We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our second home!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Our second home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

This coming October 2013 will be our 5th visit to this wonderful Mexican hotel set in its private grounds right by the Caribbean sea approximately one hours drive south of Cancun's airport. Although slightly isolated its wonderful grounds with five swimming pools, seven restaurants and around 200 top quality rooms make it a brilliant, guaranteed holiday of a lifetime. It's easy to make new friends especially at the 3 swim-up bar pools. The staff are so friendly, so we like to think of SS as our second home. Can't wait to be there for three glorious weeks when we will meet our friends Bob & Sandy from Chicago who meet there every visit---brilliant!. .

Room Tip: Rooms near the reception are quieter and don't forget to try the Italian restaurant - fantastic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, December 19, 2016
ear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We also appreciate your feedback as this helps us to improve and keep offering the best experiences.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,356
    1,526
    508
    226
    148
See reviews for
218
6,105
46
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,239)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We have just returned after spending our 2 week honeymoon at this highly rated hotel resort.

We travelled from Glasgow with Thomson on their new Dreamliner. The plane is a big improvement but Thomson cabin crew are still dire. The outward flight was marred by rude staff who also ensured we felt like second class citizens by daring to only travel economy as oppose to paying to upgrade to premium. Return flight was much better crewed despite them being one member short due to sickness.

We had not upgraded our room so knew that we would not get any honeymoon privileges, so I e-mailed the hotel 3 weeks prior to our holiday asking that they put a bottle of champagne and some flowers in our room for our arrival. I expected to pay for these on arrival. I also requested a room with a queen sized bed as oppose to the two double beds. I got a reply confirming receipt of my request. But no more.

On arrival none of these requests had been complied with. I mentioned this to the bell boy when he asked if the room was OK on dropping off our cases. He said he would look into sorting it out. 2 hours later nothing, so we went to reception. They were not interested. As we had not upgraded !!! We got no where with them on this and they insisted that had we upgraded our room then it would not have been an issue. So apparently they did not wish to sell us champagne and flowers. They just did not give a damn.

That first night we met a few couples on honeymoon who had been given free upgrades and found champagne in their rooms on arrival along with other privileges. Work that one out !!!

Next day we mentioned this to the Thomson rep who did arrange for us to get complimentary wifi and we also got a bottle of red wine left in our room by way of apology. So big thank you to her. One that cares :-)

Note that wifi is a whopping £60 per 2 weeks for each device. A phenomenal fee for something that is free in McDonalds !!!!.Everything at this hotel is very expensive, if it has to be paid for. Small can of Red Bull £4 !!!! (needed this after 7 days of diarrhoea)

Second full day I came down with diarrhoea which ruined our holiday for the next 10 days. It turned out that during this 2 week period many people had problems both guests and staff. Although the hotel admitted to nothing nor did the Thomson rep but there was clearly an issue at the resort.

with regards to the rest of the resort

rooms - basic room was big well equipped & fab with mini bar topped up daily.

restaurants - Arecifes was closed for a week at nights. Overall we found the food looked great and was well presented. However, it was incredibly salty, to the point where it was inedible to us. This was right across all the restaurants, that we found. We found other guests who agreed it was salty but they did not complain, just put up with it. We ended up eating burgers and pizza's at the sandwicherie and had room service. For some reason these were not salty. Great for a 5 star, a la carte resort. Now before you lot comment, we are more than happy to pay £400 a night at Lumley Castle (Chester Le Street) for fine dining along with other similar places. I have never in my life come across so much salt in food.

Staff - on the whole they were very friendly and keen to ensure that you enjoyed your holiday. Some slips but also some incredibly brilliant service.... cheers Anna on the beach a star

drinks - brilliant choice and cocktails. But why no Corona ??? it is their national beer and locally produced.

Environment - the resort is beautiful with everything to make your holiday relaxing and chilled .... fab

Spa - we know its there but if we want to use it we will. We don't have to have multiple daily requests from people wanting to sell us the services.

This is a fairly expensive resort there is no need to keep trying to extort even more money from guests on services that are way overpriced.

On our journey home my wife found she was able to keep food in her for the first time in 2 weeks. This was airport food.

These comments are our honest and genuine experience of 2 weeks at this resort for our honeymoon. Poor show EDSS. It is not always paradise to everyone and does get it wrong.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank ZZR1400lad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, December 28, 2016
Dear Guest,

We want to thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we want to assure you that all your comments are welcomed and a key part of the improvement of our resort. We are truly sorry to hear you experienced any inconvenience during your stay, we are a 5 star rated resort so we are disheartened to hear your recent stay was not reflecting it.

We would like to invite you to contact our Head of Customer Services at customerservices@karismamexico.com so that we can review your feedback together and to assure you this is not the standard of our hotel, we will be glad to host you again in our hotel or any resort by Karisma to surpass any past experience.


Best Regards,
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
adurre@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

I have to start by saying that my partner and I have stayed at the El Dorado Royale for the past 3 years but fancied seeing whether this Karisma hotel lived up to the excellence of that. So it was with some apprehension that we arrived in mid August. The start was not good - unlike the opulence of the Royale reception we were faced with being taken into what can only be described as a meeting room (Coba) in which we presented with our keys, locks etc albeit with a glass of sparkling wine. Thankfully from here on in it got appreciably better as we were taken by golf cart to our room which was a duplicate of the excellent Royale rooms. Now the good bits - food superb don't believe the reports of overcrowding the hotel was 90+% full and we waited once in the whole 2 weeks and then only for 10 minutes - must try Klay Talay the Asian some of the best sushi we have tasted. Beach brilliant with comfortable beach beds and smiling helpful beach butlers. Bars stocked with premium brands and once again the consistent smiling helpful bar staff. Even the entertainment was not bad which is quite a change - brilliant Rock Circus and Fire Show. The Spa is remarkable we used it daily for sauna, steam and infrequently the gym and the setting and facilities are second to none. We had a couples treatment expertly given by Layde and Dulcie (sorry if spelling wrong ladies). We have to give great thanks to Patrick Dawson the Hatha Yoga teacher who was brilliant and truly made the holiday (although we have subsequently told that his brilliant classes have been cancelled a very bad mistake Karisma) - as well as great thanks to all the staff who are amongst the happiest workers I have seen anywhere. All in all very difficult to decide if our next trip would be to Royale or Seaside Suites but a nice position to be in. Only negative experience was room service a wait for 3 bottles of water which we gave up on after numerous calls to front desk and 2 hours - not good and our complaint was not dealt with which was disappointing.

Visited Tulum ruins via the local Collectivo a cheap air conditioned transport don't waste money on organised trips.

Although this has NOTHING to do with El Dorado I must add a piece here about Thomson Airways which was one of the worse flight experiences of our lives - dirty plane, disinterested staff, no food choice, blocked sinks / toilets, an example of the care is I overheard a traveller complaining that only one of her headphone channels was working to be told that she was lucky at least one was - customer care at its worse.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ed D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, December 19, 2016
ear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We also appreciate your feedback as this helps us to improve and keep offering the best experiences.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

My lovely wife and myself have been fortunate to go on quite a number of all inclusive vacations over the years . Every one of them was excellent with the exception of one.
EDSS was however the very best. Everything from the staff, accommodations , restaurants and the grounds were fantastic. The beach wasn't that great however just a couple hundred yards down the beach the swimming was really good.
The staff especially were first class all the way. Thank for making us want to come back.

This is the only resort I would consider of all the ones we have visited to go back again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gerald A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, December 19, 2016
ear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We also appreciate your feedback as this helps us to improve and keep offering the best experiences.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Have just got back from our second visit to this fab place.We had a truly great time the first time we visited(august 2012) couldn't get over just how friendly ALL the staff were,how good the food was and what a great hotel it truly was.I have to say we were a little apprehensive prior to arriving at the hotel,would it match up with our previous visit?We need not have worried,it was just like meeting up with old friends.We had a great time,several members of staff remembered us from our previous visit(even the cleaner from that visit(Moises)came to see us and say hello).A big thank you to every single member of staff for giving us a great holiday.I would just like to mention and give an extra thank you to:Carlos(reception)Edgar,Hector and Carlos,our butlers for looking after us so well and last but not least,Anna the waitress on the beach for making sure that our glasses were never empty!We will be back next year!!Once again Thank You,it all met our expectations.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Murray W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, December 19, 2016
ear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We also appreciate your feedback as this helps us to improve and keep offering the best experiences.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

I have to say I was more than a little worried that our third visit to EDS would be a let down following my reading of some reviews on this site. Well I am not sure these people have visited the same hotel that we did. The service and food were once again outstanding. There are lots of staff there that we recognized from our previous visits and however genuine it was quite a few said they recognized us too.
Yes there is building work going on but it is limited to the main part of the day and not really that disruptive. Even the builders have a cheery 'Hola' as you walk past.
If you are considering this place please please please give it a try. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: In our opinion swim up rooms are not worth the extra money as they can be quite shaded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, December 19, 2016
ear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We also appreciate your feedback as this helps us to improve and keep offering the best experiences.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Indiana
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

i'm not sure how anyone could have one complaint about EDSS. it's true romance from the time you go through the lobby doors for the first time, until your take off on your last day. we were greeted by bellboys who were more than helpful, a cool wash cloth and 2 glasses of champaign. we were in an older room but it was still very nice. unlike some all inclusive resorts, you order from menus. food is small portions which I personally like but the variety was good and the service is over the top! a big big thank you to Moises for the daily towel art, pulled bed linens nightly, filled jacuzzi tub after our anniversary dinner, breakfast in bed the next morning and making sure our room was tidy with anything we wanted. Luis at the Asian restaurant was fabulous! we weren't really sure what to order. He offered us sushi, which my husband and I neither like and a variety of small finger foods and wow! the sushi was awesome, soup was very good and the tai noodles had a great flavor. Another big thank you to Gaspar for cooking/serving us our private surf/turf dinner on the pier and nice anniversary desert. elmer, raul, tibersio, lucy, hugo, wilberth, miguel were fabulous! crystal at the front desk made sure our check in was smooth and inviting. perla at our concierge office was super! servers at the beach were very attentive. i just can't thank everyone enough for making our 2013 anniversary vacation, one that we will never forget! our experience at EDSS is something we will always remember and we cannot wait to return! Simon told us we would not be disappointed and he was right!

PS: be sure to get plenty of 1's/5's for tips to avoid making numerous trips to the front desk.

Room Tip: we opted out from getting a swim up room but after a couple of days, i wished we would have. i think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jstilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, December 19, 2016
ear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We also appreciate your feedback as this helps us to improve and keep offering the best experiences.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
22.0 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#56 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,830 reviews
6.9 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
4.8 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
El Dorado Seaside Suites
El Dorado Seaside Suites
#98 of 388 in Riviera Maya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
7.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
2.1 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya

Property: El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya
Address: Km 95 Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Jetsetter, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Seaside Hotel
El Dorado Seaside Suites Mexico
El Dorado Resort Spa
Hotel El Dorado Seaside
El Dorado Seaside Resort
El Dorado Spa
El Dorado Seaside Mexico
Eldorado Seaside Suites
Eldorado Resort
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing