We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved the place and we will return (We were there Sept 4-11)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
A TripAdvisor Member
“We loved the place and we will return (We were there Sept 4-11)”
Reviewed September 18, 2004

Copied some info from a previous review just to save some time it’s not all fun, games and tequila now like it is at El Dorado Resort.

ROOM: Our room was huge! 1 King bed, a ceiling fan, and AC that took all of the heat away. A table with chairs a couch and plenty of bottles of water. Everything was clean, and looked great. The patio had a hammock, two chairs and was clean. The view was very pretty. One problem was our shower, but we called the lobby and it was fixed in ½ hr.

STAFF: The Animation crew Andy and Eric were fabulous, even though they were short handed they seemed to be able to be in two places at once. Pool tequila volleyball was our favorite activity, every day at 11:30. Claudia one of the animation crew from the hidden beach resort helped out with Spanish lessons and added some welcome entertainment to the volleyball game.
House keeping and the people who you don’t always see also did and great job.

ANIMALS: Ok, so we had a salamanders show up in our bathroom. They were tiny, they are scared to death of you, and it just liked to watch my wife shower. There are also a few tiny cats running around and, if you eat outside, they will sit by your chair. They are a bit skittish, and seem to be people shy, but not food shy. The peacocks. are totally awesome and add atmosphere to the place. I think their job is to roam around and look pretty. Feeding the fish off the pier was a nice break.

DRINKS: Yes, the frozen drinks did seem a bit watered down, but you are also sitting in the sun all day. You don’t want a ton of liquor in a frozen drink if you are in the sun or you will fry your brain. Just ask for more and you get more. The best drinks we had were the Bahama Mama’s. The bartender Carlos was the best one, just his friendly smile made you feel welcome. Carlos went out of his way to make my wife a hummingbird and a cricket out of palm leaves. Carlos’s helper (sorry can’t remember his name) made her a rose out of Kleenex.

FOOD: Breakfast, not bad. Variety to choose from, but doesn’t seem to change that much on a daily basis. It’s buffet, so go and serve yourself, including juice and champagne. If you want coffee, you need to flag down a waiter. Lunch, was a la carte and pretty good. Dinner was a la carte. Mexican restaurant was great. I can’t say enough good things about the place – the waiter Edgar made us feel like family. Weren’t that impressed with the Italian restaurant, which would normally be our favorite type of place to eat. Try the Mexican coffee with Tequila it will start or end your day!!

BEACH: Great for wading and lolling around. Definitely recommend bringing water shoes, out in the deeper water the ocean floor has some real sharp coral. Water was warm and the beach was very clean. Plenty of places to sit beds, chairs, whatever. People were clearly there to be with their loved one or to just enjoy the quiet. If you walk south along the shore there is a really cool turtle sanctuary. There are plenty of towels available, so leave yours at home.

ATMOSPHERE: Language- Not everyone spoke the best English, some hardly spoke it at all. Others spoke English and French. That just made the experience more real. This place is in Mexico isn’t it?

The other guests were great. It was nice to sit at the bar or walk down a path and have people say hello to you, strike up conversations with you. People were great about telling us things to do, where to eat, things like that.
Hello to:
Pam and Morris
William and Alison (Hope you got your swan)
Mom and Gilligan (The most tanned Canadians)
Barb and Jim (Sorry no pictures)
Kim and David (She still calls out your name)
The French (Harder to understand than the Mexicans but we love em)

FINALLY: We did nothing for the week except enjoy each other and the Resort. By that I mean we did not leave the resort for the whole week.
Yes we did tip 5-10 at meals and 2-5 at the bars, and we were never dry.
Please e-mail and we’ll definitely give you the scoop.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, November 23, 2016
Dear guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,737
    1,592
    522
    229
    155
See reviews for
240
6,521
51
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,364)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
PITTSFORD, New York
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2004

My husband and I just got back (AUG 31-SEPT 10, 2004) from EL DORADO Spa and Resort. It is true to its ads, wonderful facilites, great staff, pretty good food, and all inclusive (REALLY!)
Just watch out for the "CONCIEREGES", they "HELP" you check in but really want you to take a "free tour" of their other spa, the newer " ELDORADO RESORT" (up the road a few miles) Do not go. You will get a "WELCOME GIFT" a stone Mayan calander and a glass of champagne when you check in - drink the drink, take the calander and from then on say NO. You will be pressured with many more "gifts" (with lots of attachments to these!)but unless you like to spend 4-5 hours with a hard core tme sharing person-don't do it! (they take you over by van- and you can't just leave- you are stuck there till the van returns in 4-5 hours!
The travel agent on the site of the El dorado spa and resort is very good-he is not one of the "Time share people) he will set up any outside tours for you- these are not included in the all inclusive but are good trips. we went to two- X-cret ( an all day, sun and fun day, swim with the dolphins, it is a long day though- bus pick up at 8:15 and return at 9:30- after a great mexican show and dinner there). and Tulum, half day tour( bring sunblock, water, towels, your bathing suit- no bug repellant needed till after dark)
At the resort there are 3 restaurants: Mexican, Italian and International.
A little quirk- you MUST make reservations in the morning/daily with the front desk/ IN PERSON for the Mexican and Italian and the men CANNOT wear sandals- they must wear closed shoes, sneakers,etc. or they will be turned away from getting in! The women can have sandals, and both parties must be dressed. (NO nudity at the restaurants) The International you just show up and you can wear sandals here (Why??-who knows?!)
The MEXICAN has the best food, air conditioned and great atmosphere. The ITALIAN is not as good, poor selection, hot room and no atmosphere.
The INTERNATIONAL you can get a good variety of food, but rather noisey with a chain restaurant atmosphere about it.
You have BREAKFAST and LUNCH in the International- a lots of variety andl make stuff for you also.
The OUTSIDE snack area is open from 12-4 and the main bar area from 10am till 1am. Great drinks!
Bring a small FLASH LIGHT for ALL the restaurants at night. the lighting is VERY dim. You do not have to tip, but we did because they are just SO nice- even if you did not tip they were still SO nice. (1-2 dollars every now and then and for the mexican restraurnt we tipped the 3 times we were there 5-10 american dollars.
Walking to your room at night also requires a flashlight-the paths along the beach are narrow and very dim. Each room looks like the next( my husband actually walked into the wrong suite- lucky for him the guy was dressed!)

The rooms are wonderful- very clean- always fresh sheets, lots of big towels each day. There are three sections to the resort. THE SPA SECTION: with a lap pool, another bar area and quiet- the farthest from the swimming area9 About 100 yards), THE MAIN POOL AND BAR AREA: nearest the PARTY AREA (not too party- it is real quiet after 11:pm)
THEN THE SWIMMING AREA- Quiet- but good beach, bring your water shoes as the beach is quiet rockey. The snorkeling is okay, very shallow. Ladies can go topless on the beach.
We were in the upgraded jacuzzi room- great jacuzzi- 2 person- very clean in our room. You walked out your back sliding glass door and you were right on the beach! There are peacocks at your door, and lots of feral cats at the bar-dining areas- very pretty and family like feeling. You can feed both the peacocks and the cats.
If anything is not to your satisfaction, the staff is right on it-just call the front desk and tell them- within any hour it is fixed.
The water is chemcially treated- so use it for bathing, but don't drink/brush teeth with it. The staff leaves you 2 bottles of water for room use each day- if you need more just ask. In the restaurants and bars it is okay.a little warm and not much ice but drinkable.
It is a lovely place- but if you need nightlife- go elsewhere. The most exciting things are the water volleyball games and feed the fish time. Twice a week they have local entertaiment, dancers, local vendors come in to sell fairly priced, good quailty tourist gifts. (about what you'd get in the airport,
but it is nice to support the locals!)
In all it is true to its ads, and a very nice, quiet place to stay.

Helpful?
9 Thank marriedjerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, November 23, 2016
Dear guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We also appreciate your feedback as this helps us to improve and keep offering the best experiences.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 7, 2004

This is the best vacation that my boyfriend and I have ever had-hands down! I read all the reviews on this website before going on the trip and I must say I was a bit apprehensive, especially after reading the negative reviews. I am a stickler when it comes to service and travel, so please be assured that I am giving you an honest opinion.

The resort was fantastic. Our room was unbelievable. We had an oceanfront junior suite with the outdoor jacuzzi on the balcony that also had a hammock and chairs. The view from our room was lovely, especially waking up to the sound of the ocean every morning.

The service was unbelievable. They practically serve you hand-and-foot, and go out of their way to make you happy. This resort is quite intimate and the staff really tries to get to know you, which was nice. The food was outstanding. All restaurants had a great variety to choose from and all food is al la carte.

The beach and water is magical. We really enjoyed snorkeling and sun bathing in the ocean. The water was always warm and crystal clear.

You feel like you are the only person at the resort even though it is usually sold out. It was simply a very romantic get away that felt surreal.

I highly recommend this resort to anyone looking to get away from it all. It is not commercialized, but they still know how to have a good time and definitly know service.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, November 23, 2016
Dear guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2004

What can i say, the eldorado resort was absolutely everything and more that we could of dreamt of for a romantic holiday. The first evening we arrived, we thought that we had won the lottery; we were treat by royalty by the staff, served a fantastic a la carte meal on the balcony of the italian restaurant, which over-looked the ocean and finished off relaxing on one of the four poster beds that are situated on the beach, while drinking a well prepared cocktail and listening to some soothing live music. That was just the first night! The whole holiday was just as good as that first evening, the standard of service was superb in everyway. The food was excellent in all three restaurants and the drinks were both delicious and addictive at both bars!!! We stayed in an ocean view jacuzi suite that over looked the beautiful carribean sea. The suite was cleaned to a high standard and decorated with flower petals and special romantic touches everyday. The apartments are set in beautiful tropical gardens, the beach was beautiful and the sea as clear as crystal. Some days we lay on the beach and it seemed like we had the whole beach to ourselves. Even though the resort was fully booked, it was never crowded, and there was always a peaceful relaxing atmosphere that made us feel at ease.
I would happily recommend the Eldorado Resort to any couple looking for a romantic and restful break. If you don't like overcrowded beaches, rowdy bars and constant noise and chaos, but prefer a romantic paradise set in the most amazingly beautiful location, this holiday I'm sure would suit you. It did us!!!
I am forever grateful to all at the eldorado who assisted in giving us some of the most happy and beautiful holiday memories.
If anyone would like to hear more about the eldorado resort, please feel free to email me

Helpful?
13 Thank Callum-Forder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, November 23, 2016
Dear guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Colony, Tx
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2004

My friend and I just returned from a short stay at the El Dorado Resort (8/25-8/28/04) and we had a marvelous time!!! It is exactly as the reviews stated....quiet, serene, low-keyed and relaxing. The beach is definitely quite rocky but HEY....we don't have any beaches in Dallas, so we thought it was GREAT!!!! The staff was friendly and helpful but our favorite person was JESUS RIVERA (he was the one providing the snorkeling and kayaking equipment). He was by far the friendliest and most helpful staff member there and meeting him, made our stay that much better!! We had the perfect room.....cleaned each day, great view and the a/c worked GREAT!!!! Brrrrrrrrrrr!!!! I do have to agree that the food wasn't the best and we did get a touch of 'Montezuma's revenge' but it wasn't so bad that it ruined our stay. Next trip, I'll be sure to take plenty of Atkin's bars!!! -0) All in all......my friend and I loved the resort (but simply hated the airport in Cancun). We met some wonderful people on our bus and made new friends. So, if you'd like to have the best time of your life, take 1 or 2 other couples and have a grand ol' time!!!! We'll definitely find our way back to the El Dorado!!!!!

Helpful?
5 Thank NativeTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, November 23, 2016
Dear guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We also appreciate your feedback as this helps us to improve and keep offering the best experiences.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 30, 2004

I've read all the reviews and after returning this is a 3 star hotel only because of the actual resort all the other stuff I write about brings it down.
1) Staff cannot multi-task and gets very confused when you ask any questions. If you are running a resort that caters to 75% english then your staff needs to understand the language. FAILED!
2) The Mexican place was the best food. All; the others were horrible! If you want to load up on carbs(bread) than you'll be ok....they would feed the fish off the peir at 11am everyday and the fish wouldn't even eat the bread.
3) Drinks were great as long as you told the bartender the exact type of alcohol to put and how much! If you ask for Bacardi make sure you get Bacardi.......they pull watered down no-name booze out from the bottom of the bar counter.....trying to save the good stuff! Look we pay a lot of money for all inclusive! Give us the good damn alcohol!
4) The actual resort beach and feeling you get is great. Perfect for you and your loved one. Snokelings great! Relaxing.....no one trying to smooze your wife like a singles resort. If you walk down the right side of the beach past the El Dorado resort area there is some incredible beach for you to chill on.

In closing the resort has a lot of improving to do in the customer service area and food choices they have made to serve you. Could be the perfect resort for romantic couples if you changed the menu and the management was taught that the customer is ALWAYS right!

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, December 29, 2016
Dear Guest,

We want to thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we want to assure you that all your comments are welcomed and a key part of the improvement of our resort. We are truly sorry to hear you experienced any inconvenience during your stay, we are a 5 star rated resort so we are disheartened to hear your recent stay was not reflecting it.

We would like to invite you to contact our Head of Customer Services at customerservices@karismamexico.com so that we can review your feedback together and to assure you this is not the standard of our hotel, we will be glad to host you again in our hotel or any resort by Karisma to surpass any past experience.


Best Regards,
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 21, 2004

My husband and I vacationed at the El Dorado Resort this past week for 7 days Aug. 14-21 and found it to be quite a surprise. If you are looking for a total upscale, wait on me hand and foot type place this is not for you. The wait staff is good but you dont have someone bothering every two mins like they do at a Sandals Resort, it's low key and very relaxing. No one bothers you but if you need something they will come through for you.
The food is chef material with beautiful presentation but if you're into hamburgers and hot dogs they have that aswell. We did get ill by traveling to their sister hotel the Royale for lunch which is a more of a Sandals type place. We just told our concierge William and Alex what happend and they filed a report and phoned the doctor for us and had medication sent in from Playa ASAP and we felt better with in a day.
We love to snorkle so this was the place for us, as well as going to X-Caret. The beach is little rocky but we had our water shoes with us which was no problem.
We ran into alot of europeans who were very friendly and fun, some topless some not. All in all we had a good time for our money and the room is large and very clean.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, November 23, 2016
Dear guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
22.0 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#59 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,551 reviews
0.6 mi away
UNICO 20.87 Hotel Riviera Maya
4.8 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
18.2 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#11 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
16,065 reviews
16.9 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya

Property: El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya
Address: Km 95 Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Seaside Hotel
El Dorado Seaside Suites Mexico
El Dorado Resort Spa
Hotel El Dorado Seaside
El Dorado Seaside Resort
El Dorado Spa
El Dorado Seaside Mexico
Eldorado Seaside Suites
Eldorado Resort
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing