We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Had a few problems initially but can I say this did not impact anyway on our return visit, if you do have problems contact your conceirge or Enrique Olivera Vega the resident manager who instantly will sort every thing out. We stayed from 1 Sept to 14 Sept 2013. First concerns was the new build and the impact on services although the new block is not for us and prefer the original three storey blocks. Noticeable changes from previous stays were the Vida restaurant no fruit or yoghurt self service, heavy mugs instead of cups and saucers, plastic beakers instead of glass, not for us but perhaps that is economics. My partner has real problems walking and his leg gives way without warning so can't walk far, this was eventually sorted out for him. That is enough negatives. The food here is exceptionally good, our favourites the Vida for breakfast and lunch, we are not pizza or burger fans which are available in the sandwichere and are gourmet type. The Italian we loved as on previous visits. They have recently opened a new Tapas bar, out of this world! The Asian serves the best Sushi I have ever tasted, note my partner won't eat sushi that's why I say I. Drinks at the bars are all named brands, we didn't have to name them they gave us top quality every time. We love the rooms, spacious, massive beds, maid service with towel art every day, thank you Veronica room 2614 , wanted to see you before we left but didn't get the chance. Beach as improved since last visit, lot more beds but still not overcrowded. Conservation high on the agenda at this resort and it shows, immaculate grounds, coconut nurseries all around, just superb. A highlight for us was dinner on the beach in the palm tree overlooking the sea, the weather was a little kinder that night, just magical. The spa we didn't use although we had a free pass, but it was tranquil just to walk round. Wonderful feeling hearing staff shouting 'I remember you' and giving you hugs. Massive thank you to our concierge Copelia for making Eric's 70th birthday so very special, it meant so much to me I could go on and on about EDDS, but if it is quality you want and not quantity this is heaven sent. As promised we will be back because we love the staff and the Mayan people are very special to us. Thank you once again all the staff and Enrique Olivera Vega , see you soon. Xx Anne Shard and Eric Skillander x

Stayed: September 2013
10  Thank nomqd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (8,415)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,712 - 4,718 of 8,415 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2013

Had a great time at this lovely hotel even though the weather was not brilliant.
The flight from Manchester on the Dreamliner was without a shadow of a doubt the best flight we have ever experienced.
The hotel is lovely, the grounds are beautiful and the Staff work very hard to keep them looking like that. In fact all the staff work very hard and are so friendly and helpful. Special thanks to our Butler Hector, nothing was too much trouble for this lovely man. Also thanks to Carlos and Edgar for all their help in making our holiday so special.
The food was excellent, our favourite restaurants were The Italian and the new Gastro Pub, we also enjoyed lunch at the swim up bar in the new block.
Our room was great on the 5th floor of the new block, very spacious and fantastic view.
All in all a great holiday made even more special by meeting Debbie & Steve from Oklahoma, and hopefully we will meet again.
I definitely recommend this hotel, i cant believe some of the bad comments that people put on here, all i can say is they must be really hard to please!

Room Tip: Loved the new block, views from top floor are great, we stayed in Room 609.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Latticed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We travelled to El Dorado Seaside Suites on 26th August 2013 and stayed for 2 weeks. Our first impressions of the hotel were great, the hotel grounds are very well maintained with lots of tropicals plants and palm trees.

Room - Large with a huge four poster bed which was very comfortable. The jacuzzi tub in the room was also a nice touch. Nice bathroom with a large shower cubicle. The air conditioning in the room was noisy and there was a damp smell however it is the Caribbean and it was very rainy whilst we were there.

Beach & Pools - The beach was very nice with plenty of loungers. We preferred to stay on the quieter side of the beach where we could always get a double lounger and beds in the sun in front, beds were never an issue so we never felt bad about taking two lots as there were plenty of empty beds around us. The pools were quite busy and hard to get a lounger. The main pool next to Arrecifes Restaurant was always quite noisy with lots of activities however you can steer clear if this is not your thing, plenty of other places to chill out.

Bars - Plenty of bars in the resort, the main bar always had some form of entertainment on and there was a quieter bar that shut at 11. There was also a beach waitress service that was very good. The quality of the drinks were great with branded alcohol.

Restaurants - This is definitely the best part of this hotel. The food was absolutely amazing especially in the evenings. Breakfast at Arrecifes was great with a small buffet and made to order items. Lunch in the Sandwicherie was good with burgers, burritos and lovely pizzas. Lunch in La Vida was also great and slightly fancier. The food for dinner in every restaurant was absolutely faultless, our favourites were new Gourmet Pub with international tapas which was out of this world and the Italian which offered gourmet italian food, absolutely gorgeous.

Staff - The staff were all so friendly and could not do enough for you. It was nice when they went out their way to remember your names and previous orders.

Spa - The spa is great, very modern. We had a couples massage and the hyrdotherapy treatment which both were very relaxing.

The hotel is around 25 minutes from Playa Del Carmen which is nice to get out and about. You can get the local collectivo bus or a taxi. There are some bars and restaurants in Playa Del Carmen but the hotel has everything you need. We travelled to Coco Bongos on a trip arranged in the hotel which was a great night and would highly recommend going.

Overall, we couldnt have asked for a better holiday and believe that it is fantastic value for money for the standard you receive. We would definitely return and recommend to everyone we know!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rachaelx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2016

ear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We also appreciate your feedback as this helps us to improve and keep offering the best experiences.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Nothing is too much trouble for any member of staff. Had10 amazing nights here and eat in all gourmet restaurants. Was not let down by anything.
One bit of advice is don't go the presentation on there loyalty club, it's 90 mins of my holiday I won't get back.
This is a top hotel and well worth every penny.

Room Tip: We had a standard room which is still well above average so save your money for exertions and tips.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2016

ear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We also appreciate your feedback as this helps us to improve and keep offering the best experiences.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Amazing honeymoon experience, just hope the new 'Hotel' complex hasn’t spoilt this idyllic honeymoon retreat.
Perfect in every way, we had an amazing two week honeymoon and couldn’t have asked for anything more. The 'Hotel' was in the final stages of erection whilst we were there but didn’t distract from our stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank v3ece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2016

ear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We also appreciate your feedback as this helps us to improve and keep offering the best experiences.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We just returned from our fourth stay at this wonderful resort (Sept. 6-13) and had a great time even though we had some rain every day. We last visited 3 months ago when we had 10 days with no rain, but this trip was just to de-stress and relax so the rain did not affect our trip.

We tried all the restaurants including the new Gastro Pub and loved every meal. We usually eat between 6:30 and 7:00 PM and were always seated immediately with no wait. We also took advantage of room service which was delivered within 20 – 30 minutes and was hot and delicious. We did miss having lunch at the Sandwicherie and the Beach BBQ as they were closed most days due to the rain.

The spa was fabulous as usual and a great place to spend a rainy day. I tried the hot stone massage for the first time, but it won’t be the last time. It was such a relaxing massage after having a deep tissue massage. The water journey is always a treat and shouldn’t be missed.

We would like to thank our butler, Edgar Rivera, who did a fabulous job again. We would also like to thank Carlos Herrrera and Crystal Sandy who were great hosts for another wonderful Exotic Gala, besides always being so hospitable and accommodating.
Thanks also go to our favorite bartender, William. We were so happy to have him at the swim-up bar at the activities pool this trip.

A special hello and thanks to Pat and Mike from the UK. We truly enjoyed meeting you and loved the time we spent together at dinner and just talking. Hopefully we can meet up again soon!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SoonerLover_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2016

ear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We also appreciate your feedback as this helps us to improve and keep offering the best experiences.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The service we received at this resort is the best I have received anywhere in the world. The weather wasn't the best but you take that chance this time of year, that being said the service and food alone mean we will be re-booking next year.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank jayone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2016

ear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We also appreciate your feedback as this helps us to improve and keep offering the best experiences.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.7 mi away
UNICO 20.87 Hotel Riviera Maya
4.8 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
21.9 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#60 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
2.1 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
3.3 mi away
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Palace
#6 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
7,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya

Address: Km 95 Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range: $328 - $932 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Seaside Hotel
El Dorado Seaside Suites Mexico
El Dorado Resort Spa
Hotel El Dorado Seaside
El Dorado Seaside Resort
El Dorado Spa
El Dorado Seaside Mexico
Eldorado Seaside Suites
Eldorado Resort
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing