We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes - there is construction, but.....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Novi, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Yes - there is construction, but.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We had a wonderful visit to Aventura Spa last year (January 2013) and were eager to return so in September, we booked a stay for this January (2014) knowing that it was going to become a Hard Rock. We asked to be put on the spa side, which we were. (It's now called "Heaven".) The room was pretty much like it had been the year before with some decorating changes but there is construction in every single building. The construction blocks your movement from/to certain parts of the hotel. It rained 2 days while we were there and the only way to get to the lobby and all restaurants was to go through the rain since the covered passageways were closed down. The staff was great - no complaint there. Apparently, we were supposed to have received a phone call before we left telling us that the construction was not complete, but we never got that call. Restaurants were all great; pools were fine. Spa treatments were good but my husband really enjoys the hydrotherapy and he felt that it was not up to last year's standards. Probably a construction issue. We finally asked to be put on the 'family' side. Construction on this side is complete. Eduardo helped us and couldn't have been more accommodating. He got us a wonderful 3rd floor room with a roof top area accessible from a staircase inside the room. We had a fabulous view and the roof top had a 2 person jacuzzi, bathroom, sink, lounge chairs and was partly covered. The rest of our stay was excellent. Be aware that the family side (called "Hacienda") is more active because there are children there, but it was less noise than the "Heaven" side (because of construction) and not inconvenient in any way. It was a long walk to the Heaven side, but there is also a shuttle. We just chose not to take it (needed to walk off all that good food!) The construction is supposed to be complete in May of 2014. We visited Hard Rock Cancun to see what it was like since we used to stay there when it was Cancun Palace. I'm sure it is a great place to stay if you are young. It was very loud, lively and crowded. I won't do a review on that place because we did not stay there.

Room Tip: Heaven side rooms are quieter. Be very specific about ocean view if that's what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank srobin316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René M, General Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, September 30, 2014
Dear srobin316,

Thank you very much for you great review and for all your positive quotes,
It is gratifying to see that despite any inconvenientes you had such a good time, our resort being beautiful enhanced and we have add many attractions that you have to come and enjoy, we will be very pleased to welcome you to Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya Heaven.

René Malacara Coss
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,299
    1,064
    342
    240
    177
See reviews for
455
2,326
28
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (752)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulum
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

the hotel is not finished; staff were uninformed and rude; service was terrible; we left. We have been members of Palace Premier for many years; we bought into this Hard Rock membership based on that. This hotel was not at all like the Palace Premier hotels, and was really a horrible experience.


  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos

Helpful?
18 Thank Nathan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René M, General Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
Esteemed Nathan A,
On behalf of Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, please accept our most sincere apologies for any inconvenience you encountered during your stay. We have made many arrangements since your visit and I assure you that we have improved considerably the Hard Rock experience we offer.
We would like you to come back soon and give us the opportunity to change your perception of our resort.
Sincerely,
René Malacara Coss
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Worst experience ever,
My husband and I booked last year for our honeymoon in the same hotel but was Aventura Palace. Amazing from stuff to food and tours. we had a good deal and we didn t have to pay for our tours. But this time was from jan 5th to 12th worst worst ever (only the stuff at the Market buffet they were amazing). We thought since they changed the name going from Aventura to Hardrock, everything will be more than amazing butttt nooooooooooo terrible service room only once in the day, very crowded and noisy. Our agent told us that we will get a room in adult area not even it was at family side. the worst was the renovation too noisy to sleep and hear people working all night.what can I say more than this we do not want to go back to this hotel finitoooo. wast of money, we had to pay for all our tours, the free gift was Spa. Last year we had 8000 credits from hotel we enjoyed to pick whatever we wanted for tours Chichen itza, tulum and so on romantic dinner was free also.
anyways, mexico very worth to go back but not anymore to the same hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Soumia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René M, General Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
Dear Soumia S,
On behalf of Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, we apologize for have fallen short to your expectations. We have made many arrangements in order to improve the Hard Rock experience since you visit and we would like you to be a part of it. Your feedback is much appreciated and it won’t be taken lightly, I assure you that proper action has been taken to address every aspect that require our attention.
We would like to have the opportunity to change your perception of our resort and we would like to invite you cordially to come back soon and spend an amazing vacation with us.
Sincerely,
Sincerely,
René Malacara Coss
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Horrible experience from check in. They needed a hotel reservation letter from us. We didn't have a letter just a confirmation number and they didn't want to help us without the letter. In all of our years visiting we have never had a letter just a number. Once they helped us, we wanted to be and requested to be on second floor. We ended up on first floor looking at another building...a little glimpse of the ocean was about 400 feet away if you slid your chair all the way to the corner of the patio on first floor. It didn't help that the room smelt moldy and the room looked slapped together. The excess grout hadn't been wiped up. There were paint drips everywhere that we're not cleaned up. The new lock systems on the door did not fully cover the old hole in the door. The shower leaked onto the floor really bad. The toilet was not very private and all together things were not clean. It took us three days of our vacation to finally get into a decent room. Te second room we were put in even had a worse view and I couldn't sit in the room because the mold smell was even worse. My husband then spent 3 hours waking around with a manager to find a new room. The manager brought my husband to 3different rooms. One of the rooms was still a mess from the previous guests and the can lights were pulled down out of the ceiling - the manager had asked my husband to look for water around the lights because the previous guests had said water was coming in through the lights. Why would we want to stay in this room? Finally after three days of wasting our tine with the front desk and public relations we found a room with a view that smelt and looked clean. Customer service at the front desk was horrible. Nobody wanted to help us, they would refer us to someone else who would also end up referring us to someone else. The food was not exceptional, a lot of the food came out cold or when you would ask for something in particular they wouldn't have it (banana or guacamole). You always had the feeling liked you were an inconvenience and no one acted like they were happy you were there. There was constant construction going on. Every morning at about 6:00 we would wake up to banging or power tools. I was even trying to relax at the spa and could hear pounding and power tools. The spa staff in the hydrotherapy/check in area seemed short staffed - not willing to help. If was too bad that only one sauna and one steam room was up and running because I liked the one with the scents in it. Cut backs seemed to be made in the wrong areas. The drinks at the bar were often times not good or you had to explain to the bartender how to make the drinks. The credits we had you now had to pay a 20% service charge which we never had to do before so we didn't use very many credits this service charge is a horrible idea. We had met a group of over 20 different people that were having the same bad experiences with the staff and the rooms and the service.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos

Helpful?
13 Thank Micaela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René M, General Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, October 9, 2014
Dear Micaela D,
On behalf of Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, we extend our most sincere apologies for have fallen short to your expectations during your past visit. We have implemented many improvements since your visit with the objective of serving our guests with the Rock Star service that distinguishes us.
We would like to create new memories with you and change your perception of our resort. We invite you to come back soon and let us treat you with the VIP service you deserve.
Sincerely,
René Malacara Coss
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed at the resort from January 1st to the 8th and wish picked a different hotel. Construction is in high gear all over the resort especially the heaven side which is where we stayed. It starts from early morning hours until late night. You can't Sleep in until late, take an afternoon nap or relax in your room. Our room was also infested with roaches. The main lobby in heaven reaked of sewage, especially the last 2 days we were there. You couldn't even walk though it much less hang out.
They have zero entertainment indoors when it rains and it rained the whole week we were there.
The staff are friendly and this hotel has potential but it's no where close to start taking guests.

I wish we stayed elsewhere, this was a waste of money.

Room Tip: Hucienda side
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Shabnam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René M, General Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, October 10, 2014
Dear Juliet L,
Thank you for sharing your opinion with us, your comments are much appreciated and won’t be taken lightly. On behalf of Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, we extend our most sincere apologies for have fallen short to your expectations. We are working relentlessly to address the areas of opportunity that require attention and improve the Rock Star experience at our resort.
We would like to invite you to come back and give us the opportunity to change your perception of our resort by treating you with the VIP service that sets us apart.
One of our specialists will contact you via private message in order to follow up on your review.
Sincerely,
René Malacara Coss
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I an a Legendary member I was told when booking vacation in July the renovations at hotel would be complete by mid Nov. so I booked 2nd week in January 2014. Had confirmed all or most work would be complete prior to booking flight. Short version hotel 60% under construction, our room request no available, many sections closed problems in room given, NO CUSTOMER SERVICE at all. There were over 20 families I spoke with all with similar problems, WILL NEVER RETURN TO Any Legendary location in Mexico!

Room Tip: Come here in 2 years any maybe your vacation will be enjoyed,
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Sylvia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René M, General Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, October 10, 2014
Dear Sylvia E,
We are disheartened to see that we have fallen short to your expectations and on behalf of Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, please accept our most sincere apologies. Nevertheless, we will keep working to improve every aspect of our Rock Star experience in order to create memorable experiences with our guests. We have implemented many changes since your last visit and we would like you to come back and be part of it.
We invite you to visit us again soon and we will welcome you with the epic service that sets us apart.
Sincerely, René Malacara Coss
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I am writing this review from the hotel as we are unfortunately still here for another day. My wife and I checked in on the 1st of January. We normally take two vacations a year to tropical destinations and generally stay in five star rated resorts or hotels. The hard rock in riviera maya is no where even close to a four star rating. The check in experience was a gong show, we had to check in on the hacienda side for some reason, the lobby was small smelled moldy and musty is very dated, it was packed full of wet screaming kids as well. We had to stand in a line of about forty people for over an hour. We were taken to our rooms which were at the far end of the resort in the adults only section via golf cart. The room also smelled moldy and musty and also had a bit of a sewage odour to boot. When we complained we were told the resort was fully booked and there was nothing they could do about it no upgrades were available either four some reason? The heaven side is a joke. One little bar stuck in the corner of the lobby, barely audible music, they had a live band one nite in the lobby that sounded like one of the first round outcasts from American idol. The seating in the bar is terrible, old smelly sit down chairs, bar stools were set at a level so your knees are level with the bar top, two televisions about ten years old barely visible. There is nothing happening around at nite either, very quiet

The food was the worst I ever had while on vacation anywhere, it is very similar to something you will find at an all you can eat mandarin or cheesy shopping mall food court. The staff are friendly enough but average and not overly friendly. The credit you receive towards the spa and other activities is subject to a 20 percent cash charge and doesn't apply to the better off resort excursions. They have a 450 cash credit toward the better excursions but you have to subject yourself to a three hour sales pitch from their time share salesmen, what a joke.

The grounds are like something like you would see at a city park except the smell of sewage is worse here as my wife keeps reminding me. One hot tub that is maybe for about eight people that is actually warm ( definately not hot), no access to the ocean, no beach to walk on, what they have is a space that's been cut into the natural rock coral shoreline that has been filled with a mixture of sea water from small chanels from the sea and fresh smelly water from the nearby cenote. The rest of the grounds are dated, poorly lit and of low quality.

I can go on and on. We definately feel like we've been ripped off on this one and will never even look at another hard rock again.

This is the first review I have ever written, and believe me it takes a lot for me to write anything like this!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
23 Thank Jery K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
#6 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 stars 6,454 reviews
2.2 mi away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#3 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 stars 3,141 reviews
2.4 mi away
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Palace
#9 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 stars 4,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 stars 5,203 reviews
16.7 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 2,489 reviews
12.6 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#14 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 13,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Property: Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Address: Carretera Cancun-Chetumal Km 72, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Aventura Spa Palace)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#2 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 577
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A blend of relaxation and adventure awaits you at this adults only retreat. Set in the Riviera Maya overlooking the aquamarine Caribbean Sea, enjoy 1,266 luxurious accommodations with double Jacuzzi, balcony (most with hammock), and 24 hr. room service. Among the facilities to highlight is the state-of-the-art spa offering a perfect day of pampering. Guests can also enjoy seven restaurants, several bars, a disco, outdoor/indoor pools, and unlimited tours as part of the all-inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aventura Hotel Palace
Aventura Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Mayan Riviera Palace
Adventure Spa Palace
Hotel Mayan Palace
Adventura Spa Palace
Aventura Palace Spa
Aventura Spa Palace Riviera Maya
Aventura Spa Palace Resort
Aventura Spa Palace Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing