We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very grown up!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very grown up!”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Well groomed grounds lots of palm trees, exotic plants, hammocks, wild life!
Friendly polite staff which are more than helpfull.Food is beautifully presented and tasty - not large portions but you can order more.
We had a swim up 3504 it was on the far right on a bend in the "river" So our terrace wasn't boxed in. It was fab till chain smokers arrived in the room next to ours which made it very unpleasent to sit out when they were out. Ask if yours is a sunny room we presumed they all would be but no......
The beach is lovely lots of sun beds and four poster beds.Be aware there is a 4 foot barracuda in the water! He is however friendly! I jumped out of my skin the first time I saw him I thought it was a shark!
We went on the fat cat catamaran trip which we had booked before we realised the weather was going to be bad.. Original booking was postponed till the following day however the weather was still awfull which made for a very unpleasent trip. The price of just under $200 for the 2 of us for 4 hours we felt was a rip off! You'd be better going to Exceret for the day for just a few $ more. We have been on lots of catamaran trips so we do know which ones are good. If you do decide to go wait till the day and book then when you know the weather will be good.
Although we had a great time we won't be back as they are extending the amount of rooms quite considerably and we think it will be spoilt. So get in now before!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: If booking a swim up ask for a sunny one. Sea view rooms really don't see much of the sea as too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaza1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, December 21, 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,001 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,538
    1,568
    515
    227
    153
See reviews for
227
6,318
48
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,304)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Lake, Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We just spent last week at the resort and it was the best time I have ever had at a resort. The staff were above friendly and extrermely accommidating. The beach had better snorkeling than the tour I took and "Barry" the barricuda was a great attraction. I would definitely return again over and over. Its the perfect size and all A La Cart.

Room Tip: Pre arrange a King size bed if you dont want 2 doubles.. But I suggest the swim up rooms are the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, December 21, 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macomb, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

we spent 5 nights & wished we could have stayed alot longer . being an adult only location suited me as it was calm & peaceful setting for a nice relaxing get-away from the crowds & noise of other vacation spots . with 13 pools & restaurants at every turn it wasnt hard to find a pleasant place to stop . the people working there ere fantastic ! i know its there job to make you feel welcome , but a friendly 'hola became natural & hopefully i'll keep that up when i get back home .

Room Tip: rooms on ends were traffic from carts was very noisy , if ur a light sleeper get something in the mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mario R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, December 21, 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We travelled with Thomson and opted to upgrade our flight to premium instead of upgrading the room. The premium service was excellent, as well as the enhanced entertainment and free bar you also get an exclusive check-in desk at both Manchester and Cancun airport, free fastlane through security at Manchester and priority boarding.

Cancun airport wasn't nearly as bad as we expected, we were through immigration and on the coach on our way to the hotel in under an hour.

After a relaxed check in with champagne & a cold flannel to freshen up we were taken by to our room by golf cart with our luggage arriving about 10 minutes after we did. We were in room 3618 which is well away from the building works so is nice & quiet but was quite dark due to all the trees outside the balcony - all rooms have trees outside and from what we saw they are all quite darkt inside. The bed is enormous and is the most comfortable hotel bed we have ever had! We also took advantage of the pillow menu so we had a great sleep every night. All of the windows and the balcony door have fly screens so your not bothered by mosquitoes in the room.

We're not big coffee drinkers so called room service & they provided a kettle and replenished a stock of teabags each day.

We tried all of the restaurants; Vida, Mia Casa and Klay Talay turned out to be our favourites. The food was exquisite and the service faultless. The same can be said about room service which we used for breakfast a couple of times.

The beach is great, the water is warm and filled with fish, no need for a snorkel, just stand there and wait for the fish will come to you. The man made reefs do a great job of keeping the water calm and there are plenty of areas to enter the water without beach shoes. The only downside was the sunbeds, there are lots of day beds and sunbeds all along the beach but they are all covered with towels by the time you go to breakfast - a trend we eventually joined to make sure we had our place in the sun.

The beach waitress was brilliant, a really friendy and helpful girl, encouraging us to try all the different cocktails which come with or without alcohol - we got hooked on the mango smoothies but can honestly say all the drinks she tempted us with were great.

As an extra treat we booked a spa massage through one of the spa staff who come down to the beach with special offers. We both had the sacred stones treatment and were totally blown away - absolutley fantastic!

We had an excellent time and will definitely consider another Karisma property - perhaps the one in Jamaica.

Room Tip: All of the rooms, garden or beach, have trees outside the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank C1oak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, December 21, 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Firstly I would like to thank the travel agent who sent us here, We booked through Thomson holidays in Christchurch and the lady who booked it had visited here on one of her own holidays, this enabled us to get the best information on the resort before we travelled, She advised us if we wanted a quiet room then not to opt for the swim up room, and to go for one of the rooms in block 32 or 33 and to go for an ocean front suite, (This was great advice!) as the hotel is small even though you are down the furthest end nowhere is far to walk,
CHECK-IN
This was a joy, no queues of people waiting in a lobby, we were sat down and given a glass of champagne while we filled in our arrival forms then whisked off to our room on a golf buggy with our luggage
Rooms
Our ocean front suite was gorgeous, Plenty of space even though we had the biggest bed i've ever seen in it, Then we spotted our Jacuzzi! filled up waiting for us with flowers in and a bottle of wine on the side, plenty of storage for cases and clothes, inside our wadrobe there were lovely bathrobes, so instead of unpacking we jumped in the jacuzzi !!
FOOD
I do not have enough words to describe the quality of the food, It wastruly exceptional
and as adviced by our travel agent we checked out the room service one night while soaking in the jacuzzi, one word ..... AMAZING! we ordered a feast and it was delivered to our room along with coffee and cheesecake
Grounds
They are well maintained and beautiful to walk around , they have lovely double day beds for you to chill out and relax around the gardens
BEACH
Not the biggest beach i've ever seen but certainly well maintained and great sunbeds and food and drinks available all day long
Entertainment
We watched fire shows , live bands and incredibly one evening they put up a big screen on the beach and we layed on sunloungers and watched a movie under the stars, Some people stayed on the sunloungers all night!
All in all truly wonderful holiday and perfect for a honeymoon or special occasion or just to spoil yourself

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank temptingtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, December 21, 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

My fiancee and I were planning a trip to Mexico for years. After much research we decided on El Dorado Seaside suites as our romantic getaway. We are very happy with our decision.

We arrived late on a Saturday night. The lobby was full of warm colours and beautiful flower arrangements and the staff were incredibly welcoming. We enjoyed our welcome glass of champagne while we finished the paper work then was swiftly brought to our suite. The room was very nice with a pleasant jacuzzi. Beds were comfortable and the bathroom was beautiful. We were on the far south side of the resort. The resort is impeccably clean and well kept. We didn't want to spend our vacation in a place that was too 'resort-y', and El Dorado is not. The grounds are very lush with beautiful flora all around.

There are a nice selection of restaurants. We tried to make a point to try every one of them. Although, 24 hour room service was a definite upside, (especially those nights after celebrating our engagement with much tequila...). The beach was very nice and lead to many romantic strolls (we were lucky to be there during a full moon. So romantic..).

Staff was very friendly. Everyone greeted you no matter what time of day. They were always there to help. Bartenders were fun and worked really hard. It was supposedly peak season while we were there and Saturday night the main bar, Guacamayas, was bustling. The bartenders kept up to speed and were more than happy to make you all sorts of fun and funky cocktails.

Would definitely be going back here as soon as possible. Maybe our honeymoon.....?!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Erika H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, December 21, 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We have just celebrated our 40th Wedding anniversary at this hotel, and it was a great choice. After doing some research we found that if we booked a beachfront location and took our wedding certificate with us we would qualify for an anniversary package. This was well worth the extra for the upgraded room, we had a couples massage in the beautiful Spa, dinner on the beach -on returning from this we found our room decorated and the jacuzzi filled. The following morning we had a huge 'romantic' breakfast delivered to the room. All in all very impressed!
The hotel is extremely well run, the staff are trained to an exceptionally high standard and it was by far the best all inclusive we have been to, a hard act to follow! Would struggle to find negatives O.K the beach is a little rocky in parts but fine if you take water shoes, and if you want a bed on the beach you need to be up early (although the hotel was almost full to capacity when we went in mid January). Food is great, beautifully presented and a wide choice, yes there was a wait sometimes for a table at the Italian but that was never a real issue, just have a drink at 'Elmers' bar and they will collect you when a table is free.
Good location for getting around, the local bus stops just outside and takes you into Playa Del Carmen for 35 pesos each, worth a look and you can easily get a ferry to Cozumel from there. We also visited Tulum by taxi - go early (opens about 8.30 I think) it was lovely but getting really busy when we were leaving around midday. Coba we did with Thomsons a good trip with the highlight for me being a swim in a cenote.
If you are considering this place I would say go for it! I have spent more on holidays in the past and have received far less in return,
Happy to answer any queries.

Room Tip: I thought the beachfront rooms were great, I wouldnt personally choose a swim up as they can be nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank kingsnorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, December 21, 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
22.0 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#59 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
5,264 reviews
0.6 mi away
UNICO 20.87 Hotel Riviera Maya
6.9 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
18.2 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
15,758 reviews
22.4 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya

Property: El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya
Address: Km 95 Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Seaside Hotel
El Dorado Seaside Suites Mexico
El Dorado Resort Spa
Hotel El Dorado Seaside
El Dorado Seaside Resort
El Dorado Spa
El Dorado Seaside Mexico
Eldorado Seaside Suites
Eldorado Resort
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing