We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Whole Truth .... And Nothing But the Truth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Birmingham, England
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“The Whole Truth .... And Nothing But the Truth”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We visited this resort on 6th September 2012 - 13 September 2012, we are mature travellers with many years of holiday experience. On arrival we were greeted by staff in a very pleasant and scented reception and check in was easy. After reading all the rave reviews we were expecting this hotel to be breathtaking. Our first impression was that although the reception was well appointed, it did look quite dated.

We were taken to our first room which was at the back of the complex next to the mangrove swamp. Room was clean and tidy, with a well appointed bathroom, room had a large comfortable bed and a jacuzzi. Again, it has become to look slightly dated, but other than that was quite acceptable. After 3 nights asked to be moved as there was an unpleasant smell emanating either from the mangrove swamp or the sewage pumping station that was located close by. This was not a problem to the hotel and they obliged us by moving us to a different room that was garden facing, the layout of which was different but still acceptable. We have read that the air conditioning units in the room are noisy, we find this a little bit surprising, as all these air-conditioning units are state of the art, eco-friendly and you are provided with a remote control for the units. We are not sure whether the other reviewer was aware, but not only could you control temperature with the remote, but also the fan speed (this will reduce noise), you can send it to sleep at night and to automatically restart in the morning, and it will do several other tricks if you are that way inclined to mess with remote controls, or a simple call to your concierge to set it up for you. In the first room the safe was situated in a wardrobe and at a comfortable height, but in the second one it was low down in a chest of drawers which meant you were on your hands and knees to access it, these are key operated and you have to carry the key around with you at all times. Suggestion to the hotel would be to update all the safes to electronic ones.

Restaurants

La Carreta (Mexican) - Evenings only. This restaurant had wonderful staff, not too over the top but friendly and welcoming. It also has a bar area that is well under used and is very nice to go too early for a Margarita before going for your meal. Food in this restaurant is very nicely presented, but could do with being a little more spicy. This is a suggestion for the hotel, give an option to increase the spiciness of certain dishes and also would like to see a little bit more traditional Mexican food on the menu.

Arricifes (International) - used this for breakfast only, but is open for lunch and evening meals. You can order off the breakfast menu or via a buffet (eggs benedict with chipotle sauce is a recommendation). Also available for breakfast you can have house fizz or even a Bloody Mary if you so wish. Well worth a try.

Klay Talay (Asian) - evening meal only. Ate here twice, very pleasant. Sushi was nice and well presented. The rest of the menu is a Pacific Rim menu with dishes from all round the Asian region. This restaurant has a nice ambiance with a lovely outdoor seating area for those who would like to take a romantic meal. This terrace overlooks the ocean.

Mia Casa (Italian) - evening meal only. Used this restaurant twice. Seems to be the most popular. Very nice ambiance, but unfortunately the food does not live up to your expectations. Very pushy on wine menu (make your own decision). Food in here, although presented beautifully is so over seasoned that it actually ruined some dishes. Seasoning is a personal choice but this was ridiculous. This is something that needs to be addressed by the hotel.

Sandwicherie - breakfast & lunch. Never used for breakfast, but had looked at breakfast, buffet style breakfast with continental and some American breakfast specials. Lunch time, basically burgers, pizza's and bellinis. Pizza's all nice, thin crust, freshly prepared and baked on site, wide selection of burgers with different toppings.

Vida Garden Grill - breakfast, lunch & evening meal. Ate here for breakfast and lunch. Breakfast is a la carte and there is an extensive lunch time menu. Had one of our best lunches at this restaurant. Skirt steak with sweetcorn would highly recommend and steaks are cooked to your preferences.

Hotel holds BBQ on beach every day, inter dispersing with a fish market once a week, this looks very popular with guests but did not use ourselves.

Room Service

Used twice during our stay once for lunch and once for a early breakfast - both arrived promptly and were of a good standard. Menu has a reasonable choice.

Bars

Bars - there are 2 main bars. Cotorros bar which is located by the Mexican/Italian restaurant but is only open to 11.00pm. It is a quiet bar, suggestion to hotel is for this to be open later as not everyone wants the entertainment and the hub bub of the main bar.

Guacamayas Bar - is the main bar and next to the Arrecifes restaurant. This is where the main entertainment takes place and is quite a loud place to be. But if that is your thing you will enjoy it.

There are also several swim up bars - which we did not use and they are open to 6.00pm.

Toilets - you could smell these before you got to them and for a change for the right reason. Beautifully air-conditioned with aroma therapy been pumped through the air conditioning. Immaculately cleaned every 30 minutes, no paper towels or hand dryers, but lovely flannels with a selection of different hand soaps and hand sanitizer. The only draw back is that there is only 2 toilet blocks at the resort.

Beach - half of the resort has a lovely powdered sand beach, but the other half has been lost to a hurricane and a retaining wall has been built with very course sand being put in place and access to the sea is very limited from here. This is one of the biggest let down's of the hotel and the hotel seem to be compounding this problem by adding extra Cabana's onto this stretch of beach for some unknown reason. The hotel is making efforts to restore the beach by putting in man made reefs which will take many years to form, but without these being in place the hotel would have no beach at all. So whilst people say they are unsightly they are there for a purpose and in the long run will help the environment and improve the beach.

A nice touch on the beach are the girls & boys that bring you drinks on the beach. They are all so happy and friendly and cannot do enough for you. This to us was one of the pleasant experiences of our stay at the hotel.

Also this part of the beach is set up at night time for couples to have a romantic candle lit dinner. Did not use, but looked very nice.

There is a substantial spa at this resort, along with Cabana's on the beach for massage's. Yes, there is selling of massage's and spa treatments which can get annoying as once you have said no thank you once or twice you should not have to keep repeating yourself.

In closing, this a good 4 star hotel, with some nice touches, but it does need to make some radical improvements within a short period, there is no inside bar with air-conditioning. If there is a rain storm which is highly likely in September there does not seem to be very many alternatives but to stand outside. The whole hotel, is at the present moment having major construction work done, which does interfere with guests and piping music into the resort to mask the building work is not really the solution. Also, there seems to be a rather hit or miss on premium international drinks behind the bar, they seem to disappear on a regular basis and not reappear for a day or two. This is not satisfactory for a hotel of this quality.

We can only put down the rave reviews to people who have not travelled as extensively as ourselves.

If you wish to ask any specific questions or require any more detail, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not located by building work
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
29 Thank HappyWonderers104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, December 28, 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We also appreciate your feedback as this helps us to improve and keep offering the best experiences.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards,

Andrea Duerre
General Manager
aduerre@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,737
    1,592
    522
    229
    155
See reviews for
240
6,521
51
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,364)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ramsgate
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Visited EDSS 10th Sept and had a ball if your a nit picker you can also find somthing where ever you go but this Hotel was value for money , The food and drinks were very good plenty of choice
The room service menu was very good and service was reasonabley quick this sort of service you would have to pay a lot for in other resorts. The staff where cheerful kept our room clean
and changed the towels and linen frequently our room fridge was always fully stocked with the beers and soft drinks we had chosen. The conceirge service allocated to us were most helpful so we say a big thank you to Santiago and Alecs for their help. Both my husband and I like our food and drink and from the size of us when we returned home you could tell we had had a good time .
We had chosen a swim up room which we enjoyed as it was in a sunny spot we enjoyed many Bloody Marys at the pool bar as well as a few JD and cokes, Being keen travellers with pampering thrown in we were not disappointed.

Downside The Hotel does not have enough toilet facilties on the property and around bar areas
so to Karisma Hotels I say you gave us plenty to drink but we had to run a few times to reach the loo so please put a few more toilets around bar areas by beach and pool bars , Try all the restraurants their all different and the foods good . Reccomend this hotel ,

Room Tip: our swim up room was 3707 sunny spot
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank crissycoppernob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, December 28, 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We also appreciate your feedback as this helps us to improve and keep offering the best experiences.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards,

Andrea Duerre
General Manager
aduerre@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

We arrived in cancun airport which was a little hectic to say the least, not to worry though as soon as we were on the transfer a nice corona chilled us out.

When we arrived at the hotel we were handed a glass of champagne and a cold cloth which was lovely. We were whisked to a room where we were given sandwiches and more champagne whilst the staff took our passports and copied them whilst checking us in. We were then returned our passports and given our room keycards, safe keys and towel cards and taken in golf buggies to our rooms. Our luggage followed mins later.

Our room was a swim up room. The bed was huge and soooo comfy. On arrival the jacuzzi was filled with petals and a bottle of champagne. Pros of the room were the amazing bathroom-shower room, jacuzzi and the bed. Cons were a slight musty smell and could have done with a flat screen tv.

The food is excellent. Mia casa and the garden grill were our favourites. Least favourite def arrecifes. We weren't too impressed with it. The Asian restaurant is also lovely. Mexican is nice but food not spicy like I expected. The sandwichere at lunch is awesome as is beach BBQ. Breakfast is great everywhere but my fave was garden grill. Room service is also lovely. You won't go hungry!

Cocktails are sooo good, during the day a few of my faves were mango dauiris, lemon daquiris, strawberry daquiris, el dorado specials and riviera Maya's. champagne and wine are also good. Spirits excellent, Smirnoff, absolut etc available.

The beach is great. Beach beds are fab. Didn't use the pools much, not even our swim up as it didn't get sun all day and found cos of all trees had a lot of ants. Entertainment pool plays music all day.

Night time entertainment was mediocre. Shows were ok, followed by quizzes and karaoke. We always managed to have a great time though.

The most hard working staff ever, constantly maintaining the gardens etc.

We went to the spa for a scrub and massage and it was lovely.

We done 4 excursions:

Chitzen itzu with Thomson, we enjoyed this day and got to see some Mayan culture but it wasn't really my kind of thing, more my husbands.

Captain Hook pirate ship with Thomson, long way to cancun but amazing night! Food and drink included. May have drunk too much wine haha.

Xel-ha gold with Thomson, this include dolphin swim. Was amazing. Xel-ha itself was amazing. Photos and DVDs were expensive but we bought full package. Once in a lifetime experience.

Coco bongos vip with lomas travel. We went with lomas a they provided transport and Thomson never. Same price. We loved it. Great show and drinks kept coming all night.

Tips - we tipped frequently, don't feel it was expected and didn't see a lot of people tipping. We tended to leave 20pesos at breakfast and lunch, 50pesos at dinner, 20pesos here an there for wait staff, bar staff, room service, bell boys etc. then left cleaner 500pesos at ed of our fortnight.

I can't recommend this place enough. Nearly booke to go back next year but decided to try another hotel for a change. We are trying riu palace playa car which is getti refurbished right now.

Have an amazing time, will defo be back!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Lovessunnyhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, December 21, 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knebworth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We visited this hotel in 2010, and I must say, it was a perfect resort. Everything was immaculate, from the gardens, the beach, to the food, service and room. The jacuzzi in the room was amazing, and the animals in the gardens exciting and fun to look at. The resort is situated in a very good location, close to all the attractions and to Playa del Carmen which is definitely worth the short taxi ride.

Great holiday!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, December 21, 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Me and my husband went here for our honeymoon and all I can say was that it was just like landing in paradise!! Without giving too much away, ask yourself these questions....do you want to surround yourself in 5* luxury? Do you want to stay in an adults only resort? Do you want to stay in a resort where there are fewer than 600 guests and is not built up into tower block hotels? Do you want to feel like the only guest who has ever stayed at the El Dorado? Do you want to stay in one of the top 10 most romantic hotels in the world? If you have answered yes to all of these, then look no further...I promise you that you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kaznewsome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, December 21, 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

My partner and I stayed for ten nights at the luxurious El Dorado Seaside Suites and as a seasoned global traveller I can state with confidence that this is the finest hotel I have frequented. The staff are the hardest working, friendly and dedicated you will ever meet - one staff member bought me and my partner two little gifts to say adios! Nothing is too much trouble and you are pampered and waited upon like royalty. The rooms, restaurants, bars, Naay Spa and other amenities are excellent. I read a review on here claiming that the resort is "raccoon infested" this is simply not true. We saw one raccoon the entire time we were there. EDSS prides itself on local wildlife conservation and this is to be applauded. The beach is awesome and as for the idiot who complained about "black sandbags" - they are cultivating coral reefs! Some folk are never satisfied but we we were completely. Paradise on earth.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alz1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, December 21, 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notts
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

As per previous reviews, the resort and staff couldn't be faulted. However, didn't appreciate the invitation to attend a Timeshare meeting for a whole morning of my holiday. My view is that I paid a lot of money for 14 days and I was not going to spend half of one of them shut up in a room with salespeople trying to push me to spend even more.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandiNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, December 28, 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We also appreciate your feedback as this helps us to improve and keep offering the best experiences.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards,

Andrea Duerre
General Manager
aduerre@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
22.0 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#59 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,551 reviews
0.6 mi away
UNICO 20.87 Hotel Riviera Maya
4.8 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
18.2 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#11 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
16,066 reviews
16.9 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya

Property: El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya
Address: Km 95 Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Seaside Hotel
El Dorado Seaside Suites Mexico
El Dorado Resort Spa
Hotel El Dorado Seaside
El Dorado Seaside Resort
El Dorado Spa
El Dorado Seaside Mexico
Eldorado Seaside Suites
Eldorado Resort
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing