We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya
Nearby Hotels
Barcelo Maya Beach(Puerto Aventuras)
$279
$216
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
$322
$279
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Maya Palace(Puerto Aventuras)
$371
$243
Barcelo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Maya Tropical(Puerto Aventuras)
$251
$182
Barcelo.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Maya Colonial(Puerto Aventuras)
$251
$182
Barcelo.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Maya Caribe(Puerto Aventuras)
$251
$182
Barcelo.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
$278
$199
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya(Puerto Aventuras)
$658
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coral Maya(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
$139
$124
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya(Puerto Aventuras)
$352
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (9,106)
Filter reviews
9,106 results
Traveler rating
6,429
1,731
546
239
161
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6,429
1,731
546
239
161
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgourmet pubseaside suitesbeach bedsklay talayswim up roompersonal conciergeseaside marketmain barour honeymoonpremium blockroom servicenaay spaguacamayas barhidden beachfour posterjacuzzi bathswim up bar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5,569 - 5,574 of 9,106 reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We booked our trip through Lisa Zwissler at Beach Bum Vacations. This was my third trip to Mexico. We had a group of 8 which was unusual for this resort. The staff was very friendly, the food was excellent and the atmosphere was wonderful. We had a swim up room and really enjoyed it. If you go, make sure to find Ivan the bartender. He will take care of you.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank gbanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We booked a swim up room at the EDSS, which was some 15 metre swim from the swim up bar (Elmer is great). The room was superb, clean, well serviced (including tower sculptures very day) and they give you what you ask for in the minbar (at no additional cost).
The grounds are amazing and never a shortage of sun loungers. The shallow reef in front of the hotel is warm, clean and clear. We didn't take any of the spa packages, but did get a free "taster" massage on the beach. For the snorkels, take a cab to Akumel beach from the hotel, it costs about £7 each way, take snorkel gear from the hotel (free) and be prepared to be amazed! (The Thompson trip for the same package cost about £60 a head!). There are reefs, fish and turtles about 100m off the fantastic beach.
The evening entertainment was a bit dull, and, for the ladies, getting dressed up and sitting in areas where people have sat in shorts and sun cream is a bit off. However the hotel is in the process of creating an evening bar. The hotel does not have loads of rooms, the price and no children policy means it is perfect for couples. There are several restaurants that, unlike some all inclusive, do not need to be booked and can be visited as many times as you like during your stay. Breakfast with (Oscar) in the outdoor bar area is a must. This place will exceed all your expectations but will spoil you by setting the benchmark for future holidays really high.

Room Tip: Get a swim up room, it's well worth it.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank g30fftodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

My wife & I just returned from a wonderful week at EDSS! We'd LOVE to return again, in future years. As someone who reads TripAdvisor reviews religiously before choosing a vacation site, here are my PROS (lots of them) & CONS (very few) for others, to help them know this is somewhere they need to visit.

PROS:
1) The staff work extremely hard to make your stay a fantastic experience! Night & day, they work on the grounds, your rooms, the beach, the restaurants and everywhere else.

2) Our room was outstanding! Lots of room, very modern & clean, cleaned & refreshed daily and I'd stay there again! We did not choose a swim-up room, since we preferred to be on the beach. We were in room 2615 and it was centrally located, with a decent 2nd floor beach view. Only 1 night, did we have an issue with the nightlife music being so loud we could hear it when we tried to sleep.

3) The spa was AMAZING. It is a beautiful place to enjoy a LOT of different treatments. My wife went by herself once (while I was scuba diving....more on that later) and then we had a couples massage. On her 1st visit, she had Leydi and when we went together, I had Leydi. She was marvelous! One of the best massages I've ever had.

4) As a very picky eater, the food can sometimes be "an adventure" for me on trips like this. However, I was always able to find things to eat at each of the restaurants. For breakfast, we ate at the Sandwicherie every day, except one. We just preferred the buffet setting, to eat quickly and get to the beach, asap. For lunch mostly, we either ate there too or at the Beach BBQ. Dinner consisted of 2 visits to the Italian, 2 visits to the Asian, 1 visit to the Mexican and 2 nights of room service. We enjoyed them all.

5) Nightlife - we enjoyed some of the shows at night, but my wife wasn't feeling well a couple of nights, so we didn't get to see them all.

6) Excursions - We stayed on the property, except when I went to Bahia Divers for a nice "2 tank" dive. They are only a 5 minute drive from the resort (and they come pick you up). We saw lots of fish, large turtles & sting rays. It was great!

7) Special recognition for the staff - a) Leydi at the spa was awesome! b) Oscar at the Sandwicherie was always SO friendly and helpful. c) Miquel at the Italian restaurant was SO friendly and caring. d) Alberto at the Mexican restaurant took really good care of us! e) Hostesses Natalia & Carolina were joys, as well. f) Willie Dzib (our Delta Tours rep) took REALLY GOOD CARE OF ME!!!

8) Guest population - I've read reviews where some of the guests caused difficulties for other resort patrons. We had none of that! It was great to meet new people, many from the UK who were so friendly. Even though the beach was full every day, there always were available beds & chairs (no need to "save" one early in the morning). If you are not used to topless sunbathing, be prepared. It wasn't an issue for my wife & me, but it was a "different" culture to our norm. Probably about 20% of the women there took advantage of this option.


CONS:

1) The in-room safe is "way too small". If you plan to take something larger than a small laptop (Netbook or iPad) it won't fit into the safe. Also, it is secured with a key you must keep up with. Please upgrade to larger safes, with digital code access.

2) The gym was located inside the spa. That means you can only use it when the spa is open! For early risers or late night workout guys, the gym becomes useless. Please do something to accommodate those of us who want to be on the beach during daylight hours, while still working out while we are there!

3) My wife did get a stomach bug while we were there (which she still has). It didn't affect her ability to have a good time, just caused her to be more selective in her food choices. Take precautions (and tablets with you), just in case.

All in all, we would definitely recommend this to anyone. We hope to get back again one day soon!

Room Tip: Room 2615 was great, unless you want a swim-up room (which it is not). We always avoid 1st floor rooms, to cut down on noise and traffic outside our room. Plus we enjoy a balcony (even if it is small) instead of a patio (which we wouldn't use).
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JLH13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This hotel is excellent, beds are to die for never want to get out of them. The bell boys my crocodile lads really look after you always with a smile on their faces. Food lovely, this is our third trip there and i will be going back a nice small hotel and very clean.all of the restaurants are lovely but our favourites this year were the casa mia italian, vidas garden grill and the mexican. must mention Natalia, William and Jonathan (skinny) excellent service. Elmer in the vidas bar. Hector the bell boy went the extra mile for us as do all the staff.

Room Tip: All the rooms are really nice but we had a swim up room which was lovely.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank karen-tone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2016

Dear guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from EDS and can honestly say that this place is the most relaxing place that we have ever stayed. We upgraded to a swim up room as it was our anniversary and we were promised certain bonuses !! The romantic meal was top notch and we also received free wi if . We didn't have the couples massage or the romantic breakfast but these things were offered it was our choice not to indulge. Our room was kept spotless and on the evening of our romantic meal we returned to soft music a dressed bed and the jacuzzi filled and sprinkled with flowers ( heavenly ). All the staff went out of there way to be friendly and helpful whatever you required and they all appeared to be genuine. We only left the resort a few times as the place is just so relaxed it becomes hard to motivate oneself to do anything else !!! The food was fantastic with a wide variety of choice but the vida grill and the Italian were my personal favourites. The bed was large and comfy and we got to choose our preferred pillows. Our room fridge was stocked daily and we soon discovered that they will put in what you want so if that's all beer then that's what they do. There was always plenty of beech beds and space on the beech which in itself was beautiful although the sand was a little coarse in places. The staff are forever cleaning and the path ways and gardens are spotless and beautiful. We have returned home after being treat like kings and queens I would not hesitate to return !!! Our only bad experience was nothing to do with EDS it was Thompson who were not up to scratch on this occasion , we arrived at the airport and there were very long delays for check in which meant that we only had limited time on the other side, we had paid to sit together and for extra leg room at booking but both these we're offered at a discount on the day. The toilets on the plane backed up and we were told that we may have to land for them to be cleaned out if people didn't limit there use, when we arrived at cancan we were then told that we would be second to last to be dropped off after a very long journey it took us approximately three hours which we didn't think was acceptable considering that we were told that we would be first or second stop off !! The staff on the plane for both the inbound and outbound journeys seemed dis interested and we hardly saw them, the captain kept going on about the dream liner and it seemed as though he was intimating look what you could of had !!!!! We did not let the experience with the travel company take the shine off the excellent time that we had spent at EDS and I would highly recommend this resort to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lisahaywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2016

Dear guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews