We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“The Place for romantic vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Place for romantic vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

2nd time there. Met us at the front door with champagne and a wet scented hand towel. Arranged our activities quickly, and pick-up for airport at end of trip arranged right away. Checked us in quickly. Junior suite is way to go...small bungalow in the shade of coconut trees. Looked remodeled, solid furniture, patio view green with ocean in background. Gorgeous well kept grounds with iguanas wandering around. Mexican people as always extremely good natured and pleasant. Tip them well and they go out of their way further...one reason why I like Mexico vacations. Restaurants very good, room service acceptable. Pools, grounds, room service timing, room quality, all excellent.
You can rent a "hidden beach" (nude beach) room or standard. None of this resort is for children. Usually destination weddings there, fun people. Mostly young (30's-40's) but enough our age (50's & older) to be comfortable.
Went to Indiana Joes, which is worth it to zip line and swim in caves. Snorkeled. This is not on site but they transport you. Problem is one van was bad (picked us up with check-engine light on and barely made it back) and we had this happen to us on our first visit...the main problem with this visit. Looks like they are getting new vans but shouldn't take you out if van is limping. Activities such as para-sailing, fishing etc are at a different hotel, not far but just a little inconvenient. You can rent small boats/canoes at seaside. Also, it is about 75 minutes from airport...not as bad as all that since they have cervesa in the transport van, can arrive a little drunk already.
Beach is pretty. Sand is a little gritty for bare feet, shallow, and some rocks. Stays shallow for quite a distance.
The quaint beauty of this resort is hard to beat. There are many beach hotels but most seem "generic" hotels...this is unique and meant for romantic trips. Grounds are impeccable and shaded completely by coconut trees.

Room Tip: Junior suites are fine. There is a hotel but not as quaint. Some suites have swim outs, their own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank epatmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,600
    1,362
    468
    210
    138
See reviews for
186
5,229
39
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,951)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

From start to finish an excellent holiday. The flights there and back on the Dreamliner were very comfortable and didn't feel like long haul flights. The Premium Suite room was fantastic with huge comfortable bed, jacuzzi and a free mini bar! The rooms were kept very clean and linen could be changed daily if required. The food in the restaurants was excellent and the service was first class with very personable waiters. We spent most of our days at the pool by the Premium Suites (Garcitas), which had fantastic bar staff Fredy, Anna & Margarita. They provided lovely salads and sandwiches at lunch, but if you required something more substantial the Sandwicherie had equally good food. Can't fault anything about this hotel and would love to go back someday.

Room Tip: From discussions with other guests, all room types were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

I came to this resort for my cousin's wedding along with about 40 others in the group. The food was amazing! The entertainment was Excellente! Accommodations were fantastic Loved the Cali King bed! The staff was always very friendly, always acknowledging each guest with a smile and Hola! It was apparent that this resort really takes care of their employees, because they all seemed very happy and willing to provide amazing service.

Only downfall that I saw was the servers on the beach were somewhat slow and quite often missing in action.

This is probably not the greatest resort if all you want to do is sleep and read in peace. Tons of activities day and night. Live music, shows, and even karaoke! I don't think I've ever danced, smiled or laughed so much in my lifetime!

Highly recommend this resort for anyone that wants to have fun!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
9 Thank Wally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

This a lovely place on the beach in Mexico. However as the average price for 2 weeks with flights is 3.5k I expected more. I stayed in the premium block on the top floor. The view was great and the room very nice. We found the jacuzzi to be a bit of a gimmick as prefer to shower in the hot weather.

Breakfast was best in the verde restaurant. Lunch best at the barbecue area next to the beach.

We had a wide variety of dinner experiences some very average - the candlelight dinner, which we got free by going to the comical time share presentation, but should have been 175 dollars, looked lovely but the food quality was poor. If I had paid any money for it I would have been fuming. The worst meals were in the Asian an Mexican - the food tastes like it was bought from Iceland! The best the gourmet pub.

The wine list issue was very irritating as we only found out about the GI wine list 2 days before we left! We both had poor steaks in casa Mia which we had to pay extra for and complained about because they were fatty and very thin! The steak at tgi Fridays on the airport was much better and a similar price to the supplement!

The staff were very attentive and waiter drink service on the beach was great. The 'it's my pleasure' standard response however started to do my head in after a week.

The bus services up and down the highway are excellent and very cheap.
This review sounds quite negative but overall we enjoyed our time.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank indianpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

After a comfortable flight on the Dreamliner we arrived via private transfer at a very special location indeed. We opted for a swim up room which met all our expectations.

Staff we truly wonderful smiley and easy to approach if anything was needed. Room service was lovely and included in the price, availability was 24hrs. We tended to have breakfast at aricifes indoor, buffet with everything you could wish for, including freshly made eggs or omelettes to order with various fillings, every bread, muffin bagel you could want, fruit was plentiful and a chocolate fountain as well! The grill was lovely, however personally we found the Mexican disappointing, many enjoyed the Asian, especially sushi lovers.

Pools were mostly clean and grounds were spotless. Swim up bars we good although it spoiled it when we were unable to use them if a wedding party was taking place ( a little unfair).

To note,,, Some swim up do NOT get all day sunshine.
All tilled flooring can be slippy, beware.!,
Take your own tea bags
It's true on previous reviews, no steaks unless paying more.
White wine 'dreadful', opt for sparkling, red is ok.

All above points did not spoil a fab holiday. We hope to return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jo m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We travelled on the dream liner , premium seats , but more space , free booze rubbish food . Worth the money. We had a swim up room in the premium suits , it was lovely with no problems, even if somewhat ugly from the outside.

We travel all inclusive where possible , this is the best all inclusive as far as food and beverage goes , all restaurants a la carte , beautifully served , excellent food , we had no issues with the house wine . And here sits my first gripe , and it's no fault of the hotel . . Why is it that when the food is beautifully served in lovely surroundings that some guests ignore the dress codes , hats , trainers, beachwear (in the evening) , so disrespectful and rude . And a severe lack of table manners , please and thank you !!!

It is true sun beds are reserved early , the reason is simple , the hotel accommodates 950 guests , there are three pools , each accommodating between 30-40 sun beds , the remainder on the beach therefore are all required , there is not enough and therefore get reserved , some mornings at 5.30 , all gone by 7.00 . The sun beds on beach are in a state and need repairing , the beach is narrow and def not as depicted in pictures on website.

This hotel is sold as exclusive and romantic , it is neither . We usually avoid hotel entertainment , but we did hear the twerking competition from our room !! REALLY .

I think this is false advertising re this hotel, good old thomson.

The staff are incredible and helpful and we had no issues .
We had a lovely trip ,but we won't return for reasons given and would not recommend.

Room Tip: Premium swim up rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank somelikeithotDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

This is a wonderful hotel! My boyfriend and i had been told that the Karisma group were excellent but we were completely overwhelmed by exactly how friendly and lovely the service was. Nothing was too much trouble, the food was amazing and the trips excellent. I couldn't recommend it more highly, we would definitely return.....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
21.6 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#54 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 3,624 reviews
7.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
18.1 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#15 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 13,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
El Dorado Seaside Suites
El Dorado Seaside Suites
#124 of 378 in Riviera Maya
4.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
4.8 mi away
Catalonia Royal Tulum
22.3 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 2,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Property: Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Address: Km 95 Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly El Dorado Seaside Suites)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Seaside Hotel
El Dorado Seaside Suites Mexico
El Dorado Resort Spa
Hotel El Dorado Seaside
El Dorado Seaside Resort
El Dorado Spa
El Dorado Seaside Mexico
Eldorado Seaside Suites
Eldorado Resort
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing