We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“March 5-19th /2005 Overall a great place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed March 19, 2005

OK, took Air Canada from Winnipeg , not bad ,not as good as Westjet but no where near as bad as Skyservice ,Cancun airport holy cow what a zoo got lucky and walked right up to immigration then went through the time share sales , quick note here your reps are outside anyone else after red light green light is a timeshare sales rep! Interesting ride to resort in a van the driver did 120 km / h all the way, look for seat belts !
The resort itself is an older property but the Karisma chain which own the Seaside has put millions into it , the lobby when you arrive is beautiful the guest realtions people at check in are all very freindly and were extremely helpful during our stay here.

Rooms , the room we has was ocean front jacuzzi nice view of the ocean between the palm trees , the new 4 poster beds were a nice touch and the matresses all brand new pillow top king size slept better here than at home , our room was made up beautifully every day and never ever a shortage of towels in fact they would come around at night to see if you needed more , the mini bar was well stocked with soft drinks beer and water , Dvd player new flat screen Tv , eating area balcony had jaccuzzi , hammock and chair , a little cramped but not bad as compared to other resorts.

Water has a smell when you turn on the tap let it run it disappears , the water problems are evident here however don't let that discourage you one phone call gets it fixed in most cases and we have encountered this problem at other resorts , seems to be part of the Mexican vacation experience! There is construction at the rear of the property but if you close your bathroom window you wont hear a thing .Drink only the bottled water as you are in Mexico even for brushing your teeth .

Food: No complaints some reviews said the portions are too small we never had that problem in fact it was usally too much food for us to eat and trust me I am a big eater , the International restaurant is open and has a changing menu with just about anything you want , service is excellent and food is terrific with presentation being a very strong point , the Mexican restauraunt is also very good the menu does not change here however there is still a very good selction , the Asian restauraunt , dont be afraid it is mostly Thai and Japanese and everything is excellent , Tempura desert is to die for .

Lunch gets a little repetative , burgers fries , wood fired pizza all good but the International is open for lunch and you can order club houses , fish ribs etc etc etc.

Booze : When you go to any of the bars just specify Bacardis or Absolut or your favorite booze otherwise you get the cheap stufff, beer is Dos XX not bad on tap and cold so whats to complain about .

The beach at one end is a sea wall that is unuseable the other end is really nice white sand that the staff rakes every day and cleans up never a problem getting loungers before 10 am , the water is blue green and not very deep but the snorkelling is great , yes it does get windy here on the ocean but you"ll be thankful for a breeze when its 90+ degrees in that hot sun , the back of the resort is cooking hot with no breeze as for the smell , not a problem noticed it once in a while no biggie.The sand here is some of the most sought after anywhere it is white because of the pulverized coral and cool even on the hottest of days it really is beautiful . On the Pacific Coast of Mexico you burn your feet the sand gets so hot.

Expensive going by cab anywhere the collectivos on the highway are cheap $2.00 to Playa and are an adventure to be sure.

Overall this resort will do anything to make your stay great , the staff is all very friendly and this is an incredible place to stay .
Remember it is Mexico things are different here , weather was great I would strongly recomend two weeks one just isnt enough for most people .

As a side note we have stayed at other so called 5 stars in Mexico and while the Eldorado stilll hase some minor things to complete it is definately
going to be a 5 star when all is done right now 4 to 4.5 would be fair but remember 5 stars in Mexico is not like an American resort 5 star if you want a really good 5 star American resort and good old fashioned food like home stay at home and eat at Mcdonalds hahahahah.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
29  Thank pablo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2016

Dear guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (8,415)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,936 - 7,942 of 8,415 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Wichita, Ks
111
Reviewed March 19, 2005

We stayed at El Dorado Seaside Suites in June 2004. This was the worst vacation we have ever taken. Mold everywhere!! When we complained, we were told this was Mexico, mold is all over. The beach was no beach at all, too much rock and too shallow for snorkeling. We wasted 4 hours the first morning trying to transfer to another hotel, but the mgmt. said every hotel in Playa del Carmen and Cancun were booked. Yea right! He finally moved us to a junior suite for additional $300 and thought would be okay-not- the jacuzzi didn't work, the bathtub leaked onto the bedroom floor and when we complained, nothing was ever done. Our opinion, DON'T GO, if you are expecting a 4-star resort this is not it. Also crabs from ocean in pool every morning and told that was okay also.Take your money and go someplace else, management here does not care at all. The only good thing I can say about this resort, is the food did not make any of us sick

  • Stayed: June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2016

Dear Guest,

We want to thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we want to assure you that all your comments are welcomed and a key part of the improvement of our resort. We are truly sorry to hear you experienced any inconvenience during your stay, we are a 5 star rated resort so we are disheartened to hear your recent stay was not reflecting it.

We would like to invite you to contact our Head of Customer Services at customerservices@karismamexico.com so that we can review your feedback together and to assure you this is not the standard of our hotel, we will be glad to host you again in our hotel or any resort by Karisma to surpass any past experience.


Best Regards,
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
adurre@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Calgary, AB, Canada
128
Reviewed March 19, 2005

Date: Feb 25 to Mar 4, 2005
Gary and Linda, Calgary, AB, Canada


Overall, we had a fantastic vacation and will return to the Mayan Riviera, but will not be staying at the Seaside again. Don’t get me wrong, it was beautiful, and spotlessly clean—just not what had been promised when we booked six months earlier.

When we arrived, we were told it was overbooked and that we were being sent back up the coast to the Eldorado Royale—40 mins back toward Cancun. Why not just drop us off there on the way down. Spent one night there and then back to the Seaside, where we couldn’t get into our room until 3PM. Basically lost a full day (14%) of our holiday--not a great start.

Then the fight was on, as we had confirmed reservations for a smoking junior suite. The week previous they had changed all rooms to nonsmoking. Found the front office staff (all Europeans) to be very pleasant until you had a problem—then they developed a big time attitude, and weren't the least bit interested in solving the problem. The Mayan staff, on the other hand, simply couldn’t do enough for you, but the Europeans………

The new restaurant had just opened, and we found the food in all 3 to be some of the best we’ve ever had. Service was slow, but no problem as we were on vacation and not in any hurry.

The beach was a great disappointment. Never having been to the area before (hey let’s be honest—never having been anywhere in the Caribbean before) I was expecting a huge, wide beach like you see in all the brochures—not one that was a measly 6-10 feet deep.

And yes, the showers were an experience—no pressure; wild fluctuation between scalding and freezing with no warning.

What we did like was the fact that nowhere, at any time, was it crowded. It was almost as though my wife and I and the couple we were traveling with were the only people there. We could sit beside the pool (beautiful), or stroll through the grounds (gorgeous) and seldom see more than a half dozen other people. Unbelievably relaxing!!!

We had no problems with supplies in the inroom fridge. I just left a couple of dollars and a note explaing that neither of us drank soft drinks--I drank beer and my wife drank water and asked that they stock it that way. The next day the fridge looked MUCH better.

As I said, the Mayan staff simply couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. We tipped all the time--they make 4-5 US Dollars per day, so what is a buck to us is 20% of a day's income to them.

One word of warning. If you lose the key to your safety deposit box, it will cost you $110 to get into the box--just ask me. Not that I'm complaining, after all, I'm the fool who lost the key!!

As for traveling around the area, we found the taxis good, but the collectivos (little passenger vans that you flag down on the highway) to be much better. They're clean, airconditioned, cheap, and the drivers are safe and friendly. It cost $16 by taxi to Playa del Carmen and only $2 each by collectivo. You just stand out there and when you see one going your way you raise your arm for them to stop, tell them where you're going, and ask "quanto est" (how much). They always let you out at the right spot.

To sum up:
Appearance--excellent
Food--excellent
Cleanliness--excellent
Service from Mayans--excellent
Relaxation quotient--excellent
Service from Europeans--very poor
Reliability re: reservations--very poor
Problem resolution--very poor
Get change for a $20--impossible (NOBODY had any cash)
Return to Mayan Riviera--absolutely (already planning next year's)
Return to Seaside Suites--probably not

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
28  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2016

Dear Guest,

We want to thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we want to assure you that all your comments are welcomed and a key part of the improvement of our resort. We are truly sorry to hear you experienced any inconvenience during your stay, we are a 5 star rated resort so we are disheartened to hear your recent stay was not reflecting it.

We would like to invite you to contact our Head of Customer Services at customerservices@karismamexico.com so that we can review your feedback together and to assure you this is not the standard of our hotel, we will be glad to host you again in our hotel or any resort by Karisma to surpass any past experience.


Best Regards,
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2005

My husband and I returned yesterday, March 18, 2005 from one week at the El Dorado Suites. We would recommend the suites for those who are looking for a quiet hideaway with little excitement. We would also recommend the suites for couples.

First the positives. The food is outstanding. There is a chef there named Petro who has turned all of the restaurants into five-star presentation and taste restaurants. I actually looked forward to my eating experiences. For those who have said that the food was not good, my husband is a chef and has incredibly discrimminating taste. He loved the food. And, there was not just some sandwich bar at lunch. There were two available menus one inside the restaurant, one outside, plus a salad plus bar. Before you review, you should be aware of everything that was being offered. The menus change every two days at each restaurant, so there is plenty of variety.

The rooms are beautifully decorated and the ocean front jacuzzi suites are lovely. The housekeepers do a beautiful job of decorating your room with flowers and towel animals. Their creativity is so welcomed and appreciated.

On the negative: you may lose water here and there, and the pressure is poor; however, the management is in process, as we speak, of upgrading all of the water for the entire complex with new piping and solar heating. All of the doors in the complex will equally be changed.

One major negative. The hotel overbooks. You really can not be sure if you actually will be able to stay at the hotel if you book. Many guests had to be shipped to other hotels, as they had been double booked. This meant one and a half hours from the airport to the resort...tired, hungry and wanting a room...then a 45 minute drive to another resort. Bad way to start vacation. The hotel does compensate with certificates and free massages; however, when you have one week vacation and work all year long, it is one day that you can never make up for...problema! Also, if you order an ocean front, you will probably get a garden suite the first night and have to move the second. Almost everyone we spoke to had the same situation. It is a real pain to move the next day since you move out at 10 and don't get a room until 4. To compensate, the hotel will give you 60 to 100 dollars in comps for the spa or phone calls. Overbooking (which I am sure will not stop) is totally unacceptable and unprofessional for a should be five star hotel.

The rest of the story is that the staff is wonderfully pleasant and accommodating. Everyone tries to make your stay memorable. Jenna, in charge of events is a motivating and enchanting host who makes you feel at home. Angel is the waiter on the beach, who makes sure you have your drinks and food by your side so you never have to move. The entertainment is okay, but the real entertainment is talking with the help and the other guests while swinging around the bar, or lounging on the beds.

Would we return? We would and hopefully for two weeks. We now know what to expect, and we will try to avoid having to be sent anywhere else.

The hotel is above average, the restaurants are five star and I feel that with the rennovations on the water the hotel may soon be five star. Just don't expect fireworks, this place is tranquilo.

alor

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank alor50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2016

Dear guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We also appreciate your feedback as this helps us to improve and keep offering the best experiences.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Minnesota
111
Reviewed March 16, 2005

Stayed at the El Dorado for a week in February and loved it. My husband and I stayed there with 6 other couples and we all enjoyed the resort. The food is excellent and the service was the best I have received while staying in Mexico. All of the restaurants offered lots of choices and the food was great. The best restaurant was the Mexican; we ate there the majority of the nights. The international restaurant was under construction the week we stayed so I cannot comment on it. The rooms are large and very clean. Our room was cleaned twice a day, once in the early afternoon and then in the evening they would come in to clean the bathroom and pick up the towels. The only negative thing we experience was low water pressure and the drain in the shower was very slow.

The beach is very beautiful with lots of palm trees for shade. It is not as wide as in Cancun but has the same wonderful white sand. In the water the sand is very rocky in certain parts and does not get very deep. This does provide for great snorkeling though. We were able to snorkel most of the days we stayed there.

The entertainment staff was great and tried to get everyone involved in the activities throughout the day. Each evening they had a show or some type of activity, which gave you something to do.

I definitely plan to return to the El Dorado in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2016

Dear guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We also appreciate your feedback as this helps us to improve and keep offering the best experiences.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
London, England
119
Reviewed March 13, 2005

We just returned from a week at the El Dorado (3-11 March). We had a great time, but there are a few things you should know...

At 28-31 we were the youngest couples there. It is definitely a party place for the (heavily tattooed) middle-aged crowd. They all seemed to be having a blast--pretty rowdy!

Food- it becomes an obsession when going all-inlusive, and this resort did not have enough choices. The 'International' restaurant is now complete, so for breakfast and lunch you could no longer go to the Mexican restaurant. We were left with the 'Sanwicherie' outside snack bar and the very basic buffet. We ate way too many cheeseburgers because the options were so limited. What happened to simple Mexican food? Instead, everything is more American (I am American so am not complaining because of some British prejudice) and most dishes feature ham. For dinner, the Mexican restaurant was good, the Asian strange with unreliable order delivery, and the International was pretty bad.

Beach- don't be disappointed when you fist see it. It turned out to be great for snorkling, walking and hanging out in the shallows. Take a fish ID book so you'll know wha you're looking at.

Staff- so nice and helpful. They really cheered us up when we were facing more ham sandwiches for lunch.

All in all, a mixed experience. We had various other problems with our room, etc, but still had a great time. Just don't expect five star facilities and responsiveness!

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2016

Dear guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We also appreciate your feedback as this helps us to improve and keep offering the best experiences.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Fort Worth, TX
124
Reviewed March 1, 2005

We visited in October 2004, and I am already searching dates to return. If you are looking for a very quiet, relaxing vacation spot that is on the beach with gorgeous water this is the place for you. If you want the night life, party hearty, 24/7 then you might want to book your stay in Cancun.
A word of caution on arrival at the Cancun airport, and after you go through customs - if you have booked with a tour group do NOT stop to chat with those "friendly" folks inside the airport offering transportation. IMMEDIATELY exit the airport and look for your tour host who will be holding a sign for you to see. The "friendly" folks in the airport are very agressive and subtle hawkers of Time Shares.
Our stay was remarkable in every way. True, some have mentioned low water pressure but I have experienced that in U.S. hotels. The hotel staff was VERY friendly and accomodating to every request, and our tour reps at the hotel bent over backwards to go that extra mile. We even cashed traveler's checks with them and got U.S. dollars...usually you will get Pesos.
You have a fairly long uncrowded beach to enjoy when you aren't in the beautifully clear and rather shallow water. Great for practicing your snorkeling techniques.
REMEMBER, you are in a foreign country that runs on a different clock than those in the U.S. That means they are laid back, so expect to wait a little longer in the restaurants but it will be well worth it. The menu choices & quality of food are much better than typical all-inclusives, and the waitstaff/food presentation is right up there with 5-Star service.
The resort is about 40 minutes from the Cancun airport. It is located virtually half way between Playa del Carmen and Tulum which are about a 15 minute drive/ride. TAXI'S are expensive!!!! We were quoted $20 ONE WAY into Playa. We opted for a tour bus from the hotel. We did the same for an all day excursion to Xel Ha and tour of the Tulum ruins. By the way, if you are into snorkeling/water activities, Xel Ha is a MUST! I understand Xcaret is just as nice, but we weren't able to take that in.
All in all, if you are looking for a very relaxing, laid back vacation spot I don't think you will be disappointed, and you are going to get a BIG bang for your dollar at this resort. Enjoy your trip.....

24  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2016

Dear guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.7 mi away
UNICO 20.87 Hotel Riviera Maya
4.8 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
21.9 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#60 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
2.1 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
3.3 mi away
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Palace
#6 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
7,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya

Address: Km 95 Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range: $328 - $932 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Seaside Hotel
El Dorado Seaside Suites Mexico
El Dorado Resort Spa
Hotel El Dorado Seaside
El Dorado Seaside Resort
El Dorado Spa
El Dorado Seaside Mexico
Eldorado Seaside Suites
Eldorado Resort
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing