We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be fooled - it's great.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't be fooled - it's great.”
Reviewed February 29, 2012

My wife and I are typical boomers, kids are gone and we are now starting to travel a bit for fun. When we sought out a vacation site in Playa del Carmen we specifically looked for an adult hotel with lots of ammenities that was 'supposed' to be close to Playa del Carmen. Our travel agent recommended a few and we settled on the Spa Palace. 12 minutes north of Playa - a long walk but doable. Much to my surprise it was 30 some minutes south, even past Excaret Park. Well that was the only downside and really they had that fixed too because the shuttle went in to town every day and it was for free. Taxis were $200 pesos each way.
The hotel was immense and had both adult and family sides, we had the best of both and access to the whole site. There were several first class restaurants, so much so we hardly had interest in going into town for dinner as we thought we would. The Greco Seafood restaurant was our first stop and we were greeted with extraordinary service and great seafood dishes. All service was plated and portions just right to allow you to enjoy each course. Right from appies to the dessert everthing was wonderful. Second nioght we tried Italian at La Trattoria, again an excellent meal and good service. We did notice it starting to get busy around 8 pm so we decidsed to come a little earlier and entry was no problem. We tried La Heurta - California Light - well the advertising and the restaurant manangement haven't quie got this one in sync. It was high end Mexican, where California Light came from who knows. Food was still good. We did venture over to the 'Cove' (family side as well and were treated to a traditional Mexican meal with a wondeerful marichi trio and lively entertainment. During the day the Greco serves as the luncheon buffet - still serving first class seafood but buffet style. You could have al the shrimp, salads beef, salmon, squid or a burger if you really had to then run back outside and hit the pool or beach again.
Well, beach is a bit of a misnomer. Like the Excaret Resort the beach is carved out of the coral reef. The Spa Palace however has done it well and mad a huge seawater lagoon that give you the opportunity to get wet and swim with the small fish in safety. The hotel ovberall was fantastic and we would go back in a heartbeat.
The rumours of the conversion to a Hard Rock Hotel are true but it will be a positive move. The hotel is ready for a facelift after 12 years of service and the switch to HR will give that opportunity as well as to introduce some new vitality to its life. Yes they too have the 'membership' salepeople ready to enroll you into tthe HR lifestyle and enjoy their facilties in the Caribean and on the west coast of Mexico.
The staff at the hotel were excellent, upon our arrival the Hotel Services staff went out f their way to ensure we understood what the $1500 credits could be applied to and what amenities were available and how to book them. Rooms were well maintained and cleaned thoroughly each day. All the mechanical stuff worked well and you would never know the place was 12 years old.
Again, we would go back in a flash and probably host our sons wedding there. It is a bit of a hike to Playa but all the outdoor activities like diving, snorkelling, dolphin swims are withing 5 minutes of the hotel so it is a saw off.
Go and enjoy. we did.

Room Tip: Quite rooms are furthers from the restaurants in the northern wings of the hotel. You sacrifice pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimandSherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... A, Guest Relations Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
Thank you for your good comments, it is always great to know that our valued Guests received what they been expecting.

We are glad to know that all of our services were of your entire satisfaction.

Once again thank you for your comments and be sure that it will be a true pleasure to host you again at any of our resorts in Mexico and the Dominican Republic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,318
    1,137
    363
    249
    183
See reviews for
777
2,669
34
340
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (853)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We spent the last week at Adventrua Spa Palace. We had been there 3 times in the past including our son and daughter in laws wedding in 2004. The resort has really gone downhill in the past few years, and was only 25 - 30% full based on what staff told us.

The rooms were just tired feeling they need some new paint and updating. Breakfasts and lunch were ok and room service was prompt but the dinners were awful. We tried all of the restaurants that were open (several were not) and the Mexican restaurant was the only one that had good food and service. The Italian restaurant had a 90 minute wait for salty, tough pork tenderloin and crappy service. I felt like we were a burden on the wait staff. Everything else was just so - so.

We sat in the VIP area down by the lagoon during the day and had great service from the wait staff and in general the bar staff was good. One morning at breakfast I was unable to get either coffee or water, it was like I was invisible and then the next day it was fine.

The spa services were great and both Dayana and Guillermo provided excellent treatments. Booking two spa services and a pedicure and manicure took over an hour. I was happy to find out that I could use my $1500 on spa services but everything I tried to book was 'unavailable' or their system showed me as already booked for services when I was not booked. I feel badly for the people who have to fight the reservation system, it has to be incredibly frustrating and yet they still smile.

We were told that this resort is being re-branded as a Hard Rock resort. I am not sure what that means because there was no way I wanted to sit through another high pressure sales pitch to find out.

Honestly, I think Palace Resorts has an Executive and Senior management leadership problem. We have stayed at several of these resorts over time and they have all gone downhill. We still have a lot of weeks available on our plan but the price has gone up drastically over the last few years (I think in part to make up for the low occupancy rates) and we will be looking at other resorts for our annual trip to Mexico or swapping our weeks out and use them in conjunction with our RCI contract.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank coloradoheeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... A, Guest Relations Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
On behalf of Aventura Palace, I thank you for taking the time to send us your comments and observations about our resort. Feedback is extremely important to us as it helps us know how we are doing in terms of service and facilities.

You may rest assured that we take all of our Guests comments with the utmost importance and based on such, we take the necessary steps to prevent the occurring of inconveniences to our valued Guests. Adjustments are being implemented continuously to enable us to keep providing excellent service. We are confident that as a result of these actions we will continue being reliable and customer responsive. Your comments have been shared as well with key Staff in our organization, most importantly including our Management Team.

Our goal is that every vacation will be a memorable one and we in Aventura Palace hope that you will give us the opportunity to host you at any of our Resorts in Mexico and the Dominican Republic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

My husband, another couple and I just returned from a week at Aventura Spa, which is now the Hard Rock Aventura Spa. We are Premier VIP members and stayed in the Presidential Suite. This was our 3rd visit to Aventura.

We were very concerned about this trip because as a member we have seen and heard so many things which are being done to our beloved Palace Resorts and we were worried. The Hard Rock has a lot of work ahead of it, but I will tell you that we still had a very, very good time and our friends who had never been there before left feeling as though they had been treated like royalty!

The food was fantastic everyday at every restaurant! So that has not changed. I would like to comment that we really liked Mundaca and had never eaten there before, but the star of the week is La Hacienda and our waitress MARIA was wonderful!! She is the example by which the Palace Resorts won us over as members and we love her attentiveness, every time we saw her throughout the week she recognized us and always spoke to us!

Our room was the same as it has been the past two visits. Everything we asked for was in our room. We requested specific beer, rum and wine and it was all there nice and cold when we arrived! The suite was clean, the beds were comfortable, the room service was prompt and correct, and the views are spectacular.

The spa...FABULOUS!! (as always) We had three separate visits to the spa and all three days we were taken care of and our services were exactly as we hoped. I have so many favorites...too many to list...but just know that once you check in at the spa you will not be disappointed!

There are full service bars all over the resort! Any drink you want anytime of day! Our favorite is the Lobby Bar and ALDO!!! He was always ready to fix our drinks, chat, laugh, and just provide us with a great place to sit and talk, with a cold drink! (He makes many specialty drinks, but his Margaritas are awesome!) We also enjoyed the main swim up bar at the Pool and the ability to have drinks and snacks anytime we wanted. (delicious guacamole and a great burger!)

There are activities throughout the resort each and every day. You can partake or not. There is live music by the pool on certain afternoons, which is a change from before and we enjoyed it. If you like a quieter environment, this is not the resort for you. All of the employees who put on the shows, do the water sports, and keep the activities rolling all week long are so energetic and fun...the Fire Show was our favorite!

The star employee of the week, however, was ROSA (public relations)! She absolutely went above and beyond our expectations. She saw to it that all of our requests were taken care of and when we arrived everything was exactly as we had asked. She was always available to answer our questions, make dinner reservations for us, help us with directions to any place we wanted to go, and when we needed assistance it was a pleasure talking to her and the people who work in public relations. Thank you very much Rosa!! (I do know that our investment in Palace Resorts as a VIP gives us certain advantages and we appreciate this very much. If you attend a time share meeting you too will know what advantages your investment will get you.)

One piece of advice I would give anyone traveling to Mexico... Patience helps every situation!!! So many times I would see guests at the resort being rude to the employees or talking in a manner which I felt was so disrespectful. If you want someone to help you... help them help you!! Just be nice, the changes taking place at this resort are not the employees fault and they want to help you just as much as you want them to. Give them a chance to do so and I am convinced they will!

We were able to go to the other Palace Resorts and eat and drink and enjoy them, but we have been premier VIP members since 2009, before all the changes of 2012 took place. We really enjoyed Playacar Palace and we also took the ferry to Cozumel and visited Cozumel Palace. We also went to XPLOR....wow!! It was a thrill seekers paradise!!

FYI... The construction has begun throughout the resort. Just be aware of this and know that you will encounter it. We are hoping that all the future changes come out for the better!! Aventura Spa is a very good value!

I would like to say to the executives making the changes at Palace Resorts... You still have work to do! The un-organization in the offices where all the spa visits, tours, and transportation appointments are scheduled needs a lot of work!! Too much chaos. You can just see when you walk in that office that the employees are just as rattled as the guests! The atmosphere is no where near the rest of the resort! Get some quality control involved in this office or you are going to turn a lot of people away and the resort will never make it... Hard Rock or no Hard Rock!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tbmuralist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... A, Guest Relations Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
We very much appreciate your kindly comments, and we are glad to know that our resort fulfills your expectations.

We also want to thank you for mentioning the outstanding staff that made you rock!

Our goal is that every vacation will be a memorable one and it will be a pleasure to host you again at any of our Resorts in Mexico and the Dominican Republic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bohemia, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Went in January, but the option wouldn't let me go back that far. I went here for the honeymoon or as they say it there my 'Luna de Miel'
Perfect place to do it all. 45 minutes from airport maybe @ 15 minutes to Playa Del Carmen. Close to Tulum, Xpu-Ha, Xel-Ha, and activities like quads, ziplines, and fishing and golf.
The resort is fantastic, great rooms (all with a view), pools all around, 2 lagoons to play around snorkel, kayak, etc... Food and Drinks EVERYWHERE! OUTSTANDING PERSONAL SERVICE. The spa is top notch, the activities are all fun. This place will treat you like royalty from the moment you get here. You won't ever want to leave.

Room Tip: Throw a dart at the board. They are all nice, and the different parts of the resort make walking aro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigdipper47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... A, Guest Relations Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Thank you for choosing Aventura Palace for this joyous occasion, we are glad to know that our Resort fulfilled all your expectations.

It is always good to hear that our Guests feel our warm and special service which is customary in our Resorts.

It will be a great pleasure to host you again at any of our Resorts in Mexico and the Dominican Republic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Aventura was a great spot for a honeymoon. The breakfast buffets were good, but after a week it kind of felt like college again. La Trattoria was by far our favorite restaurant on the property, with the best wine.

Keep in mind though, there is no direct beach access from this hotel...unless it's changed since I've been there, which I admit was about a year ago.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spolcecsekr7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... A, Guest Relations Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
We in Aventura Palace are glad to hear that all your experience here in our Resort was as you expected.

Please be informed that we are continuously revamping our menus and dishes of each of our four different Restaurants, nevertheless your comments are being shared with our Executive Chef to take the necessary steps to enrich our food offer.

Our goal is that every vacation will be a memorable one and it will be a pleasure to host you again at any of our Resorts in Mexico and the Dominican Republic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

A slice of paradise in a very beautiful location with the most attentive staff I have EVER had!! Amazing, fabulous, will most definitely return!!

Helpful?
2 Thank Harleymoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... A, Guest Relations Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
On behalf of Aventura Palace, we want to thank you for your comments.

We are proud to know that you felt our warm and special service which is customary to our Guests.

It will be a great pleasure to host you again at any of our Resorts in México and the Dominican Republic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2012

I recently returned from leading a yoga retreat at Aventura spa palace - the staff is the true find. The management was incredible. Leo, Christina, Vanessa were most helpful, attentive, perfect communication skills and truly there to please. The spa credit is amazing and the services were fab! I got a facial and a massage - 100% worth it.

Room Tip: All the rooms were great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... A, Guest Relations Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
We very much appreciate your kindly comments, and we are glad to know that our resort fulfill your expectations.

Our goal is that every vacation will be a memorable one and it will be a pleasure to host you again at any of our Resorts in Mexico and the Dominican Republic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
17.2 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,745 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
#3 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
8,969 reviews
16.8 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,767 reviews
12.6 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
15,733 reviews
2.4 mi away
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Palace
#6 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
6,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Property: Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Address: Carretera Cancun-Chetumal Km 72, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Aventura Spa Palace)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 577
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A blend of relaxation and adventure awaits you at this adults only retreat. Set in the Riviera Maya overlooking the aquamarine Caribbean Sea, enjoy 1,266 luxurious accommodations with double Jacuzzi, balcony (most with hammock), and 24 hr. room service. Among the facilities to highlight is the state-of-the-art spa offering a perfect day of pampering. Guests can also enjoy seven restaurants, several bars, a disco, outdoor/indoor pools, and unlimited tours as part of the all-inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aventura Hotel Palace
Aventura Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Mayan Riviera Palace
Adventure Spa Palace
Hotel Mayan Palace
Adventura Spa Palace
Aventura Palace Spa
Aventura Spa Palace Riviera Maya
Aventura Spa Palace Resort
Aventura Spa Palace Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing