We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
billings,mt
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

We just returned from a week and feeling well relaxed. We booked a private transfer with Canada Transfer and the drive wasn't bad at all with Corona's waiting for us on ice. Upon arrival we were upgraded to beach suite 2705. We were directly behind the barbecue but off to the right we could view the ocean. Rooms have very soft lighting which made it difficult to see inside the safe as it is set far back on a shelf. We pulled the coffee maker out and set it on the desk which made it easier for access. This normally would not have been a problem on the pull out shelf but the top kept breaking so it was just easier to have it out where we would have better light. No big deal. We asked for extra coffee and always had it when the room was made up. Extra water and club soda was available too when we asked for it.

The beach beds are wonderful, we preferred the ones to the left of the barbecue area.There always seemed to be plenty of beds and chairs but we are early risers so I always saved the bed we wanted by 6:30 am. Anna was amazing! The maintenance team work hard on keeping the beach area clean and keeping the seaweed collected.

We did visit the spa two times and it is well worth it. Take the extra hour and do the hydro therapy pools.

We tried all the restaurants except the Pub. We were happy with all of them though disappointed they don't offer the Mexican coffee anymore. The portions were perfect and presentation was very good. Room service was very nice. Always came within 30 minutes.

Check out was a bit of hassle. We had several promotions we should have been credited with and no one seemed to know how to honor them. We left with only a $40 credit for wine while we should have had another $150 applied to resort credit.
Not a happy way to end an otherwise great stay. They just seemed confused and it took three different people to work on it and we still didn't get anywhere with it. At one point they told me to come back in a couple of hours and when I did there was no change or progress.

We would return again but if I have any promotions I will accept the fact before hand that we will not be comped for them.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank scubawifeinmaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, December 8, 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We also value your feedback as this helps us to improve and keep offering the best experiences.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards,
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,638
    1,581
    519
    229
    154
See reviews for
233
6,424
50
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,333)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Well what can I say what an amazing place, 14 night of paradise. Got married here, was very nervous about it but I couldn't of gone any better, Pattie and Angelica, the wedding coordinators go out of their way to help you and are all so friendly, it was a perfect day in a perfect place. Food was amazing in every place me and my husband are both quite picky but always found something. For me me breakfast was the best in the garden grill, pancakes, salmon bagels, hazlenut crepes absolutely lush. resort was so clean amazing, staff were brilliant. We went to the dolphin place, which although was very expensive was very good and also CoCo Bongos which is an absolute must, what an experience. We had a standard room, yes probably needs a bit of updating but it really wasn't an issue it was nice and big with a jacuzzi and we were hardly in there anyway. The spa was out of this world. Could of spent a small fortune in there given the chance. I had a facial and body exfoliate and they were by far the best treatments I have ever had in any spa. Also had my bridal hair and make up there, again very nervous but it was all brilliant, to sum it up we had the holiday of a lifetime and I would jump at the chance of going back, but as we have young children probably wont be very soon. Unfortunately I can't say the same for Thomson, they have screwed up big time but this has nothing to do with the Hotel. SORT IT OUT THOMSON.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zoe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, December 10, 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards,
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

First time in Mexico to celebrate our 45th anniversary. Our son surprised us and booked here also to celebrate with us. Soooooo special!!!
Words cannot express the beauty of this resort. We were welcomed into reception and greeted by a cold towel and drink. We were then taken to our swim-up suite which had a couple of issues but were promptly taken care of. The staff at this resort just cannot do enough for you. Everyone from waiters, beach attendants, concierge, housekeeping, bartenders and the activity "kids" were all so sweet and were always asking if everything was ok.
The food was wonderful and our special anniversary dinner on the beach was so beautiful and special. We loved the beach BBQ for breakfast and lunch. What could be better than crepes after lunch right on the beach!!!
We would highly recommend the El Dorado Seaside Suites for that special celebration or just a quiet getaway.
We were so fortunate to meet great, fun people from the UK at our swim-up bar and we surely did drink, laugh and spending time with them surely made this trip even more special!
The resort puts on shows every night and then there is music and dancing at the main bar.
This is not the place if you are looking to party at night as it is very quiet by 11pm but after swimming and being in the sun that turned out to be just perfect for us.
Thank you to Anna on the beach, Jorge our concierge, Martha our housekeeper, Ubaldo the very hardworking bartender at Colibri bar and all the activity "kids"!!
You won't be sorry if you book this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, December 10, 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards,
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

My wife and I chose Seaside Suites as the ideal place to relax on our Honeymoon. We weren't looking for nightclubs, or formal entertainment - we just wanted to sit on the beach, eat a lot of food, and visit some of the local archaeology (Tulum and Coba)

Seaside Suites is utterly perfect if that's what you want. There are no children, the food is superb, the staff are incredibly friendly, and the private beach is gorgeous. Part of our Honeymoon package was a couple's massage, breakfast in bed, and a romantic meal on the beach, and they were really lovely, but the hotel itself was the star. As a workaholic, even I was surprised to find myself completely relaxing into a stress-free, blissful paradise. It's certainly not cheap, and we could only afford a week, but holidaying here was the perfect, intimate start to our marriage.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GregJ82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, December 10, 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards,
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014

We have just returned from a lovely 7 day break here. The hotel and location are absolutely beautiful and the overall experience is very difficult to fault. We found the hotel staff to be very friendly and happy to help and the Thomson reps were also a great help when recommending trips etc… Our room was in the 'Premium Suites' block and having one of the swim up rooms was absolutely amazing- a highly recommended room. Food was delicious and the restaurants all had a lovely ambience.

We would have no hesitation in recommending this wonderful hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank madcatlady14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, December 10, 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards,
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014

First time in Mexico and all inclusive we are normally happy ramblers so the change was welcome lovley hotel very chilled no noise great beach welcomed with a cold towel and cold drink gratful after a 10 hour flight and 1 1/2 hour transfer. Room was lovley jaccuzzi air con (which you are grateful of soooo humid) towel art every day with mini bar re stocked every day.

People work so hard here gardens are well kept beach is raked every evening and sea weed taken out of the sea every day in the morning beds are stripped and replaced with clean sheets daily evening entertainment fab many thanks to Ivan Rodrego Louis Jessica you are such lovley people thanks for sharing your stories with us about you home life hope you al do well.

Food
Breakfast
Ok very amaerican not traditional Mexcian and the end of a 10 day trip was glad to get away from it became boring seems catered to the tourist who goes there i get that but theres only so much eggs benedict thin bacon acrid sausages you can face frist thing in the morning waiter service excellent special thanks to Yridiana Anna Cosme rolando you were so great and attentive.

Food
Resturants
Most are good ala carte best experience Gourmate pub worst the Mexican reason for this was not the food but the attuide of the waiters example my husband wanted to use the bathroom there are not toilets in the resturants you have to go out side being new on site we didn't know this the waiters decided to not tell him where the toilets were and decided to play a game for over 1/2 hour we got the impression that they did not like english people the manager was most rude if i were his manager i would have shown him the door this was also apparent on Mexican night (which is highly reccomended only real mexican food you will get here) as he ignored us for the whole evening talking to every other table apart from ours.

Hotel Reps

Sam and Henrique
thanks for keeping us in our rooms and on site however thanks for not responding to our phone call when the hotel reception tried to call you as we were told by you so many different departure times all we had to go on was the bell boys for coach departures and word of mouth from 5 other couples who had been told by you different information where were you we had a 36 hour delay sent to cancun airport which was shut for 5 1/2 hours before take off with no access to water or food or information ADVICE information from reps are not good check a few days before check out and KEEP CHECKING changes all the time left hand doesn't know what the right hand is doing. OUR EXPERIENCE

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, December 8, 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We also value your feedback as this helps us to improve and keep offering the best experiences.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards,
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014

We booked the el dorado suites for our honeymoon from the first minute we arrived to the minute we left we had the time of our life's.
On arrival you get a welcome drink and cold flannel the check In process was really easy and simple. The bell boys then took us to our premium suite which was amazing really spacious bed was huge jacuzzi and a minibar that was restocked daily.
All the restaurants are really nice we liked the Italian the best but tried them all and didn't have one bad meal throughout our 14 day stay, food at dinner time is also of a high standard a few restaurants are open for lunchtime there is also a beach BBQ and la sandwichre which was really nice.
Room service is also a must for dinner or breakfast really fast delivery never had to wait longer than 30 mins.
The beach was lovely had plenty of beds and nice four poster beds on the beach which were nice for abut of shade. The staff on the beach were very good always polite and also serving drinks whenever you ran out didn't even have to ask for a refill, the beach is kept clean all day as there are a team of guys that work very hard all day to keep the beach clean.
Evening entertainment was good live bands etc fire show on beach which was good.
We went to chicen itza which is definitely worth doing also coco bongo which is a definite you won't regret it.
When we booked through thomson we told them it was our honeymoon and they said we would get all the extras but on arrival the hotel didn't know so take a picture or a copy of your marriage certificate and show this ( we got a photo send over) then you will get loads of extras we got candlelit dinner on the beach, special room service breakfast, spa treatment which was fantastic.

We would like to thank the el dorado suite and all there staff for making our honeymoon so amazing.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, December 10, 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards,
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
22.0 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#59 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
5,391 reviews
0.6 mi away
UNICO 20.87 Hotel Riviera Maya
6.9 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
18.2 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#11 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
15,893 reviews
7.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya

Property: El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya
Address: Km 95 Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Seaside Hotel
El Dorado Seaside Suites Mexico
El Dorado Resort Spa
Hotel El Dorado Seaside
El Dorado Seaside Resort
El Dorado Spa
El Dorado Seaside Mexico
Eldorado Seaside Suites
Eldorado Resort
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing