We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved my trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2010

The resort was wonderful. I could look out my room and see the ocean on one side and the sea on the other. We had several pools with waterfalls and 2 built in bars in the pool. Right on the beach so we got to enjoy both! The hotel was gorgeous and had an extremely helpful staff!!

Stayed: April 2007
Thank CaseyM5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (589)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

393 - 399 of 589 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2010

We finished our 18 day tour of Mexico here with 3 days to relax. Sadly the weather wasn't great, but we had a relaxing few days anyway
Our first room faced the marina, and the noise from the bars was very obvious, although it did stop soon after 10. We changed to a sea facing room which was very peaceful. The room itself was spotless, with 2 large comfortable beds, lots of cupboards, huge flatscreen TV, fridge, coffee-maker, iron, ironing board etc. The bathroom was all marble, with a huge shower. On the balcony is a jacuzzi bath, and a hammock, perfect for just lounging around
The room rate included a reasonable continental breakfast- you had to pay 40 pesos extra if you wanted eggs. We ate in the restaurant in the evening once, but felt it to be quite expensive. There are lots of alternative eateries just outside round the Marina area, so we ate there after
The pool looked good, and the small beach clean
We found the staff friendly and helpful, and the whole hotel, being small, felt quite intimate

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Levoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2010

My husband and I spent 5 days at the Omni and felt like we really hit the jackpot. We liked the small hotel, the room was spacious and very clean, the balcony with the hammock and jacuzzi were lovely perks, and the "magic box" for food delivery to the room was a terrific idea! It wasn't that crowded while we were there so we always found a lounge chair and/or palapa to relax on the beach or poolside. Nachos from the restaurant were excellent. Dive shop was helpful and friendly too. We'll DEFINITELY be back!

Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
2  Thank RaindropRez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjbk, Director of Sales & Marketing at Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2010

Thank you so much for your nice review of our unique resort. We are truly fortunate to have such a wonderful location in a great, natural surrounding that makes each guest experience, truly memorable. Our Associates are always eager to extend genuine, warm, Mexican hospitality to everyone.
We appreciate your support of our Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort and look forward to welcome you back home to "Su Casa"in the very near future.
With warmest regards,
Scott Balesteri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2009

I stayed w/ my boyfriend in early October. We really enjoyed our visit and feel this is a top quality hotel.

Pluses:
-BIG and perfectly clean room! Lots of space to spread out!
-Comfortable king size bed
-Strong A/C
-Balcony w/ hammock and big, clean jacuzzi (which we used!). Jacuzzi's come w/ every room.
-Quiet, relaxing atmosphere
-Friendly, attentive staff
-Great breakfast food -
-Flat Screen TV
-Mini fridge and snacks stocked for purchase
-Located next to shopping center w/ restaurants, dolphin park, souvenir shops, etc.

Negatives:
-Beach/sand area directly in front of hotel is not very big but that wasn't an issue for us since there is plenty of sand a few feet on either side.
-Wi-fi internet service costs about $15 a day. Although we paid, we couldn't access (though we could see the signal strength). We're pretty savvy computer users but couldn't figure if the problem was on their end or ours.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay because we were very comfortable in our rooms! While we didn't spend much time at the hotel (b/c we were running around quite a bit), we were truly able to relax and rest well during our time there.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pibb1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2009

I would like to commend the staff at Omni and truly thank them for a wonderful vacation. Specifically the front desk staff were exceptional in every way consistently going above and beyond. Initially as we were driving to the resort we were concerned that the other hotels and their entrances looked so grand and as we got closer to puerto aventuras the entrances looked less welcoming. Also we were hesitant because of the language barrier. All of these concerns were quickly abolished by the time we reached our room. Not only did we have a wonderfullarge room & view, but the employees could not have been more hospitable and welcoming. Every employee from the bell boy, front desk, maintenance and the wait staff was absolutely professional. One concern we had was on Sunday October 11th, 2009 a fitness video was being recorded in the pool area which did hinder our activities for our last day in puerto aventuras but the staff tried to not let it effect guests and were very accomodating. Luckily I had enough positive experiences to not let this affect my judgement on the resort itself. I have been broadcasting to friends and family all week about how amazing this location is and my husband and I agree that this will likely become a regular vacation.
Overall the room we stayed in was large, spacious and welcoming with a beautiful view, large shower, large balcony with a hammock and a jacuzzi tub (yes on the balcony). The room also had a large flat screen television with a DVD player and DVDs were available to be rented from the front desk. Breakfast (if ordered by room service-also note that the sweet rolls and pastries are amazing) was also put into a little door int eh wall (like when the milkman delivered the milk). We found this a nice feature as it did not require us to get up early to let the waiter in the room.
One thing to note is that this resort is only 3 floors but it does not have an elevator. (for us no big deal but worth mentioning for others)
The location is by a marina and right in the middle of a nice market area with restaurants and active dolphins as well. A tour guide is on site to arrange for bus trips and let you know about soem of the sites but we would advise you to try to book some in advance online and save some money. All I can say is we will DEFINITELY be returning to this location and are looking forward to it.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bfh_London_ON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2009

We had a great stay at the Omni in Puerto Aventuras. The hotel is small, but excellently located with the ocean on one side and the marina/town on the other. Our room was on the top (third) floor on the marina side with a direct view of the shops and dolphin lagoon. The large balcony had a spa tub, hammock and plenty of room to sit and watch the dolphin shows. At night, some of the restaurants had live music, which we could hear but not really see from our balcony. They seemed to stop by 9 or 10PM though, so it wasn't loud music all night.

ROOM: Not huge, but large enough for two people to relax. Cool tile floors and a very large shower. It was kept spotlessly clean; they replaced the beach towels and provided a free liter of bottled water daily. We had a Sony widescreen plasma TV, but not very many channels in English. No HBO or premium channels, although they did have a DVD player and movie rentals at the front desk for a small fee. There was a mini-bar fridge, but it was not very cold and we could find no way to adjust the temperature. Stocked with typical drinks at typical hotel prices. Not enough room to store your own water bottle or other items in there, though. We had a king size bed with decent linens, but we found the mattress rather hard and uncomfortable. The shower had plenty of hot water, but the pressure was very low.

BEACH: The beach wasn't terrible, but it was a disappointment since our main vacation objective was to find a nice, large beach. It was rather small, not much sandy area and not enough seating in the shade. I imagine the beach was much more expansive before hurricane Wilma - what a shame. The water was warm and fairly calm most of the time. Walking out into the water you had to be very careful of rocks and uneven surface, plus a lot of seaweed. But if you navigated around that stuff, the water was quite nice. There weren't really that many people there, but since the seating was limited, it felt more crowded than we would like.

SERVICE: The service was overall excellent for such a small hotel. The main hostess at the front desk (whose name I don't recall) was especially friendly and helpful. Most of the staff speaks decent English, and my husband speaks a little Spanish, so we didn't really have many issues with communication. The hotel has room service from 7AM - 11PM, and they were fairly prompt with bringing our orders (usually within 15 minutes). Drink service at the pool and beach area was variable - sometimes it took the guys awhile to get back to us, but that's because they were busy with servicing a large area.

One thing that was not adequately explained to us during check-in was the "Magic Box" breakfast procedure. The check-in sheet just said we were allowed two free continental breakfasts between 7-11AM. The first day we waited awhile for it to show up, then went for a walk, thinking it would be there when we got back. Turns out you have to request your breakfast at the front desk the day before, then they will bring it at the time you request. We found the continental breakfast to be tasty, but not substantial enough (we LOVE breakfast on vacation). Better is to order off the menu at the restaurant or from room service, and they will apply the amount of the continental breakfast to your order, then just charge you for the difference. We did that almost every day and the cost was less than 50 pesos.

LOCATION: The location of the hotel right in the heart of the Puerto Aventuras marina was excellent. There is a convenience store, Internet cafe, restaurants, souvenir shops, and the Dolphin Discovery attraction just steps away from the hotel. You can also book tours and activities there. Guests at other PA hotels would have about a 10 minute walk to the restaurants.

The town is pretty laid back and mellow and shuts down early, so if you're looking for clubs and party nightlife or upscale shopping, this is not the place! But if you want a quiet vacation away from busloads of tourists and drunken college kids, you might try the Omni in PA.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SpinyIguana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjbk, Director of Sales & Marketing at Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2009

Dear Valued Guests,
We truly appreciate your recent comments regarding your stay at our Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort. Our Associates are our most important asset and thank you for recognizing their efforts and please rest assured we will recognize them for the genuine Mexican hospitality they provided.
Our beach area at the resort will be undergoing an eco-friendly expansion, which will widen the current beach, giving the area a much more spacious feel and complement our jacuzzi beach bar and the surrounding areas.
On behalf of Ms. Sol Morales, our Hospitality Manager, and are fellow Associates, we look forward to welcome you back home to "su casa" one day soon to enjoy our unique hotel.
Warmest regards,
Scott Balesteri
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2009

This hotel should be # 1 in Puerto Aventuras. First of all I am not a travel agent or am getting paid to write this. Service was unbelievable. I was at the Omni for my Honeymoon from June 12 to the 18th. If you are looking for a small hotel, where you don't become a number, this is the place. This hotel is the hidden jewel of Puerto Aventuras. The small town feel of the surrounding marina is very romantic. You can choose to eat at several different restaurants all surrounding the Dolphin Eco park where you can watch them swim while enjoying dinner or lunch. The Hotels restaurant is 5 star. Look, I'm 6'1 285, I don't mess around when it comes to food. Believe me if it was bad, or just OK I would have told them. Try the nachos, for lunch. The surf and turf for dinner is a must. How about dinner ON the beach," The Romantic Dinner" your choice of menu, that you go over with the Chef for about 80 dollars for two. Trust me this is the place to be for you honeymoon or romantic get away. Thanks again ALEX, ALEX and SOL.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank billyberru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Aventuras hotels
0.4 mi away
LM by Inmense
LM by Inmense
#1 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
270 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,815 reviews
1.2 mi away
Barcelo Maya Colonial
Barcelo Maya Colonial
#5 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
6,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Palace
#6 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
7,589 reviews
0.6 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
9,444 reviews
1.2 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort

Address: Km 269.5 Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range: $126 - $586 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Puerto Aventuras Hotel Beach Puerto Aventuras
Omni Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Puerto Aventuras Omni
Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing