We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Four Hours Of Fun, Food & Friends” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Catamaya Sailing Cruises

Catamaya Sailing Cruises
Ranked #5 of 36 Tours in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Picture yourself sailing on a luxury 65' Catamaran through the crystal clear waters of the Caribbean Sea. Our crew will set anchor at the world second largest Barrier Reef where you will explore the underwater world of the Caribbean Sea with professional snorkel guides. Spot corals and exotic fish or stretch out on deck and get a nice suntan. We serve you a buffet lunch with a delicious grilled lobster or steak and tropical drinks from our full open bar. Good music, dancing, animation and our friendly crew will make your dreams come true! All is included: Drinks, lunch, snorkel gear and roundtrip transportation to Puerto Aventuras. Come and sail the Paradise!!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Four Hours Of Fun, Food & Friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

During a recent stay in Akumal Beach Resort, I made contact with my friend Arturo Morales the GM and Caption of Catamaya Sailing Cruises and he welcomed me aboard the party board. All drinks, choice of burgers, chicken,steak or lobster tails all cooked on the on board grill plus salads, sides and deserts for lunch. The Catamaya provides all snorkeling gear included in the price.

The crew service and friendliness is 5 star. Returning May 2013 and staying at the Catalonia Riviera Maya Resort about 1/2 mile from Catamaya and will Party Sail again.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Texaspepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    388
    76
    14
    6
    20
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great for a Party”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Staff was VERY nice and fun. They went the extra mile to make sure that we were taken care of. However, the snorkeling area was horrible. There were no fish (really, just a few tiny ones), the water was VERY shallow ( you would have to use effort not to step on the reef/ hit them with your fins).

After snorkeling, we got back on the boat and enjoyed lunch. The protein option was good (we had the lobster) but the ice-burg lettuce and plain noodles didn't go far after that. Oh well, not the biggest deal. We eat healthy so we are used to doing without or bringing our own food.

When lunch was over, thats when the PARTY started. Lets just say this is not a family affair in any way. Everyone had a great time, many drinks were had, and you got to see some sights.

This is perfect for a few people looking for an open bar on the open sea. Get your money's worth by coming prepared to DRINk! (shuttle takes 20-30 min each way)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jordan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“crew was great! Had an awesome time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

This tour was from 930am-230pm, it included a bbq lunch with choice of chicken, burgers, steak or lobster which was cooked on a grill at the back of the ship. There was plenty, so no one went hungry. The snorkeling was great! My husband doesn't snorkel so he stayed on board and partied w/ the crew. Staff was fun and friendly.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank shagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Searcy, Arkansas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Que Divertido!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

I am somewhat reticent to take organized outings but I thought Jan would enjoy the clear warm water and the beautiful day. The 4.5 hour trip was fantastic. The crew did a superb job making sure all the passengers had plenty to drink and eat. The food was to die for. I didn't snorkle but those that did had a great time. I highly recommend the trip.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jorge8288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Ride... Snorkeling Just OK”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

My husband and I went on this excursion last week and it was a lot of fun.

The snorkeling was just OK... but we had been spoiled with some great snorkeling on the trip so our expectations were high.

But for us the highlight was the ride on the boat, the nice lunch, and the amazing staff/service.

This was so much fun and we would recommend it to anyone looking to get out of the resort for a half day.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank EmElleSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catamaya Sailing Cruises also viewed

Puerto Aventuras, Riviera Maya
Puerto Aventuras, Riviera Maya
 
Puerto Aventuras, Riviera Maya
Puerto Aventuras, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Catamaya Sailing Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing