Some are held up and tied back with blue string, others with white string, others with cord, others with a combination of materials. Towels were plentiful and guests are not required to sign them out or return them. There is drink service on the beach and waiters sometimes bring trays of fruit (unfortunately no tongs or napkins, so everyone’s hands are in it), sandwiches, and roasted chicken for snacks. There are 2 pools with few people. This could be because there are very few cots. The activity pool surround was constantly being washed down, but we noted scum on the pool surface. As pool owners, we know this is indicative of poor hygiene and maintenance.
ENTERTAINMENT
Although the animation team was present during the day, it was mystery to us what they were doing. In the evening, we attended two shows. One night there was a female vocalist followed by karaoke and on another an acrobatic/contortionist show. Not first rate entertainment, but no complaints here. The setting beside the bar in the evening is quite lovely.
DEMOGRAPHICS
We noted guests from the U.S., Canada, Germany, and Italy ranging in age from early 20s to 80s. Most were female/male couples, but there were also women and families travelling together. This was a well-behaved group. The tone of the resort was extremely tranquil and relaxed.
CONCLUSION
The staff are lovely, but service in almost all respects is uneven. Although there are good intentions and even vision, implementation and execution often fails. For example, we received an email from the hotel in which it expressed the hope that we had enjoyed our stay with them (nice touch), but we were still at the hotel at the time of its receipt and for several days after. This kind of fumbling and lack of attention to detail is pervasive. Another reviewer described EDSS as amateurish and we agree. This is very much a top down problem and, perhaps, with better management this resort will find its legs. We do not believe, however, that EDSS is or can ever be a 5 star resort (barring tearing down the buildings). We kept thinking that the resort improvements were akin to trying to make a silk purse from a sow’s ear. At this point, we would not recommend it if one seeks a five star experience and we would not return.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
150  Thank Fearful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2016

Dear Guest,

We want to thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we want to assure you that all your comments are welcomed and a key part of the improvement of our resort. We are truly sorry to hear you experienced any inconvenience during your stay, we are a 5 star rated resort so we are disheartened to hear your recent stay was not reflecting it.

We would like to invite you to contact our Head of Customer Services at customerservices@karismamexico.com so that we can review your feedback together and to assure you this is not the standard of our hotel, we will be glad to host you again in our hotel or any resort by Karisma to surpass any past experience.


Best Regards,
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2005

OK, took Air Canada from Winnipeg , not bad ,not as good as Westjet but no where near as bad as Skyservice ,Cancun airport holy cow what a zoo got lucky and walked right up to immigration then went through the time share sales , quick note here your reps are outside anyone else after red light green light is a timeshare sales rep! Interesting ride to resort in a van the driver did 120 km / h all the way, look for seat belts !
The resort itself is an older property but the Karisma chain which own the Seaside has put millions into it , the lobby when you arrive is beautiful the guest realtions people at check in are all very freindly and were extremely helpful during our stay here.

Rooms , the room we has was ocean front jacuzzi nice view of the ocean between the palm trees , the new 4 poster beds were a nice touch and the matresses all brand new pillow top king size slept better here than at home , our room was made up beautifully every day and never ever a shortage of towels in fact they would come around at night to see if you needed more , the mini bar was well stocked with soft drinks beer and water , Dvd player new flat screen Tv , eating area balcony had jaccuzzi , hammock and chair , a little cramped but not bad as compared to other resorts.

Water has a smell when you turn on the tap let it run it disappears , the water problems are evident here however don't let that discourage you one phone call gets it fixed in most cases and we have encountered this problem at other resorts , seems to be part of the Mexican vacation experience! There is construction at the rear of the property but if you close your bathroom window you wont hear a thing .Drink only the bottled water as you are in Mexico even for brushing your teeth .

Food: No complaints some reviews said the portions are too small we never had that problem in fact it was usally too much food for us to eat and trust me I am a big eater , the International restaurant is open and has a changing menu with just about anything you want , service is excellent and food is terrific with presentation being a very strong point , the Mexican restauraunt is also very good the menu does not change here however there is still a very good selction , the Asian restauraunt , dont be afraid it is mostly Thai and Japanese and everything is excellent , Tempura desert is to die for .

Lunch gets a little repetative , burgers fries , wood fired pizza all good but the International is open for lunch and you can order club houses , fish ribs etc etc etc.

Booze : When you go to any of the bars just specify Bacardis or Absolut or your favorite booze otherwise you get the cheap stufff, beer is Dos XX not bad on tap and cold so whats to complain about .

The beach at one end is a sea wall that is unuseable the other end is really nice white sand that the staff rakes every day and cleans up never a problem getting loungers before 10 am , the water is blue green and not very deep but the snorkelling is great , yes it does get windy here on the ocean but you"ll be thankful for a breeze when its 90+ degrees in that hot sun , the back of the resort is cooking hot with no breeze as for the smell , not a problem noticed it once in a while no biggie.The sand here is some of the most sought after anywhere it is white because of the pulverized coral and cool even on the hottest of days it really is beautiful . On the Pacific Coast of Mexico you burn your feet the sand gets so hot.

Expensive going by cab anywhere the collectivos on the highway are cheap $2.00 to Playa and are an adventure to be sure.

Overall this resort will do anything to make your stay great , the staff is all very friendly and this is an incredible place to stay .
Remember it is Mexico things are different here , weather was great I would strongly recomend two weeks one just isnt enough for most people .

As a side note we have stayed at other so called 5 stars in Mexico and while the Eldorado stilll hase some minor things to complete it is definately
going to be a 5 star when all is done right now 4 to 4.5 would be fair but remember 5 stars in Mexico is not like an American resort 5 star if you want a really good 5 star American resort and good old fashioned food like home stay at home and eat at Mcdonalds hahahahah.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
29  Thank pablo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2016

Dear guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Wichita, Ks
111
Reviewed March 19, 2005

We stayed at El Dorado Seaside Suites in June 2004. This was the worst vacation we have ever taken. Mold everywhere!! When we complained, we were told this was Mexico, mold is all over. The beach was no beach at all, too much rock and too shallow for snorkeling. We wasted 4 hours the first morning trying to transfer to another hotel, but the mgmt. said every hotel in Playa del Carmen and Cancun were booked. Yea right! He finally moved us to a junior suite for additional $300 and thought would be okay-not- the jacuzzi didn't work, the bathtub leaked onto the bedroom floor and when we complained, nothing was ever done. Our opinion, DON'T GO, if you are expecting a 4-star resort this is not it. Also crabs from ocean in pool every morning and told that was okay also.Take your money and go someplace else, management here does not care at all. The only good thing I can say about this resort, is the food did not make any of us sick

  • Stayed: June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2016

Dear Guest,

We want to thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we want to assure you that all your comments are welcomed and a key part of the improvement of our resort. We are truly sorry to hear you experienced any inconvenience during your stay, we are a 5 star rated resort so we are disheartened to hear your recent stay was not reflecting it.

We would like to invite you to contact our Head of Customer Services at customerservices@karismamexico.com so that we can review your feedback together and to assure you this is not the standard of our hotel, we will be glad to host you again in our hotel or any resort by Karisma to surpass any past experience.


Best Regards,
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
adurre@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Calgary, AB, Canada
128
Reviewed March 19, 2005

Date: Feb 25 to Mar 4, 2005
Gary and Linda, Calgary, AB, Canada


Overall, we had a fantastic vacation and will return to the Mayan Riviera, but will not be staying at the Seaside again. Don’t get me wrong, it was beautiful, and spotlessly clean—just not what had been promised when we booked six months earlier.

When we arrived, we were told it was overbooked and that we were being sent back up the coast to the Eldorado Royale—40 mins back toward Cancun. Why not just drop us off there on the way down. Spent one night there and then back to the Seaside, where we couldn’t get into our room until 3PM. Basically lost a full day (14%) of our holiday--not a great start.

Then the fight was on, as we had confirmed reservations for a smoking junior suite. The week previous they had changed all rooms to nonsmoking. Found the front office staff (all Europeans) to be very pleasant until you had a problem—then they developed a big time attitude, and weren't the least bit interested in solving the problem. The Mayan staff, on the other hand, simply couldn’t do enough for you, but the Europeans………

The new restaurant had just opened, and we found the food in all 3 to be some of the best we’ve ever had. Service was slow, but no problem as we were on vacation and not in any hurry.

The beach was a great disappointment. Never having been to the area before (hey let’s be honest—never having been anywhere in the Caribbean before) I was expecting a huge, wide beach like you see in all the brochures—not one that was a measly 6-10 feet deep.

And yes, the showers were an experience—no pressure; wild fluctuation between scalding and freezing with no warning.

What we did like was the fact that nowhere, at any time, was it crowded. It was almost as though my wife and I and the couple we were traveling with were the only people there. We could sit beside the pool (beautiful), or stroll through the grounds (gorgeous) and seldom see more than a half dozen other people. Unbelievably relaxing!!!

We had no problems with supplies in the inroom fridge. I just left a couple of dollars and a note explaing that neither of us drank soft drinks--I drank beer and my wife drank water and asked that they stock it that way. The next day the fridge looked MUCH better.

As I said, the Mayan staff simply couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. We tipped all the time--they make 4-5 US Dollars per day, so what is a buck to us is 20% of a day's income to them.

One word of warning. If you lose the key to your safety deposit box, it will cost you $110 to get into the box--just ask me. Not that I'm complaining, after all, I'm the fool who lost the key!!

As for traveling around the area, we found the taxis good, but the collectivos (little passenger vans that you flag down on the highway) to be much better. They're clean, airconditioned, cheap, and the drivers are safe and friendly. It cost $16 by taxi to Playa del Carmen and only $2 each by collectivo. You just stand out there and when you see one going your way you raise your arm for them to stop, tell them where you're going, and ask "quanto est" (how much). They always let you out at the right spot.

To sum up:
Appearance--excellent
Food--excellent
Cleanliness--excellent
Service from Mayans--excellent
Relaxation quotient--excellent
Service from Europeans--very poor
Reliability re: reservations--very poor
Problem resolution--very poor
Get change for a $20--impossible (NOBODY had any cash)
Return to Mayan Riviera--absolutely (already planning next year's)
Return to Seaside Suites--probably not

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
28  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2016

Dear Guest,

We want to thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we want to assure you that all your comments are welcomed and a key part of the improvement of our resort. We are truly sorry to hear you experienced any inconvenience during your stay, we are a 5 star rated resort so we are disheartened to hear your recent stay was not reflecting it.

We would like to invite you to contact our Head of Customer Services at customerservices@karismamexico.com so that we can review your feedback together and to assure you this is not the standard of our hotel, we will be glad to host you again in our hotel or any resort by Karisma to surpass any past experience.


Best Regards,
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2005

My husband and I returned yesterday, March 18, 2005 from one week at the El Dorado Suites. We would recommend the suites for those who are looking for a quiet hideaway with little excitement. We would also recommend the suites for couples.

First the positives. The food is outstanding. There is a chef there named Petro who has turned all of the restaurants into five-star presentation and taste restaurants. I actually looked forward to my eating experiences. For those who have said that the food was not good, my husband is a chef and has incredibly discrimminating taste. He loved the food. And, there was not just some sandwich bar at lunch. There were two available menus one inside the restaurant, one outside, plus a salad plus bar. Before you review, you should be aware of everything that was being offered. The menus change every two days at each restaurant, so there is plenty of variety.

The rooms are beautifully decorated and the ocean front jacuzzi suites are lovely. The housekeepers do a beautiful job of decorating your room with flowers and towel animals. Their creativity is so welcomed and appreciated.

On the negative: you may lose water here and there, and the pressure is poor; however, the management is in process, as we speak, of upgrading all of the water for the entire complex with new piping and solar heating. All of the doors in the complex will equally be changed.

One major negative. The hotel overbooks. You really can not be sure if you actually will be able to stay at the hotel if you book. Many guests had to be shipped to other hotels, as they had been double booked. This meant one and a half hours from the airport to the resort...tired, hungry and wanting a room...then a 45 minute drive to another resort. Bad way to start vacation. The hotel does compensate with certificates and free massages; however, when you have one week vacation and work all year long, it is one day that you can never make up for...problema! Also, if you order an ocean front, you will probably get a garden suite the first night and have to move the second. Almost everyone we spoke to had the same situation. It is a real pain to move the next day since you move out at 10 and don't get a room until 4. To compensate, the hotel will give you 60 to 100 dollars in comps for the spa or phone calls. Overbooking (which I am sure will not stop) is totally unacceptable and unprofessional for a should be five star hotel.

The rest of the story is that the staff is wonderfully pleasant and accommodating. Everyone tries to make your stay memorable. Jenna, in charge of events is a motivating and enchanting host who makes you feel at home. Angel is the waiter on the beach, who makes sure you have your drinks and food by your side so you never have to move. The entertainment is okay, but the real entertainment is talking with the help and the other guests while swinging around the bar, or lounging on the beds.

Would we return? We would and hopefully for two weeks. We now know what to expect, and we will try to avoid having to be sent anywhere else.

The hotel is above average, the restaurants are five star and I feel that with the rennovations on the water the hotel may soon be five star. Just don't expect fireworks, this place is tranquilo.

alor

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank alor50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2016

Dear guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We also appreciate your feedback as this helps us to improve and keep offering the best experiences.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.5 mi away
UNICO 20.87 Hotel Riviera Maya
4.5 mi away
Porto Bello Hotel and Residences
Porto Bello Hotel and Residences
#15 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
9 reviews
4.8 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
El Dorado Seaside Suites
El Dorado Seaside Suites
#56 of 395 in Riviera Maya
1,320 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma
Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma
#1 of 462 in Riviera Maya
722 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
#4 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
10,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya

Address: Km 95 Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range: $341 - $1,045 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Seaside Hotel
El Dorado Seaside Suites Mexico
El Dorado Resort Spa
Hotel El Dorado Seaside
El Dorado Seaside Resort
El Dorado Spa
El Dorado Seaside Mexico
Eldorado Seaside Suites
Eldorado Resort
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing