We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Day of our Honeymoon”
Review of Your Private Tour

Your Private Tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We teach you to snorkel and tour the Mayan Ruins, Chichen Itza, Coba and others,snorkel, Zip Line through the dense jungle over a huge centoe,canoe,cliff jump,visit a Mayan village and explore underground river system called Cenotes and much more!! We use new vans,bi-lingual guides, new excellent quality sanitary equipment,exceptional quality food at a beach restaurant while providing lots of fun, new experiences and safety. Please visist our website for tour descriptions and prices!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Richmond, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Day of our Honeymoon”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We booked our trip after reading all of the outstanding reviews on TripAdvisor and we were not disappointed. Maria and Arturo picked us up from our resort and were so friendly and helpful. We had wanted to purchase the photo package, but Maria explained that they were trying out a new camera and we wouldn't be charged - what great customer service. We were still able to get some great pictures of our adventures.

We first went to Tulum and met Jay. He was very gracious and welcoming. We were put right on the trolley to go to the entrance of the site with just a few other tourists. There were probably only 20 other people there while we were, which we found out was not normal. On our return back to the start of where the trolley picked us up, we encountered a line of hundreds and were very thankful to not be in line. The lack of a line was reason enough to book with "Your Private Tour."

Snorkeling through the cenotes was such a cool experience. Maria was very reassuring and calming because going through to the bat cave was a little scary, but only because it's a bat cave! What a cool experience!!

Next, we traveled to Akumal Beach to snorkel with the sea turtles and this was our most favorite part. We encountered 10-11 sea turtles, swimming with them in the wild. A "once in a lifetime" experience. We also saw several rays and beautiful fish.

Following the ocean snorkeling, we snorkeled in the natural aquaurium. Maria was very knowledgeable about the marine and natural resources. This was a very cool place!

Lastly, we had lunch at La Lunita. What a treat, right on the beach. We especially loved the mango margaritas. My husband still can't stop thinking about them!

Maria, Arturo, and Jay were so hospitable and friendly and we can't imagine doing a tour with any other company. They set the bar...and the bar is high. We would absolutely recommend the tour to anyone. Your Private Tour is the best, hands down!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    2
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hove, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Everything we wanted to see in one day!”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I booked our private tour after reading the great reviews on trip advisor and we weren't disappointed. Before the trip Jay was incredibly helpful and got back to me so quickly with all my queries ( even those not relevant to the trip when I enquirer about currency ) ! We were picked up at 8am sharp by Rod who is absolutely delightful and so enthusiastic about his home of Mexico and what he does. Our driver was also very polite but I'm afraid I can't remember his name! We started at Tulum where Rod sorted out our tickets and we were pretty much the only people there which was perfect! It was also early morning so not too hot. Tulum was OK but I wouldn't go back and was my least favourite part of the day. From there we drove into the rain Forrest to a beautiful clear water lagoon and jumped into it off a small cliff, this was amazing as something I would normally be too scared to do but was the favourite part of the whole day!! The water was just amazing and so clear!! Next we went zip lining over a lake next to it which was also crystal clear and we even saw turtles, again we were pretty much the only people there! You walk through a Mayan village to get here and Rod gave us so much information and answered all our questions about the Mayan people!
Next we drove for 10 minutes to Dos Ojos which is a cenote and the favourite part of the day for my other half. It's absolutely beautiful and is like snorkelling out in space! Crystal clear water and snorkelling through stalagmites and stalactites into a bat cave was an incredible experience
Then onto Akumel beach which is a lovely white sand area. We were lucky enough to have perfect weather and snorkelled out to see the turtles! Now I was expecting little turtles but they ones are HUGE and we got so close to them. Rod seemed to know exactly where they would be and was once again the perfect tour guide!
Lunch was up next and we went to a nice beachside restaurant. On the way there Rod started going through the menu and explaining all the dishes, he went into so much detail I thought he was just passionate about the food but when we got there someone took our order without menus so make sure you listen :-) the margaritas were delicious!! The food was good. I had really unusual enchiladas in a chocolate and chilli sauce, my other half had delicious taco's
Lastly after lunch we went to Yal Ku which is a large natural aquarium joining the sea. This is a beautiful place and although the water is not crystal clear we still saw lots of fish and a barracuda which my other half loved as he has never snorkelled before
All in all it was a great day and we felt like it was enough of a day out for us to be satisfied to not leave our resort for the rest of the week! Rod is an absolute credit to the team and I felt like I'd known him for ages so if you are ever in the UK Rod and need a place to stay then you and the other half are always welcome!
Just book it! Please feel free to contact me with any queries

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank hvwade1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Another Amazing day out”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This is the second time that we booked through Your Private tour.

All the tours we have taken with Jay have been fabulous. Previously we toured Chichin Itza and we completed the basic tour. On our recent visit to Mexico we decided to take the Coba day tour.

Our guide for the day was Rod who was exceptionally knowledgable, friendly and courteous you wouldnt wish to tour with another guide. I was a little dubious however when I heard Jay no longer took the tours as he has an amazing personality and just MAKES the tours. You can see how Jay has been so careful in selecting and moulding his guides to give the same amazing personal tour that he is known for.

After being collected promptly from our hotel we had a quick stop down the road in order for Jay to say hello before we headed off to Coba. During our drive Rod engaged each member of our family in conversation and was informative and answered any questions raised. On arrival at Coba we were introduced to a guide who took us off on taxi bikes to visit the ruins. On return to the van we were greeted with a friendly smile and cold drinks and off we went to our last location of the day Akumal beach.

Now we did attempt to view the Turtles at Akumel with Jay in 2011 but due a very bad thunderstorm overhead we cut our trip short and returned back to our hotel so this was something we really wanted to experience on this trip.

Rod was exceptionally attentive and patient during our snorkelling - we had with us a very very nervous swimmer, although my mother is content to swim with a woggle in a pool the open ocean was daunting. That being said within minutes of being in the water Rod acheived what he set out to do and have her view a turtle in its natural habitat. After returing her to shore he rejoined the remainder of the family and took lots of photos for us during our swim with the turtles.

Following the snorkel tour we headed to La Lunita for a very tasty lunch with the most wonderful views of north Bay.

Our warmest thanks go to Rod for a fantastic day - My mum is already planning her return.

Do not think twice about booking any of Jay's tours. They are planned in a way that you will never be amongst the crownds. We had Coba all too ourselves no amount of money can buy that.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank RachaelD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best part of our vacation.”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

My family had a great time on our tour and we all decided it was the highlight of our vacation. We enjoyed every part of it. We did the basic tour, which is the Cenotes, Akumal and Yal Kul. Gilmer, our guide, and Isidro, the van driver (hopefully got the spelling right...), took great care of us the whole time. We brought our 2 young sons (6 and 9) and Gilmer made sure they were safe and comfortable in the water. Gilmer is a very friendly and knowledgeable guide and we all enjoyed spending the day with him.
The tour is expensive but, in my opinion, worth the price. There's no attempt to up-sell or get you to do anything you don't want to do (which seems to be what the tours booked through the hotel tour desk were all about). They do a great job of taking you places that are not overrun with other tourists. For example, when we snorkeled in the Cenotes, we were the only people there and lunch was at a small, private restaurant on a beautiful, secluded beach with hardly any people. Akumal and Yal Kul were pretty busy on the days we visited (the day before Easter), but Gilmer knew all the right people and got us past any lines with no wait and knew where the least crowded areas to takes us were.
Before booking the tour we spoke with Jay, the owner, who is very friendly and was patient with the many questions we asked. He lives near the hotel we were staying at and made it a point to stop by to meet us when we were getting picked up for our tour. We will definitely use Your Private Tour on our next trip to Riviera Maya.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank steveschutte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, NH
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Snorkeling in Rivera Maya”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

If you are staying at any of the hotels on Rivera Maya do yourself a favor and get away from the hotel zone to explore other areas. You can do this one of two ways- rent a car and snoop around yourselves or book a tour. If you like snorkeling and want to see a cenote pay the extra $$$ and hire "Your Private Tour" based out of Puerto Aventuras.
On a recent trip to Playa Del Carmen we booked a tour that included swimming with turtles, swimming in a cenote and a lagoon. It was a luxury to have a delightful and knowledgeable guide who guided us to what we wanted to see. We were her only charges for the day so we all felt well attended to.
We went to lunch at a family run Mexican restaurant on the beach as our last stop of the day. The lunch is included in the price of the tour.
The price of the tour is steep- $160.00 per person, however it was worth every penny because we never would have had the experiences we had on our own.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Conni W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Your Private Tour also viewed

Puerto Aventuras, Riviera Maya
Puerto Aventuras, Riviera Maya
 
Puerto Aventuras, Riviera Maya
Puerto Aventuras, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Your Private Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing