We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“will not go back” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
A TripAdvisor Member
“will not go back”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2004

Did not have a great time at the hotel. First night I slipped and fell on the wet marble in the pool/jacuzzi area. The hotel booked tours knowing the weather was bad and we were not able to go on the tours. Third day we had another slip and fall on the grounds of the hotel due to the slippery marble floor. We had spoke to other guests who had slipped and fell during their trip. One gentleman had twisted his ankle while he was there. Food was ok. We came back one day to our room filled with raw sewage that sat in our room all day. It took over an hour for the hotel to get us into another room. The last day of our stay we were offered complimentry spa services from the hotel for what we had endured on our trip. When we checked out they told us we had to pay for the spa services and we refused. They told us they were going to call the police and we still refused to pay. They took our luggage and refused to give it back till we paid. After contacting many people including the american embassy things were cleared up. I would NEVER go back to the hotel. Although it is a beautiful facility and location I endured many things one should not on their vacation. If anyone else had any problems please email me

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,052 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,158
    1,113
    356
    247
    178
See reviews for
728
2,572
32
329
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (818)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2004

If your looking for a beautiful, relaxing, friendly, safe and enjoyable resort, you need look no further than the Adventura Spa Palace Resort. I read alot of the reviews before picking the ASP and found them very helpfull. I love kids, but it was awesome not to deal with them for our stay in paradise. I was impresed with how accomodateing all of the people who worked there were. I was kind of embarassed to be an American because some of them were aggressive, unfriendly, obnoxious and disrespectful of other peoples way of life. If you must have the best of everything, stay in the States and spend a ton of money on yourself. It really made me realize in America how much we take for granted. The people who work there are the best workers that I have ever seen. They are paid pittens compared to wages in the U.S., yet they are soo happy to be there and are very coutious and friendly even to those tourists whom are ********. I tipped often because I was soo impressed with the outstanding service. You will not be dissapointed with the Mexican hospitality at ASP. Go there, have the time of your life and I hope that you make other Americans more aware of how decent U.S. travelers should act. Adios!

Helpful?
2 Thank revinkevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2004

We visited in May '03 and are returning in '04. After reading many of these reviews I don't have much to add. We had excellent service from everyone there. True there is no beach, but the lagoon is not stagnant like some people suggest. There are two outlets through the rocks out to the sea so there is always circulation. We traveled through Apple Vacations and we received no pressure at all for a time share. Don't know if we just got lucky or what. We worked out everyday before hitting the pool so we wouldn't feel quite as guilty about all of our food and drink indulgences. We had lots of fun lying around, playing sand and water volleyball and dancing in the club at night. Your fun is what you make of it. Tipping a couple of bucks to the pool cocktail waitress does seem to get them back to you sooner. In all fairness, there are a lot of people there so it's tough for to keep everybody's glass full all the time. We were only there 5 nights so we didn't want to waste a day leaving the resort but next time we will explore a bit more. We found the food to be excellent, especially El Greco. The pool bar food is mostly American type snack bar type food but they do throw chicken or ribs or beef on the grill too. Everything was very clean and orderly. The rooms are not huge, but then, how much time do you really spend in it? We all drank the water from the tap and no one had problems. The TV channel selection is not great but we didn't travel to Mexico to watch TV either. I would recommend this resort to anyone who wants a quiet, adults only vacation.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2004

Our second stay was summer of 2003, first was in summer of 2001. Both times came with same set of friends. We all had the best vacation both times, although each vacation turned out very different. Summer 2001 was when just the Aventura side was built. Very relaxed time soaking up the sun with drinks in hand and great company. Excellent service, exceptional food (everything but lobster), beautiful setting and great amenities - just what we needed. Palace Resorts thought of everything and our stay was very memorable. Returned with same set of friends in summer of 2003 with similar expectations and boy, were we wrong (but in a very good way)! The Spa side was completed and there so much to do - we couldn't resist. Rock climbing, the heavenly spa treatments, lazing by the pool, the bike trip into Puerto Aventuras, the labyrinth, the circular pool, snorkeling in Cozumel, Chichen Itza, snorkeling off the beach, tai chi, spinning - what am I forgetting? By our 7th night, my husband just wanted to veg out in the room in front of the TV! We were all tired after the week but what a fun and memorable trip. And again, we experienced exceptional and very friendly service, excellent food with a variety of choices, magnificient rooms and grounds, and excellent amenities. There was not one thing that we wanted from this stay that we did not get. Our only complaint was that we spent an hour the first day sweating away in the 'old' Aventura side gym (it was not air conditioned) before we found the brand spanking new (and air conditioned) gym on the Spa side. We did get quite a laugh out of that.
Anyway, no matter if you're looking to just relax and be pampered and lazy your entire stay, or if you're looking to experience it all, Aventura Spa Palace will give you either, or any combination of both.
We're looking forward to our next stay in 2005 (kids won't let us go every year without them!).

Helpful?
2 Thank Sheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2004

1/5/04 to 1/11/04. Let me start this review out by stating that i had reviewed info on the aventura spa palace for about 2 months before actually booking my trip. I was expecting an average vacation based on the excellent vs. poor reviews i read from other travellers. Well, let me tell you, it was an awesome property with excellent service. No brown water in our hot tub, air conditioner worked perfectly, noise free:were only asked once about time share, and never approached again;grounds, pools, buildings impeccably kept. Food average, not 5 star gourmet like in the states, but we did not get sick, and found the breakfast buffets to be very good, burgers by the pool very good, asian food good, drinks EXCEPTIONAL. Overall, all food was good except the steak dinner we tried to have-quality of beef just is not there. Excellent value for an all inclusive. Let me give you some TIPS FOR A GREAT TIME AT ASP:1. Bring scented candles for the room. not only can you use them in the hot tub or on the balcony, they make the room smell very fresh, something the seasoned traveller realizes that a high humidity sea side location tends to leave a musty type odor.(not offensive, just different). 2. Bring dollar bills or five dollar bills. Tipping is not required or even hinted at, however when you realize what a poor country mexico really is, and how little these employees make per day to make your stay wonderful, you'll want to make sure they're taken care of. We gave $5 to a bartender one night and we were treated like god for the next 3 hours, with him making up incredible concoctions for us, and giving us his utmost attention. We left $2 per day for the maid. $5 at dinner to the waiter etc etc. well worth seeing their appreciation and being treated like a king. 3. PHONE CALLS to the US are incredibly difficult to make, unless you're willing to pay an ungodly amount of money to either the mexican phone company, the hotel, or both. If possible, have your loved ones phone you at pre established times, or let them leave a voice mail for you on your hotel phone.4 min. phone cards for $4.50us in gift shop. 4. NORTH POOL- relaxing, quiet, reserved.SOUTH POOL- louder, friendlier,action oriented. We did both sides--good times on both. Its completely personal choice. 5. Pack light. No need for high end designer clothes and 50 pair of shoes. 6. Enjoy the warmth of the sun, the beautiful surroundings and the incredibly hardworking, friendly and colorful employees. 7. Remember the tale of the ugly american tourist, and try not to be one. You're in a different country and culture, if you want US standards and practices, go to Florida. 8. Relax and enjoy, its amazing how fast it goes!!! 9. When sunning and drinking PLEASE drink water through out the day, or you may end up dehydrated and sick!! My friend learned the hard way and changed his thinking very fast! 10.We watched the NFC playoff game on TV. They have ESPN<FOX<CNN<CBS so for the reviews i read about only seeing mexican soccer, we didn't find that to be the case. And we didn't watch alot of tv anyway. Not in the room that much, too much to do. So much more i could write. If you have any questions please feel free to email me. We are a couple in our late thirties who have travelled extensively throughout the carribean, so when we say this is a great place, we have other places to compare to!!HAVE A GREAT TIME!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan_Hundrieser, General Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear valuable guest.

Thank you very much for visiting us and sharing your comments, we sincerely hope to see you soon here and being able to pamper you like a true Rockstar!

Rock On!

Jan Hundrieser
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2004

We spent 10 days in the Cancun area, 3 of them in the Hilton in Cancun and the rest at Aventura. It was my first time to Mexico and I was a bit apprehensive in regards to being hassled by the time share folks and the local trinket salespeople. Holy cow was I pleasantly surprised, the Mexican people are very patient, quiet, hardworking, and proud people, it was actually the Americans (sorry to say) who were the obnoxious ones, I guess some people overlooked proper manners, or were never taught by their parents how to treat people politely. That being said, the Aventura was a clean, quiet, and frankly relaxing place to be. We took day trips every day to see the sights, but when we came back in the evening, our room was clean and when it came time to eat the staff was the best. The food is average, but we felt that for the amount of people they had to feed that it was certainly edible!! We would certainly go back to Aventura, the no kids policy is WONDERFUL.... I hate to say it but it is really nice hanging out by the pool and not having kids running rampant, and we LIKE kids!! Go to the Aventura, relax and have a good time, and remember to GO SEE THE SIGHTS!!

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
109 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2004

Just wanted to send my comments on this resort. We stayed at the Aventura Spa Palace in 2003 and were very impressed. It is true that we were dissapointed that there was no real beach, just a man made beach and lagoon which open up to the sea. Lots and lots of pools. The snorkeling in the lagoon was fun. The food was ggod and better than what we expected for Mexico. Not as good as Sandals. Breakfast and lunch buffet were very good.The rooms and grounds were spectacular.
This is a huge resort. Very clean. Friendly staff.If you like the beach, you can take the free shuttle to their other properties. I would definitely stay here again.

Helpful?
4 Thank Georges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
1.5 mi away
LM Hotel Boutique
LM Hotel Boutique
#2 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
#3 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,168 reviews
16.8 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,576 reviews
2.4 mi away
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Palace
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,627 reviews
22.3 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Property: Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Address: Carretera Cancun-Chetumal Km 72, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Aventura Spa Palace)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 577
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A blend of relaxation and adventure awaits you at this adults only retreat. Set in the Riviera Maya overlooking the aquamarine Caribbean Sea, enjoy 1,266 luxurious accommodations with double Jacuzzi, balcony (most with hammock), and 24 hr. room service. Among the facilities to highlight is the state-of-the-art spa offering a perfect day of pampering. Guests can also enjoy seven restaurants, several bars, a disco, outdoor/indoor pools, and unlimited tours as part of the all-inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone and Jetsetter so you can book your Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aventura Hotel Palace
Aventura Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Mayan Riviera Palace
Adventure Spa Palace
Hotel Mayan Palace
Adventura Spa Palace
Aventura Palace Spa
Aventura Spa Palace Riviera Maya
Aventura Spa Palace Resort
Aventura Spa Palace Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing