We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reading reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
A TripAdvisor Member
Des Moines, Iowa
13
Reviewed March 8, 2004

We had a wonderful time at this resort. Very relaxing, but also fun too. My advise to people reading these reviews because they are wanting to book a vacation at the El Dorado Resort, only read the most recent reviews. I have read most of these and the resort has changed since some of these people have vacationed there. There are some things that can be complained about, but what I keep telling people, You are in Mexico, not the United States! I would definately go back.

  • Stayed: February 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2016

Dear guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (8,747)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8,355 - 8,361 of 8,747 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
231
Reviewed March 2, 2004

Having been to several resorts in this area I feel that, by comparison, the owners are not putting enough money into this property. The employees give it their best but have little to work with. I won't go into detail because most of the previous reports on this website tell the story. I you go there you need to start out with the frame of mind that this not a 5 star resort and there are going to be minor problems.
If you do, you will have a great time. I picked this resort because it is one of the smallest in the area and is the only one that has all menu type dining. I have since deceided that smaller is not better and I would rather have buffet style meals in the main restaurant. Another problem is the lack of quality entertainment. A small resort such as this cannot afford the better shows that a larger one can. The only other complaint that I had was, upon check- in, I was told that I would have to pay $3.00/day for the in- room safe deposit box and $35.00/day for an "upgrade" which, among other amenities, includes a refridgerator. I feel that these items should be at no extra cost at an "all-inclusive" property. Although we had a good time and met many great people, I think we will opt for a slightly larger property next year. To all of you great people that we met, give us a yell that you read our report. (Mike& Nancy)

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2016

Dear Guest,

We want to thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we want to assure you that all your comments are welcomed and a key part of the improvement of our resort. We are truly sorry to hear you experienced any inconvenience during your stay, we are a 5 star rated resort so we are disheartened to hear your recent stay was not reflecting it.

We would like to invite you to contact our Head of Customer Services at customerservices@karismamexico.com so that we can review your feedback together and to assure you this is not the standard of our hotel, we will be glad to host you again in our hotel or any resort by Karisma to surpass any past experience.


Best Regards,
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Minnesota
11
Reviewed February 28, 2004

We enjoyed our first stay in Mexico! What more can you ask for?
Sunshine, beach, good food, great service, clean rooms, and fun. Our only complaint is the smell from the septic tank at times. But we kept an open mind - we were in the middle of a jungle. They don't have the capabilities out there that cities have. If you're looking for a quiet restful beach and pool this one is for you. If you need to be constantly entertained by others, check out another resort. We came home happy and relaxed.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2016

Dear guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Wausau, WI
1
Reviewed February 27, 2004

We just got back from a 7 day stay at the Eldorado resort (2/16-2/23).
We had 19 people in our group and for the most part I believe everyone had a great time. Yes, the rooms smell musty and there is a sewer odor that can be smelled from some of the rooms, but in reality it's all totally tolerable and the rooms were very clean. The resort had some major problems with hot water while we were there (7 out of 9 rooms didn't have hot water 100% of the time). Although the resort worked very hard to fix the problem they didn't please everyone in our group.
It wasn't limited to just our group though, there was a definite problem with many of the complexes at the resort. The resort staff did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable. Because of the hot water problem we had a special dinner of lobster, steak and shrimp (one of the best dinners I've every had), chocolate covered strawberries delivered to our rooms, free t-shirts and a free pick of whatever the spa offered. Obviously, they knew that we were inconvenienced, but they tried to make up for it in every way they could. We loved breakfast every morning, enjoyed our evening meals (which we had no problems making reservations - even for 19 people) and the swing bar was a total blast. We brought our own CDs and closed the swing bar down most nights. The beach/pier/water is the best I've ever seen. The resort is immaculate and the staff is absolutey fabulous. If you're going to have fun (and can make some of your own fun) and love the beach/ocean this is the place for you. This is a very secluded resort and the closest town is 20 minutes away via taxi. We'd definitely go back!

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2016

Dear Guest,

We want to thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we want to assure you that all your comments are welcomed and a key part of the improvement of our resort. We are truly sorry to hear you experienced any inconvenience during your stay, we are a 5 star rated resort so we are disheartened to hear your recent stay was not reflecting it.

We would like to invite you to contact our Head of Customer Services at customerservices@karismamexico.com so that we can review your feedback together and to assure you this is not the standard of our hotel, we will be glad to host you again in our hotel or any resort by Karisma to surpass any past experience.


Best Regards,
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Manchester, CT
1
Reviewed February 25, 2004

First time we visited we were so in need of a vacation in the sun that it really didn't matter what was going on around us we just took advantage of the beach a 10 minute walk south from the resort and chilled out ( the resort's beach was very rocky and painful to walk in and out of the sea, which was a little murky).

The 'Italian' restaurant required one to book in advance and was so stifling hot as to be unbearable (don't go in August). The main restaurant was a little better though by the 6th night we had exhausted the choices the limited menu provided.

Second time we went in May the weather was wonderful. The rooms, which on our previous visit were clean, showed a marked deterioration this go 'round. We were scheduled to stay for two weeks. The beach was contaminated by an oil slick and by day 5 we, and, at a conservative estimate, 75% of the other guests, had contracted a virulent strain of Montezuma's Revenge.

The manager couldn't have been less sympathetic. We attempted to get a flight out there and then but unfortunately had to wait 3 days before one was available during which time we languished in a weakened state listening to the digestive anguish of those in the rooms on either side of us. Bad experience compounded by the fact we were offered no compensation.

The area is beautiful, the regular staff friendly though that's about all it has. Do yourself a favor. Go elsewhere!!

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2016

Dear Guest,

We want to thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we want to assure you that all your comments are welcomed and a key part of the improvement of our resort. We are truly sorry to hear you experienced any inconvenience during your stay, we are a 5 star rated resort so we are disheartened to hear your recent stay was not reflecting it.

We would like to invite you to contact our Head of Customer Services at customerservices@karismamexico.com so that we can review your feedback together and to assure you this is not the standard of our hotel, we will be glad to host you again in our hotel or any resort by Karisma to surpass any past experience.


Best Regards,
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
adurre@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Hertfordshire, England
1
Reviewed February 25, 2004

My husband and I have just arrived back from 2 weeks at the El Dorado Resort and Spa and we had a fabulous holiday, the people were really friendy the food was great, and our room was really nice we had one with a jacuzzi and it was only 25 yds from the beach. The beach was really nice, kept very clean, there were quite a lot of rocks / coral in the sea which could make swimming and walking out difficult but the snorkelling was very good.I would definitely recommend this resort and the only thing that marred our holiday was the fact that we only had about 6 days of hot sun out of 14 the other days being cloudy or raining, but we can't blame the resort for that.Joy Peck

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We also appreciate your feedback as this helps us to improve and keep offering the best experiences.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Quebec, Canada
1
Reviewed February 23, 2004

My husband and I spent a week at the El-Dorado Resort and spa Jan23. It was absolutly beautiful. The staff is fabulous, alway smiling, friendly and will do anything for the guest to make your stay more enjoyable.
The service at the restaurants is very good. I don't know what the other people are talking about when they complain about it being too slow. The room that we had was very big and always clean. The mattress was NOT HARD. Raymond and Alex are the bartenders at night and really put up with alot from the cheap, impatient guests. People have to remember that $1 goes a long way. The staff doesn't make very much money, so you need to remember to tip. We will definitely go back there one day. It will be very hard to find another secluded resort like the El-Dorado resort and spa.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2016

Dear guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.5 mi away
UNICO 20.87 Hotel Riviera Maya
4.8 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
22.8 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
4,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
El Dorado Seaside Suites
El Dorado Seaside Suites
#56 of 399 in Riviera Maya
1,422 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma
Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma
#1 of 477 in Riviera Maya
735 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
#4 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
10,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya

Address: Km 95 Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range: $379 - $986 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Seaside Hotel
El Dorado Seaside Suites Mexico
El Dorado Resort Spa
Hotel El Dorado Seaside
El Dorado Seaside Resort
El Dorado Spa
El Dorado Seaside Mexico
Eldorado Seaside Suites
Eldorado Resort
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing