We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A Great Spa Resort with Outstanding Service & Beautiful Grounds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya to your Saves list
Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Cancun-Chetumal Km 72, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Aventura Spa Palace)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BUNDLE DEAL 40% OFF
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A Great Spa Resort with Outstanding Service & Beautiful Grounds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

Just returned from Aventura Spa Resort and I already miss it! My husband and I went with another couple for 5 days. For my husband and I, this was our first all-inclusive that was Spa-specific, so we weren't quite sure what to expect..as you can see from the other reviews, it's hard to find something negative to say about this resort...so I'll just do a quick rundown of things you ought to know:

1.) Schedule spa treatments right away...very easy to do, but they do fill up quickly.
2.) If you are using the Resort Credit, they can be used for Spa services (highly recommend) Lobster Dinner (I'd skip it--nothing special) and any leftover credits can be used for Tequila gift packs to take home.
3.) Each room comes with a two-seater jet whirlpool...use it! :)
4.) If you schedule a spa service, arrive an hour early and enjoy the hydrotherapy sessions that they offer. Try the jasmine water-delish!
5.) El Greco, the Mexican restaurant, was our favorite restaurant.
6.)Take a quick 10 minute cab ride to Akumel Beach...you can snorkel (on your own, or with a guide) right off the beach. No charge (unless you need to rent fins, snorkel etc). You don't have to swim too far until you see stingrays and a lot of sea turtles. Even though it's not a resort, we felt safe leaving our belongings on the beach while in the water. Seemed to have a fair amount of security patrolling the area. Bring a towel to relax afterwards and few extra dollars to eat some empenadas and a have a beer on the beach. Very cute, quaint little beach. Easy to catch a cab back.
7.) We read many reviews about getting roped into "presentations" but we made it clear when asked that we did not want one, and they left us alone. Did not feel hassled at all.
8.) Try the guacamole...and lots of it! Some of the best flavor & freshest you'll ever taste!
9.) Walk the entire resort...it's worth it! Check out the Zen Garden, the Sweat Lodge and the Cove area (the side of the resort that allows children). Walk past the rocks and keep an eye out for lizards...everywhere. Do the monkey tour as well.
10.) It rained on some afternoons...go to the gazebo bar, have a drink and watch the clouds roll in. :)
11.) Forgot/run out of suntan lotion? They have extra (free) near the towel shack. Nice touch.
12.) Excellent service...everyone seemed so very nice and genuinely happy.

Room Tip: Ask for king size bed...looking over the ocean. During this slow time, they should be able to accom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelinStraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,065
    1,046
    335
    240
    176
See reviews for
393
2,218
24
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (728)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville Tennessee, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

This was our second time to the Aventura Spa Palace (first time was honeymoon 7 1/2 yrs ago) and I was a little nervous when I read some of the negative reviews. We had a fabulous time (stayed 5 nights). We were greeted at the door with a refreshing "beachy" drink, and though we were 3 hrs late due to mechanical issues with our plane, we were still greeted warmly. Our bell service was awesome. As we went to the room, he would tell us about where things were, places to eat, what to do and see. Our room was clean and we had a great view of the ocean. Fall is a great time to go, not as many people visiting. Enough staff to take care of our needs. Enjoyed snorkeling, with a tour guide and without, great drinks and food, fun activities and nightly shows. Pools were clean as well as the grounds. Servers were friendly and helpful. Spa services were great (got a pedicure, facial, and 2 massages while there). Able to use the $1500 credit for many things and glad we had that. Enjoyed a dinner with the chef, which was a 5-course meal where the chef showed you how the meals were cooked and prepared. Then brought out to us, with a wine for each course. That was the most fun dinner we had. Mundaca had been renovated, and we enjoyed a nice dinner there.We went to XPLOR, a zipline/riverswim/ATV excursion that costed extra but so much fun. I would highly recommend this place for a day. Ziplining over the jungle was just awesome and we loved all the activities offered there. Planning to go back in 2-3 years and looking forward to it. I would only suggest asking the vacation planner questions about all activities offered as some things my husband and I were told about, and some we found out from the friends we went with. So not all info is provided that you may want to know about (like the chef's dinner).

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view and go in the off-season. Better chance of having a really great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leslie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

We have just returned from the ASP having stayed there 11 nights on the conceirge level. We were looking for a peaceful relaxing location with good food, all inclusive, good service and a decent spa - this property delivered on all counts.

Having looked at Trip Adviser before we went, the following are a few things we did not know, but we do now:
* The ASP & The Cove Palace are essentially one and the same property, LITERALLY next door to one another - being able to use either's facilities is simple in the extreme.
* If going conceirge (i.e. access to a DVD player, keep in view that the DVD only plays American region discs - don't bother taking region 2)!
* Included in a Spa treatment is the free use of Hydrotherapy i.e. Steam Room, Sauna etc.
* It was EASY to use the resort credit - as guests of the ASP we used nearly all of our resort credit at the Spa

Essentially, when we went (the last 2 weeks of Sept), the property was only 30% full - no queuing for tables in restaurants (all of which were open - 7 or 8 across the 2 propertys I believe), no problems with sunbeds which were plentiful.

To be honest, we found it difficult to really fault the ASP - Good service, good food, relaxed location - just what we were after.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

From the moment we arrived at the resort until we left we received individual employee attention: greeting us, happily arranging our spa appointments and tours, and directing us with their advice and recommendations, and excellent customer service in every dining facility. Our family was also able to enjoy the hydrotherapy on-site, with Mirtha guiding you through the facilty to maximize your treatment and providing delicious beverages. Every night the Aventura Cove, which is attached to the Aventura Spa provided enterntainment which was sometimes accompanied with themed food, which was delicious! When we first arrived at the Aventura Spa, it had already been a long day of driving to the airport in the US, flying to Mexico and transport time to the hotel, so when we arrived to the hotel we were overwhelmed by the new surroundings and tired from our long day, but after checking in, Yoselin was able to soothe our concerns and arrange many days of our vacation. Yoselin was a weath of knowledge, with the ability to provide us with answers to many of our questions and to discuss what services we had available to us.

There are so many employees that tried to optimize your stay - every need met immediatly! Many of the employees that made our trip phenomenal were probably behind the scenes but it is a trip that I look forward to taking again!

Jorge, who works in several of the restaurants at the Aventura Spa not only greets you personally but remembers you from the day or several days before, adding a personal touch to the experience. Irvin, a waiter at La Hacienda, along with the maitre d', Enrique, was able to make our experience memorable and a restaurant that we visited three times during our eight day stay. The La Hacienda has many different unique flavors of tequilla that are made specifically for the hotel, although we didn't try them all during our stay, sampling them was encouraged and enjoyed by our family. On our last night at the hotel, Irvin, made Bananas Foster, an item not on the menu, but truly the best ending to the vacation!

The area surrounding Aventura Spa (and Cove) has many different activities, from Mayan Ruins, beautiful beaches, Playacar shopping district, zip-lining, and exploring cenotes.

Room Tip: Ocean view on the 2nd floor, allows you to travel easily from one hotel to the other. You don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank summer h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Amazing, Amazing, Amazing... we LOVED this hotel. It is a completely beautiful setting. Fantastic pools... outstanding food and unbelieveable service.

We would go back here in an instant... We went in late September, so it was mega quiet (just how we like it) - plenty of sunbeds always available and the entertainment staff always came round and spoke to you to see how you wee doing.

Choice of many restuarants - all of which had brilliant food. I can't fault this hotel at all... we would certainly go there again and I would advise anyone going to Cancun to consider these hotels on the Riveria Maya, rather than central Cancun... You can still get there easily if you want a party, but you have a beautiful quiet setting during the day....

Room Tip: We had the optionto use our resort credit to upgrade our room, but we didn't need to - even the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Charlie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

All other reviews already mention the wonderful time you can have at Aventura Spa. When we came back to the USA friends and family asked us about the SAFETY in Mexico. I tell them that Cancun, Riviera Maya is like a different world. The security is unbelievable. I feel safer in those hotels than traveling across country in the USA. After a couple of days, you are so relaxed that you think it is heaven !!! Thanks Palace Resorts staff for a wonderful time.

Room Tip: Presidential rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aida J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Streetsboro, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

Amazing!! Spa Palace is just the perfect place to go on your honeymoon. My husband and I are not much of travelers so we picked an all inclusive resort and could not have made a better decision. The walk up bar in the pool was great. The sports and entertainment was very enthusiastic. Pool volleyball, sand volleyball, water polo, water poker (black jack and i beat 4 guys!!), guessing games, pool aerobics and stretching, and best of all was the bartender service and games. There is a bartender named Alfredo who made the bar experience so much fun. The staff make you feel like you're famous! They had live fire shows...which was incredible! There is so much to do at that resort. The spa itself was very relaxing; we had massages, maincures and pedicures! Since we were on our honeymoon we didnt travel off the resort. They have many resorts that offer different attractions, ie...ziplining, swimming with the dolphins, and historic trips as well. If you do decide to do one of the tours to another palace, be prepared to use a whole for it. They make it worth while. We just wanted to relax at the pool, so that is why we opted out of any tours. The bar maid Duceli was very prompt and always made sure we had a cocktail. We loved all the staff and made good relationships with them. WE WILL DEFINATELY GO BACK!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful. We stayed in the jacuzzi room and that was plenty enough for us!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank holly v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
#4 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 stars 5,685 reviews
2.4 mi away
Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe
Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 stars 4,566 reviews
12.5 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#16 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 13,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#2 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 stars 2,498 reviews
16.7 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 2,402 reviews
5.5 mi away
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
#6 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 stars 6,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Property: Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Address: Carretera Cancun-Chetumal Km 72, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Aventura Spa Palace)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 577
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A blend of relaxation and adventure awaits you at this adults only retreat. Set in the Riviera Maya overlooking the aquamarine Caribbean Sea, enjoy 1,266 luxurious accommodations with double Jacuzzi, balcony (most with hammock), and 24 hr. room service. Among the facilities to highlight is the state-of-the-art spa offering a perfect day of pampering. Guests can also enjoy seven restaurants, several bars, a disco, outdoor/indoor pools, and unlimited tours as part of the all-inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Prestigia, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aventura Hotel Palace
Aventura Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Mayan Riviera Palace
Adventure Spa Palace
Hotel Mayan Palace
Adventura Spa Palace
Aventura Palace Spa
Aventura Spa Palace Riviera Maya
Aventura Spa Palace Resort
Aventura Spa Palace Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing