We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel and staff... Brilliant!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in August fit 2 weeks. This was our second time and we didn't think the place could get better but it was even better. Rooms amazing, food in all restaurants was excellent our favourite was Mia casa and the tenderloin of beef with Gorgonzola was to die for!! The new addition of a taco cart going around at lunch was great - able to grab a quick bite and eat on the beach! Staff are a real credit always willing to help and ensure you have a great holiday. There are so many but Genaro, Lorenzo and Antonio in sandwichere were excellent as we're Ana and Lucy keeping drinks replenished on the beach!! Great place did not want to leave! The only thing I would change is the plastic sun loungers on the beach need updating with mattresses for comfort!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank angelcake1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (8,553)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,568 - 5,574 of 8,554 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2012

My wife and I went for our honeymoon in July 2012 and were completely thrilled with 90% of the resort. The other 10% was in no way their fault!

We went with Thomson and that part of the trip was excellent. The pickup from the airport was fine and the hour journey from Cancun was as you would expect. (Definitely nice to have an air conditioned coach!). We had a guy called Matt who was a brilliant help and was at the resort all week for when we had questions about anything or needed to book excursions.

The resort itself is absolutely beautiful. Our room (an ocean view - slightly misleading as there is a long line of trees blocking the ocean are you're still about 40 meters from it) was amazing. Comfy bed, amazing shower, turn down service was excellent (they even made animals out of towels each day!) balcony was small but fine (we didn't spend that much time on it!). Jacuzzi in the room was nice too.

The facilities were amazing. Three of four different pools (each with a bar - some of them swim up bars - AMAZING). Comically the "relax" pool (that didn't have music or sports - for the more calm types) had building work going on next door so we only spend 4 minutes there before leaving but we happily hung out at the activity pool played some water volleyball, watched the zumba, drank many cocktails and read books. There were great beach beds around the pool and there was almost always one available. If there wasn't there was always a sun bed.

Free treats:
We had a free spa (as it was our honeymoon) that we upgraded to get a longer massage, a facial (a bit weird for a guy but fine!), some time in the jacuzzi with champagne and fruit. We also had a free 4 course dinner on the beach one night that we upgraded so that instead of it being us and a few other couples near us, it was litterally just us and our amazingly helpful and kind waiter Edwin! The day after we also had a free breakfast in bed (with Edwin again!) which was a four course breakfast!

Restuarants:
Great selection of restaurants. Italian - good but not as good as everyone hyped it to be - maybe it's because we get Italian food all the time in the UK. The Vida Grill was amazing - did great breakfast too. Klay Talay was quite good although not that much choice - I also got a very scowlly look when I asked if I could have another portion of something - maybe that's not the done thing! La Carreta was a brilliant mexican restaurant. It was nice to have some genuine mexican food. We went there a few times. Good tequila too! Arrefices was good too - not much to say. The sandwicherie was a brilliant place for lunch each day. Simple - burger and chips but lots of options of burgers. We've been craving that since we've been home! We only had once experience with room service when we went on an expedition early in the morning and we needed food at 545 and it arrived at 6 which is when we needed to leave so we had to go. The waiter looked so dejected! We felt so bad! Overall the food was brilliant!

Personal concierges:
A brilliant idea. Basically for each section of the resort there is a concierge who will help with anything. You can get fresh towels from them, restaurant recommendations, spa bookings anything at all! They were so helpful and friendly!

Excursions
We did two excursions. The first was going to Chichen Itza. That was a brilliant culture trip. We had the most amazingly cool guide called Alfonzo who knew about everything. It was fascinating to learn about Mayan culture. It was insanely hot thought and there wasn't that much shade.
The other excursion was more of an adrenaline trip! The "Jungle Expedition". Basically it involved zip lining, abseiling and snorkelling in cenotes. Well worth it if you slightly adventurous. It's not super adrenalined but fun none the less.

The most amazing part of the whole trip were the cenotes - underground lakes. These are beautiful fresh water lakes usually underground. Swimming in them is an experience not to be missed! I would have been so sad to not have got out of the resort and seen and swam in these (chilly) pools. Best bit of the whole honeymoon. (We got a chance to do it on both excursions).

The only negatives were things that the resort can't change! That is the beach is not a pure white sand soft beach. It's super ground shells so is slightly uncomfortable to walk on. The weather for the first couple of days was really cloudy but then it became amazing after - you get epic thunder and rain storms! They don't last long - they're quite fun if you're not scared of thunder! The other thing is that the see isn't pure blue and there isn't much sealife around the beach so we didn't spend much time in the sea.

The final thing is that we weren't too fussed about not having children there but actually having a resort where there were no children at all was amazing and peaceful! Also everything is set up for couples. Tables are for two, hammocks for two, swings for two etc. It's a perfect honeymoon destination!

But don't let that put you off. It was amazing!
Food aplenty, drink aplenty, really nice staff. Just incredible!
I would go back in an instant!

Room Tip: The swim up rooms were cool. If you're going on honeymoon make sure you have a ocean front room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We also appreciate your feedback as this helps us to improve and keep offering the best experiences.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards,

Andrea Duerre
General Manager
aduerre@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

First of all, let me start by saying that we had an amazing honeymoon at El Dorado Seaside! The staff is beyond friendly, the room was very nice and the grounds were beautiful. Unfortunately, we have two qualms with this place. First of all, it states that it's a gourmet all-inclusive resort. The food was very good especially for an all-inclusive but the items I would consider gourmet were available for an extra charge. Secondly, we were booked in an Oceanview room through Liberty Travel. As soon as we got to our room, the first thing I did was go straight to the sliding doors to see the view and was very disappointed that all we could see were palm trees. (Hey, life could be worse, right?) When we brought it up to our personal concierge (each building unit has its own set of concierges) we were told that because the resort is a green resort that the trees were left to grow and that our travel agent should have explained this to us. We do really appreciate the green initiatives of this resort as hubby and I are self-proclaimed tree huggers but why would anyone think that an oceanview room would have any view other than the ocean?! Of course we were told that we could upgrade to another room for an additional fee per night. I call [--] on that. Other than those two items our trip was really great and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and had a relaxing, romantic honeymoon. :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lori K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We also appreciate your feedback as this helps us to improve and keep offering the best experiences.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards,

Andrea Duerre
General Manager
aduerre@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Before I start i will say anything negative i write is aimed at Thomson not the Hotel or Staff!!

Stayed here 25th September 2012.
After a long 10 hour flight, we collected out suitcases and went to the coach, lovely and air conditioned, guide very helpful, although they sell insect repellant band on the coach 2 for 10 dollars, (buy them from us as tomorrow they are 10 dollars each) so us and the other 7 or 8 couples purchased the bands.
Arrived at the hotel after a little more than 1 hr and got taken to a lovely cool room, were we received nibbles, champagne and a cold flannel, very refreshing, we filled in a form gave them a copy of our marriage certificate as requested by thomson and were given our room safe lock and key and then we were taken to our room by golf buggy and our cases arrived a short while later.

Room
We arrived in the room, my initial thoughts is that it smelt musty but my husband siad he smelt cleaning products! we had a garden view room, jacuzzi and 2 beds!! strange i thought as its a couples/honeymoon resort but hey we squeeze into one as did not want to spend our honeymoon sleeping in seperate beds, you couldn't even push them together.

during the next couple of days we got talking to a couple, and during converstaion about the hotel we mentioned the beds, they looked at us shocked and they said that they had a double bed that was that big you had to roll over a couple of times to find each other also they requested a 1st floor room and on arrival were given a ground floor room, their concierge sorted a new room for them and gave them a free bottle of champagne.

so the next day when the reps where in their office we paid them a visit and asked them to move rooms to double bed, we spoke to abraham(i think he was called) and to be perfectly frank he couldn't give a toss, he went to reception came back and said that they were busy and he would leave us a message on our phone within the next 24hrs.

The following day we went on sian kaan trip and was out all day, we came back and no message again.
Sunday i will be honest we didn't go to see thomson as it was sunny and it didnt do that an awful lot in 2 weeks, so we spent the day on the beach, that night, we went back to the room and i headed for the shower, i stood on something brushed it off my foot and never thought about it, as i couldnt see anything on the floor, i stepped into the shower and began to wash when all of a sudden i felt a strange feeling and a white plastic circle in the shower... i shouted my husband, who came in and i went get out the shower and stood on GLASS, yes the light had fallen out of the ceiling, my husband rang reception and within 5 minutes i had a maid and electrician in the room and within 15mins it was all sorted and the staff were very apologetic.

On the monday we went to see thomson and spoke to savannah, by this point i felt as if i had paid all this money for nothing, no champagne, no otowel art, no meal on the beach or couples massage (honeymoon package specials), i explained all this and Savannah kindly informed us that we were not showing as on our honeymoon!!!
Savanah disappeared and came back and said they could move us to a double room later that day and clarified that Abraham had indeed done naff all about us moving rooms. we also got a free couples massage as a good will gesture and a bottle of champage (i'm still waiting for that)!!

we moved rooms and got settled and had the best nights sleep we had ever had, although the following night my husband had a jacuzzi and when we came back from dinner that night the jacuzzi was covered in ants (big ants) i immediately rang reception and again within 5 minutes 2 maids appeared with ant killer!!

we did have a meal on the beach food and service fab and that night upon returning the staff had made a heart out of towels and covered the bed in rose petals, and had filled the jacuzzi up, however was reluctant to use due to ants and didnt use it again.
both our rooms were spacious, and over looked the swim up suites, swim upsuites not very private and the americans that use the swim up bar are so loud, don't expect to have a half our kip once returning from beach or pool.

Loads of wildlife about harmless

all food was outstanding, our favourites being klay talay and mia casa, arricifes for breakfast was the best.
although the morning of the trip where we was picked up at 740 the lady at vida garden got us toast and coffee very quick as we told her we was in a rush.
(ladies all restaraunts can be cool at night)
book your trips from the guy on the beach, very good prices, the beach girls that fill ur drinks up throughout the day are fab, never have to move.
all staff were brill havier in the pool bar was amazing he really did keep my hubby entertained and very very pleasant genuine guy.
alex our personal concierge was very good also nothing was to much trouble we stayed in 3615 & 3628.
Hugo and the entertainment team were amazing got my hubby up singing never happend before, although he was not seen for a couple of nights and the entertainment slipped and we heard that he had been suspended/sacked which is such as shame has was brill and made the entertainment, although roger and isay were very good also. BRING BACK HUGO!!!

When it came to checking out, the night before we departed we went to settle the room bill as we had put our trips on there.
we paid this and my husband got the free days wifi, although they tried to charge us for it and mine. i cannot believe that in such a gourmet all inclusive they charge a huge amount for wifi this is one of the down sides and i have travelled to eygpt and turkey for 3 grand less and had free wifi., we didn't pay for me and cleared the bill.
then on the morning we were leaving i went to hand the safe key and got "miss we have a problem u owe money" i didn't understand, they said it was from that spa, i explained that the massage was on thomson and after about 20mins my husband explaining the lady finally changed her story , they had miss charged us, i still didnt undertstand how and the coach pulled up i wanted to go and we just paid it.

i had a really nice time i swam with dolphins and relaxed, would i go again.... prob not, this is no reflection on the staff, maybe it was because it rained 10days out of 14 i don't know!! who knows.

Room Tip: don't book swim up not private and noise from swim up bars,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank becky-ste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We also appreciate your feedback as this helps us to improve and keep offering the best experiences.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards,

Andrea Duerre
General Manager
aduerre@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We would recommend this hotel to anyone. The food is amazing, the people that work there are amazing and the rooms are lovely. Our room was at the far end of the resort, which was lovely and quiet. We enjoyed strolling over for dinner and used the bikes provided at reception a few times too. Our favourite restaraunts were the Italian and Asian, although we enjoyed all of the restaraunts overall. There was a lot of variety and you wouldn't have to eat the same thing twice if you stayed for 3 weeks! There were masses of staff who were constantly maintaining the property and grounds. The waiters and beach bar staff were all fab and very hardworking. The evening entertainment is not usually out type of thing but was very good (the fire show was our favourite). As we were at the back of the property we did encounter the sulphur smell from the mangrove but it didn't bother us too much. We used the concierge and complimentary room service - all great. The only slight let down here was the beach/sea. We love the water but it just wasn't that inviting in front of the hotel. Nothing to complain about but we used the pools more than we would normally. Overall we just loved it, we got engaged while we were there and hope to come back to another Karisma hotel for our honeymoon. We have been to several Carribbean islands for holidays and think Mexico provides much better value for money now. Fabulous hotel, climate and service for much less than you'd pay in Barbados etc nowadays. Trips we would recommend include Xel-ha for snorkelling and cliffjumping (and dolphins!) and Coco Bongos was such a good night out!

Room Tip: The swim up rooms looked great but are an expensive upgrade considering we hardly saw anyone else us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EmilyT1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Truly a gourmet resort with helpful staff and excellent facilities, my wife and I had a fantastic holiday and we would definitely return again. In particular try the Asian restaurant - the food is fantastic.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jon3736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This dec will be our 13th time at the el dorado seaside suites we started going in1999 we have seen major changes we love it and wouldnt go any place place else everyone there is just wonderful they make you feel right at home we cant wait for this dec and we are there for 3-4 weeks every dec just love it the rooms are great and the food top notch room service is great too back in 99 the was no room service or late nite food the hotel has changed so so much for the good looking forward to dec

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marilynn54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.5 mi away
UNICO 20.87 Hotel Riviera Maya
4.8 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
22.0 mi away
Maria Del Mar Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
El Dorado Seaside Suites
El Dorado Seaside Suites
#56 of 392 in Riviera Maya
1,264 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma
Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma
#1 of 455 in Riviera Maya
716 reviews
4.6 mi away
Joy Tulum
Joy Tulum
#57 of 98 in Tulum
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya

Address: Km 95 Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range: $333 - $1,032 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Seaside Hotel
El Dorado Seaside Suites Mexico
El Dorado Resort Spa
Hotel El Dorado Seaside
El Dorado Seaside Resort
El Dorado Spa
El Dorado Seaside Mexico
Eldorado Seaside Suites
Eldorado Resort
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing