We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 26, 2010

My husband and I traveled to the Aventura Spa Palace for our honeymoon and stayed there from October 10th through the 15th. Overall, we had a wonderful time and I would highly recommend this resort. Prior to booking the trip, I read tons of reviews such as these trying to figure out the best place to stay, and overall this was an excellent choice.
With our reservation, we received 1500 resort credits which was just awesome! We used up about half of our points to upgrade our room to a concierge level, which was a great decision. We got a better view, a personal concierge, a special room service menu, a special dinner (which we missed, but I bet it was good), a 25 minute massage each, and a pillow/aromatherapy menu (kind of silly- but still fun). We used up some more points on a trip to visit Tulum (cool ruins), and for a romantic spa package which included a couples massage and some other little treatments (I think it was two hours overall- pure heaven!) It’s really cool that they give you those points and we really used them up! The food and drinks are very good- they’re all included! It’s really fun to go to the restaurants and try as many appetizers and dishes as you want! And order as many drinks as you want, anytime! Needless to say, we both ate a lot and drank a lot nearly every day we were there, but hey, it was vacation! In particular, La Hacienda , the Mexican restaurant, was just delicious. From the flaming tequila guacamole, to the enchiladas with mole sauce, to the Mayan coffee at the end (don’t miss this!!), it was just great. I also really enjoyed many of the buffets for breakfast and lunch. In some of the other restaurants (like the steak restaurant and the Italian restaurant) the flavors were a little strange, but still not bad food. We also enjoyed room service fairly often, and it was good! The pool was beautiful and fun, and had a swim up bar! There is no beach, but the lagoon is pretty cool. We snorkeled one day and saw a ton of fish in there! The best thing had to be the service- the service is just impeccable. Everywhere you go they are extremely friendly and nice and quick to help you with what you need. Another cool thing is that their water is filtered, and while I still didn’t drink from the tap, I had lots of ice in my drinks and had no issues. While we were there, we also went on the monkey tour (don’t miss this, we saw monkeys in the trees!) and took a day trip to Playa Del Carmen. That was really fun, I’m so glad we did it! As a guest at a palace resort, you have access to other palace resorts, so we were able to use the beach at Playacar palace and they even held our stuff and gave us a room to shower and change in. The town is lively and the shopping is fun (be prepared to bargain) and we enjoyed some more authentic Mexican food and cervezas.
Just so you are aware, this is a time share resort and we had been warned that we might be pressured to go to one of their presentations. Having done this in the past on a vacation and wasted half of one of my vacation days, I really didn’t want to do that. However, we were never pressured at all! I don’t know if we just missed it or what, we met other people there who did the presentation (and became members!) but we avoided it completely, so I don’t think it’s a big deal. There was actually almost a hurricane while we were there, and the hotel did a great job of making us feel safe and relieving our fears. They seemed well prepared, and luckily the hurricane did not hit us and we enjoyed several more days of sunshine. The only thing that I really did not like was that on the last couple of days we were there a huge conference of people came to stay and the place became really busy. When we first arrived, the occupancy was something like 15% and the resort was quiet and calm. The occupancy then went up to more like 90% and was busy and the service quality went down. Not sure what they could have done to fix that, but it was annoying none the less.
Like I said, overall it was fantastic and I would highly recommend this resort or another palace resort for your vacation!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThaBride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,438)
There are newer reviews for Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,851 - 2,857 of 6,445 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2010

This resort is about an hour south of Cancun. We had a fabulous time in 2005 and returned for our anniversary! The restaurants have friendly staff members and there was no issue with language barriers.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donnafullerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2010

This was the best vacation ever! The staff is so friendly. They are always happy and helpful. Some tips:
The Cove Palace is right next store and the night time activities usually happen over there. The buses for excursions leave from there as well.
The fastest way to get from Spa to Cove in good weather is to follow the walkways closest to the beach. The fastest way to get from Spa to Cove in bad weather is to follow the hallways on the second floor that are farthest from the water. You can get across the whole resort under cover doing this. You can also catch a golf cart ride at any time from lobby to lobby.
Men bring long pants! most of the restaurants require long pants and no cut off shirts. They call it "Casual Formal" . Jeans and a t-shirt seemed to work fine.
If you go during the vacation dollars promotion, you can use all your dollars on the spa even though they tell you the limit is $300. I spent $1000 with no problems.
Even though it is all-inclusive we brought a bunch of dollar bills and always left something for the wonderful wait staff who took excellent care of us. We left $5 per day for the housekeepers since they tend to be the least paid workers.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vashti42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2010

This hotel is about a 30 minute ride from the airport. I loved that the hotel came and picked us up, so we saved money by not taking a taxi. It is an absolutely beautiful hotel and the staff is very friendly and helpful. The room was very nice, big comfortable bed, a balcony with hammock and chairs, nice size shower and an awesome jacuzzi (one comes in every room). Since, its an all inclusive, there was wine and champagne waiting in the room for us, a fully stocked liquor cabinet and you can order room service 24 hours (not spectacular, but not horrible). There are eight restaurants, all that we ate at were delicious. The pool is gorgeous and I think they have three different pools. We had a couples massage, the spa is awesome here! It is about 15 minutes from Playa del Carmen and the hotel has a shuttle that leaves every morning around 8am and returns at 4pm, for free. Otherwise, you can cab it for about $15 each way. When we went they also gave us a $1500 credit to use towards golf, tours, spa, wine upgrades, etc. It was amazing. The only thing we paid for was tips (you'll need a lot of singles, everyone expects to be tipped). Overall, it was worth the money and we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MMW17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

If you love all inclusives and getting away from the hustle and bustle of Cancun. Aventura Spa Palace is the place to go. We went the first week of September, which is a quiet week there, (kids back in school). The service is excellent! They are constantly trying to improve vacationer's experience with nightly shows, a large variety of activities thoughout the day if you like staying busy or no pressure to participate if you just want to lay by the pool. They offer a great concierge service upgrade, which we did and really enjoyed. It includes different pillows in your room ie. lavender and such, aromatherapy oils in your room and even a steak and lobster dinner for two. Their jacuzzi sweets are beautiful and come stocked with top shelf liquors. We highly recommend this resort and will be returning next year.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travlinlady7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

My husband and I were married at the Aventura Spa Palace on September 24, 2010. The resort grounds were absolutely beautiful and the service was second to none. They were offering a great promotion while we visited, allowing us to do some excursions/spa treatments and no extra charge.

We had a large group of 34 guests attending for our wedding which were spread out between the Spa side (adult side) and Cove side (children allowed). Both parts of the resort were equally beautiful. For those concerned about the large size of the resort, there are golf carts and buses available to shuttle you between each side of the resort. For those that don't mind the exercise, it's really a nice walk between the two.

Although we were there during hurricane season, there were always activities provided by the staff including multiple shows in the disco as well as exercise classes, etc.

The resort is located about an hour from Cancun, so make sure to set up an airport transfer. If you are doing any tours, make sure you find out if transportation is included, It varies for each tour.

If you are considering getting married in Mexico, I'd highly reccommend this resort. Although is is a little out of the way, it's well worth the drive. We ran into several couples that had actually been staying at other resorts and when they visited Aventura Spa, they moved to our resort instead.

You get to work with a wedding coordinator and pick out the details of your wedding. They offer several packages and upgrades if you like. No matter what you choose, I'm sure you won't be disappointed. Everyone really enjoyed the ceremony and reception.

Regarding the wedding coordination, I suggest you keep records of everything. There tends to be some confusion between the resort records and the Miami office records which you book your travel through. The resort tried to charge my mom full price for the room when she was supposed to be charged the discounted rate. Once we pointed out the mistake, the resort did adjust the price but it is definitely good to take all your documents with you!

Pretty much the only thing that could use improvement is the food. Although is was alright, I was expecting a bit more from the restaurants. Let me assure you though, you won't go hungry. I suggest trying a Mayan coffee when you are in the restaurants- it's a great show they put on to make it! Although the food could use improvement, the restaurant staff is fabulous and attends to whatever you need. Remember to double check before you go to eat and some restaurants have dress codes.

We definitely enjoyed our stay at Aventura and look forward to returning next year. The atmosphere is very relaxed and caters to both people looking for adventure and those that just want to relax. Next year, we hope to do more tours and check out Playa del Carmen as well :-)

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amc703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

This was our second stay at a Palace Resort, we stayed at the Le Blanc in Cancun four years ago. If you are expecting a resort with a great white sand beach, this is not the place. Although the lagoon does get you close to the water, it's just not the same thing. The water isn't as blue as they make it look in their pictures, and the sand has a slimmy feel to it when you walk in the shallows. Twice we went to other Palace sister resorts to go to the beach, once to the Playacar Palace and once to the Xpu-Ha Palace. The Playacar hotel and beach are both magnificent. We even thought the food was better too. We spent the whole day there, then used the hospitality suite to shower and change for dinner. After dinner we walked along 5th ave. in Playa Del Carmen then took a taxi back to the Aventura for $20. The Xpu-Ha Palace was not that great. There were only 8 rooms occupied, so it was quite empty. We went down to the beach area, and turned left to go to the next resorts beach area which was beautiful, your typical mexican white sand beach. After a few hours there we walked back to the Xpu-Ha, had a quick lunch and a few drinks then took the taxi back to the Aventura, about $10.

The Aventura had good food, but it seemed that no matter which restaurant you ate at, the food was being prepared in some central kitchen, and that took something away from the meal. It wasn't bad, just not great. My wife is a vegetarian and she is used to not having a big selection of choices, but she managed. the menus even have a symbol to indicate the vegetarian options, but for some reason they consider a soup made with chicken broth to be vegetarian. I pointed that out to one waiter, and he insisted it was vegetarian, even though they do use chicken broth. This, like alot of other things, was lost in translation. the breakfast and lunch buffets were the best, with lots of different options.

I used the gym, and my wife went to yoga, we both had good experiences. The spa treatments were excellent.

The staff is great, we never had any problem with attitude, or pretending not to understand our requests. Just remember, it is Mexico, the pace is a little slower, just relax and go with it.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeff1w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
#3 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
9,694 reviews
16.8 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
3,221 reviews
23.6 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
16,229 reviews
2.4 mi away
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Palace
#6 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
7,070 reviews
22.3 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Address: Calle Carretera Federal Km 72, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Aventura Spa Palace)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#2 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range: $311 - $740 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 577
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A blend of relaxation and adventure awaits you at this adults only retreat. Set in the Riviera Maya overlooking the aquamarine Caribbean Sea, enjoy 1,266 luxurious accommodations with double Jacuzzi, balcony (most with hammock), and 24 hr. room service. Among the facilities to highlight is the state-of-the-art spa offering a perfect day of pampering. Guests can also enjoy seven restaurants, several bars, a disco, outdoor/indoor pools, and unlimited tours as part of the all-inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aventura Hotel Palace
Aventura Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Mayan Riviera Palace
Adventure Spa Palace
Hotel Mayan Palace
Adventura Spa Palace
Aventura Palace Spa
Aventura Spa Palace Riviera Maya
Aventura Spa Palace Resort
Aventura Spa Palace Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing