We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total relaxation and battery recharge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed February 28, 2013

My husband and I bath feel totally recharged and relaxed following our wonderful holiday at EDS. the place is just lovely, very tranquil and romantic. Rooms are a little dated and could do with a refurb, clean though and everything you need. Top shelf spirits and excellent food in each of the restaurants, service very good and professional. One pool area bit loud which we steered clear of, other lap pool really nice but be prepared to get your seat early doors!! Beach nice but gets better further up when you walk, the staff work tirelessly to please you, very professional act. Would not hesitate to go back here, very different from cancun, laid back and lush. Don't bother to bring toiletries you have all you need in your room replenished daily, maid service very good, loved the towel art. Weather has been nice, not too hot and just a couple of days of rain. Visit Coco Bongos in Puerto del Carmel fantastic show not to be missed. Feel sad to be leaving this spiritual place, my husband is very interested in Mayan history and loved this influence in the place.

Room Tip: Our room was 3914 in the middle of the complex nice outlook over a swim up pool, average junior suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank cheryl187055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review , detailing the experiences of your recent vacation. It was an honor to be chosen to host your holiday and I'm happy to know that, after your Gourmet Inclusive experience, you felt fresh ,revitalized and rejuvenated.

we hope that you will chose to visit us again very soon, we will be waiting to welcome you back to your Mexican Home.

Best Regards
Paula Negrete
gmeds@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (8,622)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,407 - 5,413 of 8,622 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2013

We recently had our wedding at this lovely resort (February 2013) and the staff were amazing. Everyone was very helpful and the grounds were immaculate. The facilities are a little dated but still has some character.
Service is very good and better than expected. The wedding coordinators were efficient and very accommodating.
The beach is not desirable as it is very "corally" and not much swimming can be done there. Water was clear and we could see dozens of fishes swimming around.
We went when they were fully occupied and yet the resort did not seem congested and no huge line ups for food!
The only downside, they seem to be building a new block in addition to the existing one and this one is 4-6 storeys high, which is a shame.
I would definitely return again and recommend people to this hotel. Just make sure you get the old building and not the new "condo" like rooms

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SarahN1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

as we were on a roundtrip we arrived with rental car.. immediately the car was picked up together with the baggage.. personal check in with a glass of champagne and smiling faces everywhere! we couldn't expect a better start...

after check in we were driven by golf car to the room.. a bottle of champage was waiting for us..
we also received a explanation from the driver where everything was located.. PERFECT!

room was nice.. clean.. with direct access to the pool.. perfect for honeymooners!
nice big bed and jacuzzi in the room..

During the day a barman walked threw the pool and asked if we needed any drinks..

Restaurant.. all 'à la carte' but very very good! as i like to eat a lot.. they even served me twice.. lol

i had any doubts about an adult only resort but finally it was great! we'd like to go back once but as we have a young kid it will not be for immediately.. but it's certainly one to remember!

the only negative point is maybe the sea.. a lot of coral.. Small beach.. but that was not a major issue for us as we don't like to stay days onto a beach..

one to remember for sure!

Room Tip: Pool access for sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank D-Feat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We also appreciate your feedback as this helps us to improve and keep offering the best experiences.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards,

Andrea Duerre
General Manager
aduerre@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

this is the nearest place to paradise you will find,we had a swim-up suite, right beside a bar and the barmans name was Jesus, the room was great spacious and just a short walk from the beach, which was as good as any in Cancun,If I had one small niggle it was some of the night time entertainment, but this said we are in our fifties ...and not everything is to our taste,..The food in any of the resturants is the best you'll find anywhere.and yes we have told all our friends about the hotel ,the wild life and the friends we made whilst there...yes we will definately go back, we flew with Thomson s and we advise the up grade..a holiday we will never forget

Room Tip: swim-up rooms great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Loved my vacation to El Dorado Seaside. We traveled over valentine's day and had an AMAZING vacation! The staff is just awesome and our room-the first basic category was upgraded to an oceanfront room (thank you Jennifer Doncsecz at VIP Vacations) as she sent us a room upgrade certificate and it worked! I travel quite a lot and can usually find something to complain about, but even this vacation had beautiful weather, top notch food, romantic features and our flights were on time too! I would highly recommend this resort! (and VIP)
Oh, the beach is a little narrow, but the water was gorgeous!

Room Tip: book with an agent that is linked with the El Dorado resorts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gingersnap2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We went to El Dorado Seaside Suites for our wedding/honeymoon. The facility was amazing, lush gardens, beautiful beaches, large rooms. The staff was so nice and helped you find/get whatever you needed. The many restaurants were all great. We never ate the same thing twice! The wedding turned out beautiful and I couldn't have asked for more. We will definitely be going back next year! BeachBumVacations helped us plan everything and it was so easy. The resort contacted me and all plans were arranged prior to arrival so I only had to enjoy once we were there. I highly recommend this Resort

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Cassandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

My husband and I traveled to EDSS Feb 21. We had a transfer with Olympus tours and made 2 stops before ours and we were ready to get there at that point!

Check in was very nice. Lobby was lovely and liked the aromatherapy. We were upgraded to an oceanview room - 1712. We liked the location of being close to the lobby.

We ate lunch at the Sandwicherie which was very good but immediately noticed the trend of small portions. My husband felt a little self concious having to order a panini after he inhaled his small pizza in about 2 minutes. We loved Roberto at the Sandwicherie and my husband enjoyed chatting with him several times throughout our vacation.

We strolled the grounds to get the lay of the land and as others have commented were greeted with a friendly "hola" by every employee we encountered. We ate dinner at the Mexican restaurant and started to get the clue to order multiple appetizers and entrees. Thursday night featured a reggae beach party which we LOVED. We had a great start to our weekend by dancing in the sand under the stars.

Friday morning grabbed breakfast at Vida which was great. Hubby asked for a side of bacon and got two pieces and had to ask for more. Friday we left the resort and took a tour with Edventure Tours (see my review!). They were OUTSTANDING. Highly recommend going with Edventure Tours if you're interested in Tulum, cenotes, snorkeling or ziplining in the area. We were very impressed. Had dinner that night at Italian which was my favorite meal of the trip.

Saturday and Sunday we enjoyed our time around the activities pool after breakfast at the Sandwicherie. It was very easy to get a beach bed or a lounger in the pool. William made sure our drinks were full. We also enjoyed watching all of the activities. The activities staff was outstanding. Definitely got people involved and kept the energy up at the pool and in the evening. Ate at Klay Talay Saturday night and Vida Sunday night.

Sunday I went to the spa after booking a spa treatment while laying out at the pool Saturday. I can say that we were only approached by one person and I was interested in the spa services anyway so it worked out. The spa was beautiful. Loved all of the pre-treatment options like the sensory pool, cold room, relaxation area, etc. My massage with Arely was wonderful.

Monday morning we had Arrecifes for breakfast before checking out.

We loved the live music throughout the weekend including a trumpet player in the lobby and a cellist in the gazebo near the Italian restaurant. Met a lot of Brits and Canadians. We used WiFi which I thought was a bit spotty. Found that on my iPhone I had to keep reconnecting to the signal which got a bit frustrating. Also found that signal would get weak very quickly and had to wander around to get to a strong signal to get messages to go through.

Bathrooms on the property were very clean and my husband even commented on how clean they were and that they smelled so nice. The room was clean and bed comfortable. Didn't notice sounds from the construction but could hear the "spa music" being piped in to cover it up from the room.

Drinks were good. My husband learned to love Dos Equis and I thought the red wine was ok. Not the best red I've ever had but not the worst either! Mixed drinks were good though not terribly strong pours. We overheard a few people asking for doubles while we were ordering at the bar.

We were quite happy with the resort and would recommend it to others. Would just tell All-American types with a big appetite like my husband to be prepared to order multiple entrees or to go back and order room service later which we did do a time or two!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We also appreciate your feedback as this helps us to improve and keep offering the best experiences.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards,

Andrea Duerre
General Manager
aduerre@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.5 mi away
UNICO 20.87 Hotel Riviera Maya
4.5 mi away
Porto Bello Hotel and Residences
Porto Bello Hotel and Residences
#15 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
9 reviews
4.8 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
El Dorado Seaside Suites
El Dorado Seaside Suites
#56 of 396 in Riviera Maya
1,316 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma
Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma
#1 of 460 in Riviera Maya
718 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
#4 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
10,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya

Address: Km 95 Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range: $352 - $1,027 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Seaside Hotel
El Dorado Seaside Suites Mexico
El Dorado Resort Spa
Hotel El Dorado Seaside
El Dorado Seaside Resort
El Dorado Spa
El Dorado Seaside Mexico
Eldorado Seaside Suites
Eldorado Resort
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing