We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel with some minor irritations.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed here for 7 nights after completing the 7 night Yucatan Explorer tour with Thomsons. Our welcome by the smiling staff to this hotel was great – although our room wasn’t ready when we arrived we went to have lunch and our key was waiting when we got back to reception. This is where it started to go wrong – our key wouldn’t work, so we had to keep returning to reception to try and get access to our room. The problem was never fully resolved; we just learned that if you jiggled the key a bit we could generally get in eventually. Our room when we did get in was really nice with a seating area, bedroom with jacuzzi and balcony.

The hotel grounds and pools were nicely laid out but did seem a bit crowded with very little open spaces. The four poster sun beds by the pools were really comfy and available to all on a first come first served basis, but we managed to get one most days at the quieter pool near to the reception area.

The novelty of having all ‘a la carte’ restaurants rather than buffets was excellent and made the holiday seem really special. Unfortunately, my husband was stricken by the Mexican tummy on our 2nd day and didn’t recover before we left so we didn’t really take full advantage of them. Not sure if he picked up the bug here or on our earlier tour. The all inclusive drinks were excellent and covered all branded drinks and cocktails. The bar staff were really attentive and the wait staff came round the pool offering drinks and nibbles all day with a smile.

Sometimes the restaurant service was good and sometimes very bad, we walked out of the Italian restaurant after waiting 45 minutes for someone to take our dessert order.

The only other gripe we had was we never could find out what entertainment was going on and where. I think they could do with some kind of leaflet or notice board with a list of events and venues.

Overall, I would recommend the hotel but only for a week at a time as we got a bit bored after that.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cruise_kitty_44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We also appreciate your feedback as this helps us to improve and keep offering the best experiences.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (8,557)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,571 - 4,577 of 8,557 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

This is a late review due to moving home and Christmas. The whole stay was great. The room, food, weather and the staff are brilliant. Nothing was too small to deal with, the staff always had a smile, they go out of their way to help. The location is great. We travel a lot and here you are made to feel special. This is our 15th visit to the Caribbean, my wife and I have said the best in the area. We have seen bad reviews for here. We're those holiday makers at the same hotel that ye stayed at? I fully recommend a visit. Although it does make a difference the time of year that you go due to weather. So choose wisely the time of year, not the cheap time in their bad weather time. It was a great holiday.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tazjocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

I recently became a member of Exotic Travelers. This stay was the first time to use my membership. Our stay was flawless. The room was a swim out suite with a jacuzzi indoors overlooking the private pool. Our room was lovely! Can't beat the 24 hr room service. The beach was amazing. Plenty of cabanas, plus our own private cabana. There were servers everywhere! I was offered drinks in the private pool as well as on the beach. Exotic travelers held a special welcome dinner for members which included mariachis. We enjoyed the restaurants, but not quite as much as El Dorado Royale. The Italian restaurant was my favorite, didn't care much for the Mexican restaurant. Lunch was by far the most amazing meal. They prepared different food on the beach, from paella one day, to BBQ another. I didn't partake much in the activities, mainly bc I went after the peak season (late August). I hope to go again during the same time. Felt like a personal paradise.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnyssaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

My partner and I went to El Dorado Seaside Suites in September/October 2013, and I have to say that I was extremely impressed. Our room, a swim up, was fantastic, even with the pool and bar just outside it was quiet at night, and relaxing during the day. All services were fantastic, particularly the men on the beach who handed out snorkels, and of course the food! In two weeks we left the resort only 3 times for organised trips. Overall an incredible holiday, and have recommended this resort to family and friends, and hopefully will be visiting again soon!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lenks92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

Haven't been to many all inclusive resorts but this place was worth the money paid especially for peak season. Me and my boyfriend went from December 28th 2013 to January 4th, 2014. The Staff was super friendly and went out of their way to serve us. Did not feel like I had to leave the resort to do any activities as there was plenty to do and a great atmosphere to relax in if one did not want to do anything. We did book some trips through the hotel and had a blast on big excursions. Plenty of restaurants to eat at for dinner and the dress code was not off putting in any way which I thought it would be. Room service rocked and it was overall a wonderful experience(;

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
8  Thank kaaviles2384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We also appreciate your feedback as this helps us to improve and keep offering the best experiences.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We visited the Eldorado Seaside Suites for our honeymoon and my birthday. It was amazing! beautiful beach, hotel, and the food was the best we have ever had while traveling. The service was top notch and everyone was very friendly. We would travel back here in a heart beat and have recommended it to our friends and family.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Where do I start, the accommodation was excellent, the food was awesome apart from the Thai restaurant which was a bit slow with service but, the mexican was brilliant and Nelson the waiter could not do enough for us! The Italian restaurant had an amazing house red wine, all in all the food was great. The beach was average towards the main hotel reception but further south away from the reception the beach was beautiful. The spa facilities were excellent too with full use of the gym at no extra charge. The staff at this hotel were more than helpful and they helped me to set up an evening to propose to my now fiancée which will always be remembered. There's only 2things which I would class as gripes, first being the hotel was still putting the finishing touches to the new accommodation which caused a bit of noise but not major and if they ask you to go to the office for an exclusive offer on accommodation for future holidays politely decline! We will be going back soon to this amazing place.

Room Tip: Do not be put off by getting a suite although cheaper in my opinion better than a swim up room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Baller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.5 mi away
UNICO 20.87 Hotel Riviera Maya
4.8 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
22.0 mi away
Maria Del Mar Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
El Dorado Seaside Suites
El Dorado Seaside Suites
#56 of 392 in Riviera Maya
1,264 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma
Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma
#1 of 455 in Riviera Maya
716 reviews
4.6 mi away
Joy Tulum
Joy Tulum
#57 of 98 in Tulum
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya

Address: Km 95 Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range: $333 - $1,032 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Seaside Hotel
El Dorado Seaside Suites Mexico
El Dorado Resort Spa
Hotel El Dorado Seaside
El Dorado Seaside Resort
El Dorado Spa
El Dorado Seaside Mexico
Eldorado Seaside Suites
Eldorado Resort
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing