We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (9,108)
Filter reviews
9,108 results
Traveler rating
6,430
1,731
547
239
161
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6,430
1,731
547
239
161
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgourmet pubseaside suitesbeach bedsklay talayswim up roompersonal conciergeseaside marketmain barour honeymoonpremium blockroom servicenaay spaguacamayas barhidden beachfour posterjacuzzi bathswim up bar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5,235 - 5,240 of 9,108 reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We have been to EDSS 4 years in a row and it has been the most perfect peaceful holiday resort. We were so impressed that two years ago we became Exotic Members. Sadly, this year our holiday was a huge disappointment. The main disjoint appeared to be in reception where we encountered numerous problems.

On the positive side EDSS is a very pretty resort; the food is excellent, as are the catering staff, waiters, cleaners and gardeners and these staff try to ensure you enjoy your stay. However I cannot include the reception staff, the concierges or the butlers in this category. None seem to be able to handle problems or requests efficiently; even the simplest requests seemed beyond their grasp.

I can see that the reviews for the hotel are generally excellent and perhaps we may have just been the couple that turned up on the wrong day. Our problems started at check in and continued throughout our stay, it took us 4 days to secure an ocean front room with a balcony that allowed us both to sit comfortably.

As returning guests we saw a great many changes this year, EDSS had set a standard that was extremely high, and probably one that we and others had come to expect, this year they struggled to attain medium to low standards.

The resort has changed mainly due to the construction of a block containing what they describe as premium rooms, ok if you like sterile hotel type room, this block is set behind the existing garden/ocean front rooms. This block is 6 storey’s high with approximately 13 rooms to a floor, therefore the resort is now catering for aprox 140 more guests. The only addition to the existing facilities is a new restaurant/pub and an entertainment room that resembles a village hall. The once quiet beach is packed; the once romantic and beautiful beach bar is a busy, shabby area with a few well worn and soiled seats. The restaurants are busy with many sittings and on occasions you cannot secure a table unless you book well in advance. At one sitting we were given wine glasses that were removed from the table of the couple sitting next to us, they were shocked and so were we!

If you are a returning guest do not expect EDSS to have remained unchanged, it is no longer the exclusive, romantic holiday destination that it once was. Also if you incur problems do not expect to get them resolved, or matters followed up. We felt as if we were invisible, and on check out we were the only couple that were not asked to fill in a satisfaction survey...I wonder why?

Room Tip: According to reception you cannot request rooms!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank 471joany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2016

Dear Guest,

We want to thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we want to assure you that all your comments are welcomed and a key part of the improvement of our resort. We are truly sorry to hear you experienced any inconvenience during your stay, we are a 5 star rated resort so we are disheartened to hear your recent stay was not reflecting it.

We would like to invite you to contact our Head of Customer Services at customerservices@karismamexico.com so that we can review your feedback together and to assure you this is not the standard of our hotel, we will be glad to host you again in our hotel or any resort by Karisma to surpass any past experience.


Best Regards,
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
adurre@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Just come back from a fantastic 2 weeks at the El Dorado Seaside Suites. A fabulous hotel, beautiful gardens, lovely suites (we had a premium suite in the new block towards the back of the hotel - a bit more private than the older suites), delicious food in all of the restaurants (the Mexican and Italian were our favourites). The staff are all so friendly and the service was brilliant. The spa is well worth a visit - a bit pricey, but worth every penny. This is a great hotel with lots to offer for all ages - you can get involved in the activities or just laze around by the quiet pool and won't be disturbed. There are plenty of bars around the hotel, all serving lovely cocktails as well as branded spirits (all inclusive, so no extra charges). We had no problem with anything going missing from the room, but we did keep everything locked away in the safe. There are some great local trips to do - worth getting taxis and doing the trips independently rather than paying the high prices for the hotel/Thomson organised trips.

Room Tip: The newer block of premium suites are lovely and more private than the older suites
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank holiday-junkee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

we have stayed at many resorts in mexico, some were great, some not. this resort is very good in most areas that others fail at, and at the same time it needs to get its act together.
first the good points-. the food was some of the best food I have ever had at any resort anywhere. the cooks were chefs, and cared about every plate that went out to the tables. the quality of the food was excellent.
the staff was very well trained, and cared about happiness. if you had a problem or need, they went out of their way to assist or remedy the problem no matter what it was. there were concieres at every set of buildings to assist you.
the grounds were pristine. the flora was expertly maintained and beautiful. the rooms were spotless. the maids here seem to spend more time per room than at other places. the friges were well stocked every day. once they found out your preferences, they took care of it after that. we had a problem with our swim up room, reported it, and the mgt. upgraded us to the premium swim up rooms. this upgrade was the thing that made our vacation great, the premium rooms are the way to go, they are worth the extra money.
the restaurants were all top of the line except for one, we ate at the oriental restaurant and with the exception of the sushi, which was perfect, no one ate their dinners, the food was not good. we ordered room service after we got back to the room. the Italian, Mexican and the pub was simply great in service and food, and best of all, you don't need to wear long pants if you don't want to.
now the bad.- stupid towel cards. when we go to an upscale resort, we won't steal your towels. the beach was not one of their best points. there was no room on that small beach for hundreds of people. there were the beds that were almost on top of each other. the resort needs to eliminate the congestion in that area, and remove some of the beds that take up the most room. there were not enough lounge chairs for the amount of people there. we got out a few minutes after six am. and almost didn't get a place to sit for the day.
the '' ocean view rooms",- were anything but ocean view. their view was blocked by palm trees and the beds on the beach directly in front of them, also they are the oldest rooms on the property. some resorts have fresh towels and cold water stationed around the pools and beach this is something this resort should look into doing.
the pools-- all the swim up rooms had a small pool to swim in, with a swim up bar in each pool. there were two bigger pools on the property, one was the activities pool, and one over by the "hidden resort", which was a nude resort adjacent to the el dorado. the premium rooms had their own pool with bar and snack bar that had awesome sandwiches. again, these rooms are worth the added expense.
the staff was first class, but appeared to be overworked. the resort needs more the 3 or 4 waiters on the beach. the restaurant waiters had too many tables to wait on. this resort needs to hire more staff. note- even being short staffed, the wait staff did a great job, but not as good as other resorts.
now for the million dollar question, would I go back. I would only go back if I could stay in the premium swim up room section. I would not stay in the other rooms that are available. the food was a selling point for this resort. the beach was a mixed point for me, good snorkeling if you went out far enough, great sandy beach but small, too crowded. I don't know if I would stay here again. thanks.

Room Tip: stay in the premium swim up rooms
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank clevelandnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We also value your feedback as this helps us to improve and keep offering the best experiences.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
aduerre@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

we stayed for a week, following the yuctan explorer tour.This was our second visit to sea side suites, we have also stayed at the royale in between and prefer the smaller hotel. yes the hotel has expaned , but we never felt crowded and service was as friendly as ever. only waited for a table once and wating in the bar with a free drink for 15 mins is no hardship., The only dispointment we had was the new restaraunt-it does not seem to have found its identity yet, but I am sure these teething problems will be ironed out.
no problems finding beds by either the pool or on the beach. all the staff deserve thanks for the excellent service they provide.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JDC59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 10 nights in October (should have been 11 nights, but we were majorly delayed with our Thomson flight, but that's a different story!)

Whilst this hotel wasn't perfect, I truly wonder whether anywhere really is? We have stayed in all-inclusives in the Maldives, Egypt, morocco and turkey, and I truly have to say this is the best all inclusive stay we have had. I think the staff make this hotel, nothing is too much trouble, and they go above and beyond what is expected!

We had a standard suite, it was fine, no issues, the food was good, Arrecifes was our favourite for breakfast, Gasper and Encardacion providing great service everyday. Our favourite evening restaurant has to be the gourmet pub, we went twice, and as well as being great food, the service was faultless, Jonathan and Luis were very informative and friendly. Whilst we liked the food at the Italian, we found the service really slow both times we went (and we went early when only about 3 other tables present). Hector from the Mexican gave brilliant service, and does a mean flambé Mexican coffee!

We didn't do any Thomson trips, we walked to the highway and got the collective to Tulum beach, Akumal beach (amazing sea turtles, what a highlight!) and LabHa Na for cenotes.

Whilst we would love to go back, unfortunately Thomson has a monopoly on this hotel in the UK, and I will never travel with them again, so whilst I would love to return, and would have no hesitation recommending it to others, unless they allocate rooms to other UK tour operators we probably won't return.

To sum up, this is a great resort, the staff make it, and there's lots of little touches that personally, I feel elevate this resort above other all inclusives, LOVED IT!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nicki_D987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews