We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation at it's best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed February 17, 2013

My husband and I were there from January 20-27 2013...Upon arrival, the first thing I noticed is that there is no front desk..Bonus there! Nice relaxing lounge seats and a hotel rep is quick to check you in after a drink..We were first timers to this hotel and we lucked out. They automatically upgraded our room to oceanview and we were in the middle of everything. Hotel room was perfect! King bed as requested, concierge service next door and a poolside bar just steps away. It really doesn't get better than this! This place serves every need of everyone. The food was really good and the service excellent..Modern decor and services with a smile..Only set back is the beach but we were happy with the pools...If you don't care about the beach that much, I would recommend this place to anyone!! Enjoy, as we sure did!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank mreimerwinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful comments , it was a pleasure to read your review . Its very comforting to know that your stay was so enjoyable and that you found the El Dorado Seaside Suites the perfect hotel for your relaxing vacation.

We will be waiting for your return

Best Regards

Paula Negrete
gmeds@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (8,533)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,353 - 5,359 of 8,533 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2013

Myself and my now, very soon to be hubby stayed at this beautiful hotel in September 2011, ( I know a long time now),
When we arrived we were greeted with beautifully scented cool towels to refresh ourselves, and a glass of sparkling wine...we knew we'd made a fabulous choice coming here. We were showed to our room which was above a lazy river room.
It was early evening by the time we'd un packed and were exhausted, so we went to the speciality restaurant. The food was out of this world, the way it was presented was ice nothing we'd really seen before. We had a quick cocktail and decided to head to bed to get good nights sleep to start our holiday in the morning.
Our favourite breakfast was the specialty which is buffet style, but it was lovely and relaxed you could take your time, we loved the omelettes, whatever you wanted they made and boy did we try them all. My favourite restaurant was the garden restaurant, the decor, the atmosphere and food was perfect for a romantic meal of an evening, and I have to say their cosmopolitan cocktails were gorgeous ( I tried several, to make sure it wasn't a fluke), :)
The entire holiday was filled with beautiful blue skies, ice cold cocktails, 1st class service, from the very very very hard working house keepers to the hotel managers, they really do know how to treat their guests.
We can highly recommend the spa, it had just been built when we arrived and we booked in for a couples spa. It was perfect, we were treated like royalty, the masseuses were fabulous, it wasn't the cheapest but for us who had saved and worked hard to come on this holiday it was worth every penny,
Trips I can recommend:- our all time fave day has to be XPLOR. That day changed our life, we had so much fun if we could have bottled the fun we have we'd be millionaires. 1001% safe, secure and amazing, lunch is included and all drinks... We don't even come up for air to eat. Zip wires through the jungle, anphibian vehicles and swimming in caves, it was unreal and SO much better than we could have imagined. You get a locker to secure your belongings, don't bother with your camera as your hard hat has chips and takes pictures of you all day and you buy the pen drive afterwards, it's well worth it!!!
We also went to coco bongos... Again like nothing else we've experienced, if we were to do it again wed ditch the pub crawl and just do coco bongos.
If you got to 5th ave, be aware that we took money out an ATM and a month afterwards £600 went out of our account!!!! Money was retrieved by bank but just be aware!!! Also quiet a lot of drug dealers, I'd managed to get to 29 years old and never be asked if I wanted drugs until I went to Mexico, I guess it's to be expected. But we loved 5th avenue, beautiful trinket shops and designer store, we went in the evening and it comes alive. We felt safe there.
Our perfect holiday was topped off by a surprise candlelit evening over looking the beach, the night I was proposed too,couldn't have been more perfect and the meal we had was perfect, the happiest night of my life!!
We loved this hotel for so many wonderful reasons, food, drink,staff, fun, entertainment etc,it was perfect!!
If I could say one negative about this hotel, don't get sucked into the time share thing, we spent ages there as we were asked to go by our butler, wasted our time and once they knew we weren't interested they were a bit rude, but that doesn't cloud of happy memories.
We will go back to this hotel one day.
Massive thanks to Hugo the spa rep, Paola our hotel rep, the entertainment staff especially David, we never say 69 in the same way again!!!! Loved your energy and hard work!!!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Shus339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Firstly Congratulations on your engagement , I 'm very happy to hear that we were able to make this moment extra special for both and your future husband.

I enjoyed reading your feedback and I hava passed on your praise to the mentioned employees. it is always very special when our staff receive recognistion for their efforts.
In addition i have taken note of the comments concerning the ATM machine and the bank has been informed so a full revision of the machine can be completed.

I hope you will choose to return to the El Dorado Seaside Suites, we are specialists in Destinations weddings , otherwise for your honeymoon or just to enjoy another relaxing vacation with us

Best Regards

Paula Negrete
gmeds@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Just returned from two weeks, and As most have said, this really is an excellent hotel. Building work was not an issue at all. Good location, good rooms, staff cannot do enough for you. The gym is small but well equipped, the spa heavenly - well worth the cost of a massage. Food is very good, beautifully presented and portions just right. The house wine is perfectly ok, specially after a piña or mud slide cocktail to start the evening! We like the Mexican, Asian and Italian best, and breakfast at the sandwicherie in the fresh morning air with the best poached eggs cooked to order, and with fresh fruit was great. Tea was not good, but our concierge got us a kettle and daily supply of fresh milk and tea bags as an alternative to the coffee machine in our room so we had our daily fix!
The jacuzzi was wonderful, tho make sure you have the jets on low and pointing downwards if you
don't want to rinse the room as well!
If you want a beach bed you will have to join the sunrise towel party, but sun loungers and hammocks were alway available. The sea was warm and you can use the kyacks and snorkelling equipment whenever you want.
Trips via Thomsons were pricey, but the visit to chichen itza was well worth it, Martin was an out standing guide. Tulum can be visited using the local collectivo mini buses which run about every 15 mins, tho get there early and hire a guide. Coba worth a trip, and akumal beach and the lagoon about thirty mins walk from the beach is a good day out for those who want to snorkel and see some stunning fish. Nothing terribly expensive and good value for money on the whole.
The rep at the hotel, Savannah was helpful with good advice and info to make the most of your time. We haven't been on a package holiday for some time, and were wary of this and the all inclusive but actually it was surprisingly good. The hotel replenished toiletries daily, so unless you have to have a brand don't pack these. We met some interesting people, saw some sights - who will forget Dakota thong man! Evening entertainment was ok tho some of the live bands were only just about second rate. All in all a wonderful holiday, slightly spoiled as the seats booked for our return flight got lost in the system somewhere.

Room Tip: First floor ocean view, not sure swim up rooms are worth the extra and seemed noisier. Block 2900 o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Bettyboo059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review, I'm glad to hear that your stay at the El Dorado Seaside Suites surpassed all expectations. I'm happy to know that you had the opportunity to visit Naay spa , which i agree with you , it is heavenly and worth every penny to this very unique spa experience.

We look forward to your next visit and do not forget to contact us prior to your arrival so we can assist with all your pre travel requests.

best

Paula Negrete
gmeds@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Just returned after 2 weeks in the Seaside Suites. We have to confess it was not our first choice as we originally booked Jamaica. Fortunately, we decided to change because of the bad reviews of that hotel, so for us reviews do matter and it gives you a very good insight into the running of the hotel.

We flew with First Choice. Service was excellent both ways considering it is such a long flight. We arrived at the hotel after about an hour and 15 transfer and we were quickly transferred to our room. The room for us did not have the 'wow' factor - just personal choice. It just seemed as if the room could be anywhere in the world. Large, clean and comfortable and practical. We were in block 35 on the third floor which was quiet for the most part. Spectacular views over the gardens and to the jungle at the side and rear. Some people have mentioned the jacuzzi - we only used it twice and probably would have preferred a comfortable sofa as we watched a few films in the room (really good TV). Perhaps they could move the bath into the shower which would accommodate 6 large people quite happily. We had 2 beds which were comfortable although we could have done with a step ladder to get up into them.

We tried all the restaurants and we enjoyed them all with the food being a better quality than you would normally get at a buffet. We enjoyed the waiter service - nothing was too much trouble. You could have the house wine or buy a bottle from the menu - quite expensive. The house wine was tolerable so we kept to that for the majority of time. We probably liked the Italian the most because of the decor and the starters and desserts were more to our taste. We ate outside at the Asian both times because it was full inside and we could not see what we were eating. So please add some extra lighting. Just so you know, there is a dress code - gentlemen trousers and collared shirt, ladies dresses, skirts, long trousers. Please don't turn up in shorts and T shirt. This is 5 star Mexico not 2 star Magaluf.

Our days were spent round the quiet pool and it is quiet which suited us fine. If you like music, activities etc go to the activities pool by Arricife Restaurant. We had waiter service by the pool all day bringing drinks and food. this is where we learnt to be lazy - too much effort to even get off the bed. We made lots of friends by the pool ranging from Canadians but mainly people from Devon. We now know where they go in the winter. There was also a nice family of iguanas resident under the foot shower steps - nicknamed Dirty Harry and his wife Harriet. The beach is just behind the pool and we walked along it a few times and went snokelling when the sea was calm. The beach is not that exciting but lots of people were using it so I guess its personal preference if you are a pool person or a beach person.

After dinner in the evening you could watch a show by the Guacamaya bar. We only managed to watch the Mayan show as we were so tired at night due to the time difference (6 hours).

The gardens are absolutely immaculate, as is the beach. They keep everything spotlessly clean and tidy. The staff are so friendly it doesn't matter if its a barman, waiter or gardener - they all say Hola and always have a big smile for you. We've given it 5 in our review because of the service you receive. You will not find any better.

The building works were never an issue and we really enjoyed our stay. Its just a shame, its such a long flight or we would go every year. Thanks to the management and staff of the El Dorado Seaside Suites.

Room Tip: For a quiet room ask for a block behind the seafront and away from the bars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank TheChefs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Many thanks for sharing your experiences with the trip advisor community, i enjoyed reading your comments and found your feedback very useful.
despite not being your first choice for your vacation , im glad that we were able to exceed your expectations and provide you with a superior holiday experience.

I hope that , by the end of your holiday , you were able to master the art of laziness!

we hope to see you again in the future

warm regards

Paula Negrete
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We reserve this hotel from a friend experience there and wow she was right. Adult only, no buffet style except for breakfast. But all the meal are extremely well presented. The staff take the time to call you by name. Once you tell them you have an allergy they forward the info to all restaurant. Room was fantastic. Also noted that you do not seem to wait at the bars when you need a drink you get it right away. They also bring your drink to your chair on the beach or the pool side too. We stay for one show and it was fantastic should have gone to more.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank you for you review of your experiences, I'm glad you found the perfect vacation spot in the El Dorado Seaside Suites. I'm happy that you felt pampered and enjoyed your Gourmet Inclusive experience. Hopefully you will be back to experience more and we will be waiting for you !

Best Regards

Paula Negrete
gmeds@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Just returned after a ten day stay at the el Dorado sea side suites.what place .beds are so big and comfortable.the food is on tap day and night .room service is just like a restaurant in your own room.they bring every thing with them.the big beds on the beach are great plenty of shade if needed. Beach is cleaned all day long by a team of people .drinks are brought to you by a team of beach staff.all food is fresh and cooked just for you .the water is so clear and calm the fish are everywhere.
For me the place was great the only problem for me was the toilet in the bed room a little small the jacuzzi in the room was great much used by us .the is construction going on but you will find it hard to hear any noise .all restaurants are open all day so no booking some times there is a bit of a wait but they all have bars no problems there enjoyed the Asian restaurant but found the portions a bit small so order two if your Hungary .the Italian was so so for us food ok but nothing great the staff are as most reviews say so friendly everyone say hello from the maid to the gardener it's a great place highly recommend it

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank albieplustwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Thank you for sharing your recent experiences with the trip advisor community , i 'm sure that your feedback with help many fellow travelers chose the perfect destination for their next vacation.
It was a pleasure to be your hosts for your well deserved holiday and I hope that you will retrn very soon, we will be waiting.

Best Regards

Paula Negrete
gmeds@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We are members of the Exotic Club for patrons of Karisma resorts. The El Dorado hotels are adults only. The Azul hotels are family friendly. This was our first time at ED Seaside Suites and we were very impressed! Small enough to feel cozy, but large enough to have a gorgeous new spa and several fantastic upscale a la carte restaurants. No rice & beans buffets here! The service is exemplary. The rooms are gracious, spotless, romantic, and large. Every detail has been thoughtfully accomplished. The best part of the beach is rather small, but there are plenty of 'palapas' (beach beds) and beach butlers to serve you drinks as you relax! We were mezmerized watching the pelicans dive for their dinner! Guaranteed to please even the pickiest world traveler! It is located further south on the Riviera Maya, near Tulum.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view of the ocean, but some ground floor rooms have swim up connections...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rebeccarealtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

thank you for your wonderful review and it was a pleasure to welcome you to , what we hope is the first of many visits to the El Dorado Seaside Suites. I'm happy to hear that exceeded your expectations and that you experienced the perfect Gourmet Inclusive vacation.

We're already looking forward to your return

Regards

Paula Negrete
gmeds@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.5 mi away
UNICO 20.87 Hotel Riviera Maya
4.8 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
22.8 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#11 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
El Dorado Seaside Suites
El Dorado Seaside Suites
#57 of 392 in Riviera Maya
1,243 reviews
4.6 mi away
Joy Tulum
Joy Tulum
#58 of 98 in Tulum
27 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma
Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma
#1 of 454 in Riviera Maya
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya

Address: Km 95 Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range: $330 - $1,020 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Seaside Hotel
El Dorado Seaside Suites Mexico
El Dorado Resort Spa
Hotel El Dorado Seaside
El Dorado Seaside Resort
El Dorado Spa
El Dorado Seaside Mexico
Eldorado Seaside Suites
Eldorado Resort
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing