We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya
Nearby Hotels
Barcelo Maya Beach(Puerto Aventuras)
$238
$195
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
$307
$213
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Maya Palace(Puerto Aventuras)
$330
$289
Barcelo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Maya Tropical(Puerto Aventuras)
$238
$183
Barcelo.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Maya Colonial(Puerto Aventuras)
$238
$183
Barcelo.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Maya Caribe(Puerto Aventuras)
$238
$200
Barcelo.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya(Puerto Aventuras)
$425
$376
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$487
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coral Maya(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
$139
$124
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (9,124)
Filter reviews
9,124 results
Traveler rating
6,444
1,733
547
239
161
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6,444
1,733
547
239
161
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgourmet pubseaside suitesbeach bedsklay talayswim up roompersonal conciergeseaside marketmain barour honeymoonpremium blockroom servicenaay spaguacamayas barhidden beachfour posterjacuzzi bathswim up bar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5,079 - 5,084 of 9,124 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2014

This place is great! My wife and I vacationed here for our honeymoon last summer (2013). The entire trip was very romantic and relaxing. We loved every minute of this resort. I would recommend booking through Beach Bum Vacations. Ask for Rachel Dillow. Shes the best!

Room Tip: We upgraded to the honeymoon suit which has your own porch with chairs to layout. This room backed up to one of the pools, which had a swim up bar. I highly recommend this room!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We spent Christmas and New Year at the El Dorado Seaside Suites and had a fabulous time. The staff are exceptional, always friendly and provide excellent service in the restaurants and maintain a high standard of cleanliness throughout the resort.
Transfer from the airport is a bit of a drag and in hindsight it would have been worth getting a taxi, but once you arrive the staff are welcoming and the rooms spotless. We had upgraded to the premium rooms and had asked for a high floor room. The quality of the furnishings and the decor was excellent and because of the high floor we had an unobstructed view of the sea. The room was kept spotless and the stocks of drinks, tea, coffee and toiletries was always topped up on a daily basis.
We tended to spend most of the day by the lap pool which was quieter and always had sunbeds whatever time you arrived. The waitresses from the bar were constantly circulating and kept up a constant supply of drinks, coffee and water.
We found the food excellent in the Vida Grill. the Italian, the Mexican and the Gourmet Pub. The choice was excellent with quality and service faultless. We tried the Asian and the "International" restaurants but found them poor with food served lukewarm on cold plates. Couldn't understand why its excellent in 4 of the restaurants and so poor in the other two. I love asian food but couldn't work out why the pork dish had cubes of what appeared to be precooked pork in a watery sauce. The "International" restaurant is really another Italian restaurant though the quality does not compare with the Mia Casa Italian.
The Christmas and New Year celebrations were quite low key though this did not bother my wife and I as we had good food and a great evening.
We did a trip to Chichen Itzia through Thomsons which was excellent. I am not a lover of organised tours but this one was well organised, the tour guide knowledgeable and overall we had a great day.
This was a great relaxing holiday and I would go back to EDSS.
Finally when you leave I have to give credit to the Thomson's rep on the coach who talked everybody through the departure sequence at Cancun airport. Due to him everyone had the right paperwork in the right order. From getting to the check in desk queue, through security to airside took 10mins, well done Thomson's.

Room Tip: If you want a sea view go for the 5th floor in the premium rooms.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank csjep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Been to Mexico a few times now and first time here. Great All Around experience.

We went with Sunwing Vacations and they did fine to support our needs. We did NOT take the bus from the airport that is supplied. We chose to do a private shuttle and it was so worth it. Got to the resort in an hour exactly. The bus may take you in excess of two hours with stops to other resorts.

Resort was very well kept and not very big where you need to be shuttled around by golf cart like other resorts.

Food at all restaurants was outstanding. All sit down restaurants with no buffet available (only in the morning).

Bars are great with a great selection of liquor and 5 different types of beer as well. Most resorts have the standard Dos Equis and that's it.

Beach kinda small but whatever.

Rooms were great too. We were in the Premium section. Get a high floor for best view. Bed was heaven to sleep in. First time we ever said that at a Mexican resort. The A/C in the room was top notch. Even had to turn it off some parts of the day cause it was too cold?!?! Another first for Mexico.

Pools are nice with not the college frat house party atmosphere that other pools may have (man, that makes me sound old) Still, lively with music. They do need some new music to play though, very repetitive.

Lots of Canadians and Brits there, sadly the few Americans that were there were obnoxious and felt like they owned the place. I love our friends in the US but these were a bad batch of them. It was well noted too that others noticed this. Made for talk that made US citizens look bad.

Did an day trip to Xel-Ha. Well worth it. Third time we have been there. Swim with Dolphins.

Had an afternoon of shopping to on 5th Ave. Good shops and nice thing to do for 3 hours or so. Took a taxi and it cost $25USD. find another couple to share a cab ride with you there and back and save some $$$

They take great pride at El Dorado to make sure that your resort experience is truly memorable for all the right reasons.

We would surely return IF we can get the same deal we booked this trip for.

Room Tip: Premium Room, high floor.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank tuptup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

My husband and I and another couple stayed here Jan 20 to Jan 31. I have been to a few resorts and El Dorado Seaside Suites is now my favorite!! The resort itself is the perfect size and a beautiful. The canopy of trees gives it an intimate feeling and it's lovely to walk through during the day. Very pretty. The resort is nicely lit up at night as well.

Room - We stayed in the premier building. The room is very large, very clean with everything you need. The spa bathroom is lovely.

Food - Amazing. That sums it up. There is so much to choose from, and the presentation is beautiful. Have fun with this, try new things. You won't be disappointed! You must try the lunch bbq, always a great selection.

Beach - not your typical "beach". It is narrow, but offers beautiful views and snorkeling right there. There are beach beds and loungers.

Activities - I had read some reviews that say there is nothing to do at night. This is NOT the case. We attended shows, themed dinners on the beach, and enjoyed live bands. Most were very good. During the day, there are several activities going on in different areas. There are boards throughout that will have these posted. The entertainment staff work hard to include everyone and ensure a great time!!!

Staff - The staff is what sets this place apart from the rest. They are welcoming, friendly and work very hard to make your stay special. We had a mix up with our room service one morning (no big deal, it happens), that evening we were sent champagne and desserts to make up for it. I was blown away!! I want to give a special mention to Gracelia and Miguel at the premium pool. They were the reason this became our favorite spot. They felt like great friends by the time we left. Guadalupe in housekeeping kept me entertained with the towel art i found each day! Thank you!! Seth at the Italian restaurant was fantastic. There are so many great staff members that stick out, unfortunately I am terrible with names.

The only complaint i have is the towel game. This has nothing to do with staff or the resort itself. In order to get on the beach, be prepared to be up early for the mad dash. By 6:30 am beds and loungers are almost full with towels. Same goes for the pool. Now if this isn't bad enough, then you can sit and watch a lot of these sit empty all day long. ALL DAY LONG! People, if your not going to be on using these seats until 4 pm, don't save them. It's obnoxious and rude. We did remove towels to let other guests use chairs that were still empty at 4 pm. As well, you cannot possibly lay on a bed and sit in a lounger at the same time. Why are people saving both? Please have courtesy for other guests.

We will definitely be returning to this resort. It exceeded my expectations in every department. It truly was our best vacation yet!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Sharrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We have returned from yet another fabulous week at our favourite resort. We are never disappointed when we are here, it is the most relaxing resort we have ever been to. The staff of course are just the best- all so nice and helpful, nothing is too much trouble for them. We were in the premium suites this time and I must say I was a little uneasy since the last time we were there this area was just being built and to be honest it did nothing for me. Well, was I wrong to even judge the place before it was finished - it is so beautiful and private. We are really beach people but I can tell you that we did not spend one day on the beach other than our daily walk. We totally enjoyed the pool area and hope to stay in that area again. The lunches at this area were really awesome and convenient, but of course we did go to the Sandwicherie and Vida Garden for lunch also. We like all of the restaurants for dinner and have never had any complaints about the food or drinks. I do agree with the other reviewers that if there really is a policy for long pants in the restaurants (or at least dress shorts) then it should be adhered to, we always come prepared to dress up for dinner every nite - its such a gorgeous atmosphere, why not. We play tennis every morning and then look forward to the rest of the day - what more could you want. We will miss Augustine at the bar in Vida Garden, Graciela at our pool bar, Oscar at Sandwicherie and Cynthia at the front desk. We didn't make it to the spa this time but we are for sure coming back and the spa will be on our list.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 2,687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews