We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Above expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Above expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We just got back from our honeymoon and definitely will go back again. The service there was outstanding. We were well looked after and they made everything possible to make us feel special. We had beachfront room which was in a great location. SPA experience was just incredible and worth recommending. Food quality brilliant. Could not ask for more. Thank you to all the staff to make us very welcome.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anna Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, December 19, 2016
ear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We also appreciate your feedback as this helps us to improve and keep offering the best experiences.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,358
    1,526
    508
    226
    148
See reviews for
218
6,107
46
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,240)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We just returned from a week at El Dorado Seaside Suites. It was very nice and I would especially comment on the courteous and friendly staff. There were plenty of opportunities to participate in group activities so it was easy to get to know other guests. The bars were very will stocked and probably the best I've seen so far for an all-inclusive. The rooms were lovely with beds that I wanted to pack and bring home with me. I will say that beach space is a bit cramped where the chairs are, but I loved the fact that there was a long unspoiled beach where you could walk for a long way. Meals were ok, the new tapas restaurant was by far the best and the Italian was second. Breakfast was pretty much the same every day and lunch never bowled us over. The evening entertainment was always good. I would recommend the Lomas shuttle to and from the airport. It was inexpensive and quick. We used the public shuttle service several times to go to Playa del Carmen, Tulum and Akumal beach. We felt perfectly safe and they seemed to run every 5 or 10 minutes.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelChick925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, December 27, 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We also value your feedback as this helps us to improve and keep offering the best experiences.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
aduerre@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Well I don't know where to start writing a review for this place! It was without a doubt the best holiday I have ever had! My husband booked out honeymoon as a surprise for me so all I knew was that we were of to Mexico.

I had no idea it'd be this amazing!

Greeted with champagne and canapés, no need to queue up forever at reception.

We were lucky enough to be in one of the new premium suites with a swim up. It was incredible! Our own double bed on our private terrace as well as sun loungers in the pool!

The room had the biggest bed I've ever seen and also an amazing jacuzzi bath.

Room service 24/7 and incredible everytime, who thought you'd get the option to have lobster in your omelette!

Mini bar restocked daily with your choice of drinks

All the restaurants where amazing, the best food I've ever eaten. The cocktails where incredible. Even the evening entertainment which is usually cheesy in these sorts of places, was brilliant. Fire dances, trapeze artists etc.

The beach was beautiful lined with loungers and tons of four poster beds not to mention the waiting staff constantly taking drinks orders for you.

All the staff where beyond brilliant, I've never known service so genuine and good!

Overall an incredible experience and I'd love to go backbone day, maybe our 25th wedding anniversary!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monique T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, December 19, 2016
ear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We also appreciate your feedback as this helps us to improve and keep offering the best experiences.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Sorry, not much of the other!!-But a lovely setting and good layout for a relaxing, all inclusive, adult holiday.NO KIDS-YIPPEE!...4/5 Star food and proper branded drinks served any time you wish by excellent & friendly staff.
Mainly Brits, Canadians and Americans staying here, so no language barriers and all of a sensible age group.I`m mid 50`s if you get my drift.
£4k is alot of money but with no bill at the end,it was worth it, JUST!
Getting married out there or special occassion, GO FOR IT.
Long flight-didn`t get Dreamliner sadly,an old 737 & Premier upgrade not worth it.
Very relaxing,missed excusions due to cyclone in week two,had to stay in bar!!!
Done Mexico,will try same sunshine elsewhere for half the price nextime. Enjoy....Phil

Room Tip: Any room away from bar and evening entertainment.Ground floor seaview rooms good,upper floors are bl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank philip d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, December 19, 2016
ear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We also appreciate your feedback as this helps us to improve and keep offering the best experiences.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Trip to edss was good.hotel is having work done on it (does not intrude on holiday).The resort is a little bit out the way but overall a good holiday,Like all holidays there are good ,bad and indifferent things we could mention BUT overall food good most of time ,service good ,drinks ok .The best think about staying here is overall it all adds up to a good place to stay not best but worth what we payed . Would we stay here again YES

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seaviewrequired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, December 27, 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We also value your feedback as this helps us to improve and keep offering the best experiences.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
aduerre@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

We just got back yes we had a relaxing time it is not some where I would go again. We had a swim up room and in my opinion that was what saved our holiday we was lucky our room got the sun must of the day not all swim up rooms did. But a big problem we had was that our room was near the swim up bar and every one and his brother got into that pool so it become very noisy at time and often people would swim up and down the lazy river looking in our room even when the did not have one of these rooms. I did complain about this as I paid £500 more for this room and did not wont people going up and down looking in my room all I was told is no the can't do that but no one come stoped then. The staff are great rooms ever clean food in my opinion is not that good the Asian restaurant was the best. depending on what time u won't to eat some times it could be hard to get a table u may have to wait for 20-30 mins and that was all restaurant.

Room Tip: Swim up rooms but email first and ask for one that gets the sun most of the day because a lot of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kim b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, December 27, 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We also value your feedback as this helps us to improve and keep offering the best experiences.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
aduerre@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Spent 14 nights at the resort from 22.8.2013 to 5.9.2013

Staff - excellent. Couldn't do enough for you and you are greeting by a friendly 'Hola' by everyone around the resort. From the bar staff to the waiters, concierge, room boy, beach butlers - all superb.

Rooms - we were in the older rooms at the front of the resort. The room was kept immaculate by Sergio and we had a different towel art to look forward to at the end of each day. Minibar and water restocked daily. Although these are older rooms the bed was huge and supremely comfortable and we had a view straight out over a small garden to the sea. The new block is quite big and looks much prettier from the back (flowers on all the balconies) than the front. For a sea view I would guess you would have to be above the 3rd floor.

Beach - one of the reasons for the 'but'. The beach to the north is separated from the sea by a low wall so there is no direct access to the sea. There's still a fair few day beds and sun loungers to choose from. The beach to the south of the pier - lovely white sand, warm calm seas and comfy day beds. Staff will bring you drinks all day (thank you Stephanie!). Excellent for snorkelling and the trips go out from the beach to the reef just off the shore. However on our last but one day the (heavily armed) police arrived and proceeded to remove all the day beds and sunloungers from the point beyond the Presidential Suite - apparently it is a public beach and the hotel are not allowed to use it for sunbeds? This was about a third of the total loungers on the beach which are now squeezed on to the beach directly in front of the hotel. Not a huge problem when we were there (although being turfed off my sunbed by armed police is a first) but if the hotel is full the beach may get quite crowded. You can still walk along the beach to where the turtles nest and on to the next hotel.

Pools - tended to avoid the main pool and went to the quiet pool instead. Comfy day beds and loungers around the pool and very relaxing. Main pool ok but the rowdiest seemed to be the pool in front of the swim up rooms - heard some complaints from other guests that the noise was from people staying in other rooms who were using the swim up rooms' pool and swim up bar but not clear what the hotel policy is on this.

Food - second 'but'. We loved Klay Talay (Asian) and Mia Casa (Italian) and never had to wait long - only had a buzzer a couple of times. I much prefer the buzzers to having to book days in advance and it's not as if we had to rush off anywhere after dinner! The best meal was Tapas in the newly opened Gourmet Pub. As it is still in 'soft opening' we had to book through our Concierge but it was well worth it. Food was delicious and the setting lovely. The 'but' - we both had dodgy tummies during the holiday and we definitely were not the only ones. Avoiding fried food seemed to help but difficult to pinpoint what/where had caused it (although I agree with the reviewer who said some of the food was very salty).

Concierge - brilliant You collect your towels from here every day and they deal with any special requests. Use them to book your WiFi package (yes - it should be free!) - we did two devices for two weeks for $90 total.

Spa/Gym - quite a way from the main hotel and up by where the new Reception is being built. You can get a golf buggy to take you up there or it is about a 10-15 min walk. Only used the gym and not the spa but the setting was lovely and it looked nice.

Trips - only managed to do one due to upset stomachs but it was brilliant. Had a day at Xel-Ha and booked the Platinum Dolphin package. It's a must do if you want to swim with dolphins. Loads more there to do and particularly good for teenagers with zip wires, cliff jumps, snorkelling etc.

Flights - lucky enough to be on the new Dreamliner both ways. Comfy, USB port in TV so you can charge your gadgets, food edible, staff ok.

All in all - good holiday apart from the upset stomachs. The resort is lovely and the staff were excellent but it is a shame the beach is now a bit more crowded.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor of the new block have stunning views but are a way from the sea. There are t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank DarrenandJoJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, December 27, 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We also value your feedback as this helps us to improve and keep offering the best experiences.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
aduerre@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
22.0 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#56 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,836 reviews
6.9 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
4.8 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
2.1 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
18.2 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya

Property: El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya
Address: Km 95 Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Seaside Hotel
El Dorado Seaside Suites Mexico
El Dorado Resort Spa
Hotel El Dorado Seaside
El Dorado Seaside Resort
El Dorado Spa
El Dorado Seaside Mexico
Eldorado Seaside Suites
Eldorado Resort
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing