We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't expect luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 25, 2013

When we first came here 6 years ago we thought the resort was fantastic. It is still nice and the staff is great. It has, however, gone down hill. The jacuzzi in the room did not work, the towels are literally rags and we had a queen size flat sheet on our king size bed. We also had regular size pillow cases on king size pillows.
Beware, you are forced to talk to a "representative" in order to figure out the new complicated point system for your 1500 resort credits. The representative will try to lure you into a 90 minute tour with offers of free stuff. Unless you like the challenge of that sort of thing, avoid it. They are very persuasive and will do everything they can to get you to buy a membership. We are already members and feel like we don't get anything for our status now.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank C A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penelope S, Customer Service Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Hi C A , we appreciate your feedback.

We are very glad to know that you received the service that you deserve.

We regret that you experienced some inconveniences in reference to your room, we always recommend our guests report these matter to our attention during your stay to take immediately corrective actions.

We are very sorry if you felt pressured by our sales team, we definitely will share your comments to our management team for further consideration to avoid this occur in the future.

Once again thank you for your comments, and we hope to give us another opportunity to show you our improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,677)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,008 - 2,014 of 6,677 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

We were at the Adventura Spa 2/15-2/22. Our reservation was booked by a friend who is a Palace member, so we were Concierge Level. We were told upon check-in that the Concierge building is building 8, which is the second building from the left when looking at the ocean. We had a great view of the ocean. The room is certainly not as large as other places we've been, but that didn't bother us. All in all a very great place. We loved the food, beverages, accommodations and staff. We had no issues booking golf and spa through the Vacation Planners. Yes, one day there was a waiting list to meet with a planner, but we just went there the next morning before 8 a.m. and met with someone right away.

We used some of the $1,500 resort credits for golf two times. That was such a great deal. A shuttle takes you to the Playacar Golf Club and once there, all of your food and beverages are included (no need for money other than tips). And, if you plan to golf early and can't have breakfast at the resort, no problem, as there is a breakfast buffet set up in the club house, including eggs, bacon, fruit and even champagne. And for those of you that prefer American beer, they have Coors Light!

The restaurants were mostly good. The buffets had a great selection and the grill poolside for lunch had great burgers and chicken. The Italian Restaurant was fine, but a long wait to get in (and we showed up at 6 p.m.) We didn't care for the Asian, but loved the steakhouse on the Cove side. But, again, food is just personal preference. We opted not to try the Mexican.

The pool on the spa side is crowded and it's really crazy that people reserve chairs in the evening. We didn't even try, mostly because the chairs are so close together that we would have felt like we were on top of people. We much preferred the Cove side because we could get a lounger any time of the day, and many on the Spa side felt the same way, so we met and had fun with lots of people our age. It wasn't over-run with children.

One other observation - There are a lot of stairs throughout the Buffet restaurant near the pool. The hostess points them out while taking you to your table, but it's important to pay attention when walking around getting your food. At breakfast one morning, a woman tripped and fell on a stair and apparently was badly injured. She was screaming that her arm was broken and it was clear she was in a lot of pain. Resort staff came to her aid right away and eventually the paramedics arrived with a stretcher. Very sad way to wreck a vacation. We never heard anymore about her, but kept hoping she was OK and got the proper treatment.

A vacation and a resort is what you make of it. And if you go with reasonable expections, you will have a great time. If you have any questions, feel free to send me a message.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SchuhbopMn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penelope S, Customer Service Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Hello SchuhbopMn thank you very much for your kindly comments.

Our goal is to provide our guests with authentic experiences and exceed your expectations in every way.

This time we are very glad to know that you enjoyed your overall vacation since your arrival.

It is very good that you took advantage from our resort credits, our golf tour is a fantastic experience.

Our executive chef thinking in every taste has created culinary experiences for different tastes; we include steaks, seafood, pastas, Mexican food and snacks to enter in our gourmet sensation, it is good that you enjoyed it.

Thank again for your comments.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The best thing about Aventura is the staff...all are very friendly and accommodating. The room we had was ground level with no real view whether ocean or garden...try not to get ground level..not as much privacy but the room was clean and had everything we needed. We had a king size bed but it was as hard as a rock so my back was a bit stiff every morning. The yoga class, exercise equpment and massage helped! If you like a long white sandy beach this is not for you...it's a pool kind of place...lots and lots of pools. Personally, I prefer a "real" beach but I did not book this holiday! We did find an out of the way sandy spot by the lagoons (ocean water inside a break water/head) but to get a chair you have to get up by 6am and reserve it with your book/glasses/towel... The food was excellent, lots of choices and everything was fresh and delicious at all the restaurants. I enjoyed the spa (massage) very much and the excursions we took to Tulum, Playa del Carmen and Aktun Chen (zip lining, snorkeling in a cenote and dry cave walks). This is a place for young folks (it is now a Hard Rock hotel), loud music all day by the pools and you can drink as much as you want as it is an all inclusive. That is not my thing but we still had a lovely time.

Room Tip: get a higher floor so at least you have more privacy and a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank artarage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penelope S, Customer Service Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Hi Artarage, thank you very much for sharing your experience with our readers.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your vacation in our resort. We have been characterized with the best service; our staff always is working very hard to satisfy your expectations.

We are very sorry for the experience that you had with your bed, but it’s good to know that you took advantage from our services as you mentioned yoga lessons, spa treatments and our fitness center and you got better.

It is very good to know that you went to our different restaurants and tasted our flavors.

There are several places to visit like the tours that you took.

We are very happy to hear that spent a good time in our resort.
Once again thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Did not have a lot of spare time to read some of the "lengthy" reviews before making the decision to give this joint a shot.

This is not a Hard Rock Hotel. It is a Palace Resort transitioning an OLD Palace Resort IN TO a Hard Rock. Please do not go if you want the Hard Rock experience. I have stayed at the sister Hard Rock in Punta Cana the last 2 years. Go there if you want the Hard Rock experience. Oh yeah, you will have to unload another $1500 for your week.

Please go to this resort if you want to have a great priced all inclusive week.

This is a fabulous opportunity for folks to get to know the Staff, area and vision for the resort. Take in the "Legends" presentation......great chance to secure a deal on your future visits.

Listen folks, the Staff are great. The location is spectacular, easily accessible to all local attractions. The Spa is out of this world. The Culinary experience is good. The Booze flows non stop. The value right now is second to none(Please use your resort credits).

Having said all that, my wife and will NOT return until it has completely transitioned to a Hard Rock.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shamuu_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penelope S, Customer Service Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Hello Shamuu_13, thank you very much for sharing your experience with our readers.

We are very glad to hear that you found our service and facilities appropriated for your vacations. Our spa is one of our most loved locations for the several treatments that you can find there, is good to know that you took advantage from it .

We regret your perception in reference our transition. We actually are The Aventura Palace Resort and we provide you with the corresponding services and amenities, we apologies if we forgot something.

We hope to see you in your next vacation to show you our improvements and our upcoming style.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We just returned from a 7 day stay at Aventura Spa Palace. We had a group of 10 and every one had a wonderful time. I had read so many bad reviews that I was a little worried. However, we all felt the service was great and the resort was beautiful. We knew that we would not have a beach so that was not a problem. The lagoon was so nice and it was fun feeding the fish. We have stayed at many Palace resorts and I preferred this over the Moon. Yes, it was a little difficult getting pool chairs but we all just took turns getting up early and putting towels down. The staff were very friendly!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie36395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penelope S, Customer Service Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Hi Debbie36395, We appreciate your kindly comments, and we are glad to know that your overall stay was as you expected.

Our goal is that every vacation will be a memorable one and it will be a pleasure to host you again at any of our Resorts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just came back from Resort, The only positive about the trip was the service. Staff was very nice, helpful, and worked hard

-Hotel rooms weren't clean, there was dead nats in my sheets when I arrived, the last thing I wanted to do was wait 45 minutes at 10pm for new sheets after traveling all day. The room wasn't cleaned all week. Sheets smelled like dirty sweat. Bed sheets didn't even fit the beds and you can see how groos the beds were. Gave you one pillow, again had to wait 45 minutes for more. Our room was at a good location but the door was cracked and we heard everyone coming and going and yelling at 3am. There is no night life what so ever. Place was dead at night. There was no water pressure in the shower and our ac didn't work. The pools were cold and no one was in them. Beach Volleyball court is dangerous and several people got hurt from it, Stay away!

-There was NO reservations at dinner. The wait for dinner was 2 hours 45 minutes. The Italian was god awful, do not waste your time. The Mexican at the Cove and Steak house at the cove were worth the wait. Otherwise, don't waste your time.

-We used our points to go to Hard Rock in Cancun. The resort was very nice but the service was terrible. Staff was rude and nasty. No one would help you. We ate at the buffet for lunch, no one served us or helped us clean off a table so we can sit and eat. It was terrible. Would never go back there

-No Beach chairs, had to get up at 530am to get chairs, and then people would steal chairs and get nasty when their chairs were missing

-No Beach

$30 each way cab ride to Playa, NOT worth it

Would never go back and pay the price I paid for this vacation, def not worth it

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank arill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penelope S, Customer Service Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Hello Adkkl, thank you very much for your feedback.

We much appreciate that you found our staff friendly and helpful as always we were been characterized.

We apologies for any inconvenience that you may have experience during your stay, we always recommend our guests bring these matters to our attention during your stay and unfortunate we did not find any record about your concerns. Anyhow we will share your comments to our house keeping area to avoid these situations in the future. Is noteworthy to mention that our clean process is daily supervised for our controllers and there is a strict procedure.

We rarely receive comments in regards our facilities and activities like the pool and volleyball, anyway we will share for further consideration.

Remember that transportation services are not included, we are an all-inclusive resort and we provide you with all the services that you need. For your own security we always recommend our guest to take our transportation services, if you decide take an external transportation service it’s very hard to provide you the security that you deserve, our taxi fee not corresponding with the fees that you mentioned, we are very sorry.

Our executive chef always is looking for your needs, that is why we always advise you the waiting time in our restaurants, to decide if you want to go to another option or stay in the line.

We regret your perception about our resort.
We hope to give us other opportunity to regain your confidence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

My wife and I were married at this resort 5 years ago and decided to return for our anniversary. We had read recent critical reviews, but had a wonderful time on our first trip and decided it must be the result of a disgruntled few. Unfortunately, many of the negative reviews were warranted.

First off, the positives. The restaurants are beautiful and the food is fantastic. I won't go into any great detail as every taste is different; suffice it to say we didn't have a bad meal during our stay. Secondly, the wait staff is friendly and accommodating. They really seem to want to make your stay enjoyable. The spa services and staff are also excellent.

Now the negatives. The resort is going through a re-branding, and will soon be a Hard Rock property. Perhaps because of this many of the front-end staff, such as front desk and concierge services, seem completely unwilling to help with even the most basic requests. Resort credits can supposedly be used for room upgrades, but upgrades never seem available. We were told our names were on a waiting list, only to find out the next day we were never written down. Every day we were told a room would be available tomorrow; it never was.
Concierge told us about spa services, but told us we had to book them ourselves in an overcrowded "vacation planning" office. This after trying to interest us in joining some preferred Hard Rock list for future visits. No thanks. They were also unwilling to assist with our room upgrade request.
The seating situation at the pool and lagoons (no actual beach) is ridiculous. People come out as early as 4:00 am to lay towels on chairs, then don't come out to the pool for hours. I was actually threatened by a 60 year old man because I was in his chair 7 HOURS after he "claimed" it. When I tried to explain to him that the pool staff had removed his towel and replaced it with a folded one, signifying a vacant chair, he said I needed a punch in the mouth. Pool staff responded by getting him another chair out of storage. Ridiculous.

I suppose the point of all this is the resort has definitely suffered some recent neglect, at least in training and management. While still an enjoyable experience, it is not worth the cost, as better values are available throughout the area. Hopefully once the re-branding is complete this will be rectified.

Room Tip: DO NOT count on a room upgrade after arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penelope S, Customer Service Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Hi Dan R, we would like to thank you for taking the time to send your comments and feedback about our resort.

We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed our restaurant service and that you found our food better than your expectations.

Remember that we provide you with an extra bonus which is the resort credits and you can take advantage from it, going to excursions, tours, spa treatments and dinners. You can get an upgrade, but as you may already know are subject of availability.
Also as you may be aware that as per contract adjacent room, connecting rooms; specific room locations, room view, or types of beds in rooms are not guaranteed although we do everything in our power to comply with all of our guest requests.

We have taken measures in reference the chairs and this won`t to occur in the future.

Once again thank you for your feedback. we hope to give us other opportunity to regain your confidence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
#4 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
10,278 reviews
2.4 mi away
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Palace
#6 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
7,590 reviews
16.8 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
3,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
23.6 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,038 reviews
12.6 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#13 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
16,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Address: Calle Carretera Federal Km 72, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Aventura Spa Palace)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#2 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range: $356 - $715 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 577
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A blend of relaxation and adventure awaits you at this adults only retreat. Set in the Riviera Maya overlooking the aquamarine Caribbean Sea, enjoy 1,266 luxurious accommodations with double Jacuzzi, balcony (most with hammock), and 24 hr. room service. Among the facilities to highlight is the state-of-the-art spa offering a perfect day of pampering. Guests can also enjoy seven restaurants, several bars, a disco, outdoor/indoor pools, and unlimited tours as part of the all-inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone and TripOnline SA so you can book your Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aventura Hotel Palace
Aventura Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Mayan Riviera Palace
Adventure Spa Palace
Hotel Mayan Palace
Adventura Spa Palace
Aventura Palace Spa
Aventura Spa Palace Riviera Maya
Aventura Spa Palace Resort
Aventura Spa Palace Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing