We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Great times. Stayed on Hacienda side. Family oriented.
Rooms well equipped. beds were comfortable
Need a magnifier in bathroom
Good food lots of restaurants to choose from

Favorities include the Zen & Toro
Will service top shelf liquors when requested
Could give a list of daily activities
Excellent value
Recommend & will return again in near future
Close to Playacare, Xcarete & Tulum
1 1/2 hour from Airport









  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René M, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Hey John C!
Thanks for stopping by; we are very pleased to see you loved your stay at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya. It’s so wonderful hearing you enjoyed our food, the room, the entertainment and of course the excellent service. Thank you for highlighting our Zen and Toro restaurants; I am sure our incoming guests are going to find your recommendations quite handy. We look forward to your next visit. Kind regards.

René Malacara Coss
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (10,281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,261 - 6,267 of 10,281 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2014

The resort was a disaster in December 2013. The remodeling to become Hard Rock was taking way too long. I was afraid it would still be a mess in April. It was definitely perfect. Food was great, service was great, spa was excellent. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Building 4 on the Heaven side on the second floor. Was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicki6102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René M, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Hello Vicki6102,

You are quite a traveler I see! Thanks for coming back and posting about the improvements we have made. We are thrilled to see you had a wonderful experience this time and we are very excited to hear you are coming back soon! As always it’s been a blast for us to have you as a guest! Warmest regards.

René Malacara Coss
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

PROS: Every employee friendly and committed to good service, newly updated, very clean and comfortable, solid food and drinks.

CONS: LImited for families - my 16 and 17year olds couldn't go to spa or restaurants in "Heaven" side of the resort (which is limited to adults) - that leaves only 5 restaurants, which is not very many.
As the team is relatively new, they still are "working out the kinks" and still shows, but the positive attitude overcomes some of that.

DON'T book through BOOKING.com - website advertised 5,146 ft 2 bedroom suite with photos of living and dining room - what i got was two adjoining standard hotels rooms, one with private roof deck - not even 1/3 the size and no living or dining room. complained to hotel and Booking.com - Booking was no help, and basically said "hotel submits description, talk to them, but you can have better room if you pay much more money". Hotel says booking.com responsible. After 3 days, finally moved to room we bought without added charge, but only due to my efforts.
Despite numerous emails and conversations, booking.com STILL advertising room description and photos that they have been told are not accurate.

Hotel has a "resort credit" deal - we got $1800 credit (X2 for two rooms) to spend on upgraded wines, special dinners, certain side trips, and spa. These are a bit of a benefit but not much, as hard to use them, and you have to pay 20% fee in real dollars. So at dinner an "upgraded" bottle of wine worth about $35 at a restaurant will cost you $170 "credits" and a fee of $34 dollars - so the "cash fee" is about the same cost as the bottle of wine. Moet & Chandon champagne worth about $50 in store and $100 is restaurant will cost you about $500 credits and $100 cash fee. Deal better for spa - spent about $90 cash fee and $450 credits for a couples massage for wife and i. I think a nice massage for two would cost more than $90 plus tip.
The "adventures" mostly paid for transportation, but you still had to pay cash for admissions rates, etc. so not too valuable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cormac7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René M, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Hello cormac7,
Thank you for leaving your note about your stay at our hotel. We truly appreciate the staff highlights, nevertheless I would like to offer you my heartfelt apologies for any dissatisfaction you may have experienced during your visit. I’m sorry about the room misunderstanding; we keep posted accurate information about our resort as well as detail description of our rooms and services at our official webpage; however I am pleased to hear that this matter was solved to your satisfaction. Resort Credits is a very attractive promotion to get great services such as treatments at the Spa, excellent tours and so on. This promotion has grown to offer more items and services to our guests. It is important to note that the 20% nominal fee is intended to offset our various partners and support the staff that has joined the Limitless Resort Credit promotion like, tours, photography and beauty salon services. On the other hand, we can ensure continued investment in the development and enforcement to keep this promotion as strong as it has been. In the same way as a hotel booking rate includes taxes and gratuities in one price, the service fee on the Limitless Resort Credit allows us to cover the additional costs that are generated by our promotional offers. I hope to welcome you back at our resort. Kind regards

René Malacara Coss
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

My husband and I were a part of a destination wedding group that recently stayed at the HRHRM. To say the trip was great would be an understatement. The service was absolutely top notch from the time you walk in the door and receive a cool cloth and refreshing glass of lemonade to check out. We spent a lot of time at the swim up bar, played pool basketball, stopped for lunch at that same bar, had unlimited nachos at any time, etc. The buffets were much better than I've had other places and the restaurants were great. Highly recommend that Mexican, Japanese and Italian restaurants. Wish I could've tried them all! The facilities were constantly being cleaned throughout the day. The entertainment was great all week and the wedding accommodations were great. I got a massage from Omar on the day we left and it was the perfect way to end the trip. Before your massage, you can utilize up to an hour of hydrotherapy (steam, sauna, whirlpool, etc.) and great locker rooms to freshen up afterwards. Of course there were some minor renovations still going on, but it didn't take away from the experience at all.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René M, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Hi Anna L,

Thank you so much for posting about your fantastic stay at our hotel. First impressions are important and we are glad you felt our characteristic hospitality from the very first moment you walked in and throughout your entire visit. We are pleased to hear that you loved our food, the pools, the spa and of course the friendliness and efficiency of our staff. They are the key for our success. It’s been a pleasure to have you with us. We all hope to see you soon.
Kind regards!

René Malacara Coss
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

This is a great spot to unwind and switch your brain off for a week. Location on the Caribbean shore is spectacular, hotel is very clean and has a good family atmosphere. Food was plentiful and good quality, and the friendliness and service of staff was excellent.

The resort is divided into 2 sides. 'Heaven' is adults only and 'Hacienda' is family-friendly. At least during our stay in April, the Heaven side was very quiet and Hacienda was hopping. My advice would be to stay on the Hacienda side, even if you have no kids with you - much more alive and fun.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marceire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René M, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Hi Marcerie,
Nothing rocks our world more than getting such good reviews like yours. We really appreciate you took the time to drop us a note about your relaxing break at our hotel. Thank you for the staff highlights and I'm quite sure our incoming guests are going to find your advice very handy. It has been a pleasure to have you as our guest, we all hope to welcome you again; this summer is going to be awesome!


René Malacara Coss
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Upon arrival we were pleasantly greeted with a cool cloth and a refreshing glass of lemonade. First impressions are everything! All hotel staff was extremely helpful and friendly! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos
1  Thank Serina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René M, Director General at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Hey Serina R,

Thank you for taking the time to post about your stay, Nothing rocks our world more than finding that your stay at our hotel was HIT! Thank you for the staff highlights. We cannot wait to welcome you again for another Rockstar vacation.
Kind regards

René Malacara Coss
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We stayed in January for the Further - Paradise Waits week. Many problems at the resort that week. Check in was a complete disaster, waiting for a key that turned out not to be a key was a complete disaster too. Our room was fine. A bit confusing to get to and although we were on the ground floor, to the get the bags to the room still required stairs or an elevator that was pretty far away. However the wait staff, spa staff, bar staff, housekeeping staff and room service staff could not have be nicer, helpful and so willing to do what ever it could take to make us happy. Great spa services with resort credit but hot tub in spa was never hot. Most of the food was average, but the Brazilian and the Tapas were horrible. The French and the Italian were very good and had we known that earlier, we would have avoided some of the others and eaten at those more often. The bed was hard. Should have requested an ocean view or a higher floor.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toralell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René M, Director General at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Hi toralell,

We appreciate your feedback, as this helps us to know where we are in terms of service. I am sorry to hear that your vacation here was not what you had in mind, we are sorry about your key not working; we had an unusual complete shutdown of our key system however we have already taken active measures to ensure it does not happen again. I'm so sorry to see you did not find our food to be of your taste; I will be reaching out to my F&B Manager to discuss your remarks. On the bright side we are so glad that the outstanding service provided by our staff exceeded your expectations. Thank you for bringing these matters to our attention.
Kind regards.

René Malacara Coss
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
17.2 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4,282 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Ri...
#2 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
6,677 reviews
2.5 mi away
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Palace
#6 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
7,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Barcelo Maya Colonial
Barcelo Maya Colonial
#5 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
6,191 reviews
14 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#30 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
7,711 reviews
13.9 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#21 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
9,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Address: Km 72, Carretera Cancun-Chetumal | Solidaridad, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Aventura Cove Palace)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range: $335 - $749 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is the 1,264-room Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya. And this is where luxury meets satisfaction on a stage of stunning tropical views, a private white sand beach, and exclusive saltwater snorkeling areas. It's all capped off with an inviting traditional design, legendary Hard Rock hospitality, and undeniable excess at every turn. Live large at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya and enjoy the very best of paradise for all. Or, pack your appetite for opulence and hit Heaven - an elevated and exclusive retreat for adult guests only featuring a private adult beach, superlative amenities, and dining at its finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, TravelUp, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aventura Cove Palace Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing