We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet-Peaceful-Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
A TripAdvisor Member
“Quiet-Peaceful-Relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2003

Like many of you, we read the reviews with a certain degree of hesitation. The El Dorado had it's share of good and bad reviews but we decided to take the venture and make the most of it. The price was super and we really needed to get away before school started. Were we ever surprised!The property is beautifully kept and you rarely hear any motorized cutting equipment. The rooms are large with king size beds and the basic ammenities. We had a garden view room that looked out at the beach. I don't believe there is a bad room on the property. As a whole the staff was great. Everyone greeted you and gave you a smile as you walked back and forth from the beach, pool, restaurants, bars, massage area, jacuzzi, or just strolling around. The entertainment crew was fantastick and we actively participated in the pool events! They were very accommodating and we totally enjoyed their acquaintance and activities. The food was plentiful and super in the three restaurants. The service was very good.But, the best part of the El Dorado is that it is a quiet place to just relax in a cabanna on the beach, read a book or two, listen to the sounds of the waves, and totally unwind. WOW!We highly recommend this resort.

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, November 23, 2016
Dear guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,359
    1,527
    509
    226
    148
See reviews for
218
6,108
47
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,241)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2003

My fiance and I went in August of 2002 and had the greatest time! The staff was very attentive to us. My favorite place was at the end of the pier especially at the end of the day. The breeze off of the ocean and the sunsets were heavenly. We also liked the "swings" at the outdoor bar. That was just the coolest! We will definitly go back soon.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, November 23, 2016
Dear guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2003

Our first trip to Mexico. June 7-14. We had read a lot of bad reviews about the Eldorado. We had a great time. The rooms were always clean and the staff very friendly. We had one problem at the disco with the bartenders(very rude but management imediately took care of the problem.) No night life to speak of. This resort is great for people who want to get away and be left alone. We took a tour to Tulem and Xel-Ha which was well worth the money and the day away from the resort.
We also took the bus to Playa Del Carmen which was a half-hour to the north. I would highly recommend Playa. Over all the resort was great.
You will have to get used to the occassional oder from the recapture pools. Evidently, all the resorts in this area have this issue.
However, there is always a strong breeze so it is usually not an issue.
I problaby would not go back, but only because there are so many other places to try.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, December 29, 2016
Dear Guest,

We want to thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we want to assure you that all your comments are welcomed and a key part of the improvement of our resort. We are truly sorry to hear you experienced any inconvenience during your stay, we are a 5 star rated resort so we are disheartened to hear your recent stay was not reflecting it.

We would like to invite you to contact our Head of Customer Services at customerservices@karismamexico.com so that we can review your feedback together and to assure you this is not the standard of our hotel, we will be glad to host you again in our hotel or any resort by Karisma to surpass any past experience.


Best Regards,
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2003

My husband and I stayed at the El Dorado Resort Aug 2-9 and it was one of the BEST vacations we've been on! We cannot understand the negative reviews. In our experience, the service was great, the staff was always helpful and friendly and we had a blast with all the people we met!
Nothing is better than the swim-up bar in the pool! I think a vacation is what you make of it and if your idea of fun in Mexico is sitting in a hotel room and watching TV or expecting a five star gourmet dining experience then the El Dorado is not for you. But, if you are going on vacation to have fun, relax, enjoy yourself and meet new people then I would HIGHLY recommend the El Dorado. There was always something to do, whether it is hanging out at the pool, playing water or beach volleyball, going to the great shows in the evening, snorkeling or just hanging out with new friends. We really look forward to going back to the El Dorado! To those people that complained about the service, the TV, the food, etc....maybe you should just stay home, obviously you couldnt have a good time if you tried!

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, November 19, 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We also appreciate your feedback as this helps us to improve and keep offering the best experiences.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2003

My girlfriend and I were at the El Dorado 8/8-8/13. It was our first trip to the El Dorado and we couldnt have asked for a better time. The resort was outstanding, excellent service, good food, nice rooms.
Remember its a foreign country, we had to pick the occasional dead bug out of our sink or jacuzzi, thats how it is everywhere down there.
Great snorkeling off the pier there, the nudists next door didnt bother us, the bars were good, pools were clean and the service was great. We suggest buying some water shoes, going on the Xel-ha/Tulum day trip, eating in the mexican restaurant, drinking banana mama's and taking long naps (day and night) in the "bed-huts." Or whatever they are called!

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, November 19, 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We also appreciate your feedback as this helps us to improve and keep offering the best experiences.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2003

First of all, I read alot of negative reviews prior to our trip to the El Dorado. Reviews like "Our room wasn't ready when we got there", "The foul smell","The air conditioning didn't work","The bug of the day in our tub","The food was terrible","The drinks were watered down" or "The beach was terrible". If you were looking for everything to be "perfect", then shame on you for not spending twice as much or more and booking a trip to a Sandals Resort. My wife and I spent the week for our 14th anniversary and found the resort to be wonderful. Check in time is 3 o'clock and check out time is noon, so if you get there in the morning, you will have to wait for a room. We set our luggage out of the way(kept our valuables with us), and went for a walk around the resort (also had drinks and lunch). Our AC worked great once I figured out the remote control, it was like an ice box, no bugs and the "odor" outside was there, but it was sort of a sulpher smell that was tolerable and was not in the rooms or beach. The food was fine, not five star, but not bad by any means and drinks were good (watch the bartender make your drinks, if you want more alcohol, tell them while they are pouring, they'll get the drift on how you like them from there on out). A dollar tip here and there goes a long way as well. Be friendly, and they will be friendly back. Yes, there is a nude resort next door, but it was more intruiging than anything else. There is more nudity from the european sunbathers than from the nudist resort. My wife and I are already talking about going back.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, November 23, 2016
Dear guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2003

This place is not for the Prissy! O.K., I had enough of all these bad reviews. Especially, since my bride and I have just come back from this establishment for our honeymoon. First of all, check in time is at 3pm central. If you get there early, the room may or may not be ready. Tough luck, make the best of it and don't complain. Umm, it IS a vacation right? So why spoil it? If the room is not ready, the guest service person will tell you to leave your luggage there and they will take it to your room. They will also tell you to enjoy the place and have something to eat. Give them some time to get your rooms ready as checkout for prior guest is at noon. I read someone stating that their luggage was not taken to their room. Let's see...if the room is not ready, that means the luggage can't be taken to a room yet. Gee, that's right. Sarcasm aside, the luggage is fine there in the lobby. You are so far away from the main road (basically the jungle) that no one is going to do anything to it. We left our many pieces there and they were perfectly fine. Once the room is ready, you check in to get your key. If you are honeymooning don't forget a copy of your marriage certificate as it is needed to get the honeymoon treatment. Spa, dinner on the beach, etc. Our luggage was taken to the room as we followed. *See, now the room is ready and it can be taken. Can you say "OHHH, now I see"? The walk was a long way, but this is not a high rise hotel. Two stories high is about it. So to accommodate for the amount of rooms needed, they have to spread it out. The scenery from the room is more than worth the long walk. (someone complained they had to walk a long way to their room...poor baby, you should have just brought your motorized shopping cart to move you along--by the way, didn't you have to walk to get to the restaurants in Playa del Carmen? Nah, probably not) Once youre in the room, its time to get settled. The view of course depends on the type of room you get. We had a Jacuzzi in our room and it was great! Now, when you first turn on the jets, you do get the unpleasant odor, but let it run for a minute and it will go away. (Remember, vacation no worries, relax and it will be o.k.) The beds are firm, everyone has there own likes and dislikes about this subject. If you like firm, youll love it - If you hate firm, youll hate it - If you hate cold tile floor, youll love the firm bed. Someone said that there was structural problems and the AC had problems too. Well not in our room. And why do you care if the TV works well??? V A C A T I O N - you can watch television at your own house. Good Grief!!! Get your rear outside or in a Jacuzzi or somewhere you can enjoy the place youre at. Sheesh! What is this stuff about stiff towels??? oh, its so thin and stiff! The towels are just fine. Poor thing Snuggles didnt visit your bathroom??? Get over it or yourself! Vacations are to get over the worries in your life. Dont let something like this ruin it. Its just pitiful. Now, you CAN go anywhere you want with the taxis. They have a rule, If you ask for it, they shall come They need to make money. But they wont come out to the hotel and wait hoping someone will ask them to come this place is far south of Cancun and other places you have to tell the person at the front desk and they will call someone to pick you up - takes no more than five minutes after the call. Cost is $16 US dollars to go to Playa del Carmen (which is a great place to shop and eat too). So dont hang around like a lump on a log and wait for a taxi without asking for the service like some people here seem to have done. ASK. Hang on to your butts when you do though. Because the drivers are crazy here. But, I didnt see one accident in all the 5 days we were there. They must be doing something right. Food is good here - they use goat cheese on all food that has cheese in it. So be prepared for that. Breakfast is phenomenal! - Lunch and dinner are equally good - reservations are needed for the Italian and Mexican restaurant. Man, the staff all around is great! No problems with any of them and they wait on you hand and foot! They bust their rump to help you out. Im not too sure about the alcohol as my bride and I dont really drink, but you could see that the bar had a wide selection. TAKE WATER SOCKS it is rocky here. So if you want to get in the water, you can snorkel or walk in it with the socks. Sunbathers paradise here though as there are more than enough beach chairs to lay out on. There IS a beach here, its just that since your so close to the coral reef, its going to be rocky in some areas. Recommendation is to walk down that pier of theirs. You can get some bread from the restaurant and feed all those beautiful fish. There were hundreds of them all around the end of the pier! Simply Gorgeous! My bride and I will definitely come back here when we come again! What a wonderful honeymoon! All adults only and no children allowed here (except for the whiners that cant walk to their own place without management having to pick them up in a snuggly towel and lay them on a soft bed and tell them theyre the best thing since sliced goat cheese) So, to you Prissy's with problems, have a nice day.

Helpful?
36 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, November 23, 2016
Dear guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
22.0 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#59 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,844 reviews
6.9 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
4.8 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
El Dorado Seaside Suites
El Dorado Seaside Suites
#94 of 388 in Riviera Maya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
7.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
2.1 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya

Property: El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya
Address: Km 95 Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Seaside Hotel
El Dorado Seaside Suites Mexico
El Dorado Resort Spa
Hotel El Dorado Seaside
El Dorado Seaside Resort
El Dorado Spa
El Dorado Seaside Mexico
Eldorado Seaside Suites
Eldorado Resort
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing