We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint little town, cute condo on the best beach”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Aventuras
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chac Hal Al Condominiums
Alaska
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Quaint little town, cute condo on the best beach”
Reviewed February 15, 2008

Chac Hal Al in Puerto Aventuras, Mexico
We made it past all the timeshare sharks in the Cancun airport, and on to Thrifty car rental shuttle. It took 45 minutes for Thrifty to get it together and find us a car (we had a reservation). Finally underway, it took us 60 minutes to drive to Puerto Aventuras, we were flagged down by a Policeman but he just said “it is 80 Km per hour”, and we were on our way, no ticket or bribe.
We found Chac Hal Al right beside Omni hotel.
Our unit was E 303(week 1) and E 102(week 2) in Feb 08, we rented from BlueCaribbean.com and highly recommend them.

E 303 is a 2bedroom condo, we loved it. It is on the third floor, so we dragged our luggage up three flights of stairs. The condo is set up with a kitchen, living room, two bathrooms, a bedroom downstairs (a double bed and two bunkbeds) and a big bedroom upstairs. The kitchen has a full sized fridge, stove top, toaster oven, microwave, coffee maker and a complete set of dishes. I was surprised to find that there was no hairdryer or dishsoap. The bed upstairs is kingsized and hard, I bought a mattress pad at Sorianos (in Playa del Carmen) and that helped. The bedroom has two huge closets. It even has a washer and dryer. There are sliding glass doors out to a balcony that overlook the bay.
E 102 is a one bedroom unit on the ground floor. It was wonderful to be able to just walk right off our deck and onto the grass down to the pool or the beach. E 102 has one tiny bathroom, a washer and dryer, small kitchen and a nice sized livingroom, it could use some paint and fixing up but it was fine for us.
We only spent a short time in the little pool, most of our time we were floating in the bay or snorkeling. I saw an eagle ray just snorkeling right off the beach. The sand is soft but there are rocks to watch out for. The beach has a fair bit of seaweed, try the Omni beach next door it has better access to the beach (less seaweed and rocks). The ocean water is suprisingly warm.

There are no phones in the units (you can rent a cell phone). It is easy to find the Blue Caribbean office and they are very helpful, they delivered more water to us and told us good places to eat. Our favourite is Omni for breakfast, Gringo Dave’s for drinks and fish tacos and the Pub for entertainment and hamburgers. We watched the Superbowl at Richard’s restaurant but were disappointed with the food.
Our favourite tour was to Tulum, it is gorgeous. The temple right over the cliff is amazing and the beach below is incredible. We had to walk a long way to get there but it was worth it. I did notice that they had a shuttle from the main parking lot right to the entrance. The other place we loved was Yal-Ku lagoon in Akumal, very pretty, lots of fish and quite cheap compared to Xel-ha lagoon.

We would recommend the Chac Hal Al to all our friends.

  • Liked — location, wonderful beach
  • Disliked — no phones or elevator
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank scubabum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    13
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
17
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2008

16 of us stayed here for a friend's 50th birthday. I had been to Playa Del Carmen a few times, but never stayed this far South. It is a lot more secluded than Playa. These are private condos that the owners rent out to vacationers - mostly thru Blue Carribean Adventures Rental Agency. I enjoyed the stay. As usual, the Mexican accommodations are not on par with what you would find in USA, but not too bad. We stayed in unit E-204 which is a small unit. Since it was just my wife and I, it was fine for what we needed. A few observations: 1) the condos are very close to the beach - 40 feet or so. The ocean is not very good to swim in at this particular location, but the beach is fine. There are quite a few rocks in the water. 2) When you go out in the beach area at night, it is quiet and peaceful. Many of the condos are owned by owners who don't rent them out, so there are not that many people here at any one time. 3) There are many restaurants/Bars/Shops within a five minute walk from the condo. The bad thing is that hardly any of them take credit cards. They want cash only. The only one who took plastic was Tiera Misu (sp?). I didn't take that much cash thinking that credit cards are accepted almost everywhere in the world not. Apparently, Puerto Adventuras never got the memo. The vendors are just cheap and don't want to pay the 2% processing fee. 4) We rented a car. Since the taxi was $85 each way from the airport, we rented a car which also gave us the freedom to drive around to other areas in the area. Including tax, insurance, gas the cost for 6 days was $340. So we paid a little more, but it was worth a premium for the freedom. I might add that the driving was no different that in USA. I took the full insurance, but one of the people in our group declined all but the liability insurance (which they said was required). The bad part about renting a car was.... the Coppers. The rental cars are well marked as rentals, so the cops are always keeping their eye on you. I got pulled over 3 times in 2 days. One for not having my seat belt on (cost me $60 cash) and one for going 8 miles over the speed limit. I don't think I was speeding, but he had a gun. Cost me $80 cash. Interestingly, part of the cash goes in the left pocket and the rest goes in the right pocket.

All in all, a good trip. I would go there again. I might not rent a car though.

  • Liked — Not very crowded for a prime beach location.
  • Disliked — Ocean was rocky outside the condo
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jaythetravelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2008

We stayed 2 weeks in C-203. I can't say enough good about our trip this year. We had stayed at the CAT in previous years, but will more than likely book here again instead. Our building was directly in front of the pool, and just steps to the beach. We arranged for Blue Caribbean to pick us up (we booked online through them) at the airport, and for $20 extra, they took us to the grocery store on the way, and waited as long as we needed. Curt was very helpful, even ordered lunchmeat for us at the deli counter, since we speak little Spanish.The marina has plenty of different restaurants to eat at, and a couple that have pizza you can order to go. Make sure you visit Wahoo Wacko for Happy Hour (every day from 2:30-5:00), and Gringo Dave's for the Fiesta Platter(lobster, steak, chicken, fish, shrimp, and rice for $38. Hard for 2 to finish it all!) Our rooms were cleaned every other day, with fresh towels and sheets. THe girls in the office (Beatrice and I didn't get the other one's name) were VERY helpful with any tips.SNorkeling out front is great, but for a special treat travel down to Akumal and snorkel with the sea turtles. Absolutely one of the most amazing things I have ever done! WIreless internet available most anywhere in the marina, or you can pay $12.50 for 5 hours at CAfe CAfe. The Italian BAkery next door to here has excellent food for breakfast, lunch, and dinner (and takes credit cards).We are already looking for a unit to rent next winter. Best experience staying in the area we've had, and we have been visiting here for 5 years now.

  • Liked — Location and service
  • Disliked — stairs-next time we will rent a ground or 1st floor unit
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank hurricane1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2008

How sad we were , after working so diligently to plan a wonderful vacation over the holidays, to find we'd checked into the "Bates Motel!."
We thought we had done our homework and were using a reputable rental agent, Blue Caribbean Adventures, only to discover that apparently they rarely inspect their properties, as this place should never have been allowed in the rental pool. When we checked in, our initial reaction was "We want another unit!" only to be told that there were none available. Later, we asked the owner of the agency (who was not around during most of our trials and tribulations) how many properties they represented and she said "about 100", so, I am sure they could have found us another place, if they were so inclined. Bottom line, we had prepaid in full in advance and they had us where they wanted us. In Bunker B102! (makes you wonder about their other properties)
Where should I begin?? Upon entering the unit we realized there was very little, if any, storage as the owner had consummed over half of what limited storage there was by locking closets, cabinets, etc. The "squeeze in closet," dimly lit by a loose hanging fixture, consisted of three "splintery" ply wood shelves and the minute hanging clothes rod area was shared with the dirty mop, broom, and bucket stored by the maid. The filthy bathroom (which had one complete cabinet locked up), was also dimly lit as two of the three switches were inopearable. I was forced to resort to commandeering the plastic colander from the kitchen to house my makeup and toiletries, the faucet was loose over the sink, the shower head was so clogged that it came out at less than 1/2 strength, the rusted commode brush and toilet plunger (!) were on the floor next to the toilet during the entire stay, the two bath towels/ two wash rags and ONE hand towel
(for 2-1/2 days use) were so worn and dingy you could see through them, and the tile floor and grout was filthy, discolored and needed replacing throughout the unit.
Moving onto the living area, let me give you a list of what was
NOT working: Cable TV /no cable to connect TV to wall; microwave oven/did not heat; electric coffee pot/did not heat; toaster/did not brown; Venta -a- hood; sliding glass doors to the balcony did not close (1/2"gap between the doors) nor, obviously, lock; bedside lamps; bedside table (broken leg); hideous lighting in the evening; AND the kitchen flooded due to defective (read: Old) plumbing. The microwave,and flood were addressed and the TV was halfway repaired, but there was so much else to complain about daily, we finally just gave up and tried to make the best of the situation. The horridly outdated decor and uncomfortable couches are so trivial they do not merit but a quick mention.
We CAN say the view was spectacular from our porch (beware
of the rusted table and chairs), and the grounds/ pool area, etc. were very nice and well maintained. The big problem was this particular unit and the rental agent. After returning home, we looked up our unit (B102) on the internet and much of the things which were pictured, were not acutally in the unit at the time of rental. Upon check out, we demanded that the owner of the rental company inspect the unit so we could show her all the filth and hideous problems. She shook her head and said she would
look into it. Today we received back our deposit , and there was not even a note of apology or thanks from the management company. We feel we were deceived by the management company and the unit owner. We have been traveling to Mexico, esp. the Mayan Riviera, for over 25 years and this was, by far, the most horrendous facility we have encountered. We love the Puerto Aventuras area, but it will be a long time before we decide to return.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Read the review
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JOYJOYPortAransas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2007

We booked Condo # C-002 at Chac Hal Al through Blue Caribbean.com. They picked us up at the Airport, drove us directly to the Condo (about 50 min. drive). The condo looked a little rustic in the photo, but we booked it because it was directly in front of the pool with the beach behind it. The internet pictures didn't do it justice, it was absolutley beautiful and very clean. Blue Caribbean were very helpful whenever we had a problem.
Puerto Aventuros is a wonderful place to stay, very safe, clean and lots to do. The little town with a marina, lots of restaurants and shops was in walking distance. Swim with the dophins was right in the marina along with all kinds of other animals like sea lions and Manatees. Gringo Daves made the best banana pancakes and had some of the best entertainment in the evening. Puerto is about a 10 min. drive from Playa Del Carmen.
The beach was nice, but we preferred the beach about a 30 minute drive in Tulum near the ruins. There was a thatched roof restaurant called Vita de Bella. You could rent their umbrellas and chairs all day. They serve drinks on the beach and have great authentic Italian style pizza in the sand floor restaurant. Very cool place!!!

  • Liked — The View!!!!!
  • Disliked — Beach was a little rocky, but still amazing to look at.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank MauriceandLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east longmeadow, ma
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2007

Just back from a very relaxing week on the beach. We rented a 2 BR condo in Chac Hal Al (unit # E305) through Blue Caribbean. Everything was hassle free, and "as advertised", from the condo to the airport pick up. The condo itself, while not brand new, was in good shape, very clean, and everything was in good working order. Our view of the beach was absolutely superb . The beach was very calm and was perfect for our sons ( ages 8, 6). The pool was nice and also enjoyed the same great views. The "town" around the dolphin adventure was very convenient with some decent shopping and some good restaurant/bars. Gringo Daves was a lot of fun for pre/post dinner drinks. In general P.A. is a real laid back spot, perfect for families, but only a few minutes down the road from the action in Playa del Carmen if you want it. We're pretty seasoned travellers and P.A. holds up very well with other spots we've been to. We recommend it highly, and would gladly return.

  • Liked — location, views, convenience, full kitchen
  • Disliked — 3rd floor
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank live4thebeach66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2007

We stayed at Chac Hal Al in Puerto Aventuras for 10 days in January. We rented through Coldwell Banker. We arrived in the early evening and just went to the Omni Hotel (next door to Chac Hal Al) and picked up our keys. We had to wander around a little to find the right building (F402), it turned out F 402 was on the top floor, six flights of stairs with no elevator.
Our 1bedroom condo was quite nice. It was in the building closest to the Omni hotel with a nice view of the ocean, and a little walk to the pool. The condo was set up with a kitchen, living room, 2 bathrooms and a bedroom. The kitchen was nice to have with a full sized fridge, microwave, stove top, coffee maker and dishes. When we arrived there was a bowl of fruit on the counter with a bunch of tiny ants running around it. We put the fruit in the fridge and kept the kitchen really clean and didn’t have too much trouble with the ants after that. They also had coffee, coffee filters, sugar, spices and a purified water dispenser for our use. The bathroom had a good sized shower, the vanity was nice sized and included a hair dryer. The bed was king sized and hard, I brought an egg crate mattress pad with us and just left it there. The bedroom had a huge closet with a safe in the closet. It even had a washer and dryer. There were sliding glass doors out to a balcony that overlooked the beautiful ocean off the living room, and a balcony with sliding glass doors in the bedroom too.

We had a problem with our A/C quitting and luckily it happened during the day on a week day, or else we would have had no way to contact anyone to fix it. We walked across the marina to where I had noticed the Coldwell Banker office and talked to the lady in charge, they got someone to come fix it in a couple hours. There are no phones in the units and there is no contact number for after hours for Coldwell Banker or any management company for the condos.

The two pools are small but nicely designed, with a few chairs around to lounge in. The beach area has lots of chairs and shade areas too. The sand is so soft and the water is shallow enough for little kids. We had a so much fun snorkeling and just floating in the water right out in front of Chac Hal Al and the Omni. The grounds of Chac Hal Al are gorgeous, lush with lots of trees, flowering plants, grass and even an iguana named Iggy.

We ate at the Omni El Xenote restaurant which had pretty good food, the breakfasts were the best. We ate at Gringo Dave’s with pretty good food, Richard’s restaurant good pizza, and Café Ole – also pretty good food. We didn’t really find any restaurant that was outstanding in Puerto Aventuras but we did like Lol Ha in Akumal. We were mostly looking for good Mexican food but found a lot of Italian and American food. We also went to Chedraui and Sorrianos in Playa del Carmen and bought lunch and breakfast type foods. Sorrianos is a big mall with hardly any shoppers, Chedraui seems more popular with the locals and the prices at both are way better than the little shops in Puerto Aventuras.

Walking around the marina in Puerto Aventuras is entertaining, with all the little shops and people, it really wasn’t that crowded for January. I checked email a couple times at the little Internet café close to Café Ole and Aquanauts. We watched a wonderful show with drumming and fire dancers at Gringo Dave’s one night, I would’ve paid extra just to see the show (we did give the troupe a good tip). The dolphins are always entertaining, especially when they jump around at night just for the fun of it. The dolphin encounter looked like so much fun too.

I dove with Dive Aventuras at the Omni hotel and was happy with their dive operation. It worked out well for us since I could go dive for an hour or so, return to the condo on the surface interval, then go out again. The reef is only a 3 to 7 minute boat ride out and they return to the hotel between dives. The reef is quite healthy with lots of fish and a fair amount of coral. I also dove Akumal Bay and thought it was about the same type of diving except it had more turtles.

We enjoyed our stay and would recommend the Chac Hal Al to our friends

  • Liked — right on the beach
  • Disliked — no elevators or phones
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank PinkPlumeria3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Aventuras hotels
0.5 mi away
LM by Inmense
LM by Inmense
#1 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
239 reviews
0.1 mi away
Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort
Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Reso...
#13 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
561 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Ri...
#2 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
6,257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aventuras Club
Aventuras Club
#1 of 13 in Puerto Aventuras
246 reviews
1.0 mi away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#12 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
3,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chac Hal Al Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chac Hal Al Condominiums

Property: Chac Hal Al Condominiums
Address: KM 269.5 Carretera Chetumal | Puerto Juarez Munic De Solid, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Chac Hal Al Condominiums Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Chac Hal Al Condominiums Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing